Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
No route table after net-setup
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
rickj
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 386
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Mar 24, 2020 10:17 pm    Post subject: No route table after net-setup Reply with quote

I'm doing a fresh install from install-amd64-minimal-20200322T214504Z.iso. After a net-setup, the ifconfig output looks entirely normal, and /etc/resolv.conf is good, but route shows a completely empty routing table, so of course the network is unreachable. This is by no means my first install, but the first on which network setup has given any trouble. Has the procedure changed? Am I just doing something silly?

The network seems to work well with a year-old install disc, but I don't really want to install that. I tried to install using the old disc, and new stage3 from the net. This works well until the chroot, but the system refuses to run /bin/bash, citing an "exec format error", so this seems to be a dead end.

The network hardware is a motherboard built-in Intel 82567LM-3 which uses the e1000 driver.

I would be grateful for any ideas.


Last edited by rickj on Fri Mar 27, 2020 7:34 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rickj
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 386
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Mar 27, 2020 6:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I also tried adding a default gateway with:
Code:
route add default gw <router_IP>

and the route table was still empty. This is puzzling because there was only a single ethernet adaptor present at the time.

Just in case the driver or the hardware somehow affected the problem, I installed a 3-Com 3C905B card, and tried again. Results were exactly the same.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rickj
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 386
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2020 7:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

On a second, identical system (HP DC7900), net-setup produces what appears to be a good routing table, but all the IP addresses are 0.0.0.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum