Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
alsa sound mixing aka dmix (not arts or esd needed)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 10, 11, 12  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bushwakko
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 495

PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 1:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

when starting quake2 and quake3 I get:

------- sound initialization -------
/dev/dsp: Device or resource busy
Could not open /dev/dsp
------------------------------------

shouldn't oss work with alsa and dmix too?

when using aoss quake3 it just hangs at bootup
_________________
Macbook Pro 15"
Core 2 Duo 2,33ghz
2gb Ram
ATI Mobility x1600 256mb
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bushwakko
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 495

PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2005 6:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

argghh, bump!
_________________
Macbook Pro 15"
Core 2 Duo 2,33ghz
2gb Ram
ATI Mobility x1600 256mb
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hicksboson
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Oct 2004
Posts: 31
Location: Kiel, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 3:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, it's working fine so far, but how to prevent xine from taking over sound volume controll for the whole system. Everything else is working fine and I got good sound quality in all apps. And I can handle sound volume independent in all other apps (xmms, alsaplayer, gaim), only when I change volume in Xine it's like handling the master volume.

I'm running gentoo-sources 2.6.11, xine 0.9.23, and alsa stuff just updated today.
I compiled all those apps with alsa-support (where available)
I tried out a lot of settings for .asoundrc (mostly from this thread) as well as no .asoundrc at all.
I've tried both kernel modules (the builtin and media-sound/alsa-driver).
I've also tried differnt configurations for xine

Now I've got no more ideas, where to look.:?
Any suggestions?
Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
b0fh
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 426

PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 9:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I created my /etc/asound.conf as in the first post. Dmix works for alsa-programs, but I don't get a /dev/dsp0 for oss-emulation, although I emerged also-oss... Do I have to mknod it somehow?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
codergeek42
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 05 Apr 2004
Posts: 5142
Location: Anaheim, CA (USA)

PostPosted: Sat Apr 02, 2005 11:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My sound card is an on-board VT82C686 AC97 Audio Controller (rev 50) (via82xx) with an ICEnsemble 1232 chip, and the following works for me nicely (I can play music in Rhythmbox and hear the sound effects of bzflag and gaim all at the same time):
Code:

pcm.via82xx {
    type hw
    card 0
}

ctl.via82xx {
    type hw
    card 0
}

pcm.dmixer {
    type dmix
    ipc_key 1024
    slave {
        pcm "hw:0,0"
        period_time 0
        period_size 2048
        buffer_size 6144
 rate 44100
    }

    bindings {
        0 0
        1 1
    }
}

pcm.dsp0 {
    type plug
    slave.pcm "dmixer"
}

pcm.!default {
        type plug
        slave.pcm "dmixer"
}

pcm.default {
 type plug
 slave.pcm "dmixer"
}

ctl.mixer0 {
    type hw
    card 0
}
Maybe that will help someone. I spen about 10 minutes trying to tweak the buffer_size until it was smooth (anything else would give slight timing and speef errors with mplayer and other things).
_________________
~~ Peter: Programmer, Mathematician, STEM & Free Software Advocate, Enlightened Agent, Transhumanist, Fedora contributor
Who am I? :: EFF & FSF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Xer0
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Mar 2004
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2005 1:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't think this has been mentioned:
If you emerge alsa-drivers, by default it does oss emulation by modules (snd-pcm-oss, etc...). These appear to be used even when you run a program using aoss. You can tell this is happening to you if you can run an oss program without aoss. As such, any dmix trickery in asound.conf is bypassed, and you won't be able to play multiple streams from oss programs. The solution to this is to disable kernel level OSS emulation. I'm not sure how to do this with alsa-driver (USE=-oss?), but if you are using the drivers available in the kernel (I'm using 2.6), you can just unselect the two OSS options.

The next step is to get the latest version version of aoss from CVS, as it supposedly fixes the buggy fopen() emulation (read: Should work with quake 3!).

EDIT: Damn out of date wikis, the fopen() patch has been in since 1.0.6 - and q3 still doesn't work :( I get sound, but it's really scratchy, and in game it is just random noise. Hopefully adjusting my buffer or rate will fix things up. Anyone have any other ideas?

Hope this helps someone, had me stumped for a while. Read more at the ALSA Wiki

- Xavier
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jamapii
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Sep 2004
Posts: 574

PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2005 7:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

in /etc/mplayer.conf,

ao=alsa9:default # doesn't seem to work anymore, but

ao=alsa:mmap:device=dmix # works for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ard Righ
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Jun 2002
Posts: 337
Location: Wellington, NZ

PostPosted: Wed Apr 20, 2005 9:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you need to configure DMIX to get Teamspeak working in Linux ?

I know there is a 'howto' guide which is supposed to get Teamspeak working in Gentoo, but it didn't really work for me. And I'm not too keen on having to rm anything in /dev just to get a software app to behave correctly.

Teamspeak requires sound capture for the mic to work. It only supports OSS.

If I could get this DMIX to enable me to use Teamspeak with alsa-oss, and play games like America's Army in Linux, life would be perfect. Any help would be appreciated.
_________________
Answer a simple question with a simple answer!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
codergeek42
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 05 Apr 2004
Posts: 5142
Location: Anaheim, CA (USA)

PostPosted: Fri Apr 22, 2005 4:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

To those still having trouble you may want to let ALSA automagically configure things for you. From what I can tell, ALSA does built-in software-mixing as of 1.0.9-rc2. So far it seems to work well on my onboard VIA chip (using the in-kernel via82xx driver with Linux 2.6.12-rc3)
_________________
~~ Peter: Programmer, Mathematician, STEM & Free Software Advocate, Enlightened Agent, Transhumanist, Fedora contributor
Who am I? :: EFF & FSF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yaneurabeya
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 13 May 2004
Posts: 1754
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Sat Apr 30, 2005 9:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmmmm... that's good news. Finally I might be able to properly soundmix my TB card :).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yaneurabeya
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 13 May 2004
Posts: 1754
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Sat Apr 30, 2005 10:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Holy mackerel. It works!!!! *tips his hat to the ALSA folks for the good work*
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sheepdogj15
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Jan 2005
Posts: 430
Location: Backyard

PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2005 3:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

codergeek42 wrote:
To those still having trouble you may want to let ALSA automagically configure things for you. From what I can tell, ALSA does built-in software-mixing as of 1.0.9-rc2. So far it seems to work well on my onboard VIA chip (using the in-kernel via82xx driver with Linux 2.6.12-rc3)


hmm... sorry to bump up an old thread but i'm curious... how would i configure this, then, using inte8x0 hardware? (i installed alsa-driver rc3, as the real 1.0.9 didn't work for me)

[edit] Cancel that. I got it working with XMMS (as verified by the fact i can have XMMS playing and KDE sounds at the same time). however, i can't get mplayer to cooperate. :?
_________________
Sheepdog
Why Risk It? | Samba Howto
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sheepdogj15
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Jan 2005
Posts: 430
Location: Backyard

PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2005 4:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sheepdogj15 wrote:
however, i can't get mplayer to cooperate. :?


if someone can help, this is the end of my output from mplayer:

Code:
...
Cache fill:  0.00% (0 bytes)    Audio file detected.
==========================================================================
Opening audio decoder: [mp3lib] MPEG layer-2, layer-3
AUDIO: 24000 Hz, 2 ch, s16le, 24.0 kbit/3.12% (ratio: 3000->96000)
Selected audio codec: [mp3] afm:mp3lib (mp3lib MPEG layer-2, layer-3)
==========================================================================
Checking audio filter chain for 24000Hz/2ch/s16le -> 24000Hz/2ch/s16le...
AF_pre: 24000Hz/2ch/s16le
alsa-init: 1 soundcard found, using: dmix
ALSA lib pcm.c:6449:(snd_pcm_slave_conf) unknown format S16
alsa-init: playback open error: Invalid argument
Could not open/initialize audio device -> no sound.
Audio: no sound
Video: no video


i tried googling that error message, but no luck. i used the "ao=alsa:mmap:device=dmix" option as mentioned above.
_________________
Sheepdog
Why Risk It? | Samba Howto
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sheepdogj15
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Jan 2005
Posts: 430
Location: Backyard

PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2005 5:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

cancel that again! :D w00t

after monkeying with it for about a couple of hours, i figured out a workaround. i simply had mplayer run output through esd instead of straight to alsa, and i configured esd (per instructions on the wiki page) to mix through dmix.

this is sweet ... now i'm listening to an audio stream in mplayer, P.O.D. on XMMS, and am minimizing/maximizing this window (well, not right now but you get the idea) to trigger KDE sounds. this is great! :)
_________________
Sheepdog
Why Risk It? | Samba Howto
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sirlark
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2004
Posts: 305
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2005 11:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi

I'm using kernel 2.6.12-r6, gentoo sources, with ALSA compiled in, using only the driver for my AC'97. All my programs that want to play sound can. I would like to get hardware mixing working, but I must admit that I am very confused, because most of this howto seems to deal with 2.4 kernels and using external modules for ALSA. So I was wondering if anyone could answer a few questions for me...

What packages do I need to install if I use 2.6?
Do any of these packages require me to remove ALSA components from my kernel?
If so which components?
How do I set up my /etc/asoundrc file correctly?
How do I set up various apps, specifically XMMS, madplay, GAIM, mplayer, ogg123, and firefox/thunderbird?

Thanks in advance
_________________
Adopt an unanswered post today
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
syadnom
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 May 2002
Posts: 531

PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2005 1:39 pm    Post subject: no hardware mixing Reply with quote

you wont get hardware mixing, but software mixing is working.

just delete all the /etc/asound.conf and config files and install the most rescent alsa. i use the release in the nitro5 kernel. it works nicely and gives a nice performance boost on the desktop as well. you get full software mixing this way
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fatboyjim
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Jul 2004
Posts: 227
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2005 9:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've tried the instructions in the wiki and also in https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-266647.html (as I'm on a Shuttle SN95G5 - intel8x0)

No joy here. Using latest everything (amd64)

I noticed I've got the esd USE flag set. Reckon that's interfering with anything?

Problem is basically, if amaroK is open (using gstreamer->alsasink) I can't get most other things to work (UT2004 etc) all grumbling with /dev/dsp: Device or resource busy

Any ideas? Thanks _so_ much ;)

Jim
_________________
-----------------------
fatboyjim
Gentoo/AMD64 Arch Tester (Inactive)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
syadnom
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 May 2002
Posts: 531

PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2005 11:27 pm    Post subject: what kernel? Reply with quote

what kernel are you running?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fatboyjim
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Jul 2004
Posts: 227
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2005 11:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

2.6.12-gentoo-r6
_________________
-----------------------
fatboyjim
Gentoo/AMD64 Arch Tester (Inactive)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
syadnom
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 May 2002
Posts: 531

PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2005 11:33 pm    Post subject: have you tried... Reply with quote

have you tried nitro5? it hsa the newest alsa beta with sw mixing on by default. i works great for me with nforce and ac97 audio.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sirlark
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2004
Posts: 305
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 6:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi I tried nitro-5 but the in kernel intel pro wireless 2200 drivers don't seem to work, and the external ones won't compile against nitro-5, so I went back to 2.6.12-gentoo-r6, with ALSA removed from the kernel. I emerged asla-drivers, alsa-libs, alsa-oss, alsa-utils, and alsa-tools. Then I ran alsaconf, and viola! Now I have sound mixing working in everything except firefox (flash), which still locks the device. No config file alteration necessary. I had no /etc/asound.conf or .asoundrc before doing the emerges.
_________________
Adopt an unanswered post today
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cYmen
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Aug 2005
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2005 7:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

did anybody get that aoss stuff working with skype?
it always seems to hijack the complete audio device and that s pissing me off...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
givertex
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Sep 2005
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Oct 01, 2005 3:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for this, it helped me alot. One problem I have is when i reboot I have to have run
Code:
alsaconf

to have the sound work correctly.

Here is a lsmod:
Code:
vertex@localhost ~ $ lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
ipv6                  250784  6
ohci_hcd               21284  0
analog                 11808  0
ns558                   5636  0
parport_pc             39940  0
parport                35976  1 parport_pc
floppy                 59188  0
pcspkr                  3788  0
rtc                     9364  0
i2c_viapro              8208  0
i2c_core               22400  1 i2c_viapro
ehci_hcd               31816  0
at76c503_i3861         32740  0
at76c503               90752  1 at76c503_i3861
at76_usbdfu             6020  1 at76c503
eth1394                20904  0
uhci_hcd               32144  0
via_rhine              24068  0
mii                     5376  1 via_rhine
ohci1394               34452  0
ieee1394              100792  2 eth1394,ohci1394
via_agp                 9632  1
usbcore               115996  7 ohci_hcd,ehci_hcd,at76c503_i3861,at76c503,at76_usbdfu,uhci_hcd
snd_ens1371            24640  4
gameport               16840  4 analog,ns558,snd_ens1371
snd_rawmidi            23136  1 snd_ens1371
snd_ac97_codec         74680  1 snd_ens1371
snd_pcm                88708  3 snd_ens1371,snd_ac97_codec
snd_timer              25252  2 snd_pcm
snd                    49492  11 snd_ens1371,snd_rawmidi,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm,snd_timer
soundcore              10240  1 snd
snd_page_alloc          9828  1 snd_pcm
nvidia               3711848  12
agpgart                35440  2 via_agp,nvidia


I'm running a 2.6.12-r6 kernel with the gentoo sources.
Thanks
-Bryon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JloR
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jun 2004
Posts: 43
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2005 5:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does anyone have a trick to make Skype work?

I'm _not_ using the kernel supplied drivers for ALSA, I'm using
Code:

[ebuild   R   ] media-sound/alsa-driver-1.0.10_rc3  -doc +oss 2,140 kB
[ebuild   R   ] media-libs/alsa-oss-1.0.10_rc3  0 kB
[ebuild   R   ] media-libs/alsa-lib-1.0.10_rc3  -doc -jack 689 kB


So that should provide OSS support in ALSA..
Also, my /etc/asound.conf currently looks like this:
Code:

pcm.dsp0 {
type plug
slave.pcm "dmix"
}

ctl.mixer0 {
type hw
card 0
}


Modules are loaded:
Code:

Gabriel ~ # lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
snd_pcm_oss            47904  -
snd_mixer_oss          16712  -
snd_seq_oss            34240  -
snd_seq_midi_event      5640  -
snd_seq                51536  -
snd_seq_device          7060  -
snd_intel8x0           29764  -
snd_ac97_codec         93608  -
snd_ac97_bus            1672  -
snd_pcm                81796  -
snd_timer              21036  -
snd                    48036  -
snd_page_alloc          8336  -


And yet, when I start skype using aoss skype I get this:
Code:

No installed artsshell or esd found
Assuming you're running no sound daemon
Starting skype without a sound wrapper
==========================================

And sound doesn't work.. Can't hear when contacts are calling me, I can't hear when people are writing me... In short, can't really use Skype for anything but textmessaging..

There MUST be a way to fix this - I honestly doesn't see why aoss doesn't work.
_________________
-- Jakob L. O. Rosenlund
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trueshanti
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Feb 2006
Posts: 30
Location: Thailand

PostPosted: Tue Mar 14, 2006 6:04 pm    Post subject: ASOUNDRC request for st20g5 Reply with quote

Hello

can someone please post a matching .asoundrc .. paleeez

my soundcard is a hda-intel ( model=full_dig ) that comes with a shuttle-ST20G5 running amd64 (!)

.. soon the hard times for shuttle-user will be over - i can feel it :-)

everything runs fine but my SKYPE on kde (artsd !:-p )


tnx

_
.. and please . give us alsa-support in skype
_________________
_ _ _
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 10, 11, 12  Next
Page 11 of 12

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum