Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
alsa sound mixing aka dmix (not arts or esd needed)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 5, 6, 7 ... 10, 11, 12  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
_kopsu_
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Mar 2003
Posts: 28
Location: Muurame, Finland

PostPosted: Fri Apr 30, 2004 12:10 am    Post subject: alsa+ dmix (gentoo dev kernel 2.6.5-r1, udev,gnome2.6) Reply with quote

Ok. When I login as root to gnome, dmixing works with alsaplayer. I can have several instances playing and everything works,
but with ordinary user it won't work. Only one player works at same time.

I use global /etc/asound.conf file where I have defined default to dmixing..
so there's nothing wrong with my settings in asound.conf
neither I don't have .asoundrc files.
My user belongs to audio group.

Any ideas??

I have compiled alsa as modules. I use snd_intel8x0 modules because I have nforce2 motherboard.

I've seen these posts and noone seems to succeeded with this...(?)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Given M. Sur
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Feb 2004
Posts: 648
Location: No such file or directory

PostPosted: Sun May 02, 2004 1:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

MPLAYER NOTE: the syntax in mplayer version 1.0_pre4-r1 (and assumingly any higher versions) has changed.
You must now use "alsa1x:default" istead of "alsa9:default"

_kopsu_, maybe if you try using ~/.asoundrc instead of a global file it'll work. That's just a guess though.
_________________
What is the best [insert-type-of-program-here]?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charlieg
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 30 Jul 2002
Posts: 2149
Location: Manchester UK

PostPosted: Sun May 02, 2004 1:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

00420 wrote:
MPLAYER NOTE: the syntax in mplayer version 1.0_pre4-r1 (and assumingly any higher versions) has changed.
You must now use "alsa1x:default" istead of "alsa9:default"


Thank you, thank you, thank you! :D
_________________
Want Free games?
Free Gamer - open source games list & commentary

Open source web-enabled rich UI platform: Vexi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Boris27
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 Nov 2003
Posts: 562
Location: Almelo, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue May 04, 2004 9:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

charlieg wrote:
00420 wrote:
MPLAYER NOTE: the syntax in mplayer version 1.0_pre4-r1 (and assumingly any higher versions) has changed.
You must now use "alsa1x:default" istead of "alsa9:default"


Thank you, thank you, thank you! :D


What he said! Now I can dump aRts.
_________________
we are microsoft, lower your firewalls and surrender your pc's. we will add your biological and technological distinctiveness to our own. your culture will adapt and service us. resistance is futile.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VirtuaSpy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Feb 2004
Posts: 38
Location: Houston, TX

PostPosted: Tue May 04, 2004 11:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

2.6.6-love3-rc3
Hercules cm8738 sound card
KDE 3.2.2

Awesome! Thanks for the guide redeeman.
I got it working in about 30 minutes right as I got finished reading through the entire thread. All the way up until the comment about alsa1x:default in the newer mplayers. ;)

Thanks!!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Redeeman
l33t
l33t


Joined: 25 Sep 2003
Posts: 957
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Tue May 04, 2004 12:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thats great
_________________
Sandberg Enterprises
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PrakashP
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 1249
Location: C.C.A.A., Germania

PostPosted: Tue May 04, 2004 7:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Using alsa1.04, intel8x0, dmix I have "staccato" with xmms when I play mpc. Playing mp3 is nice. Broken mpc plugin?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VirtuaSpy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Feb 2004
Posts: 38
Location: Houston, TX

PostPosted: Tue May 04, 2004 9:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I do have one issue. In xmms (perhaps other apps, but since xmms is running more than other apps...) if I am listening to mp3s, and the disk usage goes up significantly, like when I am compiling, xmms will just stop where it's at. It won't freeze, but I have to hit play and the file will start over and start playing again. It has done this multiple times now and never did this under plain alsa without the .asoundrc file with the dmixer specification.

I tried downgrading to the latest "x86" instead of the ~x86 xmms I was using, same thing.

Has anyone else experienced this? Could I maybe try to run xmms from a console and see if it tells me anything? I'll try that and post here if it does.

Thanks.

edit: no extra output

edit2: I think I got it fixed. In XMMS, I went into Preferences > Configure (under ALSA) > Advanced Settings and set Buffer time to 1000ms, Period Time to 100ms and turned off Mmap mode. Been running it for a few hours now with no stops, so if anyone else has this problem, try that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
geforce
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Dec 2003
Posts: 653
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Thu May 06, 2004 2:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

bash-2.05b# /etc/init.d/alsasound start
* Loading ALSA drivers...
* Using ALSA OSS emulation
* Could not detect custom ALSA settings. Loading all detected alsa drivers.
* Unable to find any ALSA drivers. Have you compiled alsa-drivers correctly?
* Running card-dependent scripts
* ERROR: Failed to load necessary drivers
* Restoring Mixer Levels
* No mixer config in /etc/asound.state, you have to unmute your card! [ !! ]
[ ok ]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charlieg
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 30 Jul 2002
Posts: 2149
Location: Manchester UK

PostPosted: Thu May 06, 2004 3:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

geforce wrote:
bash-2.05b# /etc/init.d/alsasound start
* Loading ALSA drivers...
* Using ALSA OSS emulation
* Could not detect custom ALSA settings. Loading all detected alsa drivers.
* Unable to find any ALSA drivers. Have you compiled alsa-drivers correctly?
* Running card-dependent scripts
* ERROR: Failed to load necessary drivers
* Restoring Mixer Levels
* No mixer config in /etc/asound.state, you have to unmute your card! [ !! ]
[ ok ]


Follow the alsa instructions in the gentoo docs to unmute your card, then run 'actlstore' to store your settings so that it'll stay unmuted the next time you reboot.
_________________
Want Free games?
Free Gamer - open source games list & commentary

Open source web-enabled rich UI platform: Vexi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
geforce
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Dec 2003
Posts: 653
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sat May 08, 2004 4:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
GentooServ root # actlstore
-bash: actlstore: command not found

Quote:
GentooServ root # amixer
amixer: Mixer attach default error: No such device

Quote:
GentooServ root # amixer set Master 100 unmute
amixer: Mixer attach default error: No such device
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charlieg
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 30 Jul 2002
Posts: 2149
Location: Manchester UK

PostPosted: Sat May 08, 2004 12:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

geforce wrote:
Quote:
GentooServ root # actlstore
-bash: actlstore: command not found


Ooops... sorry... alsactl, used 'alsactl store'.

geforce wrote:
Quote:
GentooServ root # amixer
amixer: Mixer attach default error: No such device

Quote:
GentooServ root # amixer set Master 100 unmute
amixer: Mixer attach default error: No such device


Alsa is incorrectly configured.
_________________
Want Free games?
Free Gamer - open source games list & commentary

Open source web-enabled rich UI platform: Vexi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
geforce
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Dec 2003
Posts: 653
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sat May 08, 2004 1:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

damn I don't understand how to configure it correctly.... Could you show me your configuration file please ? /etc/alsa
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EliasP
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Dec 2002
Posts: 318
Location: South-West Germany

PostPosted: Sat May 08, 2004 2:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It doesn't work here ;(

Soundcard: C-Media 8738-C6 (snd-cmipci)

Kernel:
Code:

Linux osgiliath 2.6.5-gentoo #1 Thu Apr 15 22:52:29 CEST 2004 i686 AMD Athlon(tm) XP 2000+ AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux


qpkg -I -v | grep alsa
Code:

media-libs/alsa-oss-1.0.4 *
media-libs/alsa-lib-1.0.4 *
media-sound/alsa-tools-1.0.4 *
media-sound/alsa-utils-1.0.4 *
media-plugins/gst-plugins-alsa-0.8.1 *


/etc/asound.conf
Code:

pcm.dmixer {
    type dmix
    ipc_key 1024
    slave {
        pcm "hw:0,0"
        period_time 0
        period_size 1024
        buffer_size 8192
   rate 44100
    }

    bindings {
        0 0
        1 1
    }
}

pcm.dsp0 {
    type plug
    slave.pcm "dmixer"
}

pcm.!default {
        type plug
        slave.pcm "dmixer"
}

pcm.default {
   type plug
   slave.pcm "dmixer"
}

ctl.mixer0 {
    type hw
    card 0
}


/etc/init.d/alsasound restart
Code:

 * WARNING:  you are stopping a boot service.
 * Unloading ALSA...
 * Storing ALSA Mixer Levels
/usr/sbin/alsactl: save_state:1061: No soundcards found...
 * Unloading modules                                                                                                           [ ok ]
 * Loading ALSA drivers...
 * Using ALSA OSS emulation
 * Loading: snd-seq-oss
 * Loading: snd-mixer-oss
 * Loading: snd-pcm-oss
 * Running card-dependent scripts
 * Restoring Mixer Levels


aplay file.mp3
Code:

ALSA lib pcm_dmix.c:868:(snd_pcm_dmix_open) unable to open slave
aplay: main:507: audio open error: No such device


/etc/modules.d/alsa
Code:
# Alsa 0.9.X kernel modules' configuration file.
# $Header: /home/cvsroot/gentoo-x86/media-sound/alsa-utils/files/alsa-modules.conf-rc,v 1.1 2003/08/05 21:07:55 johnm Exp $

# ALSA portion
alias char-major-116 snd
# OSS/Free portion
alias char-major-14 soundcore

##
## IMPORTANT:
## You need to customise this section for your specific sound card(s)
## and then run `update-modules' command.
## Read alsa-driver's INSTALL file in /usr/share/doc for more info.
##
##  ALSA portion
alias snd-card-0 snd-cmipci
## alias snd-card-1 snd-ens1371
##  OSS/Free portion
alias sound-slot-0 snd-card-0
alias sound-slot-1 snd-card-1
##

# OSS/Free portion - card #1
alias sound-service-0-0 snd-mixer-oss
alias sound-service-0-1 snd-seq-oss
alias sound-service-0-3 snd-pcm-oss
alias sound-service-0-8 snd-seq-oss
alias sound-service-0-12 snd-pcm-oss
##  OSS/Free portion - card #2
## alias sound-service-1-0 snd-mixer-oss
## alias sound-service-1-3 snd-pcm-oss
## alias sound-service-1-12 snd-pcm-oss

alias /dev/mixer snd-mixer-oss
alias /dev/dsp snd-pcm-oss
alias /dev/midi snd-seq-oss

# Set this to the correct number of cards.
options snd cards_limit=1


Does anybody know what to do??

Greetings

Elias P.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
geforce
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Dec 2003
Posts: 653
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun May 09, 2004 3:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok I think I advanced.


Quote:

Linux version 2.4.25-gentoo (root@GentooServ) (gcc version 3.2.3 20030422 (Gentoo Linux 1.4 3.2.3-r1, propolice)) #10 SMP Mon May 3 21:52:19 UTC 2004
BIOS-provided physical RAM map:
BIOS-e820: 0000000000000000 - 000000000009fc00 (usable)
BIOS-e820: 000000000009fc00 - 00000000000a0000 (reserved)
BIOS-e820: 00000000000f0000 - 0000000000100000 (reserved)
BIOS-e820: 0000000000100000 - 000000001fff0000 (usable)
BIOS-e820: 000000001fff0000 - 000000001fff3000 (ACPI NVS)
BIOS-e820: 000000001fff3000 - 0000000020000000 (ACPI data)
BIOS-e820: 00000000fec00000 - 00000000fec01000 (reserved)
BIOS-e820: 00000000fee00000 - 00000000fee01000 (reserved)
BIOS-e820: 00000000ffff0000 - 0000000100000000 (reserved)
511MB LOWMEM available.
On node 0 totalpages: 131056
zone(0): 4096 pages.
zone(1): 126960 pages.
zone(2): 0 pages.
ACPI: RSDP (v000 Nvidia ) @ 0x000f75e0
ACPI: RSDT (v001 Nvidia AWRDACPI 0x42302e31 AWRD 0x00000000) @ 0x1fff3000
ACPI: FADT (v001 Nvidia AWRDACPI 0x42302e31 AWRD 0x00000000) @ 0x1fff3040
ACPI: MADT (v001 Nvidia AWRDACPI 0x42302e31 AWRD 0x00000000) @ 0x1fff74c0
ACPI: DSDT (v001 NVIDIA AWRDACPI 0x00001000 MSFT 0x0100000e) @ 0x00000000
ACPI: Local APIC address 0xfee00000
ACPI: LAPIC (acpi_id[0x00] lapic_id[0x00] enabled)
Processor #0 Pentium(tm) Pro APIC version 16
ACPI: LAPIC_NMI (acpi_id[0x00] high edge lint[0x1])
Kernel command line: root=/dev/hda4
Found and enabled local APIC!
Initializing CPU#0
Detected 2079.559 MHz processor.
Console: colour VGA+ 80x25
Calibrating delay loop... 4141.87 BogoMIPS
Memory: 513876k/524224k available (2804k kernel code, 9960k reserved, 367k data, 156k init, 0k highmem)
Dentry cache hash table entries: 65536 (order: 7, 524288 bytes)
Inode cache hash table entries: 32768 (order: 6, 262144 bytes)
Mount cache hash table entries: 512 (order: 0, 4096 bytes)
Buffer cache hash table entries: 32768 (order: 5, 131072 bytes)
Page-cache hash table entries: 131072 (order: 7, 524288 bytes)
CPU: L1 I Cache: 64K (64 bytes/line), D cache 64K (64 bytes/line)
CPU: L2 Cache: 512K (64 bytes/line)
Intel machine check architecture supported.
Intel machine check reporting enabled on CPU#0.
CPU: After generic, caps: 0383fbff c1c3fbff 00000000 00000000
CPU: Common caps: 0383fbff c1c3fbff 00000000 00000000
Enabling fast FPU save and restore... done.
Enabling unmasked SIMD FPU exception support... done.
Checking 'hlt' instruction... OK.
POSIX conformance testing by UNIFIX
CPU: L1 I Cache: 64K (64 bytes/line), D cache 64K (64 bytes/line)
CPU: L2 Cache: 512K (64 bytes/line)
Intel machine check reporting enabled on CPU#0.
CPU: After generic, caps: 0383fbff c1c3fbff 00000000 00000000
CPU: Common caps: 0383fbff c1c3fbff 00000000 00000000
CPU0: AMD Athlon(tm) XP 2800+ stepping 00
per-CPU timeslice cutoff: 1462.65 usecs.
enabled ExtINT on CPU#0
ESR value before enabling vector: 00000000
ESR value after enabling vector: 00000000
Error: only one processor found.
Using local APIC timer interrupts.
calibrating APIC timer ...
..... CPU clock speed is 2079.5102 MHz.
..... host bus clock speed is 332.7216 MHz.
cpu: 0, clocks: 3327216, slice: 1663608
CPU0<T0:3327216,T1:1663600,D:8,S:1663608,C:3327216>
Waiting on wait_init_idle (map = 0x0)
All processors have done init_idle
PCI: PCI BIOS revision 2.10 entry at 0xfb490, last bus=3
PCI: Using configuration type 1
PCI: Probing PCI hardware
PCI: Probing PCI hardware (bus 00)
PCI: Using IRQ router default [10de/01e0] at 00:00.0
isapnp: Scanning for PnP cards...
isapnp: No Plug & Play device found
Linux NET4.0 for Linux 2.4
Based upon Swansea University Computer Society NET3.039
Initializing RT netlink socket
Starting kswapd
Journalled Block Device driver loaded
devfs: v1.12c (20020818) Richard Gooch (rgooch@atnf.csiro.au)
devfs: boot_options: 0x1
Installing knfsd (copyright (C) 1996 okir@monad.swb.de).
NTFS driver 2.1.6a [Flags: R/O].
SGI XFS with no debug enabled
pty: 256 Unix98 ptys configured
Serial driver version 5.05c (2001-07-08) with MANY_PORTS SHARE_IRQ SERIAL_PCI ISAPNP enabled
ttyS00 at 0x03f8 (irq = 4) is a 16550A
Floppy drive(s): fd0 is 1.44M
FDC 0 is a post-1991 82077
0 3c515 cards found.
3c59x: Donald Becker and others. www.scyld.com/network/vortex.html
See Documentation/networking/vortex.txt
02:01.0: 3Com PCI 3c920 Tornado at 0xb000. Vers LK1.1.18-ac
00:26:54:11:1b:36, IRQ 10
product code ffff rev 00.0 date 15-31-127
Internal config register is 1600000, transceivers 0x40.
8K byte-wide RAM 5:3 Rx:Tx split, autoselect/MII interface.
MII transceiver found at address 2, status 786d.
Enabling bus-master transmits and whole-frame receives.
02:01.0: scatter/gather enabled. h/w checksums enabled
sk98lin: No adapter found.
forcedeth.c: Reverse Engineered nForce ethernet driver. Version 0.23.
PCI: Setting latency timer of device 00:04.0 to 64
eth1: forcedeth.c: subsystem: 01043:80a7 bound to 00:04.0
Linux agpgart interface v0.99 (c) Jeff Hartmann
agpgart: Maximum main memory to use for agp memory: 439M
agpgart: Detected NVIDIA nForce2 chipset
agpgart: AGP aperture is 128M @ 0xd0000000
Uniform Multi-Platform E-IDE driver Revision: 7.00beta4-2.4
ide: Assuming 33MHz system bus speed for PIO modes; override with idebus=xx
NFORCE2: IDE controller at PCI slot 00:09.0
NFORCE2: chipset revision 162
NFORCE2: not 100% native mode: will probe irqs later
AMD_IDE: Bios didn't set cable bits corectly. Enabling workaround.
ide: Assuming 33MHz system bus speed for PIO modes; override with idebus=xx
AMD_IDE: nVidia Corporation nForce2 IDE (rev a2) UDMA100 controller on pci00:09.0
ide0: BM-DMA at 0xf000-0xf007, BIOS settings: hda:DMA, hdb:DMA
ide1: BM-DMA at 0xf008-0xf00f, BIOS settings: hdc:DMA, hdd:DMA
hda: WDC WD600JB-00ETA0, ATA DISK drive
hdb: Maxtor 6Y080L0, ATA DISK drive
blk: queue c01a2fc0, I/O limit 4095Mb (mask 0xffffffff)
blk: queue c01a3108, I/O limit 4095Mb (mask 0xffffffff)
hdc: HL-DT-ST RW/DVD GCC-4480B, ATAPI CD/DVD-ROM drive
hdd: HL-DT-ST GCE-8520B, ATAPI CD/DVD-ROM drive
ide0 at 0x1f0-0x1f7,0x3f6 on irq 14
ide1 at 0x170-0x177,0x376 on irq 15
hda: attached ide-disk driver.
hda: host protected area => 1
hda: 117231408 sectors (60022 MB) w/8192KiB Cache, CHS=7297/255/63, UDMA(100)
hdb: attached ide-disk driver.
hdb: host protected area => 1
hdb: 160086528 sectors (81964 MB) w/2048KiB Cache, CHS=9964/255/63, UDMA(100)
hdc: attached ide-cdrom driver.
hdc: ATAPI 48X DVD-ROM CD-R/RW drive, 2048kB Cache, UDMA(33)
Uniform CD-ROM driver Revision: 3.12
hdd: attached ide-cdrom driver.
hdd: ATAPI 40X CD-ROM CD-R/RW drive, 2048kB Cache, UDMA(33)
Partition check:
/dev/ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0: p1 p2 p3 p4
/dev/ide/host0/bus0/target1/lun0: p1
SCSI subsystem driver Revision: 1.00
kmod: failed to exec /sbin/modprobe -s -k scsi_hostadapter, errno = 2
Intel 810 + AC97 Audio, version 0.24, 21:53:57 May 3 2004
PCI: Setting latency timer of device 00:06.0 to 64
i810: NVIDIA nForce Audio found at IO 0xd000 and 0xe400, MEM 0x0000 and 0x0000, IRQ 5
i810_audio: Audio Controller supports 6 channels.
i810_audio: Defaulting to base 2 channel mode.
i810_audio: Resetting connection 0
ac97_codec: AC97 Audio codec, id: ALG32 (ALC650)
i810_audio: AC'97 codec 0, new EID value = 0x05c7
i810_audio: AC'97 codec 0, DAC map configured, total channels = 6
Linux Kernel Card Services 3.1.22
options: [pci] [cardbus] [pm]
usb.c: registered new driver usbdevfs
usb.c: registered new driver hub
PCI: Setting latency timer of device 00:02.2 to 64
ehci_hcd 00:02.2: nVidia Corporation nForce2 USB Controller
ehci_hcd 00:02.2: irq 11, pci mem e089f000
usb.c: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 1
ehci_hcd 00:02.2: ehci_start hcs_params 0x102486 dbg=1 cc=2 pcc=4 !ppc ports=6
ehci_hcd 00:02.2: ehci_start portroute 0 0 1 1 1 0
ehci_hcd 00:02.2: ehci_start hcc_params a086 caching frame 256/512/1024 park
ehci_hcd 00:02.2: capability 0001 at a0
ehci_hcd 00:02.2: reset command 080b02 park=3 ithresh=8 period=1024 Reset HALT
PCI: cache line size of 64 is not supported by device 00:02.2
ehci_hcd 00:02.2: init command 010b09 park=3 ithresh=1 period=256 RUN
ehci_hcd 00:02.2: USB 2.0 enabled, EHCI 1.00, driver 2003-Dec-29/2.4
hcd.c: 00:02.2 root hub device address 1
usb.c: kmalloc IF dfd7fb20, numif 1
usb.c: new device strings: Mfr=3, Product=2, SerialNumber=1
usb.c: USB device number 1 default language ID 0x0
Manufacturer: Linux 2.4.25-gentoo ehci_hcd
Product: nVidia Corporation nForce2 USB Controller
SerialNumber: 00:02.2
hub.c: USB hub found
hub.c: 6 ports detected
hub.c: standalone hub
hub.c: ganged power switching
hub.c: individual port over-current protection
hub.c: Single TT
hub.c: TT requires at most 8 FS bit times
hub.c: Port indicators are not supported
hub.c: power on to power good time: 0ms
hub.c: hub controller current requirement: 0mA
hub.c: port removable status: RRRRRR
hub.c: local power source is good
hub.c: no over-current condition exists
hub.c: enabling power on all ports
usb.c: hub driver claimed interface dfd7fb20
usb.c: kusbd: /sbin/hotplug add 1
usb.c: kusbd policy returned 0xfffffffe
host/uhci.c: USB Universal Host Controller Interface driver v1.1
PCI: Setting latency timer of device 00:02.0 to 64
host/usb-ohci.c: USB OHCI at membase 0xe08a1000, IRQ 10
host/usb-ohci.c: usb-00:02.0, nVidia Corporation nForce2 USB Controller
usb.c: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 2
usb.c: kmalloc IF dfd7f9a0, numif 1
usb.c: new device strings: Mfr=0, Product=2, SerialNumber=1
usb.c: USB device number 1 default language ID 0x0
Product: USB OHCI Root Hub
SerialNumber: e08a1000
hub.c: USB hub found
hub.c: 3 ports detected
hub.c: standalone hub
hub.c: ganged power switching
hub.c: global over-current protection
hub.c: Port indicators are not supported
hub.c: power on to power good time: 2ms
hub.c: hub controller current requirement: 0mA
hub.c: port removable status: RRR
hub.c: local power source is good
hub.c: no over-current condition exists
hub.c: enabling power on all ports
usb.c: hub driver claimed interface dfd7f9a0
usb.c: kusbd: /sbin/hotplug add 1
usb.c: kusbd policy returned 0xfffffffe
PCI: No IRQ known for interrupt pin B of device 00:02.1. Please try using pci=biosirq.
host/usb-ohci.c: found OHCI device with no IRQ assigned. check BIOS settings!
usb.c: registered new driver hiddev
usb.c: registered new driver hid
hid-core.c: v1.8.1 Andreas Gal, Vojtech Pavlik <vojtech@suse.cz>
hid-core.c: USB HID support drivers
usb.c: registered new driver aiptek
aiptek.c: v1.0 Mar-8-2003: Bryan W. Headley/Chris Atenasio
aiptek.c: Aiptek HyperPen USB Tablet Driver (Linux 2.4.x)
usb.c: registered new driver wacom
wacom.c: v1.21.3 Vojtech Pavlik <vojtech@suse.cz>
wacom.c: USB Wacom Graphire and Wacom Intuos tablet driver
usb.c: registered new driver kbtab
kbtab.c: v0.0.1 Josh Myer <josh@joshisanerd.com>
kbtab.c: KB Gear Jam Studio Tablet Driver
usb.c: registered new driver powermate
usb.c: registered new driver rio500
rio500.c: v1.1:USB Rio 500 driver
usb.c: registered new driver tiglusb
tiglusb.c: TI-GRAPH LINK USB (aka SilverLink) driver, version 1.06
usb.c: registered new driver auerswald
Voyager v0.8 (April 2002)
by Stephane Dalton <sdalton@videotron.ca> and Stéphane Doyon <s.doyon@videotron.ca>
usb.c: registered new driver brlvger
usb.c: registered new driver usblcd
usblcd.c: USBLCD Driver Version 1.03 (C) Adams IT Services http://www.usblcd.de
usblcd.c: USBLCD support registered.
Initializing USB Mass Storage driver...
usb.c: registered new driver usb-storage
USB Mass Storage support registered.
mice: PS/2 mouse device common for all mice
NET4: Linux TCP/IP 1.0 for NET4.0
IP Protocols: ICMP, UDP, TCP, IGMP
IP: routing cache hash table of 4096 buckets, 32Kbytes
TCP: Hash tables configured (established 32768 bind 32768)
NET4: Unix domain sockets 1.0/SMP for Linux NET4.0.
ds: no socket drivers loaded!
EXT3-fs: INFO: recovery required on readonly filesystem.
EXT3-fs: write access will be enabled during recovery.
(recovery.c, 256): journal_recover: JBD: recovery, exit status 0, recovered transactions 95463 to 95479
(recovery.c, 258): journal_recover: JBD: Replayed 382 and revoked 11/13 blocks
kjournald starting. Commit interval 5 seconds
EXT3-fs: recovery complete.
EXT3-fs: mounted filesystem with ordered data mode.
VFS: Mounted root (ext3 filesystem) readonly.
Mounted devfs on /dev
Freeing unused kernel memory: 156k freed
Adding Swap: 506036k swap-space (priority -1)
EXT3 FS 2.4-0.9.19, 19 August 2002 on ide0(3,4), internal journal
Intel ICH soundcard not found or device busy



Quote:
GentooServ root # lsmod
Module Size Used by Tainted: P
fglrx 174632 6
snd-pcm-oss 39556 0 (unused)
snd-pcm 67744 0 [snd-pcm-oss]
snd-page-alloc 7380 0 [snd-pcm]
snd-mixer-oss 14168 0 [snd-pcm-oss]
snd-seq-oss 30240 0 (unused)
snd-seq-midi-event 3872 0 [snd-seq-oss]
snd-seq 41520 2 [snd-seq-oss snd-seq-midi-event]
snd-timer 16324 0 [snd-pcm snd-seq]
snd-seq-device 4452 0 [snd-seq-oss snd-seq]
snd 36228 0 [snd-pcm-oss snd-pcm snd-mixer-oss snd-seq-oss snd-seq-midi-event snd-seq snd-timer snd-seq-device]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
g0su
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 May 2003
Posts: 437
Location: Dresden, Deutschland

PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2004 2:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Edit: sorry all, that post is only for faq not for questions :S sorry!!!
:oops:
_________________
Busco desarrollador con complejo de proxy, interesados MP
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fng
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Oct 2003
Posts: 38
Location: Rotselaar, Belgium

PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2004 11:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

charlieg wrote:
00420 wrote:
MPLAYER NOTE: the syntax in mplayer version 1.0_pre4-r1 (and assumingly any higher versions) has changed.
You must now use "alsa1x:default" istead of "alsa9:default"


Thank you, thank you, thank you! :D


THNX man!!!

sound quality is really poor tho :/
_________________
Play More Promode
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kraymer
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Aug 2003
Posts: 349
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2004 12:19 am    Post subject: success!! Reply with quote

Hi!

Thanks for the howto. I took the opportunity to finally 'activate' the alsa dmix-plugin. The packages were already installed, so I just copy&pasted your .asoundrc-stuff and it worked instantly with two instances of mplayer and xmms (<- using alsa output plugin) :D
Short note for mplayer-users: '-ao alsa9' is outdated (at least for my version of alsa and/or mplayer). Look:
Quote:
mplayer -ao help
Available audio output drivers:
.....
alsa1x ALSA-1.x audio output

So you may want to use mplayer -ao alsa1x:default or -ao alsa1x:dmix if the default settings don't work.
edit: sorry, didn't read to the end of this thread.. as I should have known, you guys already figured that out ;)

Sebastian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tecknojunky
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Oct 2002
Posts: 1937
Location: Montréal

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2004 5:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried dmix in the past and fiddle several days with it to get crackling-results, at best. After several weeks of i-give-up period, i decided to give dmix another turn to get it working properly. 5 minutes later, it worked with everything. :roll: Go figure that out.
_________________
(7 of 9) Installing star-trek/species-8.4.7.2::talax.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sir_skiner
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Mar 2004
Posts: 282
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2004 12:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

and what about mozilla/firefox? does it work for these apps, 'cause i still can't play xmms and play suond via browser in flash games for example
_________________
sir_skiner
GentooLinux - thinking best ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
genstef
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 13 Jun 2004
Posts: 668
Location: M/Bay/Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2004 1:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is it already possible to use this in wine/winex/cedega/cxoffice?

On my machine cedega plays through alsa but not through dmix.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Redeeman
l33t
l33t


Joined: 25 Sep 2003
Posts: 957
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2004 1:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tecknojunky wrote:
I tried dmix in the past and fiddle several days with it to get crackling-results, at best. After several weeks of i-give-up period, i decided to give dmix another turn to get it working properly. 5 minutes later, it worked with everything. :roll: Go figure that out.


thats because you should set the rate to 48000 instead of the 441000 it is default. then it should work.
_________________
Sandberg Enterprises
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Redeeman
l33t
l33t


Joined: 25 Sep 2003
Posts: 957
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2004 1:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

genstefan:
dunno, if you find outm tell me :)

sit_skiner:
hm, try run firefox with aoss :)
_________________
Sandberg Enterprises
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
goulash
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Posts: 47
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2004 2:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks alot for this it works perfectly :D

edit: havent been able to get the sound in teamspeak working with "aoss TeamSpeak". did i need to compile OSS into the kernel or anything like that? or what should i set my sound driver to in teamspeak?


Last edited by goulash on Thu Jun 24, 2004 3:22 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sir_skiner
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Mar 2004
Posts: 282
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2004 4:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Redeeman wrote:

hm, try run firefox with aoss :)

well, this is the issue that i try running
Code:
aoss firefox
and it does nothing good, may it be wrong alsa-oss version? i have kernel 2.6.7 and alsa-oss-1.0.3a
_________________
sir_skiner
GentooLinux - thinking best ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 5, 6, 7 ... 10, 11, 12  Next
Page 6 of 12

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum