Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Making Gentoo recognize wifi hardware on acer aspire switch
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
golden_bee_hive
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Apr 2020
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Apr 14, 2020 6:20 pm    Post subject: Making Gentoo recognize wifi hardware on acer aspire switch Reply with quote

Hello! I've been trying to install gentoo and have been following the guidebook and I'm stuck at configuring the network.

ifconfig & ifconfig -a only show me the loopback interface only, I've had an fedora installation on that computer that had wifi working but all the commands that usually show the hardware didn't show it. I looked around and found that that installation had broadcom drivers, specifically : brcmfmac & brcmutil.

I modprobed these on my gentoo installation and it still didn't show me anything other than the loopback interface.

The guide says the following :
"If ifconfig -a produces no results then the hardware is faulty or the driver for the interface has not been loaded into the kernel. Both situations reach beyond the scope of this Handbook."

And I am pretty sure that the hardware isn't faulty as I've been using it. So can someone help me?

Thanks in advance!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fturco
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 Dec 2010
Posts: 1038
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Tue Apr 14, 2020 6:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome to the Gentoo forums!

Can you post the output of the lspci command, please?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 45383
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Apr 14, 2020 7:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

golden_bee_hive,

Welcome to Gentoo.

As well as the output of
Code:
lspci -nnk
which fturco asked for, please put your Gentoo dmesg output and your kernel .config file onto pastebins.
If you have networking, wgetpaste is a great help.
If not you will need to save dmesg and the kernel .config somewhere where you can post them later.

Neither dmesg nor the ,config will fit in a forum post.

dmesg saved after you have modprobed your modules will be good, an it will show any errors generated by modprobe.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
golden_bee_hive
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Apr 2020
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Apr 14, 2020 8:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your warm welcome and fast response.

Here is the output of lspci:
Code:

livecd~# lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Atom Processor Z36xxx/Z37xxx Series SoC Transaction Register (rev 0d)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Atom Processor Z36xxx/Z37xxx Series Graphics & display (rev 0d)
00:14.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation Atom Processor Z36xxx/Z37xxx, Celeron N2000 Series USB xHCI (rev 0d)
00:1a.0 Encryption controller: Intel Corporation Atom Processor Z36xxx/Z37xxx Series Trusted Execution Engine (rev 0d)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation Atom Processor Z36xxx/Z37xxx Series Power Control Unit (rev 0d)


And the output of lspci -nnk:
Code:

livecd~# lspci -nnk
00:00.0 Host bridge [0600]: Intel Corporation Atom Processor Z36xxx/Z37xxx Series SoC Transaction Register [8086:0f00] (rev 0d)
              Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Atom Processor Z36xxx/Z37xxx Series SoC Transaction Register [1025:0900]
              Kernel driver in use: iosf_mbi_pci
              Kernel modules: iosf_mbi
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Intel Corporation Atom Processor Z36xxx/Z37xxx Series Graphics & display [8086:0f31] (rev 0d)
              Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Atom Processor Z36xxx/Z37xxx Series Graphics & Display [1025:0900]
00:14.0 USB controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation Atom Processor Z36xxx/Z37xxx, Celeron N2000 Series USB xHCI [8086:0f35] (rev 0d)
              Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Atom Processor Z36xxx/Z37xxx, Celeron N2000 Series USB xHCI [1025:0900]
              Kernel driver in use: xhci_hcd
              Kernel modules: xhci_pci
00:1a.0 Encryption controller [1080]: Intel Corporation Atom Processor Z36xxx/Z37xxx Series Trusted Execution Engine [8086:0f18] (rev 0d)
              Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Atom Processor Z36xxx/Z37xxx Series Trusted Execution Engine [1025:0900]
00:1f.0 ISA bridge [0601]: Intel Corporation Atom Processor Z36xxx/Z37xxx Series Power Control Unit [8086:0f1c] (rev 0d)
              Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Atom Processor Z36xxx/Z37xxx Series Power Control Unit [1025:0900]


Unfortunately as gentoo doesn't recognize the network card and the netbook doesn't have an ethernet port, I cannot share a lot.
The commands above were copied by hand as I can't access the network, so I cannot copy the big commands like dmesg output and my kernel .config file unless I want to install this in a year :) my apologies.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 45383
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Apr 14, 2020 8:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

golden_bee_hive,

Your network card isn't there. That means its probably not on the PCI bus.
I say probably because these Z37xxx Series SoC, do all sorts of things with GPIO to power things off and if you don't have correct GPIO support it the kernel, not a lot works.

Its possible that your WiFi is on USB too.
Code:
lsusb
will show it.

Do you have a USB stick?
I guess so as you managed to install Gentoo to find out it doesn't quite work.
Did you have networking then?

Proceed as follows.
Boot whatever you used to install Gentoo.

If your WiFi works, mount your filesystems and make wifi work, just as you did for the install. Then do the chroot steps.
You are back in the chroot as if you had never left but its runnig on the boot media kernel.
Code:
emerge wgetpaste usbutils 

You will want them.

Now run
Code:
wgetpaste -c lsusb
wgetpaste -c 'lspci -nnk'
wgetpaste -c dmesg
wgetpaste /usr/src/linux/.config
and tell us the URLs you get back.

If you don't have wifi, save the command output to files
Code:
lsusb > /lsusb.txt
lspci -nnk > /lspci.txt
dmesg >/dmesg.txt

/usr/src/linux/.config is already a file

Post those 4 files, maybe by putting them os a USB stick and posting from elsewhere.
The last two need to go to pastebin sites.

You don't have to have a network to install Gentoo but it helps.
I'll explain how to do a networkless install if its required.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
golden_bee_hive
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Apr 2020
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Apr 14, 2020 10:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think I should have elaborated more. Currently I have an fedora installation on the netbook that has wifi working. And I am booting the minimal installation cd on a usb. I can access the fedora installation normally.

Emerge doesn't work as bash doesn't recognize it.

wegetpaste -c 'lspci -nnk" returns that "apperently nothing was received" same with lsusb (also I am not using a wifi usb) but with dmesg it says;
Code:

Pasting > 25 kb often tend to fail with dpaste use --verbose or --debug to see the error output from wget if it fails. Alternatively use another pastebin service.
--2020-04-14 21:37:09-- http://dpaste.com/
Resolving dpaste.com... failed: Temporary failure in name resolution.
wget: unable to resolve host address 'dpaste.com'


This was run with --verbose by the way.
I will try to post the dmesg somehow but unfortunately its getting late here.
The output of lsusb is:
Code:

Bus 001 Device 002: ID 05dc:a206 Lexar Media, Inc.
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0003 Linux Foundation 3.0 root hub
Bus 001 Device 004: ID 06cb:2968 Synaptics, Inc.
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 05e3:0608 Genesys Logic , Inc. Hub
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub


So, what's the next step?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 4513
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Tue Apr 14, 2020 10:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It might be a realtek 8723bs, RTL8723BS, under staging in the 5.5 kernel
_________________
PRIME x570-pro, 3700x, RX 550 & 560
Acer E5-575 (laptop), i3-7100u - i965
---both---
5.5.18 zen kernel, gcc 9.3.0, profile 17.1 (no-pie & modified) amd64-no-multilib, eudev, openrc, openbox, palemoon


Last edited by Anon-E-moose on Tue Apr 14, 2020 11:03 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 45383
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Apr 14, 2020 10:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

golden_bee_hive,

Do you have space to install Gentoo beside Fedora, at least temporarily?

Any Linux can be used to install Gentoo, you only need a root shell. The minimal CD is only a toolkit. None of its code goes into your Gentoo install.

Starting from Fedora, become root.
Code:
mkdir /mnt/gentoo
to make the mount point the Gentoo Handbook expects.
Mount your Gentoo root partition an /mnt/gentoo and contine with the handbook.

If your Gentoo install is well underway, you can get into the chroot as I explained above.
If not, Fedora will provide working networking for your install.

We do need to check what Fedora does for that and replicate it in Gentoo.
Then you don't need Fedora any more but you can dual boot if you wish.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
golden_bee_hive
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Apr 2020
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2020 9:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon,

Many thanks! But another question.

I made the mnt/gentoo but when I tried to use parted on the dev/sda~ partitions they simply don't exist.
Unfortunately I don't have much experience with partitions and since fedora gives network support I don't want to ruin its partitions.
How can I do the dev/sda partitions? Are they simply files at dev/ which then parted is used on or is there another way to do it?

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 45383
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2020 3:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

golden_bee_hive,

Partitions are like the slices of a cake.
They divide your HDD into separate pieces to help you manage it.

You say
Quote:
I made the mnt/gentoo

be aware that mnt/gentoo and /mnt/gentoo are not usually the same.
mnt/gentoo is a relative path name. Its relative to wherever you are in the filesystem tree.
The $PWD command will show that.
/mnt/gentoo, with the leading / is an absolute path name. It starts at the top of the filesystem tree. The leading / is important.

I suspect that fedora partitioned your entire hard drive, so you will need to shrink the fedora install to make room for Gentoo.

Using fedora, post the output of
Code:
fdisk -l
This will show all the drives and partitions the kernel can see.
Then post
Code:
df -Th
This will show all your mounted filesystem sizes, usage and types, so we can work out how to fit Gentoo in.
Its all harmless looking.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
golden_bee_hive
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Apr 2020
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2020 7:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yup, I made /mnt/gentoo not the other local one, that was a typing mistake on my part.

output of fdisk -l:
Code:

Disk /dev/mmcblk1: 29.13 GiB, 31272730624 bytes, 61079552 sectors
Units: sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disklabel type: gpt
Disk identifier: C68EB2C2-55F0-4A29-B854-B939E12A5942

Device           Start      End  Sectors  Size Type
/dev/mmcblk1p1    2048  1230847  1228800  600M EFI System
/dev/mmcblk1p2 1230848  3327999  2097152    1G Linux filesystem
/dev/mmcblk1p3 3328000 61077503 57749504 27.6G Linux LVM


Disk /dev/mapper/fedora_localhost--live-root: 24.64 GiB, 26436698112 bytes, 51634176 sectors
Units: sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes


Disk /dev/mapper/fedora_localhost--live-swap: 2.94 GiB, 3128950784 bytes, 6111232 sectors
Units: sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes

and output of df -Th:
Code:

Filesystem                              Type      Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
devtmpfs                                devtmpfs  913M     0  913M   0% /dev
tmpfs                                   tmpfs     933M   39M  894M   5% /dev/shm
tmpfs                                   tmpfs     933M  1.7M  931M   1% /run
/dev/mapper/fedora_localhost--live-root ext4       25G   13G   11G  53% /
tmpfs                                   tmpfs     933M   24K  933M   1% /tmp
/dev/mmcblk1p2                          ext4      976M  236M  673M  26% /boot
/dev/mmcblk1p1                          vfat      599M   20M  580M   4% /boot/efi
tmpfs                                   tmpfs     187M   24K  187M   1% /run/user/1000


Yeah I am pretty sure fedora took up the whole hard drive as I let it do the partitions automatically.
Also, side note:I am not aiming to dual boot fedora & gentoo. I want to get rid of fedora after installing gentoo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 45383
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2020 7:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

golden_bee_hive,

You have a 32G eMMC 'hard drive'. Think of it as a soldered down microSD card.
Hence the mmc in your partition names.

/dev/mmcblk1p1 is for your EFI programs , like grub. You may boot files, like the kernel and initrd here too but they need not be.
Only your boot loader configuration will change.
/dev/mmcblk1p2 is your /boot. Fedora will have its kernel and initrd here.
You will put your Gentoo kernel and initrd here too. Its only 26% used so lots of room.
Code:
Filesystem                              Type      Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
 /dev/mmcblk1p2                          ext4      976M  236M  673M  26% /boot


Code:
Device           Start      End  Sectors  Size Type
/dev/mmcblk1p3 3328000 61077503 57749504 27.6G Linux LVM

That's Fedora assigning the rest of your drive to Logical Volume Manager. In a way that's good.
Think of it as a container for dynamically resizable partitions. They are called Logical Volumes rather than partitions though.
That's enough detail on LVM.

You have two logical volumes.
Code:
/dev/mapper/fedora_localhost--live-root: 24.64 GiB
/dev/mapper/fedora_localhost--live-swap: 2.94 GiB

Adding those sizes together gets to the size of /dev/mmcblk1p3, at 27.6G, which tells that there is no unallocated space.

From
Code:
Filesystem                              Type      Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/mapper/fedora_localhost--live-root ext4       25G   13G   11G  53% /
Fedora is using half of it root filesystem leaving 11G free.
That's not enough to build and run gentoo in.
I personally, would not build Gentoo on an eMMC card. The build process does a lot of writing and eMMC isn't very good with with wear levelling.

We need to make a distinction between build and run for Gentoo. Fedora is installed and runs in 13G. Gentoo can do the same for the same packages.
Where Gentoo needs more space is for the build. You don't build Fedora, you install binaries.

Gentoo will download all the sources of the packages you want to install. That takes space.
Then it will compile them. Building may want 10G of temporary space, just for the build.
To do it all in one place, allow 40G altogether.

Its possible to install Gentoo on eMMC, is the same space as Fedora as long as you don't keep the sources and temporary build space on the eMMC too.

Linux assembles its file system from all the volumes you care to give it. You don't see the join as you do in Windows with drive letters.
The join is certainly detectable as some filesystem elements are faster that others.

Where this is leading to is a suggestion to put the big bits of Gentoo that are only needed for building onto a USB drive, which only need be connected for updates.
The install that you use all the time will go on your eMMC inside the laptop, so it will run anywhere.

If you don't want to do that, I suspect that your laptop has a microSD card slot. Gentoos root filesystem can go on an SD card or USB stick.
I still recommend an external HDD for the temporary storage as wear levelling in microSD cards and USB sticks is still fairly new.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
golden_bee_hive
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Apr 2020
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2020 8:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well I knew the netbook was weak but not that weak :)

I don't think I have a usb that big.. I'll looking into finding/buying an hdd.

But I want to know what are the details of making an gentoo install from another distro. I know its asking too much but I want to know how the partitions are made + mounted to a gentoo root partition and the general outline after that. Its not clear to me from the wiki.

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 45383
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2020 9:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

golden_bee_hive,

Leave aside your eMMC card called /dev/mmcblk1 we will not use that at all, as least not for this.

You can do this for real, if you have a block storage device you can destroy the data on.
Boot Fedora, then attach the device.
In a terminal window look at the end of dmesg. It will show the device name and any partitions detected.

Something like
Code:
[703692.721483] usb 9-1.4.4: new SuperSpeed Gen 1 USB device number 21 using xhci_hcd
[703692.745449] usb 9-1.4.4: New USB device found, idVendor=0781, idProduct=5581, bcdDevice= 1.10
[703692.745451] usb 9-1.4.4: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=3
[703692.745453] usb 9-1.4.4: Product: SanDisk Ultra
[703692.745454] usb 9-1.4.4: Manufacturer: SanDisk
[703692.745455] usb 9-1.4.4: SerialNumber: A2003BC1D303E746
[703692.746985] usb-storage 9-1.4.4:1.0: USB Mass Storage device detected
[703692.751175] scsi host11: usb-storage 9-1.4.4:1.0
[703693.754084] scsi 11:0:0:0: Direct-Access     SanDisk  SanDisk Ultra    PMAP PQ: 0 ANSI: 6
[703693.754171] sd 11:0:0:0: Attached scsi generic sg11 type 0
[703693.754415] sd 11:0:0:0: [sdj] 30283008 512-byte logical blocks: (15.5 GB/14.4 GiB)
[703693.754630] sd 11:0:0:0: [sdj] Write Protect is off
[703693.754632] sd 11:0:0:0: [sdj] Mode Sense: 2b 00 00 08
[703693.754840] sd 11:0:0:0: [sdj] Write cache: disabled, read cache: enabled, doesn't support DPO or FUA
[703693.928171]  sdj: sdj1
[703693.929050] sd 11:0:0:0: [sdj] Attached SCSI removable disk


The last two lines say its /dev/sdj and it already has one partition, /dev/sdj1
To install Gentoo there, you use the partitioning tool of your choice and write a new GPT disk label.
This destroys the partition table that was there and all the data becomes difficult to find. Its all still there unharmed but the pointers to it are gone.

As you have an EFI system, you need at least three partitions for the device to be bootable.
An EFI partition' that will be formatted as VFAT, so that the EFI firmware can read it.
A swap partition, that does not get a filesystem.
A root partition for your Gentoo install.

The 2Mb bios_boot partition is only required if you try to use legacy BIOS with a GPT disk label.
You can make if if you want but booting legacy BIOS using GPT is getting harder and should be avoided.

If you want to split the root partition into two, you can. It can be root and boot, just like your Fedora.
You can make more partitions if you wish and you can use several block devices in your filesystem.
The exact keystroke you need depend on the partitioning tool you choose.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum