Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
UDEV Primer for 2.6 Kernel
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
charlieg
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 30 Jul 2002
Posts: 2149
Location: Manchester UK

PostPosted: Mon Feb 02, 2004 2:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It might be worth noting that I had to do the following to get X to work:
Code:
# ln -sf /dev/psaux /dev/mouse

_________________
Want Free games?
Free Gamer - open source games list & commentary

Open source web-enabled rich UI platform: Vexi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clapper
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Sep 2003
Posts: 177

PostPosted: Mon Feb 02, 2004 4:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I installed 2.6.1, and it worked with minimal fuss with, I am assuming devfs.

However, my scanner isn't working. Is this udev setup necessary to use my scanner? Or, is implementing this not really a part of my problem?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clapper
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Sep 2003
Posts: 177

PostPosted: Mon Feb 02, 2004 4:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

However, my scanner isn't working. Is this udev setup necessary to use my scanner? Or, is implementing this not really a part of my problem?


Forgot to mention- usb scanner, epson 2450. If I dmesg, after plugging it in, I see an entry, but Vuescan doesn't a scanner has been installed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Decibels
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Aug 2002
Posts: 1598
Location: U.S.A.

PostPosted: Mon Feb 02, 2004 7:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

charlieg wrote:
It might be worth noting that I had to do the following to get X to work:
Code:
# ln -sf /dev/psaux /dev/mouse


Will look at tomorrow when have time, haven't used PS/2 mouse for awhile. Couldn't you have just changed XF86Config to /dev/psaux. I think that was what I had in mine before.


Clapper: You will get more support here: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=115096 If you read that, you will see that my scanner isn't working either. At least not as of udev-14
_________________
Support bacteria – they’re the only culture some people have.”

– Steven Wright
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clapper
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Sep 2003
Posts: 177

PostPosted: Mon Feb 02, 2004 1:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In the 2.6 kernel, there is an option for creating the scanner module- I didn't choose it, because the note said something like it had been "deprecated". Anyway, checking this option made the scanner work for me, but I am still in the dark as to how the kernel developers feel this should work, if you don't include the module. I'll check out the previous poster's link...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d3c3it
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Mar 2003
Posts: 765
Location: Manchester, UK

PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2004 2:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Clapper wrote:
In the 2.6 kernel, there is an option for creating the scanner module- I didn't choose it, because the note said something like it had been "deprecated". Anyway, checking this option made the scanner work for me, but I am still in the dark as to how the kernel developers feel this should work, if you don't include the module. I'll check out the previous poster's link...


libusb and hotplug my friend, thats handling scanners and other stuff now. Redo the kernel without the scanner module *or just dont modprobe it* and then make sure hotplug is running. Run sane-find-scanner, or whatever it is *away from pc cant remember* and see if your scanner pops up. As root it works a treat but as a user im still getting problems, cant find it, permission problems still trying to fix.

Ive a question thou, ive got devfsd right now in my kernel, if i run
Code:
devfs=nomount
in the kernel line in grub will this turn devfsd off, completly, ie will i have to recompile my kernel without devfsd? also do i need to unmerge devfsd? anything else?
_________________
Some people go to counselling,
others use linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Decibels
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Aug 2002
Posts: 1598
Location: U.S.A.

PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2004 4:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've wondered about that myself, but haven't tested it. Don't believe that you have to add devfs=mount anymore to bootloader to make it load if in the kernel, but I still have it.

Don't know about the nomount option though, haven't tested it. The most reasonable default would seem to be, load it if in kernel unless told not to.


Hmm, guess I need sleep. Was thinking for a moment that devfsd might be in 'rc-update show' but isn't. That is a good question. I would just try the 'nomount' option first.
_________________
Support bacteria – they’re the only culture some people have.”

– Steven Wright
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d3c3it
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Mar 2003
Posts: 765
Location: Manchester, UK

PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2004 8:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well for future readers, that option does work, but more importantly i just recompiled completly without devfsd at all, udev mounted everything at boot and bingo everything works, no problems with dri permissions, alsa, everything works, bar printer, but thats my fault. Thanks for that fanastic guide it works a treat.

the last time i tried udev was in dec and it was completly broken for me now it worked first time, i have to give it to the devs on that project hats off to them :)
_________________
Some people go to counselling,
others use linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charlieg
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 30 Jul 2002
Posts: 2149
Location: Manchester UK

PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2004 3:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In the primer tutorial, shouldn't this:
Code:
chown yourname /dev/nvidia* #add whatever yours had here before, mine was my name.


...be:
Code:
chgrp video /dev/nvidia*

_________________
Want Free games?
Free Gamer - open source games list & commentary

Open source web-enabled rich UI platform: Vexi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Decibels
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Aug 2002
Posts: 1598
Location: U.S.A.

PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2004 12:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Probably whatever works for you. Mine always gets set to user for some reason.
Right now nvidia devices are owned by me and grp root.

Also, looks like Martin has patched the nvidia-kernel to work better with udev and sysfs:
Code:
*nvidia-kernel-1.0.5336-r1 (01 Feb 2004)
                                                                               
  01 Feb 2004; Martin Schlemmer <azarah@gentoo.org>
  nvidia-kernel-1.0.5336-r1.ebuild,
  files/1.0.5336/NVIDIA_kernel-1.0-5336-basic-sysfs-support.patch,
  files/1.0.5336/Makefile:
  Add basic sysfs support for 2.6 and udev.  Patch donated by myself


That part of the primer is just a guide to 'help' if you find some of your devices missing while testing out an experimental system. Like any experimental, some things are different on various systems.

Going to boot back to the system in a minute here, update to latest udev,.. and probably remove a few things from the primer. Maybe pretty soon, all of it will be gone.
_________________
Support bacteria – they’re the only culture some people have.”

– Steven Wright
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ferret
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jul 2003
Posts: 22
Location: Oxford UK

PostPosted: Sun Feb 08, 2004 11:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

As of kernel 2.6.3-rc1, and Martin's nvidia patches, udev now creates my /dev/nvidia, /dev/nvidiactl and /dev/fb/0 ! :)

Now just /dev/misc/svga left and I have absolutely everything :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tatesworld
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Oct 2003
Posts: 67

PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2004 8:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I followed instructions to word, but on boot I get unable to open initial console, gone back to devfs

does /dev need to be empty first time?
ps I use XFS filesystem


Do you need an initrd to load up at boot time?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Evil Dark Archon
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Dec 2002
Posts: 562
Location: Santa Rosa, CA

PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2004 10:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i would boot the live cd, chroot to your root partition and the simplest method is to re-emerge baselayout and it will create a set of static nodes that will be used during the initial bootup and then udev will take over.
_________________
This post has been over explained for newb-informing purposes.

Registered Linux user 347334
Abit AV8-3rd eye, AMD Athlon64 3500+ 90nm, ATI Radeon x850 pro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Decibels
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Aug 2002
Posts: 1598
Location: U.S.A.

PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2004 11:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I rewrote the UDEV Primer to update it and include suggestions. There is still some stuff would like to add. Like now I didn't have any luck with the nvidia drivers and will have to see why.
Depends on what time you checked the Primer. If you printed it out, reprint it. Cause around 12pm CST I put up new stuff. If you did from previous tutorial, you are probably using the devices.tar.bz2 file in the default Gentoo UDEV install. Which is even easier, cause they populate /dev from that file. The new stuff in the primer tells you how to edit the baselayout scripts to run a pure udev system and not use the devices.tar.bz2 file.


Another thing is that some people, including me, have at one time not been able to open an initial console during boot on a new system. What I did at that time was:
mknod -m 660 /dev/console c 5 1
mknod -m 660 /dev/null c 1 3

Give me a little more detail on above. Haven't installed a brand new system in quite awhile. Would like to know success or failure rate. Probably going to have to take time to install a new system and see what happens for udev on a new install.

Haven't figured out why yet, but then worked from then on.

Also, like mentioned about the baselayout. Did you make sure you etc-update and put the new scripts in place?
_________________
Support bacteria – they’re the only culture some people have.”

– Steven Wright
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jimmybfan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Jul 2002
Posts: 100
Location: P-town

PostPosted: Fri Feb 20, 2004 12:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

When trying to acces Decibels udev primer i get timeout errors. wondering if anyone else is getting this or if it is just temporary. I was hoping to get udev going today, looks like i might have to wait a little while though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Decibels
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Aug 2002
Posts: 1598
Location: U.S.A.

PostPosted: Fri Feb 20, 2004 1:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I guess Charter is doing maintenance on the servers. Cause I have some updates to put up and can't, also can't access the webpage from browser.

Sorry, out of my hands. Hopefully will be up shortly.

I would have my own server, but that cost money. So have to rely on them.
_________________
Support bacteria – they’re the only culture some people have.”

– Steven Wright
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jimmybfan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Jul 2002
Posts: 100
Location: P-town

PostPosted: Fri Feb 20, 2004 1:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I figured as much, but wanted to check. Thanks for the quick reply.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Decibels
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Aug 2002
Posts: 1598
Location: U.S.A.

PostPosted: Fri Feb 20, 2004 1:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, even tried to find it cached on google or yahoo, and they have lot of the pages, but not udev. :cry:

Hey, it's back up!! Give it a few minutes for me to get the updates there.
_________________
Support bacteria – they’re the only culture some people have.”

– Steven Wright
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CaribbeanKnight
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 240
Location: Earth -> Europe -> Belgium -> Diest

PostPosted: Fri Feb 20, 2004 1:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmmmm, damn... hey Decibels, if you want to put your page on my server temporarily, you can always contact me on caribbeanknight@jabber.org or msn on eme@skynet.be...
just saying this as i'm really bored and sitting in front of my pc eager to get some udev messing going on... :lol:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Decibels
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Aug 2002
Posts: 1598
Location: U.S.A.

PostPosted: Fri Feb 20, 2004 1:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, but it is rarely down. Plus, the only reason this is noticeable is because this Primer has been a real hit. It's like I wrote a best seller. Hey, I'm a big time author. :lol:

Normally, I wouldn't be even notice or have others tell me about it. So if continues to be a problem I might take you up on it.

I even found a reference to it on google from some mailing list while looking for a cached page of it.
_________________
Support bacteria – they’re the only culture some people have.”

– Steven Wright
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tatesworld
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Oct 2003
Posts: 67

PostPosted: Fri Feb 20, 2004 6:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bingo, thanks got it working , you do need /dev/console & /dev/null

here is what i did

boot of a rescue cd
chroot into root partition
cd dev
rm -r -f *
mknod -m 660 /dev/console c 5 1
mknod -m 660 /dev/null c 1 3
reboot into gentoo
re installed nvidia becouse that devices were not there, I used the NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-5336-pkg1.run from nvidia.com
you will need kernel sources to make the nvidia kernel module driver.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jimmybfan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Jul 2002
Posts: 100
Location: P-town

PostPosted: Fri Feb 20, 2004 6:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Decibles, thanks for the guide, I got udev up and working. udev only, no devices.tar.bz2. seems to be working without problems. I didn't have to create the nvidia stuff, so I don't know whats going on with that, but it's working, so thats cool.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Decibels
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Aug 2002
Posts: 1598
Location: U.S.A.

PostPosted: Fri Feb 20, 2004 7:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nvidia devices. The new ebuild is working, just can't have the old one in there also, probably only a problem if using CONFIG_PROTECT to protect /lib/modules. Got it working now.

Console and Null. Figured out why. Posting fix here: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?p=884721#884721

Will update the primer tonight.
_________________
Support bacteria – they’re the only culture some people have.”

– Steven Wright
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tatesworld
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Oct 2003
Posts: 67

PostPosted: Fri Feb 20, 2004 8:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mine not a New Install

I still had to create console & null from previously using devfs.

I always had to put support for devfs and auto mount at boot ticked in kernel config to boot before.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Decibels
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Aug 2002
Posts: 1598
Location: U.S.A.

PostPosted: Fri Feb 20, 2004 9:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Strange and getting stranger all the time. So, not totally clear on why or when it happens yet, but fix works if encounter the error.

But if you just changed over, then /dev should have been full of static devices (including console and null), so should have worked. !?!
_________________
Support bacteria – they’re the only culture some people have.”

– Steven Wright
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 2 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum