Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
2.6.2-ben1 barf on radeon driver
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
rt_clik
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Jun 2002
Posts: 70
Location: Rohnert Park, California, US

PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2004 7:26 am    Post subject: 2.6.2-ben1 barf on radeon driver Reply with quote

Did a quick search, but didn't see anyone else with this as a problem. Sorry if it's a dupe.

Compiling the 2.6.2-ben1 kernel. Did a `make oldconfig` using the working .config from my running 2.6.1-ben1 kernel. `make` goes along nicely, then barfs with the following output:

Code:
drivers/video/built-in.o(.text+0x23b38): In function `radeon_engine_reset':
: multiple definition of `radeon_engine_reset'
drivers/char/built-in.o(.text+0x29404): first defined here
ld: Warning: size of symbol `radeon_engine_reset' changed from 156 in drivers/char/built-in.o to 1104 in drivers/video/built-in.o
make[1]: *** [drivers/built-in.o] Error 1
make: *** [drivers] Error 2


I've done a `make clean`, and a run through `make menuconfig` looking for problems. Tried my `make` again, but sadly, replicated the code barf again. Can't tell if I've found a problem with my .config or the kernel code. I hate to do configs from scratch 'cause I always forget something I need, but if I'm alone with this problem, that may make sense as my next move.

I check daily for Ben's new kernel via rsync from source.mvista.com, so I suspect it won't be long before I've got good mojo again if it is a code problem, but wondered if anyone else has seen this, reported it, or solved it.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
the_accidental
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Dec 2003
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2004 8:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not seen it - i have an iBook G4 (and so have a radeon - are you using the new driver?) and compiled a 2.6.2r1 kernel yesterday, which was fine.

I didn't do a make oldconfig though - i config'd it from scratch.

(although it broke my networking, so i'm back using a 2.6.1.benh1 for the moment till I get my system up properly and can be bothered to work out why)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
feliperal
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Mar 2003
Posts: 168

PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2004 11:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got the same error. If you disable under graphics support, the radeon frame buffer driver, it will compile fine. However, X will not work :evil:

I would stay with the 2.6.1-r1 and wait till a 2.6.2-r1 is released.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
garn
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 10 Sep 2003
Posts: 131

PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2004 5:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can confirm this also, it happened with 2.6.2rc3-benh as well
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rickb
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Dec 2002
Posts: 31
Location: The Hague, Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2004 5:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just happened to see this one float by on the debian-ppc mailinglist.

Apparently the global function name radeon_engine_reset() is used in both Radeon DRM and radeonfb (hence the 'multiple definition'...). Changing the one in Radeon DRM to static should fix the problem.

Note, I just read this, dunno in which sources these functions are and I haven't tried it, I'm still using 2.6.1...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rt_clik
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Jun 2002
Posts: 70
Location: Rohnert Park, California, US

PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2004 6:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll play with the code later tonight to see if I can switch the DRM global function around to play nicely with others. Will post results if I make a good run at it.

Thanks to all for confirming the issue for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rt_clik
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Jun 2002
Posts: 70
Location: Rohnert Park, California, US

PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2004 3:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Found an easier solution. In another thread someone mentioned to enable DRM, but not specify a driver. This at least allowed the kernel and modules to finish compiling. About to reboot now to see what I get. Will check-in with news of how it goes later.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rt_clik
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Jun 2002
Posts: 70
Location: Rohnert Park, California, US

PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2004 3:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK. Kernel booted. All works as one might expect...and even one thing doesn't work as one might expect...DRM.

Now, I've compiled the radeon driver for DRM as a module, and I'll see if I can get DRM working too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rt_clik
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Jun 2002
Posts: 70
Location: Rohnert Park, California, US

PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2004 4:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It worked! DRM compiled in, radeon DRM driver as a module, radeon fb driver compiled in...

7673 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1534.600 FPS

Not bad for a punt. 2.6.2-ben1 good-to-go.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rommel
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 1143
Location: Williamsburg Virginia

PostPosted: Thu Feb 12, 2004 4:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

whats your machine rt_clik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rt_clik
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Jun 2002
Posts: 70
Location: Rohnert Park, California, US

PostPosted: Thu Feb 12, 2004 7:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

First series 1GHz, 15", GigE, TiPB. Not the new, aluminum one. Before Airport Extreme or the 12"/17" were released.

I'm horrible with the Apple code names, so can't be specific in that regard.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
colinleroy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Nov 2003
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2004 3:39 pm    Post subject: how to fix Reply with quote

To fix it, you can build radeonfb in the kernel instead of as a module.
Or, you can use latest BenH's tree, in which it's been fixed cleanly.

Hth,
colin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum