Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Gentoo Installation guide for Grub/Compaq Smart2 controllers
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
NotQuiteSane
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Jan 2005
Posts: 484
Location: Klamath Falls, Jefferson, USA, North America, Midgarth

PostPosted: Tue Aug 23, 2005 4:01 am    Post subject: Re: Gentoo Installation guide for Grub/Compaq Smart2 control Reply with quote

brain wrote:

Step 5 - Setting up /etc/fstab
When you get to editing your /etc/fstab file, reformat the /dev/ida/* listings like so:
Code:
/dev/ida/disc0/part1           /boot       ext3    noauto,noatime    1 2
/dev/ida/disc0/part3           /           ext3    noatime         0 1
/dev/ida/disc0/part2           none        swap    sw              0 0

Obviously, replace the filesystem type and partition/disc numbers with your own. Notice that the disc is referred to as "disc0" instead of c0d0 at this point.


Ok, I finally got done putting gentoo on my server. just one gotcha I found, the format above is incorrect. I suspect this is a devfs vs. udev issue. my fstab now looks like this:

Code:
/dev/ida/c0d0p1         /boot           ext2            noauto,noatime          1 1
/dev/ida/c0d0p2         /               xfs             noatime                 0 0
/dev/ida/c0d0p5         none            swap            sw                      0 0


before changing it, it wouldn't activate swap, and went into maintaince mode since it couldn't find "/dev/ida/disc0/part1", complaining of a bad or missing superblock (in fact, I first thought there was a physical problem, until I noticed swap wasn't activated)

Also, if you intend to run headless/keyboardless, (at least) the proliant 800 won't boot w/o a keyboard. I solved that problem by using the cord & circuit board off of an old keyboard.

NQS
_________________
These opinions are mine, mine I say! Piss off and get your own.

As I see it -- An irregular blog, Improved with new location

To delete French language packs from system use 'sudo rm -fr /'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
volumen1
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Mar 2003
Posts: 393
Location: Missoula, MT

PostPosted: Sat Oct 08, 2005 5:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Any of you guys using cciss (or other smart array cards) have problems with 2.6.13. My machines using cciss no longer complete booting in 2.6.13, there are errors about serial ports and the last message is about the floppy drive. I found this thread, but I don't totally get it.

http://www.uwsg.iu.edu/hypermail/linux/kernel/0509.1/0239.html
_________________
I was born with a freakin' dice bag on my belt.
-- www.howsyournetwork.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NotQuiteSane
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Jan 2005
Posts: 484
Location: Klamath Falls, Jefferson, USA, North America, Midgarth

PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2005 1:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm having some trouble with my prolient 800.

I added (via an external box & second controller card) (2) 50 GB drives (RAID 0). The machine recognizes the array. 2005.1 live cd recognizes it. But my gentoo install does not.

any ideas?

NQS
_________________
These opinions are mine, mine I say! Piss off and get your own.

As I see it -- An irregular blog, Improved with new location

To delete French language packs from system use 'sudo rm -fr /'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
volumen1
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Mar 2003
Posts: 393
Location: Missoula, MT

PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2005 5:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you build support for the raid card into the kernel? It won't work as a module unless you are using an initial ramdisk. When it fails, what happens? Do you get the grub menu or not?

BTW, has anyone else had problems with 2.6.13 and smart array controllers? I have several machines that have been affected and I can't really find the solution.

Shane
_________________
I was born with a freakin' dice bag on my belt.
-- www.howsyournetwork.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NotQuiteSane
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Jan 2005
Posts: 484
Location: Klamath Falls, Jefferson, USA, North America, Midgarth

PostPosted: Mon Oct 31, 2005 8:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

volumen1 wrote:
Did you build support for the raid card into the kernel? It won't work as a module unless you are using an initial ramdisk. When it fails, what happens? Do you get the grub menu or not?


Yep. even just did a re-install after is fawked things up, still the same. I'm afraid I may have to downgrade the kernel, and I can't say that makes me happy

NQS
_________________
These opinions are mine, mine I say! Piss off and get your own.

As I see it -- An irregular blog, Improved with new location

To delete French language packs from system use 'sudo rm -fr /'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
volumen1
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Mar 2003
Posts: 393
Location: Missoula, MT

PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2005 12:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I figured out my problem with 2.6.13 and 2.6.14 kernels. For some reason, ACPI Processor driver totally locks the machine when it gets loaded. I removed it and I'm gravy now.
_________________
I was born with a freakin' dice bag on my belt.
-- www.howsyournetwork.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NotExcessive
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 May 2005
Posts: 235

PostPosted: Thu Jul 06, 2006 6:27 am    Post subject: Re: Gentoo Installation guide for Grub/Compaq Smart2 control Reply with quote

I know this is an old thread now, and it's been very useful in helping me build up lots of Proliant Gentoo servers. I've now come across a small problem where I need help.

I have a spare Proliant 5000 machine with the Smart2 controller in it. Ages ago, I built this up into a Gentoo machine from Stage 1, using the advice here about doing the mount -o bind /dev /mnt/gentoo/dev trick to get around the issue of grub falling over whenever it tried looking for hd0.

A little while ago I decided to nuke it with SmartStart and rebuild it from scratch, using the 2006.0 liveCD. Again, I started from Stage 1, and all went well until it came time to grub it.

When I run grub -> root(hd0,0), it whinges about Error 21: Selected disk does not exist.

Ah-huh, I thought, the array name change business of old, causing /dev/ida/c0d0pn to be hidden from grub. BUT... I've done the mount -o bind /dev /mnt/gentoo/dev trick before chrooting, so why now do I have this problem?

On my original installation ages ago, I used the 1.4 release base CD. I thought, OK, let's boot with that (2.4 kernel), and grub it from there. Problem is, you can't chroot as the kernel is too old now (of course).

Bugger.

Any suggestions? I know I could do a Stage 1 install from the 1.4 CD and successfully grub the array, but I don't want to go there. The machine's taken a long enough time to get to where it is and I don't want to waste that effort. How can I make grub understand about /dev/ida/c0d0pn and thus complete my new 2006.0 installation?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HackingM2
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Jul 2004
Posts: 245
Location: Cambridge, England

PostPosted: Thu Jul 06, 2006 8:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Edit the device.map file...
Code:
nano -w /boot/grub/device.map
Add the line...
Quote:
(hd0) /dev/ida/c0d0
Install GRUB...
Code:
grub --device-map=/boot/grub/device.map
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NotExcessive
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 May 2005
Posts: 235

PostPosted: Thu Jul 06, 2006 8:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Never mind, I got it going using the --device-map option in grub.

Of course I still do mount -o bind /dev /mnt/gentoo/dev before chroot.

After chrooting, this is what I did, using information found in these forums:

grub -–device-map=/boot/grub/device.map to create a default device.map file.
nano /boot/grub/device.map and you will see a single line (fd0) /dev/fd0. Add a line below it to point (hd0) to the array: (hd0) /dev/ida/c0d0

Save the file and then run grub -–device-map=/boot/grub/device.map
Execute the normal command root (hd0,0)
Execute the setup command setup --stage2=/boot/grub/stage2 (hd0)

Hey presto! It'll give you a confirmation that it's done it. Now quit

Reboot and away it goes. I now have a working 5000 server running the latest Gentoo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NotExcessive
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 May 2005
Posts: 235

PostPosted: Thu Jul 06, 2006 12:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

HackingM2 wrote:
Edit the device.map file...
Code:
nano -w /boot/grub/device.map
Add the line...
Quote:
(hd0) /dev/ida/c0d0
Install GRUB...
Code:
grub --device-map=/boot/grub/device.map


Ha. Posted at the same time :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
Page 3 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum