Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
AMD R9 380 No Signal
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
teovera
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Jul 2019
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Aug 01, 2019 10:50 am    Post subject: AMD R9 380 No Signal Reply with quote

Hello! I'm fairly new to gentoo but I was using it without problems until 10 days ago. I had to use microsoft windows for work. After my work is done I downloaded latest minimal installation iso and installed gentoo with kernel 5.2.4. When I reboot my pc after first installation there is no display at all. My monitor has a warning that says no signal so I added amdgpu.dc=0 to grub parameters(afaik it's enabled by default since 4.17 and never caused me any trouble until now) and able to get display but this time gpu fans didn't stop running. I've never got any issues like this before. I tried with several distros and they are all doing the same thing even though they were all working okay before. What could have changed in this short time period? How could it possibly affect all distros that I use before? Thanks in advance. Have a nice day!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5438

PostPosted: Thu Aug 01, 2019 2:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

what are you expecting to see? kernel boot? cli login? DE?
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
teovera
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Jul 2019
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Aug 01, 2019 3:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cli boot. It's happening right after first reboot after installing base system. Because of that I can't install anything.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5438

PostPosted: Thu Aug 01, 2019 4:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

have you installed the relevant fw file and configured it in the kernel?
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 44945
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Aug 01, 2019 5:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

teovera,

It all depends on your kernel configuration.
You need to install linux-firmware as you video card needs about 20 firmware files.

If amdgpu is built in, the firmware must be too. If its a module, you won't gen a console until root is mounted.

How did you configure and install your kernel?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
teovera
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Jul 2019
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Aug 01, 2019 7:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was having kernel panic when amdgpu is built-in so I added it as a module. All my successful installations had the same configuration. Yes, I installed linux-firmware package I don't exactly remember the version number though. Do I need latest version to work with kernel 5.2.4?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5438

PostPosted: Thu Aug 01, 2019 7:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

can you paste your kernel config?
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
teovera
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Jul 2019
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Aug 01, 2019 8:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sure. https://paste.ee/p/yUSgT. I created this config when I was using 5.0.6 and have been using it for all 5.x versions. It was working fine until 5.2.4.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 44945
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Aug 01, 2019 8:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

teovera,

# CONFIG_FB_SIMPLE is not set.
Flipping that might get you an early console, until amdgpufb (from CONFIG_DRM_AMDGPU=m) gets going.
That might get some diagnostics.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
teovera
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Jul 2019
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Aug 01, 2019 8:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay thanks. I will try it tonight and see if it's working. I'll edit this post when I got something.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 44945
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Aug 01, 2019 8:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

teovera,

Its not a fix, its a diagnostic aid only.
Your kernel also has netconsole and serial console configured.
Would one of those be an option?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
teovera
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Jul 2019
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2019 9:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sadly it still gives me no signal with given kernel config. The more I fiddle with it the more I'm convinced that it's an issue with kernel. Because minimal installation iso is booting fine. Other distros having the same problem is not supporting my theory though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5438

PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2019 11:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

assuming you indeed boot when the bios is set to uefi, I'd recommend the following:

  1. start from def config
  2. set all efi related stuff
  3. set all non drm related stuff including network, make sure it works!
  4. set the minimum for efifb to work
  5. make sure ssh is installed and configured to start at boot. same for the network config
  6. recompile the kernel and make it boot.

if you get efifb to work, start from there.
if not, try pinging until you have ping and then try to ssg and debug from there.

with the config above, amdpgu will not work because you haven't included the proper fw in the kernel.
I don't know if it works incase they are in initrd or initramfs
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
teovera
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Jul 2019
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2019 7:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for your suggestions. I can try them in one or two days. I will edit my post if I get something new.

EDIT: Turns out the issue was me the whole time. :D. My GPU wasn't inserted properly. I had to remove it and insert it firmly and problem solved. I'm sorry that I took your time with my foolishness.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum