Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Too bib /proc folder
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Xisaraba
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Jan 2020
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat Feb 01, 2020 8:05 pm    Post subject: Too bib /proc folder Reply with quote

Hello. I installed Gentoo and several apps. But then I see that /proc folder is about 128 Tib. What is it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 45383
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Feb 01, 2020 8:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Xisaraba,

in
Code:
df -a

Code:
Filesystem                      1K-blocks       Used  Available Use% Mounted on
proc                                    0          0          0    - /proc
its a fake filesystem and should appear to be empty.

Is your 128TiB real?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7440
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Sat Feb 01, 2020 8:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

https://askubuntu.com/questions/406525/proc-kcore-too-big

Okay, I've been using Linux for long enough that kcore is a virtual file so I don't care about its size, but today I first realize it's 128TB on amd64 where it's much smaller, closer to actual physical memory size, on x86 ... niiice...
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Xisaraba
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Jan 2020
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat Feb 01, 2020 8:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
Xisaraba,

in
Code:
df -a

Code:
Filesystem                      1K-blocks       Used  Available Use% Mounted on
proc                                    0          0          0    - /proc
its a fake filesystem and should appear to be empty.

Is your 128TiB real?

It says proc is really empty. But dolphin says that it is 128Tib. May I write a report?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dmpogo
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Sep 2004
Posts: 2686
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sat Feb 01, 2020 10:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eccerr0r wrote:
https://askubuntu.com/questions/406525/proc-kcore-too-big

Okay, I've been using Linux for long enough that kcore is a virtual file so I don't care about its size, but today I first realize it's 128TB on amd64 where it's much smaller, closer to actual physical memory size, on x86 ... niiice...


Same here, kcore is 140737477881856 bytes according to 'ls -l', which is 128 TB almost exactly. I bet all tools will show this size, not just dolphin. ls -l does in my case.

Is 128TB a maximum virtual memory you can have on 64-bit machine ? Would that be around 4 GB on 32 bit ? (which would be close to real memory, since we just passed the boundary of 32 bit on real machines :) )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 6480

PostPosted: Sat Feb 01, 2020 10:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The right thing to do is simply not have kcore support turned on in the kernel to begin with, as it's a security risk and only useful for debugging.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7440
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Sat Feb 01, 2020 11:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dmpogo wrote:
Is 128TB a maximum virtual memory you can have on 64-bit machine ? Would that be around 4 GB on 32 bit ? (which would be close to real memory, since we just passed the boundary of 32 bit on real machines :) )

I think that it depends on the 64-bit machine on how much virtual memory you can have. IIRC some processors, to cheap out, omit some of the bits in order to make the processor simpler. Seems a lot now are 48-bit VA's which actually comes out to 256TB. So this is very close to half.

Looking at my 32 bit machines, their kcores are all closer to the 1GiB mark actually, though it does not seem to be related to the amount of physical memory anymore. This seems to be the case for my 1.5GiB and 2GiB x86 machines, as well as a 32-bit VM. And 32-bit machines mostly have 32-bit VA space which is 4GB.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 5818
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Sun Feb 02, 2020 8:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

/proc is a virtual filesystem, its not real but it present "real" files for userland to query. Take /proc/kcore

This is the virtual memory limit on a 64bit system

https://www.kernel.org/doc/Documentation/x86/x86_64/mm.txt

47bits -> 2^47 -> 128TiB
_________________
The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter
Great Britain is a republic, with a hereditary president, while the United States is a monarchy with an elective king
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum