Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
OSX 10.3?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Guest






PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2004 12:26 am    Post subject: OSX 10.3? Reply with quote

Is OSX 10.3 worth my trouble to install? Gentoo does everything I need. Guess i answered my own question, but any opinions are welcome.
Back to top
SeJo
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 08 Oct 2002
Posts: 298
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2004 8:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have it, for the kicks, and some things are nicely done in the os...
no problem in coexisting...
_________________
"I am not bound to please thee with my answers."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
killfire
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Oct 2003
Posts: 618

PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2004 4:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

as of now, gentoo (on iBook 2.2 800mhz 640mb ram) cannot run dvds and heavily graphic applications, like games as well as 10.3..... for this reason i have it installed. plus, if you have it installed, you can run mol, which is very handy, at least for me (there is no linux counterpart to excel that i can find..... missing key features... error bars... etc)

killfire
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GentooIsFun!
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Apr 2004
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sat Apr 10, 2004 2:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Photoshop owns The GIMP, theres a reason :lol:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
x2z
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 81
Location: Tennessee

PostPosted: Sat Apr 10, 2004 4:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

GentooIsFun! wrote:
Photoshop owns The GIMP, theres a reason :lol:

No, it doesn't. What did you smoke last night?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
killfire
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Oct 2003
Posts: 618

PostPosted: Sat Apr 10, 2004 2:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

an actually good reason is to use M$ Excel.....


not matter what anybody says, at the level that linux's speadsheet progs is not near what excel can do ffor you.

thats the only reason that i have mol and 10.3 installed

killfire
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stens
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Feb 2003
Posts: 43
Location: France (originated from Hungary)

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2004 3:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

killfire wrote:
there is no linux counterpart to excel that i can find..... missing key features... error bars... etc

Just installed OpenOffice 1.1.1 (openoffice-bin) to my PowerBook G3, and it has error bars, and probably all the features you looking for...

I had to modify the ebuild, because the one in the portage does not have PPC support, but it's fine for me as long as it works.
The 1.1.1 much more better than the old 1.0.2, which we have available through the portage ;)

StenS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
genfoo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Apr 2003
Posts: 192

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2004 5:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

x2z wrote:
GentooIsFun! wrote:
Photoshop owns The GIMP, theres a reason :lol:

No, it doesn't. What did you smoke last night?


Speaking of smoking :P

Photoshop does a _ton_ of stuff that the GIMP doesn't and likely won't do ... it all depends on your needs in the end of things. There have been many wars of GIMP vs. Photoshop, and sadly, working as an IT professional in an all Mac shop I can testify that as good as GIMP is, it's just not a substitute for photoshop for a ton of things...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NewBlackDak
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Nov 2003
Posts: 512
Location: Utah County, UT

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2004 6:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

genfoo wrote:
x2z wrote:
GentooIsFun! wrote:
Photoshop owns The GIMP, theres a reason :lol:

No, it doesn't. What did you smoke last night?


Speaking of smoking :P

Photoshop does a _ton_ of stuff that the GIMP doesn't and likely won't do ... it all depends on your needs in the end of things. There have been many wars of GIMP vs. Photoshop, and sadly, working as an IT professional in an all Mac shop I can testify that as good as GIMP is, it's just not a substitute for photoshop for a ton of things...

ie.
CMYK
_________________
Gentoo systems.
X2 4200+@2.6 - Athy
X2 3600+ - Myth
UltraSparc5 440 - sparcy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
killfire
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Oct 2003
Posts: 618

PostPosted: Wed Apr 14, 2004 1:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

stens:

what did you change in the ebuild ?

i was runnign 1.0.3 ....my mistake.

whats sort of funny, is i posted just a little while ago asking if there was an office prog that could do that stuff (erro bars etc.) and noone gave me anything, all they suggested was gnumeric, which was worse that oo1.0.3(what i could find)

killfire
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stens
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Feb 2003
Posts: 43
Location: France (originated from Hungary)

PostPosted: Wed Apr 14, 2004 7:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

killfire: All I did is:

edit the /usr/portage/app-office/openoffice-bin/openoffice-bin-1.1.1.ebuild file:
replace the lines:
Code:
MY_P="OOo_${PV}_LinuxIntel_install"
S="${WORKDIR}/${MY_P}"

DESCRIPTION="OpenOffice productivity suite"
SRC_URI="mirror://openoffice/stable/${PV}/${MY_P}.tar.gz"

with:
Code:
MY_PV="`echo ${PV} | gawk '{ print toupper($1) }'`"

if [ `use ppc` ]; then
        MY_P="OOo_${MY_PV}_LinuxPowerPC_en_installer"
        S="${WORKDIR}/${MY_P}"
else
        MY_P="OOo_${MY_PV}_LinuxIntel_install"
        S="${WORKDIR}/install"
fi;


DESCRIPTION="OpenOffice productivity suite"
SRC_URI="x86? ( http://ny1.mirror.openoffice.org/stable/${PV}/OOo_${MY_PV}_LinuxIntel_install.tar.gz
                http://sf1.mirror.openoffice.org/stable/${PV}/OOo_${MY_PV}_LinuxIntel_install.tar.gz )
        ppc? ( http://ftp.yellowdoglinux.com/pub/yellowdog/software/openoffice/OOo_${MY_PV}_LinuxPowerPC_en_installer.tar.gz )"


than run:
Code:
ebuild /usr/portage/app-office/openoffice-bin/openoffice-bin-1.1.1.ebuild digest

to create the digest files for it.

Now you can emerge it:
Code:
emerge /usr/portage/app-office/openoffice-bin/openoffice-bin-1.1.1.ebuild


StenS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
killfire
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Oct 2003
Posts: 618

PostPosted: Wed Apr 14, 2004 4:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

downloaded (oops.) source, am downloading binary now, will try later on and update as to results. thanks for the help.


a side question, is it possible to install by source 1.1.1 on ppc?

because it said its for only x86/amd64/sparc, and also, it sys it requires jre-1.4.1, which i can only seem to find for those other architectures.....

woops... sorry my mistake, i just read the sticky that pertains to this.

killfire
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tomasino
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Feb 2004
Posts: 154
Location: Italy, Bologna

PostPosted: Wed Apr 14, 2004 6:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Emerge the IBM JDK 1.4.1, than the ximian version of OOo 1.1 source.

You need about 2 GB free and about 12 hours for G4 1 GHz.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stens
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Feb 2003
Posts: 43
Location: France (originated from Hungary)

PostPosted: Wed Apr 14, 2004 7:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've installed the openoffice-bin, because I needed it at that moment and not 3 days later ;)
Everything else was compilled from source, but OO... NO WAY! (on PowerBook G3@500 - with 5GB disk space for linux)

I do not have any problems caused by Java. I guess my Java JDK should be the latest stable from portage,
but right now I can't check it(me at home - PowerBook at workplace).

StenS

EDIT: I have blackdown-jdk-1.3.1 installed, OO 1.1.1 bin works fine with it 8O

StenS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
killfire
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Oct 2003
Posts: 618

PostPosted: Fri Apr 16, 2004 2:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

stens:

how do you put error bars on a graph with 1.1.1

cannot find them

note: i need x and y error bars, with custom deviations (different for each point, defined in other cells)

killfire
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
b70nd13
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Apr 2004
Posts: 5
Location: Chi-Town

PostPosted: Wed Apr 21, 2004 2:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

killfire wrote:
downloaded (oops.)
because it said its for only x86/amd64/sparc, and also, it sys it requires jre-1.4.1, which i can only seem to find for those other architectures.....


I find that hard to swallow, since I'm running OO1.1.1 under OS X, and in spite of the pain in the ass it gives me printing, it's sufficed for all my needs as I pump out the BA Thesis.

b70nd13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
killfire
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Oct 2003
Posts: 618

PostPosted: Wed Apr 21, 2004 3:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

the ebuild is(was? not on gentoo now) only for x86/sparc/amd64, which only means that it requires something that ppc doesnt have (doesnt that have to do with java blackdown 1.4.1) or that the ebuild has not been tested sufficiantly enough to warrant it not being masked.

what i ended up doing was installing the binary, but my question remains. how do you put both x AND y error bars on a graph under oo1.1.1

stens said it had error bars, was he meaning only error bars in one direction?


killfire
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
b70nd13
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Apr 2004
Posts: 5
Location: Chi-Town

PostPosted: Wed Apr 21, 2004 3:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
stens said it had error bars, was he meaning only error bars in one direction?


hellifiknow... I'm in the humanities. We barely know what the word "graph" means, except what it meant in Greek... :wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stens
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Feb 2003
Posts: 43
Location: France (originated from Hungary)

PostPosted: Wed Apr 21, 2004 8:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

killfire wrote:

stens said it had error bars, was he meaning only error bars in one direction?
I'm not a power Excel/OOo Calc user. Personally I have never used the error bars, but as I saw killfire's post
I have tried out in Excel (search in the help - it was well hidden) and than I tried with OOo. Both worked,
but I don't have any idea about the 'Advanced' use of this feature (neither in Excel or in OOo)...

I'm not even sure what you kind of mesurement is the one that it has errors on both data source.

About OOo 1.1.1: I'm using (as I stated) the bin version, because I can't build it on my laptop (se my post about it).

StenS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
killfire
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Oct 2003
Posts: 618

PostPosted: Wed Apr 21, 2004 5:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

in my physics class, we graph whatever vs. whatever, and there is a margin of error on both of whatever else we use, therefore we need error bars on x and y axis. thus when you plot a line to fit it, you can fit the error bars, if not the points themselves.

because of things like this, i guess i will give in to M$ for now.


killfire
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jdv
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Apr 2003
Posts: 34
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

PostPosted: Wed Apr 21, 2004 7:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

killfire wrote:
in my physics class, we graph whatever vs. whatever, and there is a margin of error on both of whatever else we use, therefore we need error bars on x and y axis. thus when you plot a line to fit it, you can fit the error bars, if not the points themselves.

It seems Gnuplot is capable of doing what you want. It's a bit difficult to learn to use, but when you've got the hang of it, it's really powerful...
_________________
Your lucky number is 3552664958674928. Watch for it everywhere.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
killfire
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Oct 2003
Posts: 618

PostPosted: Wed Apr 21, 2004 9:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ive looked at gnuplot, and though powerful, it is a plotting app, specifically for graphs... it doesnt seem to be spreadsheet oriented..... correct me if im wrong

plus i need support for .xls files, as data is collected in the lab, where all there are is windows machines with excel.

killfire
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jdv
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Apr 2003
Posts: 34
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

PostPosted: Thu Apr 22, 2004 11:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

killfire wrote:
ive looked at gnuplot, and though powerful, it is a plotting app, specifically for graphs... it doesnt seem to be spreadsheet oriented..... correct me if im wrong

plus i need support for .xls files, as data is collected in the lab, where all there are is windows machines with excel.

You're right, it only plots data from files.

Would it be too much work for you to import the xls-files with OpenOffice or Gnumeric, do your manipulation there, and then export to a file that Gnuplot reads? That's basically what I do when I need to plot physics data.
_________________
Your lucky number is 3552664958674928. Watch for it everywhere.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
killfire
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Oct 2003
Posts: 618

PostPosted: Thu Apr 22, 2004 2:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

right now, yes, but i have 6 weeks left in the term, so maybe over the summer i will work it all out. but now i dont have the time to set that all up, and become familiar with it, i jst need to use something that works. so i will succumb to m$.... for now.

killfire
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum