Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
HOWTO: Ndiswrapper Wireless Setup
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 5, 6, 7 ... 11, 12, 13  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mmarkin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Dec 2003
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2004 3:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello everyone;

I was wondering if anyone has been able to make their Linksys WPC54G cards hotswappable? What I mean is, NDISWrapper works fine, but there is no way to remove the PCMCIA card after you initialize the ndiswrapper module (without restarting the machine). Looks like pcmcia-cs is a lost cause because it doesnt support the card.

I use an SMP(P4's Hyperthreading)-enabled Gentoo-Dev-Sources 2.6.7-rc6 with compiled-in Yenta handling the Cardbus bridge.

Any suggestions?

Thanks a lot.

Mikhail
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ighost
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jun 2004
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2004 5:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks for the useful thread, what once was thought impossible is now reality: i'm runing an 802.11g card under linux =]

(linksys wmp54g pci)


Last edited by ighost on Thu Jul 01, 2004 3:28 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jdhooghe85
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Jun 2004
Posts: 133

PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2004 5:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hello, im having problems with my belkin f5d7000 wireless card. I have installed ndiswrapper and the drivers but i cannot connect to the internet. Here is the information when i type iwconfig wlan0:

wlan0 IEEE 802.11g ESSID:""
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.462GHz Access Point:FF.FF.FF.FF.FF.FF.FF
Bit Rate: 54Mb/s Tx-Power:16dBm
RTS thr:2347 B Fragment thr:2346B
Encryption Key: (gives my key) Security Mode: Restricted
cted Powermanagement: off
link quality:100/100 Signal level:-57dBm Noise level:-256dBm
Rt invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DawgG
l33t
l33t


Joined: 17 Sep 2003
Posts: 824

PostPosted: Thu Jul 01, 2004 6:11 pm    Post subject: FSC lifebook e41010d works! Reply with quote

THX! it works (so far). got my 1st wlan-card set up.
i (or rather my employer) have a fujitsu-siemens lifebook e4010d which doesn't even OFFICIALLY have a wlan-card (http://www.fujitsu-siemens.de/rl/produkte/overview/lifebook/main_162.htm)
; somewhere below the big fat "centrino wireless"-logo in says in small print "well, some don't have a wlan-card"), but
Code:
Gen-2-War root # lspci
0000:01:0d.0 Network controller: Intel Corp. PRO/Wireless LAN 2100 3B Mini PCI Adapter (rev 04)

won't lie to me ( i hope).
i have to load the windoze-drivers first, then load the ndiwrapper-module, and then do
Code:
loadndisdriver -a

after which
Code:
Gen-2-War root # iwconfig
lo        no wireless extensions.

eth0      no wireless extensions.

wlan0     IEEE 802.11b  ESSID:""
          Mode:Managed  Channel:0  Access Point: FF:FF:FF:FF:FF:FF
          Bit Rate:54Mb/s
          RTS thr:1600 B   Fragment thr:2344 B
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off
          Link Quality:0/100  Signal level:-98 dBm  Noise level:-256 dBm
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0


shows me this.
so far, so great. gonna test some more 2morrow.
kernel: 2.6.7-ck2
ndiswrapper : 0.6-r1
windoze-driver: w70n51.INF Intel PRO/Wireless 7100 LAN Adapters for XP
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
val
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Jun 2004
Posts: 234

PostPosted: Sat Jul 03, 2004 8:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Got it working on a Dell 600m with Inte Pro Wireless 2200 and kernel 2.6.7. :D

The linux driver at that site is not developed yet. Wish I had read the README before I wasted an hour. :oops: Unfortunately, the windows driver given there is a .exe that I don't know how to unpack. I don't know if that can be unpacked. In my case, I was able to find the drivers on my windows partition. Then following the rest of the directions, got it to work. Yay!

Now if only there was a nice way to start it at boot time and not wait for eth0, etc...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
markfl
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Apr 2003
Posts: 240
Location: Kent, UK

PostPosted: Sat Jul 03, 2004 12:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

val wrote:
Got it working on a Dell 600m with Inte Pro Wireless 2200 and kernel 2.6.7. :D

The linux driver at that site is not developed yet. Wish I had read the README before I wasted an hour. :oops: Unfortunately, the windows driver given there is a .exe that I don't know how to unpack. I don't know if that can be unpacked. In my case, I was able to find the drivers on my windows partition. Then following the rest of the directions, got it to work. Yay!

Now if only there was a nice way to start it at boot time and not wait for eth0, etc...


I think you can use unzip to open it (might need to emerge unzip)
_________________
Life it seems, will fade away
Drifting further every day
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ercxy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Apr 2004
Posts: 55
Location: MA

PostPosted: Sat Jul 03, 2004 11:58 pm    Post subject: dell lattitude 600 dell 1350 a/b/g ; ndiswrapper works Reply with quote

hi guys,
finally I make ndiswrapper works for me too...
Code:
lspci -n
02:03.0 Class 0280: 14e4:4320 (rev 03)

uname -r
2.6.7-rc3-love2


I followed whatever said in first post, could not make it.. first I use ndiswrapper0.8 because could not find 0.6 in the link. I downloaded the first driver that says work for 14e4:4320..It did not work for me.
Then in driver download link I choosed the second driver (the one with a * at the end; which means one of the developer is using this driver) .. I downloaded "R76521na.exe", used

Code:
unzip R76521na.exe

as mentioned above(no need for windows). Then I choosed "bcwml5a.inf" and installed it using ndiswrapper -i , and voila it is working.. Well i am sure you have seen warning about ascii thing in the driver download page. I think a in the "bcmwl5a.inf" stands for ascii. Well
this is what i have done to make it work.. :lol:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GoodMonkey
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jul 2004
Posts: 5
Location: North America

PostPosted: Mon Jul 05, 2004 6:39 am    Post subject: This sucks. Reply with quote

After many hours of searching threw the forums and trying and trying to follow instructions, I'm fed up. Can anyone help me out on this one? I'm using a US Robotics 5416 PCI card, and can't get it to work. When I do lspci, I get this:
Code:
0000:00:10.0 Network controller: Texas Instruments ACX 111 54Mbps Wireless Interface

Great, I see it is a TI ACX 111, which I can't find a whole lot on. Run ndiswrapper using the usr11g drivers I downloaded, and get this:
Code:
#dmesg
ndiswrapper version 0.8 loaded
ndiswrapper adding usr11g.sys
NdisMPciAssignResources --UNIMPLEMENTED--
ndiswrapper: error log: C000138B, length: 1 (00000001)
ndiswrapper: Windows driver couldn't initialize the device
usr11g.sys: probe of 0000:00:10.0 failed with error -22

I've tried a few other drivers from other cards with the ACX 111, but none of them even get that far. I'd use the from Windows, but all I have is the USRG11.SYS, and no .INF. I've looked on the CD that came with the adapters, but the installer is an .EXE, and searching finds no drivers. Anyone know anything about this? I'm serious thinking about using the DriverLoader from Linuxant, but was waiting to see if anyone could help me out.
_________________
While the best things in life are free, not everything that's good is. I still have to pay for peanut butter...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ercxy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Apr 2004
Posts: 55
Location: MA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 05, 2004 4:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

go there;
http://ndiswrapper.sourceforge.net/supported_chipsets.html
get the last driver in the list "* TI ACX111"..
driver1 is an executable and driver2 is a zip..
try these drivers..If you already tried these i don't know how to solve your problem..
but mine did not work with the drivers that i have in cd.. pay attention to the asci things also for example
bcmwl5.inf and bcmwl5a.inf are both in the downloaded file
bcmwl5a.inf works for me..

i think you can find the inf files in your winxp by
controlpanel->system-devices->yourwirelesscard->drivers info or advanced they should tell you which inf you are using and where are the files..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GoodMonkey
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jul 2004
Posts: 5
Location: North America

PostPosted: Mon Jul 05, 2004 4:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ercxy wrote:
go there;
http://ndiswrapper.sourceforge.net/supported_chipsets.html
get the last driver in the list "* TI ACX111"..
driver1 is an executable and driver2 is a zip..
try these drivers..If you already tried these i don't know how to solve your problem..
but mine did not work with the drivers that i have in cd.. pay attention to the asci things also for example
bcmwl5.inf and bcmwl5a.inf are both in the downloaded file
bcmwl5a.inf works for me..

i think you can find the inf files in your winxp by
controlpanel->system-devices->yourwirelesscard->drivers info or advanced they should tell you which inf you are using and where are the files..


The first link, .exe didn't do me much good. Run it on windows, look in the temp folder it creates, and there are two cabs, but I can't find anything in either of them. The second one to the .zip is a dead link. I did find the drivers for the ACX111 chip on DLink's site, but they did me no good. On the US Robotics website, they lisk Linuxant as being support for Linux. So on the Linuxant site I found the drivers I need for the card, in the zip was simply a .bin, .sys, and .inf. I tried it yesterday, but didn't work. Now after some sleep I try it, and shazam! Got the drivers working, now to figure out the configuration...
_________________
While the best things in life are free, not everything that's good is. I still have to pay for peanut butter...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
user317
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2003
Posts: 314

PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2004 6:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mine only worked with this entry in /etc/modules.d/ndiswrapper
Code:
alias wlan0 ndiswrapper
post-install ndiswrapper /usr/bin/loadndisdriver -a
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
teedog
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 211

PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2004 4:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ndiswrapper 0.8 is in Portage now. Please test and reply here if there're problems:
https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=49479
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
teedog
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 211

PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2004 6:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

user317 wrote:
mine only worked with this entry in /etc/modules.d/ndiswrapper
Code:
alias wlan0 ndiswrapper
post-install ndiswrapper /usr/bin/loadndisdriver -a


Me too. ndiswrapper installed the drivers just fine but when I do modprobe ndiswrapper the wireless card doesn't get loaded. However, after I did "loadndisdriver -a" all was well.

The strange thing is that I've install ndiswrapper before on the very same Dell 600m, and the installation went just fine according to the isntructions. Perhaps the new 2.6.7 kernel changed something?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Larsie
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Apr 2004
Posts: 6
Location: Antwerpen - Belgium

PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2004 7:42 pm    Post subject: Unable to open kernel driver: Permission Denied Reply with quote

Im using a Dell Inspiron 500m with the Dell 1300 truemobile card. With a previous install of Gentoo everything worked fine using ndiswrapper, but now whatever I try, I keep getting: "Unable to open kernel driver: Permission Denied", when I run loadndisdriver.

I have already checked out the ndiswrapper-mailing list, but the only message about this says that I should use loadndisdriver as root (which I have been doing all the time).

I have followed your suggestions above and I have even tried to manually install ndiswrapper 0.6 (the one that used to work). I have even tried all the different Broadcom-drivers.

I am using gentoo-dev-kernel-2.6.7-r9.

If anyone has any suggestions, I would be absolutely grateful. Thx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bdraw
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Nov 2003
Posts: 21
Location: Tampa

PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2004 12:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am having a similiar problem to user13
I have added the same lines /etc/modules.d/ndiswrapper

There are no errors when I load the driver into ndiswrapper nor when I modprobe, and ndiswrapper -l reports that the driver is loaded.
But when I dmesg it only shows that ndiswrapper was loaded and not that the actual driver was loaded.
I used the new ebuild .08 and am using ck-sources-2.6.7 with a linksys wpc54g.
I have tried all three drivers.

Still no luck, :(
_________________
If it's too easy it's boring.
Ben
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Newt
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Jan 2004
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat Jul 17, 2004 4:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

you can add broadcom bcm4306 to the list of supported hardware :) apparently it took a lot of extra playing around to get it working though (someone sshd'ed in and did it for me)

thanks for the program :D
_________________
"(theoretical) Physics is like sex: sure, it may give some practical results, but that's not why we do it"
"Good sex is like good Bridge: if you don't have a good partner, you'd better have a good hand."
- Richard Feynman
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ladynik0n
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Apr 2004
Posts: 75

PostPosted: Tue Jul 20, 2004 5:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newt wrote:
you can add broadcom bcm4306 to the list of supported hardware :) apparently it took a lot of extra playing around to get it working though (someone sshd'ed in and did it for me)


thanks for the program :D


Is that the buffalo WLI-CB-G54A?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
damianfrancis
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Aug 2003
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2004 9:33 am    Post subject: driver not getting loaded Reply with quote

those of you who have no problem up untill you try to insert ndiswrapper ie
Code:
modprobe ndiswrapper
, what drivers are you using? I am using a similar kernel w/ndiswrapper 0.8 and I have noticed that certain versions of the windows drivers when loaded into ndiswrapper do not activate the device when I modprobe, even though I get no error when the windows driver is loaded. For me this is much more common if I use a bcmwl5.inf and not bcmwl5a.inf I have also noticed at least for the broadcom chipsets that which driver package I
Code:
ndiswrapper -i bcmwl5a.inf
from makes a great difference not only in whether the dmesg shows your device, but also the actual performance of the driver once ndiswrapper is loaded. So make sure that you test out all the windows drivers for your card, and make sure you are using the ascii version and not the unicode unless you are just wanting to help test ndiswrapper (cvs) with unicode windows drivers. They are known to have problems loading the proper .cab files, while the ascii ones seem to work better. I have found as well with the broadcom chipset especially when associating with an AP with lot of noise that setting the tansfer rate (see iwconfig manual) to something lower or to auto can be helpful. Using UberLords wireless script can be a really helpfull way to configure your wireless extensions as well https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=122435&postdays=0&postorder=asc&highlight=ndiswrapper+preup+function&start=0
_________________
This post has been brought to you by The damianfactor!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
damianfrancis
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Aug 2003
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2004 1:27 pm    Post subject: preup and predown Reply with quote

I sometimes have a bit of a problem associating with an AP at my house when there is a lot of noise on the line becuase when ndiswrapper is modprobed it attemps to go ahead and start wlan0. Is there a way that I can tell modprobe or ndiswapper not to do that so I can have ndiswrapper autoload on boot, and then start wlan0 whenever I feel like it. What I would really like to do actually is have ndiswrapper not try and load wlan0 but when I launch /etc/init.d/net.wlan0 start it will load the ndiswrapper and then continue with bringing up the device. I am using UberLord's wireless configuration script which as a "preup" and "predown" function, which I used to use to do this, but I can not remember how, and I have done a reinstall. Anybody know and mind helping? Thanks for your time.
_________________
This post has been brought to you by The damianfactor!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikecore
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Dec 2003
Posts: 342
Location: Toledo, Ohio

PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2004 3:23 pm    Post subject: some help please Reply with quote

I have a Hp Pavilion zv5034us with a Broadcom Corporation BCM94306 802.11g wireless card I have gone through the install guide for the ndiswrapper .6 and I have looked at the Network Setup Howto.

I am having some problems

I know in the network setup guide - it says "If you have multiple network cards in your system they are named eth0, eth1, etc."
This is in the /etc/conf.d/net file. mine looks like this -

# /etc/conf.d/net:
# $Header: /home/cvsroot/gentoo-src/rc-scripts/etc/conf.d/net,v 1.7 2002/11/18 19:39:22 azarah Exp $

# Global config file for net.* rc-scripts

# This is basically the ifconfig argument without the ifconfig $iface
#
iface_eth0="192.168.0.2 broadcast 192.168.0.255 netmask 255.255.255.0"
iface_eth1="192.168.0.100 broadcast 192.168.0.255 netmask 255.255.255.0"

# For DHCP set iface_eth? to "dhcp"
# For passing options to dhcpcd use dhcpcd_eth?
#
iface_eth0="dhcp"
iface_eth1="dhcp"

# For adding aliases to a interface
#
#alias_eth0="192.168.0.3 192.168.0.4"

# NB: The next is only used for aliases.
#
# To add a custom netmask/broadcast address to created aliases,
# uncomment and change accordingly. Leave commented to assign
# defaults for that interface.
#
#broadcast_eth0="192.168.0.255 192.168.0.255"
#netmask_eth0="255.255.255.0 255.255.255.0"


# For setting the default gateway
#
#gateway="eth0/192.168.0.1"

I followed the ndiswrapper guide and the outcome of
code " #ndiswrapper -l " Installed ndis drivers:
bcmwl5 "

and the outcome of "#dmesg "

is "ndiswrapper version 0.6 loaded"

i'm supposed to get a "wlan0: ndiswrapper ethernet device xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx"
but I don't have that!

i think im getting my names mixed up ie eth1 and wlan0 but im not sure
any help please.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikecore
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Dec 2003
Posts: 342
Location: Toledo, Ohio

PostPosted: Sun Jul 25, 2004 3:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

just keeping this post at the top so people will look at it. maybe I can get some help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
teedog
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 211

PostPosted: Sun Jul 25, 2004 7:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
I followed the ndiswrapper guide and the outcome of
code " #ndiswrapper -l " Installed ndis drivers:
bcmwl5 "


The line should read "bcmwl5 present" rather than just "bcmwl5", I believe. The word "present" means that the device corresponding to the installed driver is present. Make sure that your .INF file is in ASCII format.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chaosite
Guru
Guru


Joined: 13 Dec 2003
Posts: 540
Location: Right over here.

PostPosted: Mon Jul 26, 2004 6:24 am    Post subject: Re: This sucks. Reply with quote

GoodMonkey wrote:
After many hours of searching threw the forums and trying and trying to follow instructions, I'm fed up. Can anyone help me out on this one? I'm using a US Robotics 5416 PCI card, and can't get it to work. When I do lspci, I get this:
Code:
0000:00:10.0 Network controller: Texas Instruments ACX 111 54Mbps Wireless Interface

Great, I see it is a TI ACX 111, which I can't find a whole lot on. Run ndiswrapper using the usr11g drivers I downloaded, and get this:
Code:
#dmesg
ndiswrapper version 0.8 loaded
ndiswrapper adding usr11g.sys
NdisMPciAssignResources --UNIMPLEMENTED--
ndiswrapper: error log: C000138B, length: 1 (00000001)
ndiswrapper: Windows driver couldn't initialize the device
usr11g.sys: probe of 0000:00:10.0 failed with error -22

I've tried a few other drivers from other cards with the ACX 111, but none of them even get that far. I'd use the from Windows, but all I have is the USRG11.SYS, and no .INF. I've looked on the CD that came with the adapters, but the installer is an .EXE, and searching finds no drivers. Anyone know anything about this? I'm serious thinking about using the DriverLoader from Linuxant, but was waiting to see if anyone could help me out.


There is a native linux driver for the ACX111 driver available at acx100.sf.net.

No reason to use ndiswrapper when there is a native driver around...

I'm willing to walk you through installing it on PM.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
G.N.A.
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Mar 2004
Posts: 81

PostPosted: Mon Jul 26, 2004 6:19 pm    Post subject: Re: preup and predown Reply with quote

damianfrancis wrote:
I sometimes have a bit of a problem associating with an AP at my house when there is a lot of noise on the line becuase when ndiswrapper is modprobed it attemps to go ahead and start wlan0. Is there a way that I can tell modprobe or ndiswapper not to do that so I can have ndiswrapper autoload on boot, and then start wlan0 whenever I feel like it. What I would really like to do actually is have ndiswrapper not try and load wlan0 but when I launch /etc/init.d/net.wlan0 start it will load the ndiswrapper and then continue with bringing up the device. I am using UberLord's wireless configuration script which as a "preup" and "predown" function, which I used to use to do this, but I can not remember how, and I have done a reinstall. Anybody know and mind helping? Thanks for your time.


That is exactly what I did. I have ndiswrapper autoload on boot (module added to startup) and then I have two scripts created. One for wireless with the SSID WEP key and one for wired (eth0). I simply placed icons on my desktop that executes the desired script. I do have to enter in the root password, but this gives me the ability to start wireless or wired when I want.

GNA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alficles
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jun 2004
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2004 7:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

teedog wrote:
Quote:
I followed the ndiswrapper guide and the outcome of
code " #ndiswrapper -l " Installed ndis drivers:
bcmwl5 "


The line should read "bcmwl5 present" rather than just "bcmwl5", I believe. The word "present" means that the device corresponding to the installed driver is present. Make sure that your .INF file is in ASCII format.


After bashing my head many, many, many times against my desk with this problem, I tried downloading the windrivers from a different source. Try replacing your drivers with drivers from another download site. The bcmwl5 drivers from source 2 worked for me, but that may just be magic. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 5, 6, 7 ... 11, 12, 13  Next
Page 6 of 13

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum