Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[closed]lspci not showing new card
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
TheLexx
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Dec 2005
Posts: 135
Location: Austin Tx

PostPosted: Wed Oct 09, 2019 4:53 pm    Post subject: [closed]lspci not showing new card Reply with quote

I recently purchased a cheep RTL8169 card to replace my failing on-board Ethernet Controller. The problem I having now is that the card dose not even show up in lspci using Gentoo with my current kernel. The card does however show up if a use my old EOL kernel.

The motherboard I am using had 3 types of hardware buses, 3 PCI-e x1, 1 PCI-e x16, 3 PCI. The only video interface is on the PCI-e x16. Before purchasing the RTL8169 the PCI-e x1 was never used. To do this experiment, I added a PCI card just so that I had something to detect. the PDC20262 is not usually present I just wanted to know if it was detected.

My first guess is that the kernel doesn't have the correct driver to access the PCI-e x1 bus, however this seems odd, because it can access the PCI-e x16 bus. I would assume that both buses use the same kernel driver.

When I upgraded to 4.9 kernel, I basically started the configuration from scratch, although I did set (to compile as module) by hand many PCI and USB devices I had used in the past. Example the PDC20262 card even though it was not present at time the kernel was compiled.

Here is the output of lspci running Gentoo using my current LTS 4.9.145 kernel
https://pastebin.com/Aw7XhH3x

Here is the output of lspci running Gentoo using my outdated 3.4.105 kernel
https://pastebin.com/DN8duv0S

edit: changed from Finnix counter-example to Kernel 3.4.105

edit: Moved lspci > pastebin.com, sorry I though long CODE block was collapsed with scroll bard. I must have been thinking of different forum.


Last edited by TheLexx on Sat Nov 02, 2019 12:32 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mike155
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Sep 2010
Posts: 1982
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Oct 09, 2019 5:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

  1. Please post the kernel config of your Gentoo kernel AND (if possible) of the Finnix kernel using wgetpaste.

  2. Which mainboard and CPU do you have?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheLexx
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Dec 2005
Posts: 135
Location: Austin Tx

PostPosted: Wed Oct 16, 2019 3:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dot config file for 4.9.145
https://pastebin.com/CW04Pjxb

Dot config file for 3.4.105
https://pastebin.com/ayErMX1A

Mother Bord: Abit kn8 Ultra

Code:

lscpu
Architecture:          x86_64
CPU op-mode(s):        32-bit, 64-bit
Byte Order:            Little Endian
CPU(s):                1
On-line CPU(s) list:   0
Thread(s) per core:    1
Core(s) per socket:    1
Socket(s):             1
Vendor ID:             AuthenticAMD
CPU family:            15
Model:                 47
Stepping:              2
CPU MHz:               2009.296
BogoMIPS:              4018.59
L1d cache:             64K
L1i cache:             64K
L2 cache:              512K
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mike155
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Sep 2010
Posts: 1982
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Oct 16, 2019 1:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

  1. The Abit kn8 Ultra seems to be an older mainboard from 2006 for AMD Athlon CPUs: https://www.cnet.com/products/abit-kn8-ultra-motherboard-atx-socket-939-nforce4-ultra/

  2. Have you updated to the latest BIOS version that is available?

  3. Are there any settings in the BIOS setup which are related to the PCI/PCIe bus? I remember that some mainboards of that time had switches that would either enable a graphics card OR one of the PCI/PCIe slots.

  4. I looked at your kernel config. I don't see anything terribly wrong. But options like
    Code:
    # CONFIG_AMD_IOMMU is not set
    CONFIG_INTEL_IOMMU=y

    look fishy for an AMD mainboard.

    Why are options like CONFIG_X86_POWERNOW_K8, CONFIG_X86_AMD_FREQ_SENSITIVITY or CONFIG_SENSORS_K8TEMP disabled?

    Please go through your kernel .config and double-check all options that have "AMD" or "K8" in their name.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tomtom69
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Nov 2010
Posts: 205
Location: Bavaria

PostPosted: Wed Oct 16, 2019 1:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It looks like the PCI descriptors of the card are faulty (could be a defective card).
Even with the old kernel where the card shows up in lspci, lspci -vk shows strange verbose identification:
Code:

04:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev ff) (prog-if ff)
    !!! Unknown header type 7f

So I assume even with the old kernel the card doesn't work because the descriptors return invalid values (everything 0xff).
Can you test the card in a different PC and/or with a different OS?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7501
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Wed Oct 16, 2019 2:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Since the onboard NIC is also acting up it may be dying PCI bridge on that motherboard. Sometimes CMOS gets corrupted and can cause hardware malfunctioning, resetting it wouldn't hurt.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheLexx
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Dec 2005
Posts: 135
Location: Austin Tx

PostPosted: Wed Oct 23, 2019 11:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mike155 wrote:
2. Have you updated to the latest BIOS version that is available?


I'm not sure how to update BIOS on a system w/o Windows. It may also be ticker to find now that ABIT is defunct.

mike155 wrote:
3. Are there any settings in the BIOS setup which are related to the PCI/PCIe bus? I remember that some mainboards of that time had switches that would either enable a graphics card OR one of the PCI/PCIe slots.


Looking through the BIOS screens I did not see anything that stood out. I can look again.

mike155 wrote:
Why are options like CONFIG_X86_POWERNOW_K8, CONFIG_X86_AMD_FREQ_SENSITIVITY or CONFIG_SENSORS_K8TEMP disabled?


When I configured 4.9 I could not find a good starting point, so the configuration came mainly from Linux defaults. I will look into optimizing it. I also want to run a single kernel on my Intel and AMD system.

tomtom69 wrote:
It looks like the PCI descriptors of the card are faulty (could be a defective card). Even with the old kernel where the card shows up in lspci, lspci -vk shows strange verbose identification:
Code:

04:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev ff) (prog-if ff)
    !!! Unknown header type 7f


So I assume even with the old kernel the card doesn't work because the descriptors return invalid values (everything 0xff).
Can you test the card in a different PC and/or with a different OS?


It is odd how the old kernel seams to scramble the lspci data. The information that Finnix is not perfect, however the data is more complete with Finnix that it is with Gentoo. I did move the card to my Intel computer and I am able to use the card with both Gentoo 4.9 kernel and Finnix 110.


Jaglover wrote:
Since the onboard NIC is also acting up it may be dying PCI bridge on that motherboard.


I would imagine that if the PCI bridge were failing I would get messages in the dmesg log. I haven't seen any. As for what is happening to my on-board NIC here is a short run-down. For some reason the light on the Ethernet hub flashes even when the NIC is sending no data. Wireshark will show no activity. I can send data from the NIC with a high failure rate. The ping failure rate is between 5% and 65% the faster the light flashes the higher the failure rate. Even when I disable the on-board NIC in BIOS the hub light flashes.

Jaglover wrote:
Sometimes CMOS gets corrupted and can cause hardware malfunctioning, resetting it wouldn't hurt.


I noticed that occasionally at boot-up, the BIOS warned me of a processor change and suggested a settings change. The odd part was, I had not changed anything other than PCI & PCIe cards. The HW clock seamed to be loosing more than 10 minutes per year, so after reading your suggestion, I changed the 2032 battery. I then reloaded default settings then re-modified custom settings. This did not seem to effect the issue at hand.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheLexx
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Dec 2005
Posts: 135
Location: Austin Tx

PostPosted: Wed Oct 23, 2019 11:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

After putting the NIC onto another computer I was able to determine that the card indeed functions under Finnix & Gentoo.

I'm not sure if Debugging my hardware problem in Finnix will go over well here. On my AMD system, I was able to get within striking distance of getting my card to work under Finnix, but I was not able to get it functional. I did however get some interesting info from the dmesg log that could tell us what is happening. Finnix 110 runs on a Debian patched 3.13 kernel, unfortunately the dot config file was not preserved. Depending on how things go, I will post the results of Gentoo on my Intel in a later post.

The first thing I noticed when searching the dmesg was the message "r8169 0000:04:00.0: cache line size of 32 is not supported" does anyone know that the meaning of this? Here is a wider look at dmesg.

Code:

# grep r8169 dmesg.saved

[    4.638163] r8169 Gigabit Ethernet driver 2.3LK-NAPI loaded
[    4.638178] r8169 0000:04:00.0: can't disable ASPM; OS doesn't have ASPM control
[    4.652020] r8169 0000:04:00.0: Refused to change power state, currently in D3
[    4.652248] r8169 0000:04:00.0: cache line size of 32 is not supported
[    4.652252] r8169 0000:04:00.0 (unregistered net_device): Mem-Wr-Inval unavailable
[    4.652272] r8169 0000:04:00.0 (unregistered net_device): unknown MAC, using family default
[    4.662254] r8169 0000:04:00.0 (unregistered net_device): rtl_chipcmd_cond == 1 (loop: 100, delay: 100).
[    4.662443] r8169 0000:04:00.0 eth0: RTL8168b/8111b at 0xf8020000, ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff, XID 9cf0f8ff IRQ 17
[    4.662446] r8169 0000:04:00.0 eth0: jumbo features [frames: 4080 bytes, tx checksumming: ko]


Even with the error, lspci was able to retrieve all the info on the NIC

Code:

04:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 06)
   Subsystem: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. Device 0123
   Flags: fast devsel, IRQ 17
   I/O ports at 6000 [disabled] [size=256]
   Memory at fd704000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [disabled] [size=4K]
   Memory at fd700000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [disabled] [size=16K]
   Capabilities: [40] Power Management version 3
   Capabilities: [50] MSI: Enable- Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit+
   Capabilities: [70] Express Endpoint, MSI 01
   Capabilities: [b0] MSI-X: Enable- Count=4 Masked-
   Capabilities: [d0] Vital Product Data
   Capabilities: [100] Advanced Error Reporting
   Capabilities: [140] Virtual Channel
   Capabilities: [160] Device Serial Number 01-00-00-00-68-4c-e0-00
   Kernel driver in use: r8169


Interestingly enough, when I tried to access the NIC I found that the hardware address showed up as all F's. Using the command "ifconfig hw ether ..", I was able to change the HW but I was still unable to communicate over the NIC.

I was successfully using the NIC on my Intel under Finnix. here is an excerpt from dmesg.

Code:

# grep r8169 dmesg.saved

[    3.617447] r8169 Gigabit Ethernet driver 2.3LK-NAPI loaded
[    3.617460] r8169 0000:01:00.0: can't disable ASPM; OS doesn't have ASPM control
[    3.617872] r8169 0000:01:00.0: irq 49 for MSI/MSI-X
[    3.618026] r8169 0000:01:00.0 eth0: RTL8168evl/8111evl at 0xffffc90010756000, 00:e0:4c:68:11:57, XID 0c900800 IRQ 49
[    3.618029] r8169 0000:01:00.0 eth0: jumbo features [frames: 9200 bytes, tx checksumming: ko]
[    8.208958] r8169 0000:01:00.0: firmware: failed to load rtl_nic/rtl8168e-3.fw (-2)
[    8.208960] r8169 0000:01:00.0: Direct firmware load failed with error -2
[    8.208961] r8169 0000:01:00.0: Falling back to user helper
[   11.217234] r8169 0000:01:00.0 eth0: unable to load firmware patch rtl_nic/rtl8168e-3.fw (-2)
[   11.229993] r8169 0000:01:00.0 eth0: link down
[   11.230007] r8169 0000:01:00.0 eth0: link down
[   12.839317] r8169 0000:01:00.0 eth0: link up


and lspci

Code:

01:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 06)
   Subsystem: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. Device 0123
   Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 48
   I/O ports at dc00 [size=256]
   Memory at d0004000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=4K]
   Memory at d0000000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=16K]
   Capabilities: [40] Power Management version 3
   Capabilities: [50] MSI: Enable+ Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit+
   Capabilities: [70] Express Endpoint, MSI 01
   Capabilities: [b0] MSI-X: Enable- Count=4 Masked-
   Capabilities: [d0] Vital Product Data
   Capabilities: [100] Advanced Error Reporting
   Capabilities: [140] Virtual Channel
   Capabilities: [160] Device Serial Number 01-00-00-00-68-4c-e0-00
   Kernel driver in use: r8169


The command lspci retrieved virtually the same info for the Intel and AMD machines, however in my Intel system Finnix was able to retrieve the HW address for the NIC. The HW came up as 00:e0:4c:68:11:57, and I can get it running as soon as I set the IP using ifconfig. I also noticed that even though the dmesg says something about a failed firmware load for the NIC, the NIC operated without error.

-notes -

The complete dmesg on AMD system
https://pastebin.com/CPZZriVy

The complete lspci on AMD system
https://pastebin.com/pUfAXCmz

The complete dmesg on Intel system
https://pastebin.com/SdzjQcLM

The complete lspci on Intel system
https://pastebin.com/JFJUwruS


The Basic rundown on my Intel system is

motherboard: Dell 0G261D

Code:

# lscpu

Architecture:          x86_64
CPU op-mode(s):        32-bit, 64-bit
Byte Order:            Little Endian
CPU(s):                2
On-line CPU(s) list:   0,1
Thread(s) per core:    1
Core(s) per socket:    2
Socket(s):             1
NUMA node(s):          1
Vendor ID:             GenuineIntel
CPU family:            6
Model:                 23
Stepping:              10
CPU MHz:               2992.392
BogoMIPS:              5984.78
Virtualization:        VT-x
L1d cache:             32K
L1i cache:             32K
L2 cache:              6144K
NUMA node0 CPU(s):     0,1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7368

PostPosted: Thu Oct 24, 2019 12:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TheLexx wrote:
I'm not sure how to update BIOS on a system w/o Windows. It may also be ticker to find now that ABIT is defunct.

You have freedos.org to provide needed layer, other things you need should be provided by ABIT in the m/b CD, but for the latest bios, well, maybe some owner of that m/b could provide it
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 44921
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Oct 24, 2019 7:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TheLexx,

dmesg on the AMD says.
Code:
[    4.652020] r8169 0000:04:00.0: Refused to change power state, currently in D3


https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Advanced_Configuration_and_Power_Interface:

D3: The D3 state is further divided into D3 Hot (has auxiliary power), and D3 Cold (no power provided):

    Hot: A device can assert power management requests to transition to higher power states.
    Cold or Off has the device powered off and unresponsive to its bus.


It follows that the device is either totally powered off, or is some 'standby' state.

In short, while its stuck in D3, it won't work.

-- edit --

Poke at ACPI in the kernel, or can you turn it off, just for testing?
Add acpi=off to your kernel command line. Use grubs boot time editor.
This is not a fix, just a test. Its a very blunt instrument.
See /usr/src/linux/Documentation/admin-guide/kernel-parameters.txt
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 7368

PostPosted: Fri Oct 25, 2019 12:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
This is not a fix, just a test. Its a very blunt instrument.

I would also try disable PnP/os in bios to have the bios waking up the device so it might not reach kernel in a power saving state
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheLexx
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Dec 2005
Posts: 135
Location: Austin Tx

PostPosted: Sat Nov 02, 2019 12:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm going to consider this issue closed. My problem is apparently linked to BIOS and power management. My PCI bus looks to be working fine, so I ordered a PCI based RTL8169 card for under 8USD. It seems like "for now" this is the "smart choice".

In the not too distant future I will get my "other computer" into a tower case. At that point, I may switch things around and my current AMD mobo would be relegated to "the computer to just test stuff out on". When this happens, I may want to open this issue up again so that I can test PCIe HW on it. Until then, I don't want to contently reboot my AMD mobo computer.

PS. I know that my config is a bit odd for a kernel running on an AMD mobo, however I ran some distros with "generic run on anything" kernels and I still had problems when playing around with "acpi=off" and similar acpi commands. If/when I reopen this issue, I'll upgrade the BIOS and I will discuss the details.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum