Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
dual boot problems
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
d3fr4g
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Mar 2004
Posts: 44
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2004 1:22 pm    Post subject: dual boot problems Reply with quote

Hi everybody,

I've installed (or at least I've tried..) gentoo 2004.0 on my ibook 800, with osx dual boot.
I've followed the gentoo handbook and the beautiful how to on Kevin's page (http://www.desertsol.com/~kevin/ppc) but I got some problems.
When installing osx I choose the 2nd partition on the hd but it creates some partitions at the very beginning of the disk called "Apple_Driver_something".Now I've Gentoo installed on my disk and running, but osx is unusable because it can't find the Apple_Driver partitions (I think..) and the screen is unreadable, like he can't find the video drivers....
How can I have OSX running? I don't know how to install it without the Apple_Drivers partitions!

Please help me!

Daniele
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zojas
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 22 Apr 2002
Posts: 1138
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2004 5:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

it looks like you will have to re-install OS X. it needs those funky driver partitions.

I'm in the process of re-installing OS X and gentoo both right now. I haven't put up my new partition map yet. but I have all those little driver partitions now.
_________________
http://www.desertsol.com/~kevin/ppc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d3fr4g
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Mar 2004
Posts: 44
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2004 1:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Kevin,

but I have still one question...
If I re-install OS X....yaboot will still work? OS X shouldn't clear my partition map?
I tried to change the number of partitions with mac-fdisk -r option, but it changed nothing....!
Well, I think I will just go and re-install it...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zojas
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 22 Apr 2002
Posts: 1138
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2004 1:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

you have to use OS X's disk utility to create the OS X partition. it will also create the driver partitions. none of that can be done in mac-fdisk unfortunately. installing OS X will definitely overwrite yaboot. at the very least you will have to use the live cd to install yaboot again. Hopefully you can install OS X without corrupting anything else besides yaboot. not sure though.

I completely re-did my hard drive: made 3 partitions in OS X's disk utility, installed OS X on the second partition. then I used the livecd to run mac-fdisk. I noted the appearance of all the driver partitions. I deleted two of the partition I created with disk utility and ended up with a /boot & swap partition towards the beginning of the disk, then OS X, then a partition for gentoo's / at the end of the disk.

the frustrating thing about all this is that mac-fdisk can't be used to create the OS X partition or the driver partitions. the disk utility program is annoyingly imprecise. I had actually planned to not have a swap partition at all this time around, but I couldn't control the placement of the OS X partition well enough, so ended up with 80mb of space which otherwise would have been wasted.
_________________
http://www.desertsol.com/~kevin/ppc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d3fr4g
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Mar 2004
Posts: 44
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2004 1:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, I can understand this kind of frustration...
So probably I'll have to re-do all the stuff....
I'm really afraid of wasting all the gentoo partitions (I have 7 partitions) and re-install also gentoo...!!
Well, probably I don't have any choice...
Thanks, if you'll get it works, please let me know how!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d3fr4g
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Mar 2004
Posts: 44
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Sat Mar 20, 2004 3:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've re-installed osx....
...now It seems I can't re-install yaboot...
Well, that's what I've done:

-re-installed os-x in the same partition of the previous installation(now it works)
-booted form the gentoo live cd
-mounted all the linux partitions under /mnt/gentoo
-run yabootconfig --chroot /mnt/gentoo (no error messages)
-reboot from the disk

And yaboot disappeared....
When I turn on the ibook OSX starts...!
What happened???!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d3fr4g
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Mar 2004
Posts: 44
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Sat Mar 20, 2004 3:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another news...
I've just tried to reset the open firmware (I've read a topic on a yaboot problem solved this way..) but now....... yaboot works, but osx is unusable like before re-installing it.
I'm really at the point of using only gentoo and clear up the osx partitions....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zojas
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 22 Apr 2002
Posts: 1138
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Sat Mar 20, 2004 7:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

usually when I have to reinstall yaboot I actually do the normal chroot. then just run 'ybin -v'. that way I know for sure it's reading my /etc/yaboot.conf file.
_________________
http://www.desertsol.com/~kevin/ppc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zojas
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 22 Apr 2002
Posts: 1138
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2004 8:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I ran into the same problem when I installed gentoo this morning after doing a clean OS X install.

I believe the open firmware reset (holding down command-option-p-r at boot) fixed it for me.

I also added an ofboot=hd:9 line in my yaboot.conf file as suggested here:

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=133775&highlight=open+firmware

so to recap, I installed OS X, creating a couple extra partititons to be used in linux. then booted from the livecd, installed gentoo in the extra partitions.

at this point, yaboot wouldn't run, it booted straight into OS X.

I added the extra ofboot line to yaboot.conf and reset open firmware. then yaboot came up. both gentoo and OS X boot fine.
_________________
http://www.desertsol.com/~kevin/ppc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d3fr4g
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Mar 2004
Posts: 44
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Wed Mar 24, 2004 4:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Kevin,
BTW I am using only gentoo now....Os X drived me crazy.....! :twisted:

Daniele
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum