Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
stage3 GRP: kdm flashes screen and fails (libaudio) (FIXED)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Lukas
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jun 2002
Posts: 32
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2004 9:57 am    Post subject: stage3 GRP: kdm flashes screen and fails (libaudio) (FIXED) Reply with quote

I'm trying a stage3 install using GRP binaries (using the 1.4-g3-livecd set, kernel 2.4.21-ppc-r2). Olworld G3 upgraded mac. I've got xfree-drm setup and working with my pci tdfx (3dfx voodoo3) card. I can do startx, running 1024x768x16. Twm comes up and I get three xterms. lsmod reveals an inserted tdfx module: jee!
I then followed the desktop config guide, and emerged kde. Running kdm (as suggested in the manual) results in three atttempts to open vt7 for X (monitor switches modes), then fails and returns to the console. If I run startkde I get an error: unable to open Display.

I've searched the forums and found similar problems reported, also various suggestions to fix. I'm afraid I can't figure this one out however. Shouldn't this be working out of the box, I mean GRP?

Thanks for any help. I can post logs if you want, please let me know.
_________________
Lukas


Last edited by Lukas on Tue Mar 02, 2004 3:23 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
malmjako
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Feb 2004
Posts: 27
Location: Göteborg, Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2004 12:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Look at this thread:

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=114317

Don't know if it relates to your problem, but it will tell you to emerge nas and emerge alsa-lib. Good luck!

/Jakob Malm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lukas
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jun 2002
Posts: 32
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2004 3:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

malmjako wrote:
Look at this thread:

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=114317

Don't know if it relates to your problem, but it will tell you to emerge nas and emerge alsa-lib. Good luck!

/Jakob Malm


Thanks! I indeed had an error on libaudio.so not being found (as mentioned in the thread you provided). I only did
Code:
# emerge nas
because
Code:
# emerge alsa-lib
is masked for ppc.

That worked! I can now do
Code:
# kdm
to get kde up and running.[/code]
_________________
Lukas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum