Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] qtgui[gles2] and qtgui[-gles2] conflict
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
z4
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Jul 2019
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2020 6:13 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] qtgui[gles2] and qtgui[-gles2] conflict Reply with quote

So it would seem that kde-apps/kdenlive-19.08.3:

...
>=dev-qt/qtgui-${QTMIN}:5[gles2=]
...

cannot be installed at the same time as

media-gfx/digikam-6.4.0:

...
>=dev-qt/qtgui-${QTMIN}:5[-gles2]
...

kdenlive wants qt-gui built with gles2 USE flag while digikam wants it without. The above is a snippet from their respective ebuilds as they are currently (stable). Is there anyway to resolve this and satisfy both? I don't see how, leading me to conclude that kdenlive and digikam cannot both be installed at the same time. Am I understanding this correctly? This is a recent conflict, as kdenlive-19.04.03 couldn't care less about gles2, and neither could digikam-6.2.0. I'm not judging...just want to make sure I'm understanding this correctly...I tried to build a new gentoo system as of a few days ago, and got error messages more or less in line with the above. Thanks for any feedback...


Last edited by z4 on Fri Mar 13, 2020 2:15 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zucca
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Jun 2007
Posts: 1778
Location: KUUSANKOSKI, Finland

PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2020 11:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks like kdenlive also has gles2 USE-flag. Make sure it's disabled and then try again?

I have -gles, -gles1, -gles2 in my make.conf. Then I enable gles for the packages that specifically need it via package.use.
_________________
..: Zucca :..

Code:
ERROR: '--failure' is not an option. Aborting...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
z4
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Jul 2019
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2020 3:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, yes...that is the problem:

Quote:
Looks like kdenlive also has gles2 USE-flag. Make sure it's disabled and then try again?


kdenlive will not emerge without qtgui[gles2]. Its mandatory.

If you build your system with -gles2 (as I have), then try to emerge kdenlive, you will see the issue. You can enable [gles2] for kdenlive, but the issue is the qtgui was already built with [-gles2], and it won't re-emerge even with a --newuse flag, on account of digikam[-gles2] (and few others, qtwidgets[-gles2], etc.). If on the other hand, I built the system (from stage3) with [gles2], then all is well until I try to install digikam, which requires qtgui[-gles2].

So my assertion that digikam and kdenlive cannot both be installed at the same time due to qtgui[gles2/-gles2] conflict, which of course affects dependencies. Its not that I can't sort out the USE flags between digikam and kdenlive, but rather that qtqui has to pick one or the other (qtgui is a dependency of both digikam and kdenlive). Maybe I can force a different slot on qtqui built with [gles2], and another slot (or maybe subslot) on qtqui built with [-gles2], but I'm not sure I really want kdenlive that badly, as it would require I make my own ebuild for it and its conflicted dependencies and drop it into my overlay. I may test the assertion that kdenlive really needs qtqui[gles2]. Not that I don't trust the ebuild writers, but I know this is a recent change, so for my own on-going education it might be a good exercise.

I was just trying to get a feel for whether or not I am understanding this correctly, not necessarily that I need a solution...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 6504

PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2020 6:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Huh?
Code:
 ~ $ emerge --info kdenlive qtgui

=================================================================
                        Package Settings
=================================================================

kde-apps/kdenlive-19.12.3::gentoo was built with the following:
USE="-debug -freesound -gles2 -handbook -semantic-desktop -share -test -v4l" ABI_X86="(64)"


dev-qt/qtgui-5.14.1-r3::gentoo was built with the following:
USE="X dbus egl gif jpeg libinput png udev -accessibility -debug -eglfs -evdev -gles2 -ibus -test -tslib -tuio -vnc -vulkan -wayland" ABI_X86="(64)"


Why are you using gles2 for Qt libraries anyway?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zucca
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Jun 2007
Posts: 1778
Location: KUUSANKOSKI, Finland

PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2020 10:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There wouldn't be gles2 USE-flag for kdenlive if it was mandatory. Afaik, by disabling gles2 for kdenlive also drops the requirement for qtgui[gles2].
_________________
..: Zucca :..

Code:
ERROR: '--failure' is not an option. Aborting...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 7746
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2020 11:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gles2 is package.use-masked for Qt packages in desktop profile for a good reason.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 15334

PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2020 2:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

As I read the OP's text, OP misunderstands the problem. >=dev-qt/qtgui-${QTMIN}:5[gles2=] does not say it requires gles2 enabled. It says that gles2 must match between the named package and the requiring package. Zucca hinted at that in the first response in this thread. From man 5 ebuild:
Code:
              Conditional USE Dependencies

                     Compact Form   Equivalent Expanded Form

                     ─────────────────────────────────────────────────────
                     foo[bar=]      bar? ( foo[bar] ) !bar? ( foo[-bar] )
To be explicit: if you want kde-apps/kdenlive[gles2], you need dev-qt/qtgui[gles2]. If you want kde-apps/kdenlive[-gles2], you need dev-qt/qtgui[-gles2]. That is why Zucca has twice advised disabling gles2, and how Ant P. has the configuration shown.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
z4
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Jul 2019
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2020 2:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There it is...thanks for that explanation. I missed the little '=' sign, or at least its significance. The other nuance is that I dropped the "desktop" from my profile, so that changed the global USE masks, allowing gles2 to come into play, where before it was masked for kdenlive and qtgui. I should have caught that...I was a little suspicious when gles2 didn't show up in 'equery u qtgui'... Anyway, thanks for all the responses. It was a mistake for me to force gles2 for kdenlive, and I did it so long ago that I didn't even bother to check if I did it, assuming I didn't. I have no idea why I did that. But my mistake was masked by the ".../desktop" profile.

Sorry I misunderstood what you were getting at Zucca, and thanks again everybody for helping to unravel the side-effects of what I was doing...maybe this example can serve others who are new to gentoo...it's quite elaborate, but it is really well put together. I like it :-) .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum