Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Gentoo sys-devel/gcc-9.3.0 failed compile phase
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
yumbatos
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Apr 2020
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Apr 21, 2020 11:13 pm    Post subject: Gentoo sys-devel/gcc-9.3.0 failed compile phase Reply with quote

Hi
I have been trying to install gentoo on my virtualbox for a few days now.

I am trying to install with LUKS-LVM.

When I try to do my first emerge, everything is smooth but after a few hours its stops ands tells me that
ERROR: sys-devel/gcc-9.3.0::gentoo failed (compile phase)

I dont know how to pull the text file to my host pc from the vbox so i made screen shot of the end of the build log and my make.conf

https://ibb.co/TLMP8sC

EDIT:
emerge --info
http://dpaste.com/03TNC8M


Last edited by yumbatos on Wed Apr 22, 2020 2:10 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7653
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Wed Apr 22, 2020 12:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome to Gentoo forums, yumbatos

These screenshots are not helpful. You need to develop some creativity, you can get files/information out from VirtualBox if you work on it a bit. My guess right now is your VM is running out of RAM, this guess is purely based on past experience. In future post your emerge --info instead of make.conf. First displays all important settings in effect, much more than mere make.conf (which can be even overridden and thus misleading).
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yumbatos
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Apr 2020
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Apr 22, 2020 1:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover wrote:
Welcome to Gentoo forums, yumbatos

These screenshots are not helpful. You need to develop some creativity, you can get files/information out from VirtualBox if you work on it a bit. My guess right now is your VM is running out of RAM, this guess is purely based on past experience. In future post your emerge --info instead of make.conf. First displays all important settings in effect, much more than mere make.conf (which can be even overridden and thus misleading).



it has 2gb ram right now, that should be enough no? the emerge --info says most of the memory is still free and the swap has barely been used

I have read the emerge --info its just list lines of variables and there set values. there is nothing that points to anything in terms of what is causing the error.

to only place I can find anything that points to the source of error is in the build log and thats almost 13k lines, and only the end does it mention any errors, and when it does it is cryptic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 7653
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Wed Apr 22, 2020 1:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can post logs using Gentoo wgetpaste utility. There is a Gentoo wiki article about its usage.
_________________
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yumbatos
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Apr 2020
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Apr 22, 2020 2:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover wrote:
You can post logs using Gentoo wgetpaste utility. There is a Gentoo wiki article about its usage.


didnt know that existed, thanks so much. I edit my first post with the url but will link it here as well

http://dpaste.com/03TNC8M

Im still not sure how I would resolve an issue like this on my own. I dont really see any obvious direction or starting points on what it is that needs fixing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 15294

PostPosted: Wed Apr 22, 2020 2:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

2G is usually fine for a single-threaded build. Your png is very tiny and hard to read, but I think you set a double-threaded build. Depending on how much swap you have, this may or may not be a problem.

emerge --info shows the current state of the system. If the build has already failed, all the memory it was using is now free.

emerge --info does not try to tell you about an error. It tells us about your system, so we can look for common mistakes, and for situations likely to explain your problem. For example, if we had that, we could see how much RAM you dedicated to the system, how much swap, and what versions of the various tools you are using.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yumbatos
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Apr 2020
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Apr 22, 2020 2:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hu wrote:
2G is usually fine for a single-threaded build. Your png is very tiny and hard to read, but I think you set a double-threaded build. Depending on how much swap you have, this may or may not be a problem.

emerge --info shows the current state of the system. If the build has already failed, all the memory it was using is now free.

emerge --info does not try to tell you about an error. It tells us about your system, so we can look for common mistakes, and for situations likely to explain your problem. For example, if we had that, we could see how much RAM you dedicated to the system, how much swap, and what versions of the various tools you are using.


should i set my makeopts to -j1?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yumbatos
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Apr 2020
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Apr 22, 2020 6:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried to change makeopts to -j1 and checked the virtual box its set to single core.

but still get the same error :(

At this point i have no idea what is wrong
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 15294

PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2020 1:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Neither do we. If you share the last few hundred lines of the build log from the most recent failure, we can try to help you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cam2
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Apr 2020
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2020 4:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello

I originally came here because my build of sys-devel/gcc-9.3.0 is failing too.

And I confirm after hours of compilation that it works better by adding swap to my 2G machine. Building world is not possible with only 2G of memory. (And my 512MB regular swap is not enough.)

Add 4GB to the swap:

Code:
dd if=/dev/zero of=/home/swap_4G bs=1M count=4096
mkswap /home/swap_4G
losetup /dev/loop0 /home/swap_4G
swapon /dev/loop0


To disable:

Code:
swapoff /dev/loop0
losetup -d /dev/loop0
rm /home/swap_4G
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ununu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Apr 2020
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Mon May 11, 2020 4:12 pm    Post subject: lto USE flag broken Reply with quote

yumbatos wrote:
I tried to change makeopts to -j1 and checked the virtual box its set to single core.

but still get the same error :(

At this point i have no idea what is wrong


Disable lto USE flag, it appears to be broken on gcc 9. And as a good measure just to get gcc compile quickly disable pgo as well. The last line of your emerge log messages fortran seems the culprit, so disable that too.

And since it's a vm remove -pipe from CFLAGS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum