Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
alsa sound mixing aka dmix (not arts or esd needed)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Stieltje
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Apr 2003
Posts: 158
Location: The land where the sky is black

PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 11:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Many thanks, this now works for me :)


I have read many a howto, but there are always some info missing, like the line :

Code:
 $ aoss <appname>




so to everyone posting howto threads, try to be as complete as possible :)

again, many thanks for this post, this is what makes these forums great :)
_________________
PCs nearly always come with Microsoft Windows as their operating systems, but the "OS," as it is called, can be changed to a non-Microsoft operating system with a little work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Redeeman
l33t
l33t


Joined: 25 Sep 2003
Posts: 957
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 11:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

as i recall, i described to use aoss for non-alsa applications.
_________________
Sandberg Enterprises
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
theonlymcc
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Sep 2003
Posts: 274
Location: NC

PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 3:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
I think Redeeman is right. You can try to set the bitrate at 44800.

I tried that and after a few minutes it stills gets glitchy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
theonlymcc
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Sep 2003
Posts: 274
Location: NC

PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 6:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anyone?? This problem is really annoying. I can't listen to music with dmix but for a few minutes. I've tried different bit rates. Using intel 8x0 card
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Redeeman
l33t
l33t


Joined: 25 Sep 2003
Posts: 957
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 6:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sorry, but i dont have such a card myself, so i cant test it :|
_________________
Sandberg Enterprises
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Skrot
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Posts: 141
Location: Adelaide, Australia

PostPosted: Fri Aug 20, 2004 1:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Um... wtf? This all suddenly works now? I'm impressed! It's a shame that quake3 doesn't work with aoss, but everything else works great so far! Hell, even firefox running through aoss, playing flash works. And you know what? The sound is in sync with the video!!!!

Dear god... this is awesome.

Cheers!
_________________
You will release your mind.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Stieltje
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Apr 2003
Posts: 158
Location: The land where the sky is black

PostPosted: Fri Aug 20, 2004 3:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi again.


after following this guide, suddenly alsamixer won't work, and xmms has developed a tendency to just freeze on loading mp3's.

[EDIT]

sorry, forgot to type in the alsamixer error:

Code:
 alsamixer: function snd_ctl_open failed for default: Invalid argument



any clues?[/code]
_________________
PCs nearly always come with Microsoft Windows as their operating systems, but the "OS," as it is called, can be changed to a non-Microsoft operating system with a little work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Skrot
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Posts: 141
Location: Adelaide, Australia

PostPosted: Sat Aug 21, 2004 2:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah... yes, all is not perfection... but it's close! I also have the xmms freezing problem :(.

Ohh well...
_________________
You will release your mind.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Redeeman
l33t
l33t


Joined: 25 Sep 2003
Posts: 957
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Sat Aug 21, 2004 11:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dmix might get alot better in time :)
_________________
Sandberg Enterprises
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bekker
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Sep 2004
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Tue Sep 14, 2004 9:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there anyone with a snd_cs46xx driver who has got the dmixer plugin to work???

the following asound.conf file works perfectly

Code:
pcm.!default {
        type hw
        card 0
        }

ctl.!default {
        type hw
        card 0
}

aplay -D default test.wav works ok.

But when I try to get the dmix plugin to work with the following asound.conf file:

Code:
pcm.dmixer {
    type dmix
    ipc_key 1024
    slave {
        pcm "hw:0,0"
        period_time 0
        period_size 1024
        buffer_size 4096
 rate 44100
    }

    bindings {
        0 0
        1 1
    }
}

pcm.dsp0 {
    type plug
    slave.pcm "dmixer"
}

pcm.!default {
        type plug
        slave.pcm "dmixer"
}

pcm.default {
 type plug
 slave.pcm "dmixer"
}

ctl.mixer0 {
    type hw
    card 0
}


aplay test.wav produces no sound at all. Only aplay -D hw:0,0 test.wav works.

Can anyone help me? I am totally out of ideas.

regards

Chera
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bekker
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Sep 2004
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2004 8:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

To follow up on my previous post, it seems that the snd-cs46xx module is porked. I tried with my onboard nforce 2 soundcard and dmixer worked as advertised. Guess I'll have to dump my Hercules Fortissimo card then.

Any advice on what current soundcard is best supported with ALSA? I discarded my old SB live a couple of years ago due to the data corruption issues with VIA chipsets. Does anyone know if there are these issues with nforce 2 mobo's?

Thanks for any advice.

Chera
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
agent_jdh
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 1779
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2004 3:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bekker wrote:
To follow up on my previous post, it seems that the snd-cs46xx module is porked. I tried with my onboard nforce 2 soundcard and dmixer worked as advertised. Guess I'll have to dump my Hercules Fortissimo card then.

Any advice on what current soundcard is best supported with ALSA? I discarded my old SB live a couple of years ago due to the data corruption issues with VIA chipsets. Does anyone know if there are these issues with nforce 2 mobo's?

Thanks for any advice.

Chera


Why do you need dmix with a cs46xx based card? It _should_ support hardware mixing, unless Hercules have crippled the card in some way.

I'm not aware of any issues with the Live/Audigy and nForce 2 chipset.

I find the nForce 2 onboard audio to be fine.
_________________
Jingle Jangle Jewellery
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bekker
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Sep 2004
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2004 8:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Agent,

Could you tell me how to get the hardware mixing to work with the snd-cs46xx module? I cannot get two aplay streams to play at the same time. And like I said dmixer doesn't work (for the Hercules card that is)..

I've got a cheap version of the a7n8x mobo with a Realtek ALC650 audio chipset with very basic capabilities so I prefer to use my Hercules card.

Thanks for any info

Chera
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bekker
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Sep 2004
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2004 9:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

O.k. found the solution on alsa.opensrc.org. Make sure you have

CONFIG_SND_CS46XX_NEW_DSP=y

in your kernel 2.6.x .config file when you compile the cs46xx module. then you get hardware mixing support.

Now I still have to get the dedicated headphone support to work...

Chera
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
agent_jdh
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 1779
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2004 9:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bekker wrote:
Agent,

Could you tell me how to get the hardware mixing to work with the snd-cs46xx module? I cannot get two aplay streams to play at the same time. And like I said dmixer doesn't work (for the Hercules card that is)..

I've got a cheap version of the a7n8x mobo with a Realtek ALC650 audio chipset with very basic capabilities so I prefer to use my Hercules card.

Thanks for any info

Chera


I've actually taken my cs46xx card (TB Santa Cruz) out of my box now, so I'm not 100% sure on this, but could you do a
Code:
cat /proc/asound devices

This will indicate how many output streams your card can manage in hardware, or it it can't do h/w mixing.

I'm pretty sure the Hercules _should_ be capable of it, maybe the driver doesn't fully support it though.

Actually, just looking at the ALSA website, there is some indication that support for all of the CSxxxx DSP's that use the cs46xx driver is not the same for all the different DSP's - maybe you would get a more definitive answer on the ALSA mailing list.
_________________
Jingle Jangle Jewellery
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bekker
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Sep 2004
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2004 9:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Agent,

thanks for your input. I got the hardware mixing to work like I said in a previous post. Turned out to be an experimental setting in the .config file of the 2.6.8 kernel.

Chera
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
agent_jdh
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 1779
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2004 2:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bekker wrote:
Agent,

thanks for your input. I got the hardware mixing to work like I said in a previous post. Turned out to be an experimental setting in the .config file of the 2.6.8 kernel.

Chera


Was it the "Cirrus Logic (Sound Fusion) New DSP support (EXPERIMENTAL)" option?

That's not really experimental these days ... it's been there for ages, and should really be the default by now.
_________________
Jingle Jangle Jewellery
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bekker
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Sep 2004
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2004 10:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Agent,

Could be, but in the 2.6.8.1 kernel source it is still labelled as experimental. Probably the ALSA maintainers forgot to tell the kernel guys that it is stable.

Chera
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GroennDemon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Aug 2003
Posts: 52
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2004 6:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

I now can have xmms and xine run simultaneously. However, xine always starts muted and the Gnome volume control applet would only let me control the main volume. When I want it to open the "volume control", i.e. PCM, CD etc., it always says "no mixer devices found" or something similar. Any ideas?
I'm running alsa + alsa-oss + esound + dmix.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bekker
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Sep 2004
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2004 7:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It helps when you tell us:

1) what alsa driver you use
2) did you add alsasound to the default startup scripts?
3) why do you use esound, you don't really need it if you have dmixer working.

regards

Chera
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GroennDemon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Aug 2003
Posts: 52
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Sep 18, 2004 1:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have ALSA compiled as modules and
Code:
media-libs/alsa-lib-1.0.5-r3 *
media-libs/alsa-oss-1.0.5 *
media-sound/alsa-headers-1.0.5a *
media-sound/alsa-utils-1.0.5 *
media-plugins/gst-plugins-alsa-0.8.2-r1 *
.

After I had read about dmixer, I unmerged esound, but then several programs refused to work because they couldn't find esound.so...
Also, I have had that program before I used dmixer...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MooktaKiNG
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Nov 2002
Posts: 326
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Sat Sep 18, 2004 9:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

GroennDemon wrote:
I have ALSA compiled as modules and
Code:
media-libs/alsa-lib-1.0.5-r3 *
media-libs/alsa-oss-1.0.5 *
media-sound/alsa-headers-1.0.5a *
media-sound/alsa-utils-1.0.5 *
media-plugins/gst-plugins-alsa-0.8.2-r1 *
.

After I had read about dmixer, I unmerged esound, but then several programs refused to work because they couldn't find esound.so...
Also, I have had that program before I used dmixer...


Even though i have dmix, i still like to have arts and esound running.
Just so that all apps work without bothering to configure it.
_________________
http://www.mooktakim.com
Athlon XP 2001, Giga-Byte GA-7VRXP MB, 640Mb DDR RAM 333MHz, MSI Geforce 4800SE 128Mb DDR, 40x12x48 Liteon CDRW drive, Flower Cooler, ADSL Router
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bekker
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Sep 2004
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

GroennDemon wrote:
I have ALSA compiled as modules and
Code:
media-libs/alsa-lib-1.0.5-r3 *
media-libs/alsa-oss-1.0.5 *
media-sound/alsa-headers-1.0.5a *
media-sound/alsa-utils-1.0.5 *
media-plugins/gst-plugins-alsa-0.8.2-r1 *
.

After I had read about dmixer, I unmerged esound, but then several programs refused to work because they couldn't find esound.so...
Also, I have had that program before I used dmixer...


What kernel do you use and what ALSA module?

I have only experience with the snd-cs46xx module.

Chera
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GroennDemon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Aug 2003
Posts: 52
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use gentoo-dev-sources-2.6.8-r2. Lsmod says I have:

Code:
snd snd_intel8x0m,snd_virmidi,snd_seq_virmidi,snd_seq_midi,snd_intel8x0,snd_ac97_codec,snd_mpu401_uart,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi_event,snd_seq,snd_seq_device,snd_pcm_oss,snd_pcm,snd_timer,snd_mixer_oss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
syadnom
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 May 2002
Posts: 531

PostPosted: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:16 am    Post subject: frustr Reply with quote

this is just a big pain in the ass. why don't the alsa guys gave this built in, seamless. why doesn't alsa just use hardware mixing when available and use dmix or some software mixing when hard-mixing is not avail????

a good piece of software does not require a 'howto' to just get it working! alsa runs flawlessly when a card with hardware mixing is used, no config, no mess, just works(kernel_2.6) but when no hardware mixing is avail, this dmix mess has to be dealt with. i STILL don't have a 100% working sound system, i can't launch every single program like './aoss foo', some just won't work that way, and others SHOULDn't run that way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12  Next
Page 8 of 12

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum