Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
HOWTO: qmail vpopmail qmail-scanner courier squirrelmail
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 9, 10, 11 ... 15, 16, 17  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nianderson
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 May 2003
Posts: 369
Location: Lawrence, KS

PostPosted: Sat Mar 13, 2004 4:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i looked at your smtp auth section spanky mine should be fine.

When I try to send mail with auth encryption none and authentication method login i get
Code:

Sending failed:

Your SMTP server doesn't support authentication.

The server responded: "Must Issue a STARTTLS command first (#5.7.0)"

i get the same with encryption none and authentication method plain and cram-md5


when i try to send mail with auth and tls with plain i get
Code:

Sending Failed:

Unknown error code 50

Your SMTP server does not support tls. Disable TLS, if you want to connect without encryption.

kmail crashes if i try to detect automatically

here is the relevent section in my conf-smtpd
Code:

QMAIL_SMTP_AUTHHOST=$(<${QMAIL_CONTROLDIR}/me)
[ -z "${QMAIL_SMTP_POST}" ] && QMAIL_SMTP_POST=/bin/true
QMAIL_SMTP_CHECKPASSWORD="/var/vpopmail/bin/vchkpw"
QMAIL_SMTP_POST="${QMAIL_SMTP_AUTHHOST} ${QMAIL_SMTP_CHECKPASSWORD} ${QMAIL_SMTP_POST}"


ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
happy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jan 2003
Posts: 21
Location: California

PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2004 4:18 am    Post subject: I took a different approach Reply with quote

I followed the gentoo / qmail-howto, then removed the qmail directory, and installed qmail from vanilla source, then instead of installing mysql/vpopmail, I just installed squirrelmail and all worked fine. I even applied the spamcontrol patch to qmail, and that is working flawlessly.

Cheers,
_________________
For me, to pursue social justice is to liberate as many computers as possible from the tyranny of Microsoft.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SpanKY
Developer
Developer


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 321
Location: Worcester, MA

PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2004 12:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nianderson wrote:
when i try to send mail with auth and tls with plain i get
Code:

Sending Failed:

Unknown error code 50

Your SMTP server does not support tls. Disable TLS, if you want to connect without encryption.


make sure you emerged with USE=ssl and you're using the qmail version i suggested in the howto
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blubbi
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 555
Location: Halle (Saale), Germany

PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2004 12:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tls is working for me, but I can's AUTH:

Code:
root@xyz $ telnet localhost 25
Trying 127.0.0.1...
Connected to localhost.
Escape character is '^]'.
220 xyz.medizin.uni-halle.de ESMTP
ehlo
250-xyz.medizin.uni-halle.de
250-STARTTLS
250-SIZE 0
250-PIPELINING
250 8BITMIME
starttls
220 ready for tls
AUTH LOGIN
Connection closed by foreign host.


This line "250 AUTH LOGIN PLAIN CRAM-MD5" is missing
after "250 8BITMIME"

I am realy going nuts .....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blubbi
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 555
Location: Halle (Saale), Germany

PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2004 12:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

[quote="outspoken"][quote="blubbi"]
outspoken wrote:
well i was able to get my installation to work!!

i'm using your howto for anti-virus and spam busting blubbi. ive just finished the merging, now im going to install a new HD before i update the spam list as you say it takes a lot of space and im running out on that pc. im going to make a new directory specifically for the spam and just call it /spam, giving it the same permissions and details as the /root directory. is that what you would suggest?

thanks!


no no, /root/spam/ was just where I put that spamcrap :-) Put your spam where you want. The spamdatabase in /etc/mail will only be a tenth of the spam you feed it with. But you need this space to download und unpack the spamy messages. But you can but the spam in any dir you want. Just point salern to your choosen dir.


------------------EDIT----------------------

Updated the howto:

3.Installing qmail amd vpopmail

comment out QMAIL_SMTP_POST="..." at the top of conf-smtp

-----------------EDIT-----------------------
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nianderson
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 May 2003
Posts: 369
Location: Lawrence, KS

PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2004 2:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SpanKY wrote:

make sure you emerged with USE=ssl and you're using the qmail version i suggested in the howto


my flags did include ssl however we are mergng r-15 ebuild ...... maybe there is a problem with the ebuild?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
happy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jan 2003
Posts: 21
Location: California

PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2004 3:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SpanKY wrote:
nianderson wrote:
when i try to send mail with auth and tls with plain i get
Code:

Sending Failed:

Unknown error code 50

Your SMTP server does not support tls. Disable TLS, if you want to connect without encryption.


make sure you emerged with USE=ssl and you're using the qmail version i suggested in the howto


TLS works fine with spamcontrol if you use it with version 2.2.5. I've got both here if you would like to give it a try:
http://www.trustworthy.net/spamcontrol-225.tgz
http://www.trustworthy.net/spamcontrol-tls-2.2.5.patch

Again, this is against the vanilla qmail source.
_________________
For me, to pursue social justice is to liberate as many computers as possible from the tyranny of Microsoft.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blubbi
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 555
Location: Halle (Saale), Germany

PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2004 4:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nianderson wrote:
SpanKY wrote:

make sure you emerged with USE=ssl and you're using the qmail version i suggested in the howto


my flags did include ssl however we are mergng r-15 ebuild ...... maybe there is a problem with the ebuild?


I don't know how it works with kmail, try telnet. after connect type starttls

this works for me ... Try to enable tls somwhere in kmail.


But wondering about a thing:
my /var/log/qmail/qmail-smtpd/current
stays empty .... even if I send a message via telnet .... curious .... someone else out here with an empty log ??

Code:
root     21351     1  0 17:04 pts/0    00:00:00 /usr/bin/svscan /service
root      8184 21351  0 17:04 pts/0    00:00:00 supervise qmail-send
root      6731 21351  0 17:04 pts/0    00:00:00 supervise log
root     12677 21351  0 17:04 pts/0    00:00:00 supervise qmail-smtpd
root     17731 21351  0 17:04 pts/0    00:00:00 supervise log
qmails    7878  8184  0 17:04 pts/0    00:00:00 [qmail-send]
vpopmail 28979 12677  0 17:04 pts/0    00:00:00 [tcpserver]
qmaill   31885 17731  0 17:04 pts/0    00:00:00 /usr/bin/multilog t s2500000 n10 /var/log/qmail/qmail-smtpd
qmaill   16213  6731  0 17:04 pts/0    00:00:00 /usr/bin/multilog t s2500000 n10 /var/log/qmail/qmail-send
root     11549  7878  0 17:04 pts/0    00:00:00 qmail-lspawn |dot-forward .forward?./.maildir/
qmailr   27839  7878  0 17:04 pts/0    00:00:00 [qmail-rspawn]
qmailq   22473  7878  0 17:04 pts/0    00:00:00 [qmail-clean]
root     31195 23207  0 17:06 pts/0    00:00:00 ps -ef


everything seems to be wonderfull :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blubbi
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 555
Location: Halle (Saale), Germany

PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2004 7:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

problem solved ......

I forgot "-v" in tcpserver options :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
outspoken
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 Feb 2004
Posts: 464
Location: orlando, fl

PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2004 2:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hey blubbi, or anyone who has recently done a 'salearn' for their spamassassin with all of the files downloaded:

about how many dots show up on the screen when it is done learning?

this is how many i have now:

......................

and its been running for 2 days! =P if its one dot per file then i have a long, long ways to go. any rough idea on how many? 4/5 lines worth of dots, etc etc. i wish it showed a percentage instead, or time estimation.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nianderson
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 May 2003
Posts: 369
Location: Lawrence, KS

PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2004 5:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i did it a few days ago off blubis howto it was over 80 i believe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
destr0yr
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Nov 2003
Posts: 80
Location: Kelowna, BC.

PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2004 5:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi. I'm having difficulties when emerging qmail-scanner 1.20. I am using the line
Code:

ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~x86" emerge qmail-scanner

and it poops out the following error
Code:

>>> md5 src_uri ;-) qmail-scanner-1.20.tgz
>>> Unpacking source...
>>> Unpacking qmail-scanner-1.20.tgz to /var/tmp/portage/qmail-scanner-1.20/work
 * Replacing obsolete head/tail with POSIX compliant ones
 * Adding items to the SILENT_VIRUSES list (bagle,beagle,mydoom,sco,maldal,mimail,novarg,shimg)
 * Forcing use of clamscan instead of clamuko due to detection bug
>>> Source unpacked.
Building Qmail-Scanner 1.20...

Fatal Error: Qmail-Scanner must be installed and run as a separate
account.

Please create the username and group "qscand" before continuing.

e.g.

groupadd qscand
useradd -c "Qmail-Scanner Account" -g qscand  -s /bin/false qscand


!!! ERROR: net-mail/qmail-scanner-1.20 failed.
!!! Function src_compile, Line 58, Exitcode 1
!!! ./configure failed!


not sure what other logs/error messages i can post... any suggestions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blubbi
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 555
Location: Halle (Saale), Germany

PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2004 7:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

destr0yr wrote:
Code:

ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~x86" emerge qmail-scanner

and it poops out the following error
Code:

Fatal Error: Qmail-Scanner must be installed and run as a separate
account.

Please create the username and group "qscand" before continuing.

e.g.

groupadd qscand
useradd -c "Qmail-Scanner Account" -g qscand  -s /bin/false qscand


!!! ERROR: net-mail/qmail-scanner-1.20 failed.
!!! Function src_compile, Line 58, Exitcode 1
!!! ./configure failed!



you posted your answere self :-)
of some reason the group "qscand" hasn't been created yet. Create it and it should work
Code:
groupadd qscand
useradd -c "Qmail-Scanner Account" -g qscand  -s /bin/false qscand
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blubbi
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 555
Location: Halle (Saale), Germany

PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2004 7:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

outspoken wrote:
hey blubbi, or anyone who has recently done a 'salearn' for their spamassassin with all of the files downloaded:

about how many dots show up on the screen when it is done learning?

this is how many i have now:

......................

and its been running for 2 days! =P if its one dot per file then i have a long, long ways to go. any rough idea on how many? 4/5 lines worth of dots, etc etc. i wish it showed a percentage instead, or time estimation.


hehe how fast is your PC ??? It took a very long time 1 Day or 2 (I started it in a screen and forgott it :-) So I actuallly cannot say if it tooks a day or 2 on a PIV 3000 with 1GB of RAM. But there were a lot more dots :-) HANG ON :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nianderson
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 May 2003
Posts: 369
Location: Lawrence, KS

PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2004 2:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

see i have an 800 mhz and it only took me like 6-8 hours
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
outspoken
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 Feb 2004
Posts: 464
Location: orlando, fl

PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2004 4:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

nianderson wrote:
see i have an 800 mhz and it only took me like 6-8 hours


how could you have a p3 800Mhz (or duron?) and it only take 6-8 hours, but blubbi's took him 1-2 days for a P4 3Ghz! That makes no sense at all. Perhaps you didn't download all of the updates?

It's going to be taking me a long time still. =/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nianderson
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 May 2003
Posts: 369
Location: Lawrence, KS

PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2004 5:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeh i was supprised. i may have not gotten all the updates. ... its a p3 866 with 512 meg pc133
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blubbi
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 555
Location: Halle (Saale), Germany

PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2004 8:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I forgott I ran emereg -UD world at the same Time (kde3.2.0 and other large packages ...) sorry for the confusion :-) Ah, thats not good, If you have 5 screens at once running .... I happened to run a screen session in a screen session this was the update session in the salearn session .... out of the eyes, out of the mind :-)

So no Idea how long it took. *G*
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blubbi
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 555
Location: Halle (Saale), Germany

PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2004 8:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

by the way, there is a new version of clamav 0.70-rc. It's not in the portage system, but just follow these steps (the new version works fine on my system):


    * cd /usr/src/distfiles/
    * wget http://heanet.dl.sourceforge.net/sourceforge/clamav/clamav-0.70-rc.tar.gz
    * mv clamav-0.70-rc.tar.gz clamav-0.70.tar.gz
    * mv /usr/portage/net-mail/clamav/clamav-0.67.ebuild /usr/portage/net-mail/clamav/clamav-0.70.ebuild
    * /etc/init.d/clamd stop
    * emerge /usr/portage/net-mail/clamav/clamav-0.70.ebuild
    * /etc/init.d/clamd start
    * freshclam
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eltech
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 Nov 2002
Posts: 582
Location: New York

PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2004 8:17 pm    Post subject: qmailadmin Reply with quote

ok .. so i tried to install qmailadmin using the same method as stated here.. i tried this before on my own before reading this thread and after having problems and searching i found this thread and thought its relative to the question i have ..

when i get to the qmailadmin sign in page .. i acan sign in, but no accounts are present. Note: this is for every domain i host ..

Its not much info ..

but.. anyone have a clue as to whats happening?

Why i cant get any users or domain mail info using qmailadmin?

Suggestions ..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Skywacker
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 72
Location: Missouri

PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2004 8:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anyone tell me how I can have qmail-scanner notify an admin email address when viruses are detected? Following this howto the emails are block, the sender is notified, but thats it. I would like to be notified as well when my user gets them.

When using these ebuilds I'm not sure how to alter the default configuration. If I can adjust this post install, I also don't know where any qmail-scanner or fprot configuration files are.

Thanks,
Skywacker
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Skywacker
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 72
Location: Missouri

PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2004 4:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

to answer my own question in case anyone else wants to know in the future-

edit /var/qmail/bin/qmail-scanner-queue.pl to adjust the virus detection notifications. It was already setup by default to alert both the sender and admin. I had forgotten my admin account wasn't forwarding to my main email account on my new setup so I wasn't seeing these admin warnings.

-Skywacker
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blubbi
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 555
Location: Halle (Saale), Germany

PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2004 4:29 pm    Post subject: Re: qmailadmin Reply with quote

eltech wrote:
ok .. so i tried to install qmailadmin using the same method as stated here.. i tried this before on my own before reading this thread and after having problems and searching i found this thread and thought its relative to the question i have ..

when i get to the qmailadmin sign in page .. i acan sign in, but no accounts are present. Note: this is for every domain i host ..

Its not much info ..

but.. anyone have a clue as to whats happening?

Why i cant get any users or domain mail info using qmailadmin?

Suggestions ..


do you have added user to the domain ?? do you see the postmaster account ?? Have you tryed to look up a user with "vuserinfo" ??

more info pleas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blubbi
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 555
Location: Halle (Saale), Germany

PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2004 4:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Skywacker wrote:
to answer my own question in case anyone else wants to know in the future-

edit /var/qmail/bin/qmail-scanner-queue.pl to adjust the virus detection notifications. It was already setup by default to alert both the sender and admin. I had forgotten my admin account wasn't forwarding to my main email account on my new setup so I wasn't seeing these admin warnings.

-Skywacker


*G* I just wanted you to redirect you to my HowTo :)

Edit qmail-scanner-queue.pl :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slott_hansen
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Feb 2003
Posts: 40
Location: Denmark, Copenhagen

PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2004 8:18 pm    Post subject: Login problems Reply with quote

Hmmm, I also have problems loging in. I tried to telnet to my server to see what is going on. I have a server hosting multiple sites so here is an example for vbinvest.dk:

Code:
$ telnet vbinvest.dk 110
Trying 62.61.137.47...
Connected to vbinvest.dk.
Escape character is '^]'.
+OK Hello there.
USER msh@vbinvest.dk
+OK Password required.
PASS ******
-ERR Login failed.


If I try to login with one of the normal user accounts everything works fine - so I guss it's not looking in the mysql database to authenticate... Any suggestions to what might have gone wrong ?
_________________
Best regards,
Morten Slott Hansen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 9, 10, 11 ... 15, 16, 17  Next
Page 10 of 17

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum