Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
emerge wont work in KDE but works find out of it.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
detz
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Feb 2004
Posts: 175

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2004 8:30 pm    Post subject: emerge wont work in KDE but works find out of it. Reply with quote

I try to emerge program in the console window why in KDE and I always get some kind of error, whether its a compile error or some other fault. If I exit out of KDE and run emerge everything will install fine. I though the console in KDE was the same as it was out of it...any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RobMcM
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Jul 2003
Posts: 170
Location: Leeds, UK

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2004 8:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you su'ing to root before you truy and run emerge? You can't (normally) run it as a normal user.

Code:

> su
<enter password>
# emerge whatever

_________________
Keyboard error or no keyboard present. Press F1 to continue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
detz
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Feb 2004
Posts: 175

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2004 8:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah, emerge complains if I'm not root
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
detz
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Feb 2004
Posts: 175

PostPosted: Sun Feb 29, 2004 12:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got a few things to work but now if I try them they freeze...it just stays on one line forever but still works fine if I go to the shell without KDE open. I'm not sure what this could be but it's annoying to have to quit KDE to install something.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
micron
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Jul 2003
Posts: 411
Location: Bergamo, Italy

PostPosted: Sun Feb 29, 2004 9:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've noticed the same thing...
Some programs give strange errors under a kde shell, insead under ini3 they compile successfully 8O
_________________
~ "Progress is merely a realisation of utopias" ~
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum