Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Missing /dev/hda
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
technoguru
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Mar 2004
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Mar 13, 2004 12:41 am    Post subject: Missing /dev/hda Reply with quote

I am a noobie so this might be a stupid question. I apologize in advance.

I was messing around with my /etc/fstab file and commented out my hda/boot partition, I think because when I rebooted, the computer would not load up the yaboot loader. I can use the live cd (Gentoo 1.4) but the live cd cannot see /dev/hda which would be my ide hard drive in there. How can I load up my hard drive so I can edit my /etc/fstab file and restore the errors I did.

Thanks to anyone that can help me
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
buto
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Sep 2003
Posts: 155

PostPosted: Sat Mar 13, 2004 4:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

strange 8O . maybe it's under another name for some reason... let's see
Code:
ls -l /dev/hd*
please ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
technoguru
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Mar 2004
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Mar 13, 2004 5:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Typing that in returns /dev/hde -> ide/host2/bus0/target0/lun0/cd which I figure is the CD-ROM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
frankOnPPC
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 May 2003
Posts: 169
Location: Fulda, Hessen, Germany, Europe, Earth

PostPosted: Sat Mar 13, 2004 9:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yepp.
thats a problem,
I use a sonnet ide - controller and some kernel seems to re-order the things. For example, hda becomes hde, a.s.o. it realy a clearly mapping. But if it occurs the first time, it's shocking.
Its just a matter of what kernel you use.
If you use exactly the same kernel as the liveCD use, there should problem occure.
But, if you like to upgrade, hm, be prepared.
Take the mapping as it is,
start the live cd, mount the / devices, edit your fstab, unmount and reboot into the disks. It should come up.
No fear, nothing lost.
but, print or copy your fstab on paper if you plan the upgrade the kernel from time to time.
Its good to know where it is....and if you can easily remap, if the kernel like to reorder again....
krgds, frank
_________________
always look at yellow site of Linux on the PPC.
Its PPCNUX.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
technoguru
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Mar 2004
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2004 1:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know I have to edit the fstab file, but I can't access it at all since the live cd doesn't see the hard drive at all. I can't mount it at all. Are you saying that I need a liveCD with the exact kernel as the one that is on the hard drive?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
micron
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Jul 2003
Posts: 411
Location: Bergamo, Italy

PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2004 9:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

technoguru wrote:
Typing that in returns /dev/hde -> ide/host2/bus0/target0/lun0/cd which I figure is the CD-ROM

Maybe this kernel option can help you:
Code:
Probe internal ATA/100 (Kauai) first:
This option will cause the ATA/100 controller found in UniNorth2 based machines (Windtunnel PowerMac, Aluminium PowerBooks, ...) to be probed before the ATA/66 and ATA/33 controllers. Without these, those machine used to have the hard disk on hdc and the CD-ROM on hda. This option changes this to more natural hda for hard disk and hdc for CD-ROM.

Into kernel 2.6 it's located under:
Code:
Device Drivers  ---> ATA/ATAPI/MFM/RLL support  ---> Builtin PowerMac IDE support

_________________
~ "Progress is merely a realisation of utopias" ~
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
frankOnPPC
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 May 2003
Posts: 169
Location: Fulda, Hessen, Germany, Europe, Earth

PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2004 2:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

no, I meant you need a live CD to boot, then mount you disks and edit the fstab on the mounted disk to match what the kernel found.
for example, if the new kernel found /dev/hde and the liveCD found /dev/hda for it, and if yo have on partition 9 your / on the disk,
then
mount this disk as it is discribed in the install docs, edit your /etc/fstab on the mounted disk, unmount it,
reboot.
Then the kernel should come up with the new, for this kernel, correct fstab.
If you are using yaboot 1.3.10 or 11 then don't forget to update your yaboot.conf and fix that to the OpenFirmware. I guess, you must chroot, edit it and the run ybin, look to docs (I'm just at work and don't have now the time to go in detail). Its the same procedure as discribed in the install docs.

krgds,
Frank
_________________
always look at yellow site of Linux on the PPC.
Its PPCNUX.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum