Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Mobile Athlon-XP Power-on-demand HOWTO
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
rk187
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Apr 2003
Posts: 136
Location: France - Paris

PostPosted: Mon Dec 08, 2003 11:17 am    Post subject: Mobile Athlon-XP Power-on-demand HOWTO Reply with quote

there is a method for use Powernow automaticaly :

my cpuinfo:
Quote:
processor : 0
vendor_id : AuthenticAMD
cpu family : 6
model : 8
model name : mobile AMD Athlon(tm) XP 1600+
stepping : 0
cpu MHz : 500.232
cache size : 256 KB
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 1
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 mmx fxsr sse syscall mp mmxext 3dnowext 3dnow
bogomips : 985.96



1) Config the kernel 2.6 (maybe work with ac-sources, i don't test it)

in Power Management Enable CPU Frequency scaling
enable modules:
- /proc/cpufreq interface
- 'powersave' governor
- CPU frequency table helper
- AMD Mobile Athlon/Duron PowerNow!


2) in /etc/module.autoload/kernel-2.6
add:

powernow-k7
proc_intf
cpufreq_powersave

3) emerge cpudyn

and made it at startup
Code:
rc-update add cpudyn default


4) now reboot your box and check the /proc/cpuinfo if you start an application or make a program the frequency up to max. if application no need much power the frequency down.


I know and use the Powernow since a lot, but i never succes work it automaticaly.
cpudyn work perfectly, i use it since one week ago.

i hope my english is understandable :wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pilla
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 07 Aug 2002
Posts: 7695
Location: Pelotas, BR

PostPosted: Mon Dec 08, 2003 11:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from H&L
_________________
"I'm just very selective about the reality I choose to accept." -- Calvin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RealityMage
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Dec 2003
Posts: 151

PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2004 6:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I found your guide most helpful. Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PrakashP
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 1249
Location: C.C.A.A., Germania

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2004 1:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Which motherboard chipset do you use? VIA? Or is it a notebook. Lately some methods in modding regular Athlon XP to mobile were discovered, but the PowerNOW feature just worked with VIA desktop chipsets.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rk187
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Apr 2003
Posts: 136
Location: France - Paris

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2004 2:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a laptop acer 1302XC chipset VIA KT133

i think it work with all Mobile Athlon CPU, it does not matter the chipset.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PrakashP
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 1249
Location: C.C.A.A., Germania

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2004 3:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nope, according to reports desktop chipsets have trouble with mobile Athlons, as most manufacturers never considered that combination. Furthmore eg. NVidia doesn't release the specs for Nforce2 and use of PowerNOW.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rmsds
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Feb 2003
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2004 11:08 am    Post subject: Alternative to cpudyn - speedfreq Reply with quote

There is one problem with cpudyn, it only has two modes, let's say, high speed and low speed. However, the cpu supports several more, for example, I have an Acer Aspire 1300 DXC with a Duron 1500+ and it supports: 500, 600, 700, 800, 900, 1000, 1100 and 1300 MHz. With cpudyn I only used 500 and 1300 and with any little spike in CPU usage (althoug configurable) it would jump from 500 to 1300.

Another problem is that when you reduce the speed/voltage of the CPU, and therefore the consumption, to fast and if the power supply isn't well adapted there will be voltage spikes that will stress your hardware, and could even lead it to hang.

So, after setting up cpudyn to work only on my harddrive (spindown) which it does very well (even when using reiserfs), I started looking for alternatives.

I found speedfreq, which altough doesn't allow lot's of customizing (I think), especialy in wich CPU load values will make it switch levels, it works perfectly. You can use dynamic mode, that's what I do most of the time, or you can set it to a specific speed (I use this when I leave my laptop compiling something overnight so that it can be in my room without turning on the fan...).

Just in case someone want's to know, I'm using dev-sources (2.6.1).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jtb
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Dec 2003
Posts: 157
Location: Germany/Darmstadt

PostPosted: Sat Apr 03, 2004 6:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thank you rk187!

Got cpudyn working with an AMD64 (Acer Aspire 1501LMi) on 32bit-Gentoo.. I only need to upgrade to 2.6.4 (there is a bug in 2.6.3 with powernow-k8)..
_________________
Jens

.. God is real - unless declared integer!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Enderson
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 12 Nov 2003
Posts: 141
Location: Arapiraca/Maceió, AL, Brazil

PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2004 11:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use the cpufreqd for my notebook, when it's only with the battery the CPU
Freq slows down, for power saving.

What's the diference between the cpufreqd and cpudyn, can I work with both?
_________________
--
Nothing to say here!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum