Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Supermount Installation and Setup
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
FreeFly42
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Nov 2003
Posts: 848
Location: Houston, TX

PostPosted: Tue Feb 24, 2004 3:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
umount /mnt/floppy   (turn supermount off)
mkfs /dev/fd0        (format the floppy)
mount /mnt/floppy    (turn supermount back on
)
_________________
Kent

Planes are dangerous, get out of 'em quick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Biggles
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Nov 2003
Posts: 123
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Mon Mar 22, 2004 5:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This howto is wonderful. :) I already had the supermount module built from my last kernel build, and I managed to get supermount going perfectly with a dvd-rom, a floppy and a usb key drive thing in 10 minutes.

Here's my fstab for the curious:

Code:
# <fs>                  <mountpoint>    <type>          <opts>                  <dump/pass>

# NOTE: If your BOOT partition is ReiserFS, add the notail option to opts.
/dev/hda6               /boot           ext3            noauto,noatime          1 2
/dev/hda8               /               reiserfs        noatime                 0 1
/dev/hda9               /home           reiserfs        noatime                 0 1
/dev/hda7               none            swap            sw                      0 0
/dev/hda1               /mnt/win_c      ntfs            ro,user,umask=000       0 0
/dev/hda5               /mnt/win_d      vfat            user,umask=000          0 0
#/dev/cdroms/cdrom0     /mnt/cdrom      iso9660         noauto,ro,user          0 0
#/dev/sda1              /mnt/usbdrive   vfat            user,umask=000,noauto   0 0

# Supermount mounts
none                    /mnt/dvdrom     supermount      fs=auto,dev=/dev/cdroms/cdrom0  0 0
none                    /mnt/floppy     supermount      fs=auto,dev=/dev/fd0,--,user,rw 0 0
none                    /mnt/usbdrive   supermount      fs=auto,dev=/dev/sda1   0 0

# NOTE: The next line is critical for boot!
none                    /proc           proc            defaults                0 0
none                    /sys            sysfs           defaults                0 0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EliasP
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Dec 2002
Posts: 318
Location: South-West Germany

PostPosted: Mon Mar 22, 2004 1:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Had anyone success in getting Redhat's autorun working??
It's available on their FTP (ftp://ftp.tu-chemnitz.de/pub/linux/fedora-core/development/SRPMS/autorun-3.13-1.src.rpm).
Convert the RPM via "alien" to a tgz.
Looks like it should support supermount, but had no success at all.

Greetings

Elias P.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EliasP
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Dec 2002
Posts: 318
Location: South-West Germany

PostPosted: Mon Mar 22, 2004 3:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you're experiencing problems when ejecting the CD, add this line to /etc/sysctl.conf

dev.cdrom.autoclose=0

Greetings

Elias P.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thechosen0ne
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2004 9:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, worked nicely for my 128mb usb key... kept me from having to mount/unmount the damned thing. Also works on my dvd drive. Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Eagad
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 May 2003
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2004 5:55 pm    Post subject: Repeating question never answered Reply with quote

There was a question exactly like mine at the beginning of this thread that was never answered:

In Gnome, the cdrom icon is always there with supermount, even when there is no disc in the cd drive. Is there any way to make nautilus know when the drive is actually empty so that it won't show the cdrom icon?

Thanks,
-Chris
_________________
Eagad Technologies

http://www.eagadtech.net/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EliasP
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Dec 2002
Posts: 318
Location: South-West Germany

PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2004 9:00 pm    Post subject: Re: Repeating question never answered Reply with quote

Eagad wrote:

In Gnome, the cdrom icon is always there with supermount, even when there is no disc in the cd drive. Is there any way to make nautilus know when the drive is actually empty so that it won't show the cdrom icon?


I don't think that it is possible to change this behaviour, because the device is mounted all the time, the real mounting/umounting is done by Supermount on a lower level.

Greetings

Elias P.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AugustineF
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Dec 2003
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Sat Mar 27, 2004 3:21 am    Post subject: Permission denied Reply with quote

OK, this is my entry in fstab.

Quote:
none /mnt/dvd supermount fs=iso9660,dev=/dev/cdroms/cdrom0,--,ro,user,umask=0,gid=19 0 0


And Following is my listing in /dev

Quote:
ls -l hdc cdroms/cdrom0
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 6 Mar 26 21:14 cdroms/cdrom0 -> ../hdc
brw-rw---- 1 root cdrom 22, 0 Mar 26 21:14 hdc


And hdc is indeed my dvd drive. But when ever I try to mount /mnt/dvd, I get permission denied message. Even If I try
Quote:
mount -t iso9660 -o ro /dev/hdc /mnt/dvd

I still get permission denied.
Btw I am using udev , and its working perfectly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FreeFly42
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Nov 2003
Posts: 848
Location: Houston, TX

PostPosted: Sat Mar 27, 2004 3:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Even though you are specifying the "user" option in your fstab, you can't mount it as an ordinary user for supermount. The idea of supermount is that the driver is mounted all the time, but the actual device is mounted and unmounted automatically by the supermount driver. Thus you mount the cdrom once as root when the machine boots (make it auto) and when any user inserts/ejects a cd the mount point will be automatically mounted/unmounted as needed.

I am just assuming you are tryng to do this as an ordinary user due to the "user" option, which for super mount is not needed.
_________________
Kent

Planes are dangerous, get out of 'em quick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AugustineF
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Dec 2003
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Sat Mar 27, 2004 4:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

no I am actually trying to mount it as root.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
t_2199
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 146

PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2004 3:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It works! It works! It works :roll:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
snakattak3
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Dec 2002
Posts: 468
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2004 8:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I updated the patches for the 2.6.5 kernels. HERE for stock vanilla kernels, and HERE for patching if you use the latest love-sources. They dropped supermount support, and I'm sure all of us in this thread would still lke it :)

*** USE AT YOUR OWN RISK ***
They are on a work-for me basis, and right now, they work for me.
All they are is the supermount code 2.0.4, and I just fixed the patches so they patch without any errors for the 2.6.5 kernel.
_________________
Ban Reality TV!
Adopt an Unanswered Post
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
forever
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Apr 2004
Posts: 117
Location: Poland - Krakow

PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2004 8:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok but if I want to use only 2.4x version of the gentoo (I mean gentoo-sources) is there any patch to use supermount?? (i tried original one but obviously it fails...)
_________________
Man invented language to satisfy his deep need to complain.
-- Lily Tomlin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
snakattak3
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Dec 2002
Posts: 468
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2004 9:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

forever wrote:
Ok but if I want to use only 2.4x version of the gentoo (I mean gentoo-sources) is there any patch to use supermount?? (i tried original one but obviously it fails...)

[EDIT]
supermount should already be in the 2.4.x gentoo-sources
[/EDIT]
_________________
Ban Reality TV!
Adopt an Unanswered Post
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
miqorz
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 04 Apr 2004
Posts: 1170
Location: Pissing into the wind.

PostPosted: Thu Apr 15, 2004 8:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm using Vanilla 2.4.25 from kernel.org and Im looking at http://supermount-ng.sourceforge.net/ and I don't see a patch for 2.4.25..

Anyone have an idea how to get it working? :cry:


EDIT:

Sweet I found a nice patch here; http://www.plumlocosoft.com/kernel/#patches
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
miqorz
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 04 Apr 2004
Posts: 1170
Location: Pissing into the wind.

PostPosted: Thu Apr 15, 2004 9:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Weird.. I can't seem to use the commands the author says to use because the patch came in a .bz2 and once extracted it has a .diff file..

How do i patch my kernel with this?

"020-supermount-1.2.11a.diff"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FreeFly42
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Nov 2003
Posts: 848
Location: Houston, TX

PostPosted: Fri Apr 16, 2004 5:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

RTFM (man patch). Probably wind up with:
Code:
cd /usr/src/linux
patch -p1 < 020-supermount-1.2.11a.diff

_________________
Kent

Planes are dangerous, get out of 'em quick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MooktaKiNG
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Nov 2002
Posts: 326
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Mon Apr 19, 2004 4:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you auto mount samba shares using supermount?
What about other network based file systems?
_________________
http://www.mooktakim.com
Athlon XP 2001, Giga-Byte GA-7VRXP MB, 640Mb DDR RAM 333MHz, MSI Geforce 4800SE 128Mb DDR, 40x12x48 Liteon CDRW drive, Flower Cooler, ADSL Router
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
routerguy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Feb 2004
Posts: 462

PostPosted: Tue Apr 27, 2004 1:07 am    Post subject: thank you Reply with quote

I would just like to sincerly thank wolvenwraith and everybody who contributed to this how-to. It really helped me with a problem I've been having for a long time!

Keep up the good work! :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
snakattak3
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Dec 2002
Posts: 468
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Tue Apr 27, 2004 3:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MooktaKiNG wrote:
Can you auto mount samba shares using supermount?
What about other network based file systems?

I'm not sure. Probably not. I think its only intended for removable media. But maybe you could file a bug report for supermount, and get it in on the next version.
_________________
Ban Reality TV!
Adopt an Unanswered Post
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FreeFly42
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Nov 2003
Posts: 848
Location: Houston, TX

PostPosted: Wed Apr 28, 2004 1:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried getting it to work with Compact Flashes, but in the end I was happier with manually mounting and unmounting them. You can get it to mount other media, but it doesn't work well becuase supermount is designed to work with eject and eject blocking methods which don't exist for other media types (like network folders).

Seems like there should be a nice method for on-access mounting of anything in /etc/fstab, and auto unmounting based on idle timeout. But I haven't seen it.
_________________
Kent

Planes are dangerous, get out of 'em quick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MooktaKiNG
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Nov 2002
Posts: 326
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Wed Apr 28, 2004 11:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

FreeFly42 wrote:
I tried getting it to work with Compact Flashes, but in the end I was happier with manually mounting and unmounting them. You can get it to mount other media, but it doesn't work well becuase supermount is designed to work with eject and eject blocking methods which don't exist for other media types (like network folders).

Seems like there should be a nice method for on-access mounting of anything in /etc/fstab, and auto unmounting based on idle timeout. But I haven't seen it.


try to look into autofs
I think autofs can do network mounts. not sure :)
sorry, no links :P
_________________
http://www.mooktakim.com
Athlon XP 2001, Giga-Byte GA-7VRXP MB, 640Mb DDR RAM 333MHz, MSI Geforce 4800SE 128Mb DDR, 40x12x48 Liteon CDRW drive, Flower Cooler, ADSL Router
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Siraris
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jan 2004
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Wed Apr 28, 2004 5:36 pm    Post subject: This is fubar Reply with quote

Code:
  CC      fs/pipe.o
  CC      fs/namei.o
  CC      fs/fcntl.o
  CC      fs/ioctl.o
  CC      fs/readdir.o
  CC      fs/select.o
  CC      fs/fifo.o
  CC      fs/locks.o
  CC      fs/dcache.o
  CC      fs/inode.o
  CC      fs/attr.o
  CC      fs/bad_inode.o
  CC      fs/file.o
  CC      fs/dnotify.o
  CC      fs/filesystems.o
  CC      fs/namespace.o
fs/namespace.c: In function `do_mount':
fs/namespace.c:796: error: `FS_NO_SUBMNT' undeclared (first use in this function)
fs/namespace.c:796: error: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once
fs/namespace.c:796: error: for each function it appears in.)
make[1]: *** [fs/namespace.o] Error 1
make: *** [fs] Error 2


I get this when I apply the patch to my kernel and try and re-compile it.

What is going onnnn?!?!?!?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gringotts
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Apr 2004
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Wed Apr 28, 2004 5:39 pm    Post subject: Re: Supermount Installation and Setup Reply with quote

wolvenwraith wrote:
I have seen Supermount mentioned several times on these forums, but never saw a complete how-to on setting it up, so here I am submitting it myself. [...]

Your how-to is just what I needed to let supermount work. Thank you.
The comments have their place too: could not have sort out the proper use of '--'.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gringotts
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Apr 2004
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Wed Apr 28, 2004 5:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

snakattak3 wrote:
MooktaKiNG wrote:
Can you auto mount samba shares using supermount?
What about other network based file systems?

I'm not sure.

In the kernel 2.6 config menu there is another option for remote FS: automount, which have to be used with the autofs tools.
Maybe could it help :?:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Page 4 of 5

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum