Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
TIP: speed up flash player in mozilla
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tachikoma
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Mar 2004
Posts: 15
Location: Newark, NJ

PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2004 8:21 pm    Post subject: TIP: speed up flash player in mozilla Reply with quote

if you experience slow flash player in mozilla

edit the /etc/env.d/00basic file, append the following:
Code:
FLASH_GTK_LIBRARY=libgtk-x11-2.0.so.0

then do
Code:
# env-update

then reboot
and it'll speed it up.

Just a quick tip I thought I should add


Last edited by tachikoma on Wed Apr 07, 2004 4:34 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tactless
l33t
l33t


Joined: 14 Jul 2002
Posts: 642
Location: Mitzpe Adi, Israel

PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2004 11:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

flash-6.0.81 does not fix, apparently, but the env-variable does. Thanks!
Btw, if you're scratching your head right now, you probably need to env-update :)
_________________
Tactless

"If it wasn't for fog, the world would run at a really crappy framerate."

Jabber: tactless@amessage.info
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charlieg
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 30 Jul 2002
Posts: 2149
Location: Manchester UK

PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2004 2:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm probably a good tip but for some reason, since setting up dmix, I've had no sound with flash.
_________________
Want Free games?
Free Gamer - open source games list & commentary

Open source web-enabled rich UI platform: Vexi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tachikoma
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Mar 2004
Posts: 15
Location: Newark, NJ

PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2004 4:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

tactless wrote:
flash-6.0.81 does not fix, apparently, but the env-variable does. Thanks!
Btw, if you're scratching your head right now, you probably need to env-update :)


Oops thanks for pointing that out :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gatiba
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Sep 2002
Posts: 434

PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2004 8:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tx for the tip!
Now flash works great with mozilla gtk2, but i can't get rid of those two black lines http://xoomer.virgilio.it/satiba/...

Anyone helps?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asiobob
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 1375
Location: Bamboo Creek

PostPosted: Fri Apr 09, 2004 9:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

arrg I only have SSH access to my gento box atm so can't try it out.
I assume a reboot is not required...its not the nix way
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bastux
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Dec 2002
Posts: 369
Location: France - Paris

PostPosted: Fri Apr 09, 2004 9:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

without anything but env-update it don't work, the reboot is necessary, unless you find another solution :wink:

I tried to not reboot, but the animation was slower than before !! :roll:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asiobob
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 1375
Location: Bamboo Creek

PostPosted: Fri Apr 09, 2004 10:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

there must be away for not needing a reboot :p
A reboot must be doing something we are not aware of.

If anyone has such input please tell us.
Of course I could reboot but giving up my large up time for such an issue is grrr. :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaSilentStorm
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jan 2004
Posts: 43
Location: Mainz/Germany

PostPosted: Fri Apr 09, 2004 3:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

how about
Code:
source /etc/profile
??
_________________
Twenty-eight days... six hours... forty-two minutes... twelve seconds. That... is when the world... will end.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
joeljkp
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Mar 2004
Posts: 316
Location: Starkville, MS, USA

PostPosted: Fri Apr 09, 2004 4:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How about an explanation? What does this do, and why does it work?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaSilentStorm
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jan 2004
Posts: 43
Location: Mainz/Germany

PostPosted: Sat Apr 10, 2004 7:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

the source command will interpret your profile file, which does nothing else than setting all environment variables and initializing stuff ... this is basically exactly what happens if you reboot.

I haven't tried it for the flash tip, but it should work.

Good luck,
ya Storm

PS: As the command doesn't stop or start anything, it's really save to do. I, for example, issue this command after every emerge.
_________________
Twenty-eight days... six hours... forty-two minutes... twelve seconds. That... is when the world... will end.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
joeljkp
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Mar 2004
Posts: 316
Location: Starkville, MS, USA

PostPosted: Sat Apr 10, 2004 5:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, I meant an explanation of the original tip. Why does telling flash to use a specific GTK library speed it up?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tachikoma
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Mar 2004
Posts: 15
Location: Newark, NJ

PostPosted: Wed Apr 14, 2004 4:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ASIO_BOB wrote:
there must be away for not needing a reboot :p
A reboot must be doing something we are not aware of.

If anyone has such input please tell us.
Of course I could reboot but giving up my large up time for such an issue is grrr. :D


Just export the environment:
Code:
export FLASH_GTK_LIBRARY=libgtk-x11-2.0.so.0

Why not create a bash script while you're at it? :D
Just make up a bash script "mozilla.sh" and export the environment before running mozilla.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tachikoma
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Mar 2004
Posts: 15
Location: Newark, NJ

PostPosted: Wed Apr 14, 2004 4:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've also heard that will be FlashPlayer 7 for Linux
It's currently in it's beta phase, here's a link if you want to check it out.
http://www.markme.com/mesh/archives/004504.cfm

Hopefully v7 will solve ALL our problems... or create new ones :wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cbr
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jan 2004
Posts: 285
Location: Tallinn/Rakvere, Estonia

PostPosted: Wed Apr 14, 2004 7:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dude 8O I love you.
That has always bugged me the most about web browsing in Linux. I always was depressed when there was a cool flash site or game and it lagged like hell on my rig. Now it's close to perfect :D
Thanks 8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tb0ne
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Mar 2004
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Thu Apr 15, 2004 8:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yay I can play the helicopter game again!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zortech
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Apr 2004
Posts: 40
Location: In front of my laptop

PostPosted: Fri Apr 23, 2004 9:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks a lot!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
markfl
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Apr 2003
Posts: 240
Location: Kent, UK

PostPosted: Sat Apr 24, 2004 10:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Macromedia says that flash player 7 is out
http://www.macromedia.com/software/flashplayer/public_beta/

But when i click that link i'm taken to a site that has no mention that you're downloading flash player 7 and the installation instructions even say
"A directory called install_flash_player_6_linux will be created"
Which is kinda suspect to me....

What do you guys think
Mark
_________________
Life it seems, will fade away
Drifting further every day
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
monotux
l33t
l33t


Joined: 09 Sep 2003
Posts: 751
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Sat Apr 24, 2004 11:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

haha!
some people claim that macromedia consists of the 10 greatest webdesigners in the world, and they can't even keep track of their own web site...
_________________
Computer science is no more about computers than astronomy is about telescopes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Parasietje
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Jan 2004
Posts: 194

PostPosted: Sun Apr 25, 2004 8:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bastux wrote:
without anything but env-update it don't work, the reboot is necessary, unless you find another solution :wink:

I tried to not reboot, but the animation was slower than before !! :roll:


Excuse me, reboot necessary?!?
The only thing you do here is adjust an environment variable. In a current shell session, you can do 'export BLABLA=/foo/bar' before loading mozilla. You've added the environment variable to a config file, and you do env-update to update the contents of all config files to /etc/profile.env, wich is loaded everytime you fire up bash, or start X. IHMO you can just make a little script to load mozilla, wich gives you a cleaner shell (one variable less when you want to debug something ^^).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aethyr
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 06 Apr 2003
Posts: 1085
Location: NYC

PostPosted: Tue Apr 27, 2004 9:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

markfl wrote:
Macromedia says that flash player 7 is out
http://www.macromedia.com/software/flashplayer/public_beta/

But when i click that link i'm taken to a site that has no mention that you're downloading flash player 7 and the installation instructions even say
"A directory called install_flash_player_6_linux will be created"
Which is kinda suspect to me....

What do you guys think
Mark


I think that's the public beta for the windows version. AFAIK they only have closed beta testing for the linux version right now. Note that the URL has no mention of Linux.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum