Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Qualcomm Atheros QCA617 isn't working
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nazgulba
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Oct 2019
Posts: 18
Location: Latitude: -20.3222, Longitude: -40.3381 20° 19′ 20″ Sul, 40° 20′ 17″ Oeste

PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2020 2:02 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] Qualcomm Atheros QCA617 isn't working Reply with quote

I'm unable to get my Atheros card to work. I followed the general wifi instructions and https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Qualcomm_Atheros_QCA6174. But it still isn't work.

My .config can be seen here: http://dpaste.com/00CVY8H

Code:

lspci -k

......

02:00.0 Network controller: Qualcomm Atheros QCA6174 802.11ac Wireless Network Adapter (rev 32)
        Subsystem: Dell QCA6174 802.11ac Wireless Network Adapter
        Kernel modules: ath10k_pci

$ifconfig -a

eth0: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 10.0.0.101  netmask 255.255.255.0  broadcast 10.0.0.255
        inet6 fe80::d184:d4:c4fa:4336  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x20<link>
        ether d0:94:66:a1:bf:47  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 54014  bytes 67730248 (64.5 MiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 26009  bytes 2184478 (2.0 MiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING>  mtu 65536
        inet 127.0.0.1  netmask 255.0.0.0
        inet6 ::1  prefixlen 128  scopeid 0x10<host>
        loop  txqueuelen 1000  (Loopback Local)
        RX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

sit0: flags=128<NOARP>  mtu 1480
        sit  txqueuelen 1000  (IPv6 sobre IPv4)
        RX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 0  bytes 0 (0.0 B)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0


$iw dev wlan0 info
command failed: No such device (-19)

$ lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
nouveau              2039808  1
ttm                   102400  1 nouveau
wmi_bmof               16384  0
ath                    32768  0
mxm_wmi                16384  0
wmi                    24576  3 wmi_bmof,mxm_wmi,nouveau
x86_pkg_temp_thermal    16384  0
efivarfs               16384  1

$ dmesg | grep firmware
[    0.214224] Spectre V2 : Enabling Restricted Speculation for firmware calls
[    0.380104] i915 0000:00:02.0: Direct firmware load for i915/kbl_dmc_ver1_04.bin failed with error -2
[    0.380107] i915 0000:00:02.0: Failed to load DMC firmware i915/kbl_dmc_ver1_04.bin. Disabling runtime power management.
[    0.380110] i915 0000:00:02.0: DMC firmware homepage: https://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/firmware/linux-firmware.git/tree/i915
[    2.488776] platform regulatory.0: Direct firmware load for regulatory.db failed with error -2



I don't know what's going on. I'd compiled drivers as modules and because of that I didn't install linux-firmware. How can I solve this and put my wifi card working?


Last edited by nazgulba on Tue Mar 24, 2020 10:35 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 3083

PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2020 7:22 am    Post subject: Re: Qualcomm Atheros QCA617 isn't working Reply with quote

nazgulba wrote:
I don't know what's going on. I'd compiled drivers as modules and because of that I didn't install linux-firmware.

Firmware is needed. see the wiki article.
I know that section is long time outdated - someone should check if that limitation mentioned there and the workaround are still valid.

Could you please post your output of dmesg | grep -i -E '02:00.0|wlp|wlan0|80211'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nazgulba
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Oct 2019
Posts: 18
Location: Latitude: -20.3222, Longitude: -40.3381 20° 19′ 20″ Sul, 40° 20′ 17″ Oeste

PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2020 8:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm gonna install linux-firmware. I taught if ath10k was as module in the kernel, firmware wasn't necessary.

Code:
dmesg | grep -i -E '02:00.0|wlp|wlan0|80211'

[    0.297602] pci 0000:02:00.0: [168c:003e] type 00 class 0x028000
[    0.297664] pci 0000:02:00.0: reg 0x10: [mem 0xd5000000-0xd51fffff 64bit]
[    0.297967] pci 0000:02:00.0: PME# supported from D0 D3hot D3cold
[    2.460491] cfg80211: Loading compiled-in X.509 certificates for regulatory database
[    2.466709] cfg80211: Loaded X.509 cert 'sforshee: 00b28ddf47aef9cea7'
[    2.468481] cfg80211: failed to load regulatory.db
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 3083

PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2020 9:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nazgulba wrote:
I'm gonna install linux-firmware. I taught if ath10k was as module in the kernel, firmware wasn't necessary.

Code:
dmesg | grep -i -E '02:00.0|wlp|wlan0|80211'

[    0.297602] pci 0000:02:00.0: [168c:003e] type 00 class 0x028000
[    0.297664] pci 0000:02:00.0: reg 0x10: [mem 0xd5000000-0xd51fffff 64bit]
[    0.297967] pci 0000:02:00.0: PME# supported from D0 D3hot D3cold
[    2.460491] cfg80211: Loading compiled-in X.509 certificates for regulatory database
[    2.466709] cfg80211: Loaded X.509 cert 'sforshee: 00b28ddf47aef9cea7'
[    2.468481] cfg80211: failed to load regulatory.db

ath10k is missing here.
Did the computer really boot from the kernel you have configured? What's your output - from the running computer - of uname -a?

Regarding failed to load regulatory.db see here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nazgulba
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Oct 2019
Posts: 18
Location: Latitude: -20.3222, Longitude: -40.3381 20° 19′ 20″ Sul, 40° 20′ 17″ Oeste

PostPosted: Tue Mar 24, 2020 9:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

4.19.97-gentoo #1 SMP Sat Mar 21 12:03:58 -03 2020 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-7500U CPU @ 2.70GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nazgulba
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Oct 2019
Posts: 18
Location: Latitude: -20.3222, Longitude: -40.3381 20° 19′ 20″ Sul, 40° 20′ 17″ Oeste

PostPosted: Tue Mar 24, 2020 10:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks charle17, I configured 802.11cfg and compiled my kernel again.

After that, reboot and now wla0 is appearing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum