Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Unable to boot system kernel failed?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Its Not Okay
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Dec 2019
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Dec 20, 2019 1:57 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] Unable to boot system kernel failed? Reply with quote

Upgraded from my i5 7600k to a ryzen 7 2700x, chroot into my system, followed the gentoo wiki to prepare my kernel and recompiled all packages. When I boot my system it gets stuck at: Loading initial ramdisk...

My files:
[grub.cfg](http://dpaste.com/1857ENS)
[kernel.conf](http://dpaste.com/2GXDVYC)
[lspci -nnk](http://dpaste.com/37CG0KC)
[make.conf](http://dpaste.com/3VWTEPD)


Last edited by Its Not Okay on Sat Dec 21, 2019 8:28 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 6342

PostPosted: Fri Dec 20, 2019 5:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You compiled the kernel with CONFIG_MK8=y. That's for Athlon CPUs with 3DNow instructions, your Ryzen doesn't have those.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Its Not Okay
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Dec 2019
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Dec 20, 2019 5:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ant P. wrote:
You compiled the kernel with CONFIG_MK8=y. That's for Athlon CPUs with 3DNow instructions, your Ryzen doesn't have those.


What should it be? I followed the instructions on the gentoo ryzen wiki page. I was however missing options such as:

[*] Supported processor vendors --->
[*] Support AMD processors (NEW)
[*] SMT (Hyperthreading) scheduler support
[*] Multi-core scheduler support

My system has Gentoo kernel 5.4.4 however I'm using a liveusb with 4.14.65 to chroot into my system. Why would I be missing the options? Is it because I'm using a version 4.14 kernel?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 6342

PostPosted: Fri Dec 20, 2019 6:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you use gentoo-sources, use USE=experimental to get the extra CPU options from here. If you don't, use the "Generic x86-64" option.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Its Not Okay
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Dec 2019
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Dec 21, 2019 3:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ant P. wrote:
If you use gentoo-sources, use USE=experimental to get the extra CPU options from here. If you don't, use the "Generic x86-64" option.


Switched it to Generic x86_64, and recompiled every package using emerge -e @world --keep-going and I still get the Loading initial ramdisk.. could it be an issue with my grub.cfg as when I do grub-mkconfig /boot/grub/grub.cfg I get cannot find device.map in /dev/sdb1 while I'm using an nvme ssd. //dev/sdb1 is my live usb.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 44921
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Dec 21, 2019 7:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Its Not Okay,

You don't get a console until amdgpudrmfb starts, so all the early boot messages will be lost.

Add the following into your kernel
Code:
# CONFIG_FB_VESA is not set
# CONFIG_FB_EFI is not set
# CONFIG_FB_SIMPLE is not set
They are all harmless. The idea is to get a console.

Your kernel looks like it should boot on a straight forward system, (no user space tools to find root) but you have
Code:
CONFIG_DM_CRYPT=y
which suggests that your root at least is encrypted.
How did you make the initrd?

Your kernel is missing drivers for
Code:
00:14.0 SMBus [0c05]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] FCH SMBus Controller [1022:790b] (rev 59)
   Subsystem: ASRock Incorporation FCH SMBus Controller [1849:790b]
00:14.3 ISA bridge [0601]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] FCH LPC Bridge [1022:790e] (rev 51)
   Subsystem: ASRock Incorporation FCH LPC Bridge [1849:790e]


Thats CONFIG_I2C_PIIX4 for the SMBus. There is no driver of the other one yet.

I suspect things are getting started but you can't see it, then it goes wrong before the console driver is loaded.
Maybe its waiting for the crypto password but you can't see the prompt ?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Its Not Okay
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Dec 2019
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Dec 21, 2019 7:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
Its Not Okay,

You don't get a console until amdgpudrmfb starts, so all the early boot messages will be lost.

Add the following into your kernel
Code:
# CONFIG_FB_VESA is not set
# CONFIG_FB_EFI is not set
# CONFIG_FB_SIMPLE is not set
They are all harmless. The idea is to get a console.

Your kernel looks like it should boot on a straight forward system, (no user space tools to find root) but you have
Code:
CONFIG_DM_CRYPT=y
which suggests that your root at least is encrypted.
How did you make the initrd?

Your kernel is missing drivers for
Code:
00:14.0 SMBus [0c05]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] FCH SMBus Controller [1022:790b] (rev 59)
   Subsystem: ASRock Incorporation FCH SMBus Controller [1849:790b]
00:14.3 ISA bridge [0601]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] FCH LPC Bridge [1022:790e] (rev 51)
   Subsystem: ASRock Incorporation FCH LPC Bridge [1849:790e]


Thats CONFIG_I2C_PIIX4 for the SMBus. There is no driver of the other one yet.

I suspect things are getting started but you can't see it, then it goes wrong before the console driver is loaded.
Maybe its waiting for the crypto password but you can't see the prompt ?


I'm using
Code:
genkernel --lvm --luks initramfs
to generate my initrd, this is the output. Made the changes you suggested, this is the output I get when I boot. My genkernel.conf and my grub config.

Thank you for you help and expertise! It's much appreciated!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 44921
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Dec 21, 2019 8:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Its Not Okay,

Your boot image is very interesting. The early console is there but the lights go out when the kernel switches to amdgpudrmfb.
That suggests that the kernel amdgpu driver is the problem here.

Looking at
Code:
CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE=
firefox counts 20 polaris10 entries.
I count 21 in
Code:
ls -l /lib/firmware/amdgpu/polaris10*
so I think you have one missing ... yep polaris10_k2_smc.bin is not listed in your kernel.

That may well be it. If adding that firmware doesn't help, turn off the amdgpu driver in the kernel.

Your system will provide a console with any of the framebuffer devices you have now.
Once you can log in at the console, set up ssh and check that it works.
Now enable the amdgpu driver again. The console output will go black again but now you can ssh in and get logs.
You may need to type the crypto password blind but that works. You will only be missing console output.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Its Not Okay
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Dec 2019
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Dec 21, 2019 8:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
Its Not Okay,

Your boot image is very interesting. The early console is there but the lights go out when the kernel switches to amdgpudrmfb.
That suggests that the kernel amdgpu driver is the problem here.

Looking at
Code:
CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE=
firefox counts 20 polaris10 entries.
I count 21 in
Code:
ls -l /lib/firmware/amdgpu/polaris10*
so I think you have one missing ... yep polaris10_k2_smc.bin is not listed in your kernel.

That may well be it. If adding that firmware doesn't help, turn off the amdgpu driver in the kernel.

Your system will provide a console with any of the framebuffer devices you have now.
Once you can log in at the console, set up ssh and check that it works.
Now enable the amdgpu driver again. The console output will go black again but now you can ssh in and get logs.
You may need to type the crypto password blind but that works. You will only be missing console output.


I wonder how that got removed as my amdgpu was working perfectly before switching to an amd cpu. Fixed the issue, reading through amdgpu on gentoo wiki under SME I had AMD_MEM_ENCRYPT_ACTIVE_BY_DEFAULT activated in the kernel which isn't currently supported by amdgpu.

Thank you very much for you help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 44921
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Dec 21, 2019 9:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Its Not Okay,

I think it got added, rather than removed. I did a kernel update one day and the console vanished when the kernel switched to amdgpu.
The old kernel still worked. A bit of poking about showed that there was a new firmware file, so I've been there and done that.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum