Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
dell inspiron 3480: failing to detect internal ssd
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
grahn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Aug 2002
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2020 8:10 am    Post subject: dell inspiron 3480: failing to detect internal ssd Reply with quote

I am trying to install Gentoo on a new Dell notebook (Inspiron 3480). It boots install-amd64-20200226T214502Z.iso from USB (usb stick prepared with RUFUS), but I cannot continue with partitioning (using parted), because the internal SSD is not detected. Are there any UEFI/BIOS settings I will have to change, or apply some special boot parameters?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 7440
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2020 8:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is from cursory research about your computer:

Llikely you'll need another boot disk/kernel that supports its non volatile memory mass storage.

It is possible to install if you have another machine able to build a kernel, else you will need to locate another linux boot media to build another kernel. It seems Ubuntu works, you may need to temporarily install ubuntu to build a kernel and complete the bootstrap.

Someday I'll get one of these newfangled machines... but this is all theoretical for now.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 3238

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2020 9:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

grahn wrote:
I am trying to install Gentoo on a new Dell notebook (Inspiron 3480).
This one https://linux-hardware.org/index.php?probe=35a7cc6648?

eccerr0r wrote:
Llikely you'll need another boot disk/kernel that supports its non volatile memory mass storage.
NVME bugs are marked solved.
Maybe it's worth filing a new one?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
grahn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Aug 2002
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2020 12:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

charles17 wrote:
grahn wrote:
I am trying to install Gentoo on a new Dell notebook (Inspiron 3480).
This one https://linux-hardware.org/index.php?probe=35a7cc6648?


How to find out? With lspci?

lspci says:
Code:
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Device 3e34 (rev 0c)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation UHD Graphics 620 (Whiskey Lake) (rev 02)
00:04.0 Signal processing controller: Intel Corporation Xeon E3-1200 v5/E3-1500 v5/6th Gen Core Processor Thermal Subsystem (rev 0c)
00:08.0 System peripheral: Intel Corporation Xeon E3-1200 v5/v6 / E3-1500 v5 / 6th/7th Gen Core Processor Gaussian Mixture Model
00:12.0 Signal processing controller: Intel Corporation Cannon Point-LP Thermal Controller (rev 30)
00:14.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation Cannon Point-LP USB 3.1 xHCI Controller (rev 30)
00:14.2 RAM memory: Intel Corporation Cannon Point-LP Shared SRAM (rev 30)
00:15.0 Serial bus controller [0c80]: Intel Corporation Cannon Point-LP Serial IO I2C Controller #0 (rev 30)
00:15.1 Serial bus controller [0c80]: Intel Corporation Cannon Point-LP Serial IO I2C Controller #1 (rev 30)
00:16.0 Communication controller: Intel Corporation Cannon Point-LP MEI Controller #1 (rev 30)
00:17.0 RAID bus controller: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile SATA Controller [RAID mode] (rev 30)
00:19.0 Serial bus controller [0c80]: Intel Corporation Device 9dc5 (rev 30)
00:1d.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Cannon Point-LP PCI Express Root Port #9 (rev f0)
00:1d.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Device 9db1 (rev f0)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation Cannon Point-LP LPC Controller (rev 30)
00:1f.3 Audio device: Intel Corporation Cannon Point-LP High Definition Audio Controller (rev 30)
00:1f.4 SMBus: Intel Corporation Cannon Point-LP SMBus Controller (rev 30)
00:1f.5 Serial bus controller [0c80]: Intel Corporation Cannon Point-LP SPI Controller (rev 30)
01:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL810xE PCI Express Fast Ethernet controller (rev 07)
02:00.0 Network controller: Qualcomm Atheros QCA9377 802.11ac Wireless Network Adapter (rev 31)


What about this RAID bus controller, should I try to disable it in the BIOS?

BTW, I just tested with Ubuntu. Alas, with the same result.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bbgermany
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Feb 2005
Posts: 1799
Location: Oranienburg/Germany

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2020 1:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

do you have Windows installed as well? If yes, switching the raid mode to ahci can make your system unable to boot the Windows installation, but it should solve your issue with your not visible harddrive in Linux.

greetings, bb
_________________
1st: i5-7400, 16GB, 2TB
2nd: i5-4570, 16GB, 620GB
3rd: i5-4570, 32GB, 14.5TB
4th: i5-3210M, 8GB, 512GB
5th: i5-3210M, 8GB, 120GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
grahn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Aug 2002
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2020 1:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bbgermany wrote:
Hi,

do you have Windows installed as well? If yes, switching the raid mode to ahci can make your system unable to boot the Windows installation, but it should solve your issue with your not visible harddrive in Linux.

greetings, bb


Yes, Win10 is preinstalled. And the same warning about a non-bootable windows was given when I disselected (yet without confirming) RAID in the BIOS setting. I am hesitating to actually do it. I prepared a system restoration disk...

greetings from DD ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
grahn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Aug 2002
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2020 2:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I disabled RAID in the BIOS and selected AHCI and I now have (lspci):

Code:
00:17.0 SATA controller: Intel Corporation Cannon Point-LP SATA Controller [AHCI Mode] (rev 30)


Unfortunately, still, there is no SSD detected. Also, NVME is not detected and no nvme kernel module loaded. The only /dev/sd* device is /dev/sda and /dev/sda1, which is the USB key from which I booted :( .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jfp
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Jul 2007
Posts: 319
Location: Virginia, USA

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2020 5:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you tried systemrescuecd?
I've always been led to believe it has very good hardware detection. Don't know if that's true but seems like it's worth a try.
_________________
jfp
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ali3nx
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Sep 2003
Posts: 641
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2020 6:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It may also be worth attempting to use an arch livecd to test a newer linux kernel.

I have an acer laptop with an i5-8250U cpu and sata raid controller that cannot be disabled however my laptop has an nvme ssd which works fine. Gentoo livecd's last used offered no challenges accessing the nvme ssd.

My laptop install was completed around the first week of November 2019.

nvme devices are presented as /dev/nvme0n1 if you do have one of those. typing
Code:
parted -l


should display every available storage device using any linux livecd if any storage devices are available.

One other thing that could potentially be a complication is hardware functioning properly when not successfully booted in uefi mode. My laptop works great but i've long since abaondoned any desires of using legacy boot or CSM compatibility bios modes.

If efivars filesystem is not mounted uefi boot is not active. The method for creating a usb stick significantly determines uefi boot functioning.

Try using etcher to create the usb stick. Rufus tends to break the livecd uefi bootloader when creating uefi boot capable gentoo livecd's.
_________________
Compiling Gentoo since version 1.4
Thousands of Gentoo Installs Completed
Emerged on every continent but Antarctica
Compile long and Prosper!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
grahn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Aug 2002
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Wed Mar 04, 2020 4:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ali3nx wrote:
It may also be worth attempting to use an arch livecd to test a newer linux kernel.

Yeah, the Arch livecd detected the NVME! I had to switch from RAID to AHCI in the BIOS first, though:

parted -l says:
Code:

...

Model: BC501 NVMe SK hynix 512GB (nvme)
Disk /dev/nvme0n1: 512GB
Sector size (logical/physical): 512B/512B
Partition Table: gpt
Disk Flags:

Number  Start   End    Size    File system  Name                          Flags
 1      1049kB  787MB  786MB   fat32        EFI system partition          boot, esp
 2      787MB   922MB  134MB                Microsoft reserved partition  msftres
 3      922MB   495GB  494GB                Basic data partition          msftdata
 4      495GB   496GB  1038MB  ntfs                                       hidden, diag
 5      496GB   511GB  15.0GB  ntfs                                       hidden, diag
 6      511GB   512GB  1362MB  ntfs                                       hidden, diag

Arch livecd has a version 5 kernel:
Code:

Linux archiso 5.5.6-arch1-1 #1 SMP PREEMPT Mon, 24 Feb 2020 12:20:16 +0000 x86_64 GNU/Linux

Quote:
Try using etcher to create the usb stick. Rufus tends to break the livecd uefi bootloader when creating uefi boot capable gentoo livecd's.

Rufus did it. Also, I read about privacy concerns with Etcher.

I'm afraid that building an ISO myself with a newer kernel is beyond me. Is there a gentoo package for that purpose? Or, can I just bootstrap stage-3 into the running Arch livecd environment?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ali3nx
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Sep 2003
Posts: 641
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Mar 04, 2020 9:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

grahn wrote:
Yeah, the Arch livecd detected the NVME! I had to switch from RAID to AHCI in the BIOS first, though. I'm afraid that building an ISO myself with a newer kernel is beyond me. Is there a gentoo package for that purpose? Or, can I just bootstrap stage-3 into the running Arch livecd environment?


There ya go. if the arch livecd works use it. Installing gentoo doesn't require a gentoo livecd :)

Likely the only requirement to gel with the gentoo handbook will be creating the /mnt/gentoo directory as arch uses /mnt for the chroot directory target in the arch handbook.
_________________
Compiling Gentoo since version 1.4
Thousands of Gentoo Installs Completed
Emerged on every continent but Antarctica
Compile long and Prosper!


Last edited by ali3nx on Wed Mar 04, 2020 9:49 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jfp
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Jul 2007
Posts: 319
Location: Virginia, USA

PostPosted: Wed Mar 04, 2020 9:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
I'm afraid that building an ISO myself with a newer kernel is beyond me. Is there a gentoo package for that purpose? Or, can I just bootstrap stage-3 into the running Arch livecd environment?

You don't need to build a new ISO. To install Gentoo all you need is any linux be it Arch, Debian, whatever. Basically, you boot your ArchCD (or whatever), create /mnt/gentoo and then proceed with the Gentoo Handbook steps.

However, in your case, with Windows already on your NVME, you will first need to free up sufficient disk space to add the partitions needed by Gentoo. I can give little advice in this area in that I have never installed Gentoo where Windows was already installed. I am sure you can find answers on how to do that, or maybe someone will post a reply pointing you to a method.

Question: What is your intention for installing Gentoo? If you are doing so just to give it a try and learn some Linux along the way, then you may want to consider installing Gentoo into a virtual machine. VirtualBox is quite good. I'm not familiar with microsoft's HyperV but it's at least possible that might work as well.
_________________
jfp
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 15294

PostPosted: Thu Mar 05, 2020 3:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Since the Gentoo LiveCD doesn't detect the NVMe drive, it's possible that the default kernel configuration will also not see it. I suggest inspecting the Arch live environment to see what driver it used for the NVMe drive, and using that information to guide configuration of the Gentoo kernel you build and install on the system.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum