Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
cups - magicolor 2300dl network printer setup (HELP?)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
sstacha
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Sep 2003
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Sun Feb 01, 2004 7:42 pm    Post subject: cups - magicolor 2300dl network printer setup (HELP?) Reply with quote

First of all I would like to say congrats to the gentoo ppc devleopment team. I am currently, and for the first time, writing via my 17" alpowerbook (radeon) on my new install of the firebird mozilla browser with alsa working playing a cd with xmms. WHOOP!

My next step was to try to get my laptop to print to a network printer (magicolor 2300DL). I can print to it directly from windows, however, it has a install cd so I don't know all the settings. My config steps were as follows:

grep -i magicolor 2300 /usr/share/foomatic/db/source/printer/*

important info:
---------------------------
/usr/share/foomatic/db/source/printer/Minolta-magicolor_2300_DL.xml:<printer id="printer/Minolta-magicolor_2300_DL">
/usr/share/foomatic/db/source/printer/Minolta-magicolor_2300_DL.xml: <model>magicolor 2300 DL</model>
/usr/share/foomatic/db/source/printer/Minolta-magicolor_2300_DL.xml: <ieee1284>CLASS:PRINTER;MODEL:magicolor 2300 DL;MANUFACTURER:MINOLTA-QMS;COMMAND SET:ZJS,PJL;</ieee1284>
/usr/share/foomatic/db/source/printer/Minolta-magicolor_2300_DL.xml: <model>magicolor 2300 DL</model>
/usr/share/foomatic/db/source/printer/Minolta-magicolor_2300_DL.xml: <description>MINOLTA-QMS magicolor 2300 DL</description>
/usr/share/foomatic/db/source/printer/Minolta-magicolor_2300_DL.xml: The magicolor 2300 DL is a network color laser printer with a


------------------------
grep Minolta-magicolor_2300_DL /usr/share/foomatic/db/source/driver/*
-------------------------
/usr/share/foomatic/db/source/driver/foo2zjs.xml: <printer><id>printer/Minolta-magicolor_2300_DL</id></printer>
----------------------------------

Then tried:
foomatic-configure -s cups -p Minolta-magicolor_2300_DL -c socket:/<ip address of printer> -n 2300DL -d foo2zjs

Seemed to work (shows up on cups admin web console, but when I print a test page i get nothing)
/var/log/cups/error_log shows:

I [01/Feb/2004:13:39:51 -0600] Started "/usr/lib/cups/cgi-bin/printers.cgi" (pid=3780)
I [01/Feb/2004:13:39:51 -0600] Adding start banner page "none" to job 2.
I [01/Feb/2004:13:39:51 -0600] Adding end banner page "none" to job 2.
I [01/Feb/2004:13:39:51 -0600] Job 2 queued on '2300DL' by ''.
I [01/Feb/2004:13:39:51 -0600] Started filter /usr/lib/cups/filter/pstops (PID 3781) for job 2.
I [01/Feb/2004:13:39:51 -0600] Started filter /usr/lib/cups/filter/foomatic-rip (PID 3782) for job 2.
I [01/Feb/2004:13:39:51 -0600] Started backend /usr/lib/cups/backend/socket (PID 3783) for job 2.
E [01/Feb/2004:13:39:52 -0600] PID 3782 stopped with status 1!
I [01/Feb/2004:13:39:52 -0600] Hint: Try setting the LogLevel to "debug" to find out more.

--------------------------------
when i try to do anything in the console though it asks for a username and password. I have tried emptystrings admin admin my root login nothing works. Anyone know the default login so I can bump the log level or know from looking at what commands i used as to what is wrong?

Im kinda stuck. Any help would be appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sstacha
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Sep 2003
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Mon Feb 02, 2004 7:30 am    Post subject: update Reply with quote

ok,

so I spent most of the day trying different things and found that the first part was something pretty stupid. If you do not have a root password set the cups web login will not work. Next I set the log level to debug and now I'm getting the error_log:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

D [02/Feb/2004:01:26:55 -0600] [Job 9] Found: %%BeginFeature: *ICM DL2312
D [02/Feb/2004:01:26:55 -0600] [Job 9] Option: ICM=DL2312 --> Setting option
D [02/Feb/2004:01:26:55 -0600] [Job 9] Found: %% FoomaticRIPOptionSetting: ICM=DL2312
D [02/Feb/2004:01:26:55 -0600] [Job 9] Option: ICM=DL2312 --> Setting option
D [02/Feb/2004:01:26:55 -0600] [Job 9] Found: %%BeginFeature: *Intent Perceptual
D [02/Feb/2004:01:26:55 -0600] [Job 9] Option: Intent=Perceptual --> Setting option
D [02/Feb/2004:01:26:55 -0600] [Job 9] Found: %% FoomaticRIPOptionSetting: Intent=Perceptual
D [02/Feb/2004:01:26:55 -0600] [Job 9] Option: Intent=Perceptual --> Setting option
D [02/Feb/2004:01:26:55 -0600] [Job 9] Found: %%EndSetup
D [02/Feb/2004:01:26:55 -0600] [Job 9]
D [02/Feb/2004:01:26:55 -0600] [Job 9] -----------
D [02/Feb/2004:01:26:55 -0600] [Job 9] New page: 1 1
D [02/Feb/2004:01:26:55 -0600] [Job 9] Inserting option code into "PageSetup" section.
D [02/Feb/2004:01:26:55 -0600] [Job 9] No page header or page header not DSC-conforming
D [02/Feb/2004:01:26:55 -0600] [Job 9] Stopping search for page header options
D [02/Feb/2004:01:26:55 -0600] [Job 9] Found:
D [02/Feb/2004:01:26:55 -0600] [Job 9] pageHeight sub % Move down...
D [02/Feb/2004:01:26:55 -0600] [Job 9] --> Output goes directly to the renderer now.
D [02/Feb/2004:01:26:55 -0600] [Job 9]
D [02/Feb/2004:01:26:55 -0600] [Job 9]
D [02/Feb/2004:01:26:55 -0600] [Job 9] Starting renderer
D [02/Feb/2004:01:26:55 -0600] [Job 9] JCL: <job data>
D [02/Feb/2004:01:26:55 -0600] [Job 9]
D [02/Feb/2004:01:26:55 -0600] [Job 9] renderer PID pid4=4127
D [02/Feb/2004:01:26:55 -0600] [Job 9] renderer command: foo2zjs-wrapper -c -r2400x600 -p1 -s7 -m1 -d1 -n1 -GDL2312.icm -I0
D [02/Feb/2004:01:26:55 -0600] [Job 9] renderer return value: 16777215
D [02/Feb/2004:01:26:55 -0600] [Job 9] renderer received signal: 16777215
D [02/Feb/2004:01:26:55 -0600] [Job 9] Flushing FIFO.
D [02/Feb/2004:01:26:55 -0600] [Job 9] Command line/JCL options changed, restarting renderer
D [02/Feb/2004:01:26:55 -0600] [Job 9]
D [02/Feb/2004:01:26:55 -0600] [Job 9] Closing renderer
D [02/Feb/2004:01:26:55 -0600] [Job 9] KID3 exited with status 1
D [02/Feb/2004:01:26:55 -0600] [Job 9] Renderer exit stat: 1
D [02/Feb/2004:01:26:55 -0600] [Job 9] Process dieing with "The renderer command line returned an unrecognized error code 16777215.", exit stat: 1
D [02/Feb/2004:01:26:55 -0600] [Job 9] The renderer command line returned an unrecognized error code 16777215.
D [02/Feb/2004:01:26:55 -0600] [Job 9] Renderer process finished
D [02/Feb/2004:01:26:55 -0600] [Job 9] Process dieing with "Error closing renderer", exit stat: 1
D [02/Feb/2004:01:26:55 -0600] [Job 9] Error closing renderer
D [02/Feb/2004:01:26:55 -0600] [Job 9] tail process done writing data to STDOUT
D [02/Feb/2004:01:26:55 -0600] [Job 9] KID4 finished
E [02/Feb/2004:01:26:55 -0600] PID 4124 stopped with status 1!
D [02/Feb/2004:01:26:55 -0600] UpdateJob: job 9, file 0 is complete.
D [02/Feb/2004:01:26:55 -0600] CancelJob: id = 9
D [02/Feb/2004:01:26:55 -0600] StopJob: id = 9, force = 0
D [02/Feb/2004:01:26:55 -0600] StopJob: printer state is 3

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
any ideas? should i not be using some sort of socket or http protocol? should I be using something else? has anyone set up to print directly to a network printer before?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tonyg_2
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Jun 2003
Posts: 61
Location: Ottawa

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 9:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

I'm not sure exactly what the problem is, but I can tell you what I did to get mine working:

First I went to http://foo2zjs.rkkda.com/ and followed the instructions about halfway down the page.

Code:

# Get the file
$ wget http://foo2zjs.rkkda.com/foo2zjs.tar.gz
# Unpack:
$ tar zxf foo2zjs.tar.gz
$ cd foo2zjs
#Compile:
$ make
# output removed for readability
# Then grab the ICM profiles for color correction, and firmware:
$ ./getweb 2300   # Get Minolta 2300 DL .ICM files
# Install (as root)
$ make install


Then I turned on my cups daemon
Code:
$/etc/init.d/cupsd start


And I went to my cups web (http://localhost:631)

I added a printer,

Device type: "LPD/LPR Host or Printer"
Device URI: "socket://192.168.0.8:9100"
Make: "MINOLTA-QMS"
Model: "Minolta magicolor 2300 DL Foomatic/foo2zjs (recommended) (en)"

This creates a monochrome printer for cups to play with. To make it color, configure the printer to use the "Color" color mode.

It took me a week to figure out how to do this, but in reality it is quite simple. You can do this for each client, or you can do this for a print server, and connect the clients to the print server, sending "RAW" data to it. The print server can handle the conversion.

I realize the magicolor has a print server on it, but it sucks royally. Each page is considered a job, and you have to delete each page individually. Plus you can't figure out who sends all the jobs, etc. I use a server at home, especially in case someone wants to cancel a job. But also to see how the printer is used.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sstacha
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Sep 2003
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2004 3:53 pm    Post subject: still not working Reply with quote

I had not tried to mess with this in awhile so I decided to give it a shot. It still just aborts the job.

Question:

Are you on a ppc platform or intel. I think that is the problem. I don't think the driver is working right for my platform.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spilikin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Feb 2005
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Thu Feb 17, 2005 12:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the same printer Konica Minolta 2300DL. I tried the web site driver and instructions sullpied there (http://foo2zjs.rkkda.com/). When I set this up through the web (localhost:631), It is a network printer so I used LPD/LPR, socket://192.168.x.xxx:9100...I don't get the option on the Make: tab of "MILONTA-QMS",. I get a few other printer manufacturers and Raw. So I selected RAW and when I test print I get text only, where I think I should see some graphics too. I stopped the test print after about five pages before I used up a tree and my precious toner. If you got this printer working, let me know.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spilikin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Feb 2005
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Fri Feb 18, 2005 4:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK. I found this site and set up my 2300DL. Instead of using the web setup, I used the command line setup. Then I went to the web, made sure my printer was there, and updated to use color. The printer works flawlessly (so far).

See: http://gentoo-wiki.com/HARDWARE_Magicolor_2300DL
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
genstef
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 13 Jun 2004
Posts: 668
Location: M/Bay/Germany

PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2005 6:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

"If, for some reason the portage package does not work for you"

from your gentoo-wiki page.

Is there anything that does not work with the in-portage package for you?
Can you please report a bug then and not recommend people to install it manually?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spilikin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Feb 2005
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2005 7:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did not write the HOWTO on the gentoo-wiki page. Also, I did not have any problems with the portage package.

The problems I had were with the instructions at http://foo2zjs.rkkda.com/ (previous poster). The instructions simply didn't work for my machine. The difference is <snip from HOWTO> note: dont try to use ipp or lpd connections on the printer. Even though it claims to be supported, you will pull most of you hair out trying <snip>. That's why I used the command line setup - I was already in a term emerging, anyway.

I'm hoping that someone having problems getting the magicolor 2300DL to work will find the gentoo-wiki HOWTO useful. Their mileage may vary, but it worked for me.

[/quote]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Frontier
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Oct 2004
Posts: 16
Location: Chios, Greece

PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2005 7:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

spilikin wrote:
OK. I found this site and set up my 2300DL. Instead of using the web setup, I used the command line setup. Then I went to the web, made sure my printer was there, and updated to use color. The printer works flawlessly (so far).

See: http://gentoo-wiki.com/HARDWARE_Magicolor_2300DL


Hello,

Did the printer produced colour printouts? Following the guide, I managed to install the printer, print in monochrome (the cups test page), but trying to print in colour (by changing the printer preferences) failed. The driver reports the job as sent-to-printer/completed, but nothing gets printed :(

Any ideas what might be wrong?
_________________
The Mighty Frontier
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spilikin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Feb 2005
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2005 4:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The first testprint came out mono, then I used the KDE printer manager to change the default to color, and it worked flawlessly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Frontier
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Oct 2004
Posts: 16
Location: Chios, Greece

PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2005 8:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

spilikin wrote:
The first testprint came out mono, then I used the KDE printer manager to change the default to color, and it worked flawlessly.


Did exactly that and nothing gets printed :(
_________________
The Mighty Frontier
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum