Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
audio at livecd enviroment does not work
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Algori
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Jan 2018
Posts: 41
Location: Leipzig

PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2020 11:05 am    Post subject: audio at livecd enviroment does not work Reply with quote

Hello Gentoousers,

I need to set up the soundoutput at livecd environment, because, I've to study online these days and I got certain errors by compiling the kernel so the install will take a while I don't really have, as long as I can't use the onlinetools of the University, time for it.

everything works fine, but no audiooutput at all.

Is there a way to get it work?
I do know its because I've got HDMI on Laptop card0 and the PCH analog card1, so the default is the HDMI, I wanted to change some files to change the order, but I couldn't find any.

Its may prertty stupid to ask, but I really need to work, have to listen to the lessons.

Thank you and regards
algori
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 45383
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2020 11:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Algori,

If you have support on the liveCD at all, you need to write a /etc/asound.conf file.
You will need to do this every boot or save it somewhere.

Please post the output of /proc/asound/devices so we can work out what to write.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Algori
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Jan 2018
Posts: 41
Location: Leipzig

PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2020 12:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello NeddySeagoon,

Code:

livecd ~ # cat /proc/asound/devices
  2: [ 0]   : control
  3: [ 0- 3]: digital audio playback
  4: [ 0- 7]: digital audio playback
  5: [ 0- 8]: digital audio playback
  6: [ 0- 0]: hardware dependent
  7: [ 1]   : control
  8: [ 1- 0]: digital audio playback
  9: [ 1- 0]: digital audio capture
 10: [ 1- 0]: hardware dependent


Code:

livecd ~ # cat /sys/class/sound/card*/id
HDMI
PCH
livecd ~ # aplay --list-devices
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: HDMI [HDA Intel HDMI], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: HDMI [HDA Intel HDMI], device 7: HDMI 1 [HDMI 1]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: HDMI [HDA Intel HDMI], device 8: HDMI 2 [HDMI 2]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: 92HD95 Analog [92HD95 Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0


Code:

livecd etc # aplay -L       
null
    Discard all samples (playback) or generate zero samples (capture)
pulse
    PulseAudio Sound Server
hdmi:CARD=HDMI,DEV=0
    HDA Intel HDMI, HDMI 0
    HDMI Audio Output
hdmi:CARD=HDMI,DEV=1
    HDA Intel HDMI, HDMI 1
    HDMI Audio Output
hdmi:CARD=HDMI,DEV=2
    HDA Intel HDMI, HDMI 2
    HDMI Audio Output
sysdefault:CARD=PCH
    HDA Intel PCH, 92HD95 Analog
    Default Audio Device
front:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, 92HD95 Analog
    Front speakers
surround21:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, 92HD95 Analog
    2.1 Surround output to Front and Subwoofer speakers
surround40:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, 92HD95 Analog
    4.0 Surround output to Front and Rear speakers
surround41:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, 92HD95 Analog
    4.1 Surround output to Front, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround50:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, 92HD95 Analog
    5.0 Surround output to Front, Center and Rear speakers
surround51:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, 92HD95 Analog
    5.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround71:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, 92HD95 Analog
    7.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Side, Rear and Woofer speakers



I did try some before,

Code:

livecd ~ # speaker-test -t wav -c 2

speaker-test 1.1.1

Playback device is default
Stream parameters are 48000Hz, S16_LE, 2 channels
WAV file(s)
Rate set to 48000Hz (requested 48000Hz)
Buffer size range from 96 to 1048576
Period size range from 32 to 349526
Using max buffer size 1048576
Periods = 4
was set period_size = 262144
was set buffer_size = 1048576
 0 - Front Left
 1 - Front Right
Time per period = 3.102145
 0 - Front Left
 1 - Front Right
Time per period = 3.024261
 0 - Front Left
 1 - Front Right
Time per period = 3.024301
 0 - Front Left
 1 - Front Right
Time per period = 3.024872
 0 - Front Left
 1 - Front Right
Time per period = 3.024270
 0 - Front Left
^Z
[1]+  Stopped                 speaker-test -t wav -c 2


there was no sound at all, like i said.
I tried to write ~/.asoundrc
does not work, so I delete it.


Last edited by Algori on Sat Apr 18, 2020 2:29 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 45383
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2020 1:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Algori,

As you say, you need to make sound card1 the default sound card. There are several ways to do this but our choice is restricted by it needing to work in the liveCD.

Try this in /etc/asound.conf

Code:
pcm_slave.slave_rate44100Hz {
        pcm "hw:1,8"
#       This is the rate the sonud card does.
#       Any random input rates are resampled to this.
        rate 44100
}
pcm.rate48000Hz {
        type plug
        slave slave_rate44100Hz
}

defaults.pcm.card 1
defaults.pcm.device 0
defaults.ctl.card 1


This does two things. The first bit resamples 48kHz sample rate audio to the 44.1kHz sample rate that analogue sound output expect.
Depending on your sound source, you may not need that.

The
Code:
defaults.pcm.card 1
defaults.pcm.device 0
defaults.ctl.card 1
part says to make sound card1 devece0 the default device.
That may be enough.

You will know in you try to play sound that was created at the wrong sample rate. It sounds terrible :)
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Algori
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Jan 2018
Posts: 41
Location: Leipzig

PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2020 2:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for your help!

I tried, but it's still does not work, I also tried

Code:


pcm_slave.slave_rate44100Hz {
        pcm "hw:1,8"
#       This is the rate the sonud card does.
#       Any random input rates are resampled to this.
        rate 44100
}
pcm.rate48000Hz {
        type plug
        slave slave_rate44100Hz
}

#defaults.pcm.card 1
#defaults.pcm.device 0
#defaults.ctl.card 1


defaults.pcm.!card PCH
defaults.pcm.!device 0
defaults.pcm.!ctl PCH


but no sound.

Code:

ivecd ~ # speaker-test -t wav -c 2

speaker-test 1.1.1

Playback device is default
Stream parameters are 48000Hz, S16_LE, 2 channels
WAV file(s)
Rate set to 48000Hz (requested 48000Hz)
Buffer size range from 96 to 1048576
Period size range from 32 to 349526
Using max buffer size 1048576
Periods = 4
was set period_size = 262144
was set buffer_size = 1048576
 0 - Front Left
 1 - Front Right
Time per period = 3.025583
 0 - Front Left
 1 - Front Right
Time per period = 3.024668
 0 - Front Left
 1 - Front Right
Time per period = 3.024711
 0 - Front Left
 1 - Front Right
^Z
[3]+  Stopped                 speaker-test -t wav -c 2


Last edited by Algori on Sat Apr 18, 2020 2:59 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7653
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2020 2:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just an idea. What happens when you unload HDMI sound module? Assuming it is a module.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Algori
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Jan 2018
Posts: 41
Location: Leipzig

PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2020 3:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

its not a module, tried that before...


but right now, this entire liveenvironment starts to bug, I wanted to have a look at graphical desktop audio, video settings, just in case...
script does not answer I force it to stop, right now, it stays as an open window, filled with background graphic, stakable, but can't open any szstem settings at the graphical dektop.

it drives my brain into something like a biological Meltdown, read, read try try but no solutions so far..
need a break!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 45383
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2020 3:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Algori,

Run
Code:
alsamixer -c0
If all is well, that should show you lots of controls, mostly with sliders and mute switches at the bottom. Indicated by
Code:
[MM]

The [MM] means muted. When it shows [OO] it means Open.

Unmute Master, Front and PCM, then set the sliders to 70%, then test.
Muted is the default state, so even if your /etc/asound.conf is correct, there is more to do.
You must not unmute any controls with S/PDIF or IEC in their names.

If
Code:
alsamixer -c0
, shown only [MM] switches, your sound cards are still the wrong way sound.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Algori
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Jan 2018
Posts: 41
Location: Leipzig

PostPosted: Sun Apr 19, 2020 9:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you!

I did change something at alsamixer before, set automute disabled, I never expected more details on that.

Yes it works for the gernrell environment now, but not for firefox or an other browser. I tried to create a ~/.asoundrc file, but no changes yet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 45383
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Apr 19, 2020 10:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Algori,

A few browsers only support pulseaudio.
Firefox can be built that way too.

This is getting to the point where doing the install is going to be loss work that making sound work everywhere in the live environment.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Algori
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Jan 2018
Posts: 41
Location: Leipzig

PostPosted: Sun Apr 19, 2020 11:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sure that makes sense, but I don't get away with the compiling errors


I've also read about this browser conflicts and the install by the right useflags.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 45383
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Apr 19, 2020 12:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Algori,

That's why you need to build it yourself.
The easiest way to do that is on your own install.

There is no need to install Gentoo in one go. You can stop and boot some other operating system if
a) you have one and
b) you need to

Once you are working on your install in the chroot, nothing is lost, it all stays on the HDD.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Algori
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Jan 2018
Posts: 41
Location: Leipzig

PostPosted: Sun Apr 19, 2020 1:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm stuck into this

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-8446416.html#8446416
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum