Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
2.6 on 700MHz ibook g3 works good
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
zojas
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 22 Apr 2002
Posts: 1138
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Mon Feb 16, 2004 3:59 pm    Post subject: 2.6 on 700MHz ibook g3 works good Reply with quote

I finally put a 2.6 kernel on my 700 MHz ibook. Wish I had done it sooner.

suspend/resume is much faster than before! Audio and DRM work too. see the page in my sig for my kernel .config and some more details.
_________________
http://www.desertsol.com/~kevin/ppc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
linuxgabe
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Dec 2003
Posts: 7
Location: Providence, RI

PostPosted: Mon Feb 16, 2004 8:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

were you able to get loud volume from alsa?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zojas
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 22 Apr 2002
Posts: 1138
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Mon Feb 16, 2004 8:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes. it seems as loud as in os x.
_________________
http://www.desertsol.com/~kevin/ppc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
linuxgabe
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Dec 2003
Posts: 7
Location: Providence, RI

PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2004 5:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

for some reason, at boot, it says something about not being able to load snd-powermac and alsa wont work at all. oss emulation works fine though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
linuxgabe
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Dec 2003
Posts: 7
Location: Providence, RI

PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2004 5:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, here is the error:

FATAL: Error inserting snd_powermac (/lib/modules/2.6.3_rc2-benh1/kernel/sound/ppc/snd-powermac.ko): No such device
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zojas
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 22 Apr 2002
Posts: 1138
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2004 5:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

one thing you must do when going to a 2.6 kernel for the first time is

Code:

mkdir /sys


but that's probably not your problem here.

are you using the same kernel configuration as me? it sounds like something is missing from your kernel config since the driver says it can't find the sound chip. maybe there's some bus option you don't have on so it can't see the bus the audio is attached to? you'll need CONFIG_I2C_KEYWEST for example. the kernel modules I have loaded for sound are dmasound_pmac, dmasound_core, and soundcore

also, you're using a newer version of the kernel which I haven't tried yet.
_________________
http://www.desertsol.com/~kevin/ppc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zojas
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 22 Apr 2002
Posts: 1138
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2004 5:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

looks like I'm pretty much just using the OSS drivers in 2.6 right now. I compiled in alsa too but I don't think I'm using it at all, I don't have any of the alsa modules installed. :oops:
_________________
http://www.desertsol.com/~kevin/ppc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zojas
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 22 Apr 2002
Posts: 1138
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2004 5:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

no wait, I am using alsa, but I'm only using the OSS interface to it. (thanks to the OSS API emulation).

I think the snd_powermac is failing to load because I've already loaded dmasound_pmac, the oss driver for the sound chip. I'd say try commenting out the dmasound_core and dmasound_pmac from /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6 and instead add in snd_powermac to get the alsa interface.
_________________
http://www.desertsol.com/~kevin/ppc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
linuxgabe
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Dec 2003
Posts: 7
Location: Providence, RI

PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2004 6:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, i commented out dmasound_core and dmasound_pmac, and alsa loads fine. oss emulation still seems to work but everything is quite. neither the sound volume in gnome nore alsamixer affect the volume.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zojas
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 22 Apr 2002
Posts: 1138
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2004 6:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes, I get the same behavior. so I'm going to go back to dmasound_pmac for now.

I installed alsa-xmms and told xmms to use alsa for the output driver. then I ran alsamixer and turned the volume levels on everything up but got nothing. there may be a separate mute command with alsactl or something like that we're missing?
_________________
http://www.desertsol.com/~kevin/ppc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slobbit
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Feb 2004
Posts: 17
Location: State of Confusion

PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2004 10:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

linuxgabe wrote:
ok, here is the error:

FATAL: Error inserting snd_powermac (/lib/modules/2.6.3_rc2-benh1/kernel/sound/ppc/snd-powermac.ko): No such device


I had this exact problem too, until I read the read of this thread and commented out the pmac modules in the autoload file.

Now my problem is it's telling me to unmute the card. Any clue about that? The message doesn't appear in dmesg so I won't have the exact words until I reboot.

I have all the "alias sound-service" lines commented out in my modules.d/alsa. Should some of these be enabled? I guess I can always try some...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ozonator
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Jun 2003
Posts: 591
Location: Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2004 1:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just curious: assuming you have the appropriate settings in /etc/modules.d/alsa (don't forget the ALSA guide), are you all using the /etc/init.d/alsasound script to start ALSA? That script, part of alsa-utils, should load the appropriate modules, restore mixer levels, etc. I suspect it's better to do it that way than putting modules in modules.autoload.

On my iBook (2.2, 800 MHz, 2.6.2 kernel), ALSA works: I'm using a recent, masked version of alsa-utils, the init.d/alsasound script loads the modules, and I've unmuted and set the appropriate bits with alsamixer. That being said, I wouldn't say it works well: the sound is boxy, and certainly not as clear and noise-free as it is using dmasound_pmac. I'd tried ALSA a few times before (2.6.1, 2.4.2x), and each time had a result consistent with this one: it's sort of worked, but not well enough that I'd prefer it to dmasound_pmac. So, I'm back to using dmasound_pmac, which seems to work perfectly.

One thought, those of you having problems with low/no volume: I remember when I first got sound working with ALSA and a 2.4.2x kernel, I had exactly that problem. The solution was to load dmasound_pmac, then unload it; after that, ALSA could make sounds at a reasonable volume. That may still be the solution; my iBook has dmasound_pmac in modules.autoload, and I didn't try rebooting without that before trying ALSA.

Incidentally, agreed that 2.6 is nice on this hardware. I did have to fiddle a bit to get X working nicely again; DRI/GLX still seems to be a little flaky (e.g., glxgears crashes), but that could be because I'm using xfree-4.3.99.902. In any case, even with that disabled in the X config, video performance (radeonfb compiled in, radeon module loaded) seems to be noticeably better than than it was with 2.4. Besides that, all else seems to be working perfectly, including the patched Airport driver (for monitor mode). I haven't tested wired ethernet (still, the module loads fine, and all seems to be well), nor have I tried getting the modem to work, but that's something I'm going to try later tonight (I expect that to be a challenge!).

[edit] As it turns out, I had no luck getting the hcfusbmodem driver to work with 2.6.2 (tried both the 0.99 ebuild in portage and a 1.00 version from the linuxant web site; neither would finish compiling at the hcfusbconfig step). Not too surprising, I guess, given that it's not open source. Fortunately, this is now the only problematic device with 2.6, and I need it only rarely; I can boot 2.4.2x if I need to use dialup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zojas
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 22 Apr 2002
Posts: 1138
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2004 5:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am not pleased right now! I went back to dmasound_pmac and that works fine. the problem is my ibook won't go to sleep anymore!!! a press of the power button or a close of the lid both result only in the screen blanking for a split second then coming back on.

it worked great until this afternoon. :) The event which seems to have killed it was my large kde 3.2 update finishing and I ran etc-update. I must have messed something up in running etc-update but I can't imagine what it could be.
_________________
http://www.desertsol.com/~kevin/ppc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zojas
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 22 Apr 2002
Posts: 1138
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2004 1:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

turns out it will suspend fine on AC power, but will not suspend at all on battery.
_________________
http://www.desertsol.com/~kevin/ppc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ozonator
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Jun 2003
Posts: 591
Location: Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2004 2:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

zojas wrote:
turns out it will suspend fine on AC power, but will not suspend at all on battery.


Strange -- sleep works perfectly here on AC or battery, but I don't use KDE. Have you tried booting the machine without running X, or without running KDE (or kdm)? If so, does sleep work then? If it does, is there any KDE applet or component that might behave differently depending on whether your machine is on AC or battery?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zojas
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 22 Apr 2002
Posts: 1138
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2004 3:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

when my ibook boots, it runs gdm. I booted up and tried hitting the power button and closing the lid while on battery before running anything kde, and it wouldn't sleep. I tried it on the gdm screen and on the console (with gdm running but not visible). this was on battery and before I realized that it only worked while on AC.

now I suspect that before I updated kde I only tried to sleep while on AC, I think I just hadn't unplugged from AC until after the kde update finished.

also, (I don't want to test this again) but while on AC, if I hold the power button down continuously, it will go to sleep, then wake back up once. it will not actually turn off. but on battery, holding down the power button causes the screen to flash once, then after about 4 seconds the ibook will turn off.
_________________
http://www.desertsol.com/~kevin/ppc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zojas
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 22 Apr 2002
Posts: 1138
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Mon Mar 01, 2004 11:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

switched to alsa, got it unmuted. in the 'alsamixer' program, you will see 'MM' at the top of any channel which is muted. you have to press the 'm' key to unmute it.

still experimenting, but at least I got sound out of alsa now.
_________________
http://www.desertsol.com/~kevin/ppc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ozonator
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Jun 2003
Posts: 591
Location: Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2004 2:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

zojas wrote:
still experimenting, but at least I got sound out of alsa now.


Is it good sound? It would be good news if it is. As I mentioned in my post above, I had no trouble getting alsa to work, but the sound quality wasn't good.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zojas
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 22 Apr 2002
Posts: 1138
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2004 5:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

the first thing I ran was xmms with the alsa plug in. the mp3 played back too fast.

then I ran juk in kde, and it sounded fine.

then I quit juk, and ran xmms again and xmms played fine.

then later xmms just hung.

so I continued to run juk, but found that I couldn't adjust the volume anymore. it just stayed at a sort of medium level.

the sound quality seemed good though.
_________________
http://www.desertsol.com/~kevin/ppc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scruff
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Nov 2003
Posts: 142
Location: Boston, MA

PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2004 1:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am having a slightly different issue. BTW zojas; I haven't been able to access your website today. Says I don't have access to view *~/kevin/index.html???

Anyway, I can only get sound from one app at a time using OSS so I wanted to try getting ALSA to work. However, I haven't noticed anyone else complaining of this so I thought I would ask all of you. iBook, G3 900mhz, using the same kernel config as you Zojas on 2.6.1-benh1. Right now I have the following modules loaded:

i2c_keywest 11464 0
dmasound_pmac 91172 1
i2c_core 24420 2 i2c_keywest,dmasound_pmac
dmasound_core 20432 2 dmasound_pmac
soundcore 8736 2 dmasound_core

This is really irritating because I had the same problem on my desktop awhile back and don't want it again. The desktop is an Athlon 2500+ with an ASUS A7N8X mobo running Slackware. The nforce2's onboard sound (very good 5.1 and all) will NOT play sound from multiple apps because of the drivers. No solution as of yet, so I bought an Audigy. Problem solved :).

BUT: I barely even use the desktop anymore (other than for serving up files) and really don't want to suffer through this on my iBook. Do any of you have this problem? After reading this thread I am not sure if I want to install ALSA on here unless of course it gets me over this issue.
_________________

AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 3800+ @ oc'd to 2.3ghz
DFI Lanparty UltraD nForce4 SLI
2x1gb Geil PC4000
GeForce 7800GT
Sound Blaster Audigy Platinum
200gb Maxtor DiamondMax 10
74gb WD Raptor 10k RPM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zojas
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 22 Apr 2002
Posts: 1138
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2004 3:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks for the heads up about the web page, a script went awry.

I use ppc-development-sources-2.6.2_rc1-r1 now, I have its config on my page. I switched to that one because I could only suspend/resume while plugged into AC power with the 2.6.1 kernel I was running.

I've been experimenting with alsa and I think I'm going to go back to OSS (dmasound_pmac). alsa only seems to work once then it gets flaky.

oss is flaky too (arts doesn't seem to work with it) but at least xmms seems to work with oss

I also changed my ppbuttonsd.conf file, it's almost set to defaults now
_________________
http://www.desertsol.com/~kevin/ppc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scruff
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Nov 2003
Posts: 142
Location: Boston, MA

PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2004 3:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dude... You never answered my question :lol:

Do you get sound output from multiple apps at a time? i.e. If you are playing mp3's will you hear alerts from Gaim? Cause I dont. I fired up mplayer earlier while xmms was running and got a /dev/dsp is busy error. That is totally unacceptable. Hopefully it is just a configuration problem on my end.

Any ideas?

Thanks for the kernel advice tho :)
_________________

AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 3800+ @ oc'd to 2.3ghz
DFI Lanparty UltraD nForce4 SLI
2x1gb Geil PC4000
GeForce 7800GT
Sound Blaster Audigy Platinum
200gb Maxtor DiamondMax 10
74gb WD Raptor 10k RPM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zojas
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 22 Apr 2002
Posts: 1138
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2004 4:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sure enough, I can only get one output at a time, using either the oss interface or the native interface to alsa.

One thing to try still is to change the kernel config: turn off alsa completely and turn on the deprecated OSS code.I think that would be worth a try.

my current kernel config turns on alsa's oss emulation. I'll probably continue using that until I get around to re-compiling the kernel to use the real OSS; even though only one source can output at a time, at least I can adjust the volume when using alsa's OSS emulation
_________________
http://www.desertsol.com/~kevin/ppc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zojas
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 22 Apr 2002
Posts: 1138
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2004 5:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

nevermind, I just recompiled my kernel with alsa turned off completely and it didn't help any. still only one output at a time.

also, arts only seems to work with the alsa interface (but still with no volume control)
_________________
http://www.desertsol.com/~kevin/ppc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scruff
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Nov 2003
Posts: 142
Location: Boston, MA

PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2004 5:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well I have to say that that is a real pisser. I banged away on my nforce mobo for weeks trying to get it to work properly. If it wasn't for nvidia's closed source drivers and no open source alternative I probably would have succeeded. I will get started trying every possible configuration on this one now and be sure to let you know when/if I find a solution. It is pretty important to me, as I always have some tunes going and can't stand to not get alerts from my IM app. Messages go unnoticed forever while I'm absorbed in whatever I have going on :)

I don't use arts at all (never had any decent luck with it and don't use kde) but there are other sound servers that might possibly be of some use. We'll see...
_________________

AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 3800+ @ oc'd to 2.3ghz
DFI Lanparty UltraD nForce4 SLI
2x1gb Geil PC4000
GeForce 7800GT
Sound Blaster Audigy Platinum
200gb Maxtor DiamondMax 10
74gb WD Raptor 10k RPM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum