Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] default/linux/amd64/17.1/desktop profile question
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
z4
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Jul 2019
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Thu Nov 14, 2019 6:40 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] default/linux/amd64/17.1/desktop profile question Reply with quote

I'm trying to install the 17.1/desktop profile on amd64, and I'm wondering if this is expected/know upon trying the initial emerge @world:

emerge --update --deep --newuse @world
...
...
...
Code:
The following USE changes are necessary to proceed:
 (see "package.use" in the portage(5) man page for more details)
# required by dev-lang/spidermonkey-60.5.2_p0-r2::gentoo
# required by sys-auth/polkit-0.115-r4::gentoo
# required by gnome-extra/polkit-gnome-0.105-r1::gentoo
>=dev-lang/python-2.7.16:2.7 sqlite

Is it expected that a change would be required to a vanilla profile without any modifications locally? I was under the impression that the profile should emerge as-is, without any USE flag changes? I can fix the issue easily enough, that's not a problem, I'm just wondering if this is a bug in the profile?

Thanks for any feedback...BTW, this is a couple of weeks old, so I'm a bit out of date, but I'm just wondering, in general, if any profile is supposed to need USE flag modifications prior to it being able to build?

[Moderator edit: added [code] tags to preserve output layout. -Hu]


Last edited by z4 on Sun Nov 17, 2019 11:15 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mike155
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 17 Sep 2010
Posts: 2126
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Nov 14, 2019 11:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi z4,

welcome to the Gentoo forums!

First of all, don't worry about this message. There's nothing wrong with your machine. It just means: Python is required with Sqlite support. I get messages like that at least once a month.

If you switch your profile (from one 17.1 profile to another), the set of USE flags that are enabled by the profiles will change (among other things). That's the reason why 'emerge --update --deep --newuse -av @world) and 'emerge --depclean' start to add or remove packages after you change your profile.

It may happen that packages you install or that get pulled in after a profile switch require other packages with certain USE flags enabled. If those USE flags are not enabled for those packages, emerge will print the message you posted. Emerge just asks you to enable a USE flags or those packages.

The profile could enable the USE flag 'sqlite' globally. If it did, you wouldn't get the message. On the other hand, that would mean that all packages that have the USE flag 'sqlite' will get compiled with USE Flag 'sqlite' enabled - and that's probably not what you (or many other users) would like. So I think it's well thought through that emerge asks you to enable the USE flag 'sqlite' only for those packages where it's really required.

So no, I do NOT think it's a bug. But I'm not a developer.

Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7602
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Fri Nov 15, 2019 12:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

profile [16] default/linux/amd64/17.1 (stable) is what the stage3 tarball that you unpacked in section 1.4 of the handbook used.
Then you changed to profile [20] default/linux/amd64/17.1/desktop (stable) and ran emerge --update --newuse --deep so not a bug just a calculated required update
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 15324

PostPosted: Fri Nov 15, 2019 1:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mike155 is correct. To elaborate slightly, you hit this situation because the profile does not enable all the optional features you may need if you try to install every package. In general, that may not even be possible, since some packages may disagree about whether a feature should be enabled or disabled, so turning on everything would block you out of a different subset of packages. The default setup enables enough to be a usable base. You tried to install something non-essential to that base, and that something needs you to make a configuration change. This is reasonable.

However, if you start getting messages prompting you to adjust keywords or masks (rather than USE flags), I suggest you consider those carefully, and possibly solicit advice here before changing those. Keyword-unmasking (or worse, hard-unmasking) packages can get you into trouble if you don't know what you're doing. It's rarely trouble we can't get you out of, but you'll be happier not getting into trouble than getting in and back out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 6491

PostPosted: Fri Nov 15, 2019 2:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The issue here is that dev-lang/spidermonkey needs python2, but only at build time (or its dependencies are wrong). There's no point having the desktop profile itself impose USE=sqlite for python2, because the build host and installed system can be different.

It's probably easiest to just put a "dev-lang/python sqlite" line in package.use. It costs relatively nothing and there's certain to be more things ahead that use it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
z4
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Jul 2019
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Fri Nov 15, 2019 4:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for all the answers. I guess it's expected behavior. I'm not sure how well this is documented on the installation page, because I read all of it (and more) and missed it. In the spirit of positive feedback, may I suggest some words to the effect that "Profiles: some assembly required" be added to the installation page? Something to level-set the user's expectation that profiles won't work out of the box as-is even on top of current stage3's as a starting point.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GDH-gentoo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Jul 2019
Posts: 274
Location: South America

PostPosted: Fri Nov 15, 2019 12:51 pm    Post subject: Re: default/linux/amd64/17.1/desktop profile question (bug?) Reply with quote

z4 wrote:
I'm trying to install the 17.1/desktop profile on amd64, and I'm wondering if this is expected/know upon trying the initial emerge @world:

emerge --update --deep --newuse @world
...
...
...
Code:
The following USE changes are necessary to proceed:
 (see "package.use" in the portage(5) man page for more details)
# required by dev-lang/spidermonkey-60.5.2_p0-r2::gentoo
# required by sys-auth/polkit-0.115-r4::gentoo
# required by gnome-extra/polkit-gnome-0.105-r1::gentoo
>=dev-lang/python-2.7.16:2.7 sqlite

Is it expected that a change would be required to a vanilla profile without any modifications locally?
It depends on which profile you selected and which packages you want to install. The 17.1/desktop/gnome profile does set the sqlite flag for dev-lang/python. The one you selected is the 'generic' desktop one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum