Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[solved] Can't mount /dev/nvme0n1p1 /boot
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
C1REX
l33t
l33t


Joined: 02 Jan 2004
Posts: 774
Location: Poland/UK

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2020 9:12 am    Post subject: [solved] Can't mount /dev/nvme0n1p1 /boot Reply with quote

Hi,

Old guy is coming back to gentoo and struggling with some installation stuff LOL

I have a new modern PC default option seems to be uefi fat32 partition to boot all my systems.

My fat32 partition is on /dev/nvme0n1p1. It's 4GB and boots 3distros + windows no problem now.


So how do I approach that from gentoo installation? Do I mount that partition or what? I want to keep 4 OS multiboot.
_________________
CLICK HERE to help move gentoo up on distrowatch.

If you like Gentoo you can thank devs here - https://www.gentoo.org/donate/


Last edited by C1REX on Sun Feb 23, 2020 5:36 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 3238

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2020 9:47 am    Post subject: Re: Can't mount /dev/nvme0n1p1 /boot Reply with quote

C1REX wrote:
Hi,

Old guy is coming back to gentoo and struggling with some installation stuff LOL

I have a new modern PC default option seems to be uefi fat32 partition to boot all my systems.

My fat32 partition is on /dev/nvme0n1p1. It's 4GB and boots 3distros + windows no problem now.

Will you please post your output of parted /dev/nvme0n1 print


C1REX wrote:
So how do I approach that from gentoo installation? Do I mount that partition or what? I want to keep 4 OS multiboot.

You want to have an individual boot item for each OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
C1REX
l33t
l33t


Joined: 02 Jan 2004
Posts: 774
Location: Poland/UK

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2020 10:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
root@c1rex:~# parted /dev/nvme0n1 print
Model: Sabrent Rocket Q (nvme)
Disk /dev/nvme0n1: 1000GB
Sector size (logical/physical): 512B/512B
Partition Table: gpt
Disk Flags:

Number  Start   End     Size    File system     Name                          Flags
 1      1049kB  4195MB  4194MB  fat32           boot                          boot, esp
 2      4195MB  39.3GB  35.1GB  linux-swap(v1)  swap
 3      39.3GB  144GB   105GB   ext4            rootfs
 4      144GB   249GB   105GB   ext4
 5      249GB   354GB   105GB   ext4
 6      354GB   459GB   105GB   btrfs
 7      459GB   459GB   16.8MB                  Microsoft reserved partition  msftres
 8      459GB   1000GB  541GB   ntfs            Basic data partition          msftdata

root@c1rex:~#


If I try to mount from chrooted gentoo:

Code:


c1rex / # mount /dev/nvme0n1p1 /boot
mount: /boot: mount failed: Operation not permitted.
c1rex / #



However, if I try to do it from installed KDE neon it works just fine:


Code:
root@c1rex:~# mount /dev/nvme0n1p1 /mnt/gentoo/boot
root@c1rex:~#



I hope this info helps.
_________________
CLICK HERE to help move gentoo up on distrowatch.

If you like Gentoo you can thank devs here - https://www.gentoo.org/donate/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 3238

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2020 10:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

C1REX wrote:
Code:
root@c1rex:~# mount /dev/nvme0n1p1 /mnt/gentoo/boot
root@c1rex:~#


This (/mnt/gentoo/boot) looks like you were still in the chrooted envirenment. Are you?

Edit
If so you may want to double check with https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Handbook:AMD64/Installation/Base#Mounting_the_necessary_filesystems
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
C1REX
l33t
l33t


Joined: 02 Jan 2004
Posts: 774
Location: Poland/UK

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2020 11:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

charles17 wrote:
C1REX wrote:
Code:
root@c1rex:~# mount /dev/nvme0n1p1 /mnt/gentoo/boot
root@c1rex:~#


This (/mnt/gentoo/boot) looks like you were still in the chrooted envirenment. Are you?

Edit
If so you may want to double check with https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Handbook:AMD64/Installation/Base#Mounting_the_necessary_filesystems




Chrooted tab was c1rex / # when KDE neon root was root@c1rex:~#

Anyway I somehow managed to mount that. Not sure what I've missed on the way.
_________________
CLICK HERE to help move gentoo up on distrowatch.

If you like Gentoo you can thank devs here - https://www.gentoo.org/donate/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 15294

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2020 4:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

C1REX wrote:
If I try to mount from chrooted gentoo:
Code:
c1rex / # mount /dev/nvme0n1p1 /boot
mount: /boot: mount failed: Operation not permitted.
Does dmesg have anything useful to say here? What system did you use to perform the chroot? If it had certain chroot hardening features enabled, then you cannot call mount from inside the chroot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
C1REX
l33t
l33t


Joined: 02 Jan 2004
Posts: 774
Location: Poland/UK

PostPosted: Sun Feb 23, 2020 5:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not sure how I made it to work. Maybe ubuntu caused problems while kde neon works. It could also missed something prior that.

Anyway, it's all good now. Thank you for all suggestions. One of those worked :)
_________________
CLICK HERE to help move gentoo up on distrowatch.

If you like Gentoo you can thank devs here - https://www.gentoo.org/donate/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum