Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
How I got x.org up and running
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
squallbsr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Sep 2003
Posts: 42
Location: /dev/TX/SA

PostPosted: Fri Apr 09, 2004 3:21 pm    Post subject: Internationalization? Reply with quote

Anybody using Japanese fonts? Anybody know if changing to xorg will mess up the fonts and font rendering stuff for hiragana and such...
_________________
Bryan Rehbein
Linux User# 352375
Adopt a unanswered post TODAY!

Sleep: A completely inadequate substitute for caffiene.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wzzrd
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 245

PostPosted: Fri Apr 09, 2004 3:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

FSCK!

I installed xorg's x11 just a few minutes ago, and forgot to remove xdm from runlevel default. Now I am presented with a gdm login screen (which is nice) and every time I press a key, the screen resizes (which sucks). And to make things worse, I haven't got ssh running :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
primat
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Jan 2004
Posts: 437
Location: Berlin

PostPosted: Fri Apr 09, 2004 3:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the same problem as metioned above! I get xfree as a dependency of xorg-x11!
Has anyone got a solution for this?
Sebo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mustard007
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 May 2002
Posts: 235
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Apr 09, 2004 4:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Me too...xfree as dependency....I have emerged xorg but it not seem to use xorg.conf. If i haven't XF86Config in /etc/X11 but xorg.conf, he doesn't work and he complain about the config file...So i absolutetly need XF86Config fot startx to work.

If i do a X -version :
----------------------------
XFree86 Version 4.3.0.1
Release Date: 15 August 2003
X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0, Release 6.6
Build Operating System: Linux 2.6.5 i686 [ELF]
Build Date: 09 April 2004
Before reporting problems, check http://www.XFree86.Org/
to make sure that you have the latest version.
Module Loader present
-----------------------------

Is not supposed to be the 6.7 version ?? It like that the xfree dependency erase xorg.

Thanks !!

****** UPDATE *******

Now it's OK, just reemerge again xorg.

Yes ..if you have no xfree installed, xfree is a dependency.


Last edited by Mustard007 on Fri Apr 09, 2004 8:43 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dagonarth
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Apr 2004
Posts: 12
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Fri Apr 09, 2004 4:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've got this error:

Code:
(==) RandR enabled
Symbol __glPointParameteriv_size from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.a is unresolved!
Symbol glPointParameteriv from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.a is unresolved!
Symbol glBlendFuncSeparate from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.a is unresolved!
Symbol glBlendFuncSeparate from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.a is unresolved!
Required symbol glPointParameterfARB from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.a is unresolved!
Symbol glPointParameterfARB from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.a is unresolved!
Required symbol glPointParameterfvARB from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.a is unresolved!
Symbol glPointParameterfvARB from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.a is unresolved!
Symbol glPointParameteri from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.a is unresolved!
Symbol glPointParameteri from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.a is unresolved!
Symbol glPointParameteriv from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.a is unresolved!
Required symbol glWindowPos3fARB from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.a is unresolved!
Symbol glWindowPos3fARB from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.a is unresolved!
Symbol glFogCoordfv from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.a is unresolved!
Symbol glFogCoordfv from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.a is unresolved!
Symbol glFogCoorddv from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.a is unresolved!
Symbol glFogCoorddv from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.a is unresolved!
Symbol glSecondaryColor3bv from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.a is unresolved!
Symbol glSecondaryColor3bv from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.a is unresolved!
Symbol glSecondaryColor3sv from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.a is unresolved!
Symbol glSecondaryColor3sv from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.a is unresolved!
Symbol glSecondaryColor3iv from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.a is unresolved!
Symbol glSecondaryColor3iv from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.a is unresolved!
Symbol glSecondaryColor3ubv from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.a is unresolved!
Symbol glSecondaryColor3ubv from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.a is unresolved!
Symbol glSecondaryColor3usv from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.a is unresolved!
Symbol glSecondaryColor3usv from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.a is unresolved!
Symbol glSecondaryColor3uiv from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.a is unresolved!
Symbol glSecondaryColor3uiv from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.a is unresolved!
Symbol glSecondaryColor3fv from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.a is unresolved!
Symbol glSecondaryColor3fv from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.a is unresolved!
Symbol glSecondaryColor3dv from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.a is unresolved!
Symbol glSecondaryColor3dv from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.a is unresolved!
Required symbol glActiveStencilFaceEXT from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.a is unresolved!
Symbol glActiveStencilFaceEXT from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.a is unresolved!
Required symbol __glPointParameterfvARB_size from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.a is unresolved!
Symbol __glPointParameterfvARB_size from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.a is unresolved!
Required symbol glPointParameterfvARB from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.a is unresolved!
Symbol glPointParameterfvARB from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.a is unresolved!
Required symbol glPointParameterfARB from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.a is unresolved!
Symbol glPointParameterfARB from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.a is unresolved!
Required symbol glWindowPos3fARB from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.a is unresolved!
Symbol glWindowPos3fARB from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.a is unresolved!
Required symbol glActiveStencilFaceEXT from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.a is unresolved!
Symbol glActiveStencilFaceEXT from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.a is unresolved!
Symbol glSecondaryColorPointer from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.a is unresolved!
Symbol glFogCoordPointer from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.a is unresolved!
Required symbol __glPointParameterfvARB_size from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.a is unresolved!
Symbol __glPointParameterfvARB_size from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.a is unresolved!
Required symbol __glPointParameterfvARB_size from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.a is unresolved!
Symbol __glPointParameterfvARB_size from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.a is unresolved!


Help ? ;)

Edit:

I turn opengl-update to xfree and it's working now fine - but I don't know if it really xorg-x11. I've checked xorg dependency - it installed xfree 4.3.0 and then xorg-x11. I have now both i /var/db tree. Same with /usr/lib/opengl - there I have ati, xfree and xorg-x11 folders. In ati folder extensions and nclude are symlinks to xorg's one.


Last edited by dagonarth on Fri Apr 09, 2004 4:51 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
irf2003
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Sep 2003
Posts: 1078

PostPosted: Fri Apr 09, 2004 4:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i don't understand what you guys are talking about, what
do you mean by xfree as a dependency??
have you emerge sync or emerge-webrsync
i thought this problem is behind us
could you please elaborate??
hth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Red Sparrow
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Feb 2004
Posts: 128
Location: Greeley, CO

PostPosted: Fri Apr 09, 2004 4:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did an "emerge sync" yesterday night because the ebuilds weren't in my tree. Afterwards, if I type "emerge -C xfree" and then "emerge -pv xorg-x11", I get this:

Code:
[ebuild  N    ] x11-base/xorg-x11-6.7.0  -(3dfx) -cjk -debug -doc -hardened -ipv6 +nls +pam -pie -sdk -static  70,283 kB
[ebuild  N    ] x11-base/xfree-4.3.0-r5  -(3dfx) -(3dnow) -bindist -cjk -debug -doc -ipv6 -(mmx) +nls +pam -sdk -(sse) -static -truetype -xml2  20,288 kB
[ebuild  N    ] app-arch/rpm2targz-9.0-r2   0 kB
[ebuild  N    ] sys-apps/utempter-0.5.3.2-r1   0 kB
[ebuild  N    ] x11-terms/xterm-184  -truetype  0 kB


If I then inject or re-install xfree-4.3.0-r5, I get this:

Code:
[blocks B     ] x11-base/xfree ("virtual/xft" from pkg x11-base/xorg-x11-6.7.0)
[blocks B     ] x11-base/xfree ("virtual/x11" from pkg x11-base/xorg-x11-6.7.0)
[ebuild  N    ] x11-base/xorg-x11-6.7.0  -(3dfx) -cjk -debug -doc -hardened -ipv6 +nls +pam -pie -sdk -static  70,283 kB
[ebuild  N    ] app-arch/rpm2targz-9.0-r2   0 kB
[ebuild  N    ] sys-apps/utempter-0.5.3.2-r1   0 kB
[ebuild  N    ] x11-terms/xterm-184  +truetype  0 kB


(- Steve -)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ikshaar
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jul 2002
Posts: 1339
Location: Baltimore, MD

PostPosted: Fri Apr 09, 2004 5:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just read in other thread about xorg-x11 that you can do

Code:
emerge -O xorg-x11
to have it emerge without xfree dependency.

Then a ***REMOVED***

Doing it myself right now.... :wink:

[EDIT] wrong !! the second did not work... i emerge the other dependencies a part

Code:
emerge =xterm-184 utempter


And it works great.... :P

tcs: just in case some n00b have the problem :
Code:
copied /etc/XF86Config to /etc/xorg.conf

should be
Code:
copied /etc/X11/XF86Config to /etc/X11/xorg.conf

_________________
"May God stands between you and harm in all the empty places where you must walk" - Babylon 5


Last edited by ikshaar on Fri Apr 09, 2004 5:34 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ydleiF
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Nov 2002
Posts: 170
Location: Southeast Michigan, USA

PostPosted: Fri Apr 09, 2004 5:33 pm    Post subject: xfree dep of xorg-x11? Reply with quote

On my home ~x86 system, two nights ago I emerged xorg-x11. I removed xfree just before that.

Now, on my ~x86 system at work, I try to do the same, but xfree is a dependancy.

I am currently trying emerge -O xorg-x11 on the work machine, after unmerging xfree. I'll post my results here.



emerge info from home system (worked):

Portage 2.0.50-r1 (default-x86-1.4, gcc-3.3.3, glibc-2.3.3_pre20040207-r0, 2.6.5)
=================================================================
System uname: 2.6.5 i686 AMD Athlon(TM) XP 1800+
Gentoo Base System version 1.4.3.10p1
distcc 2.13 i686-pc-linux-gnu (protocols 1 and 2) (default port 3632) [disabled]
ccache version 2.3 [enabled]
Autoconf: sys-devel/autoconf-2.59
Automake: sys-devel/automake-1.8.3
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="x86 ~x86"
AUTOCLEAN="yes"
CFLAGS="-O2 -march=athlon-xp -fomit-frame-pointer -funroll-loops -fprefetch-loop-arrays -pipe -mmmx -msse -m3dnow -mfpmath=sse,387"
CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
COMPILER="gcc3"
CONFIG_PROTECT="/etc /usr/X11R6/lib/X11/xkb /usr/kde/2/share/config /usr/kde/3.2/share/config /usr/kde/3/share/config /usr/lib/mozilla/defaults/pref /usr/share/config /var/bind /var/qmail/control"
CONFIG_PROTECT_MASK="/etc/gconf /etc/terminfo /etc/env.d"
CXXFLAGS="-O2 -march=athlon-xp -fomit-frame-pointer -funroll-loops -fprefetch-loop-arrays -pipe -mmmx -msse -m3dnow -mfpmath=sse,387"
DISTDIR="/usr/portage/distfiles"
FEATURES="autoaddcvs buildpkg ccache notitles sandbox"
GENTOO_MIRRORS="http://www.mirror.ac.uk/sites/www.ibiblio.org/gentoo/ ftp://gentoo.ccccom.com"
MAKEOPTS="-j3"
PKGDIR="/usr/portage/packages"
PORTAGE_TMPDIR="/var/tmp"
PORTDIR="/usr/portage"
PORTDIR_OVERLAY=""
SYNC="rsync://rsync.namerica.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage"
USE="3dnow X aalib alsa apm avi berkdb cdr crypt cups dv encode foomaticdb gdbm gif gnome gpm gtk gtk2 imlib java jpeg kde ldap libg++ libwww mad mikmod mmx motif mozilla mpeg ncurses nls oggvorbis opengl oss pam pdflib perl png pwdb python qt quicktime readline sdl slang spell sse ssl svga tcltk tcpd tiff truetype x86 xml2 xmms xv zlib"






emerge info from work system (did not work, -O in progress):

Portage 2.0.50-r1 (default-x86-1.4, gcc-3.2.3, glibc-2.3.2-r1, 2.6.5)
=================================================================
System uname: 2.6.5 i686 Pentium III (Katmai)
Gentoo Base System version 1.4.3.8p1
distcc 2.13 i686-pc-linux-gnu (protocols 1 and 2) (default port 3632) [disabled]
ccache version 2.3 [enabled]
Autoconf: sys-devel/autoconf-2.59
Automake: sys-devel/automake-1.8.3
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="x86 ~x86"
AUTOCLEAN="yes"
CFLAGS="-mcpu=pentium3 -O2 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer -mmmx -msse -mfpmath=sse,387"
CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
COMPILER="gcc3"
CONFIG_PROTECT="/etc /usr/kde/2/share/config /usr/kde/3.2/share/config /usr/kde/3/share/config /usr/share/config /var/bind /var/qmail/control"
CONFIG_PROTECT_MASK="/etc/gconf /etc/env.d"
CXXFLAGS="-mcpu=pentium3 -O2 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer -mmmx -msse -mfpmath=sse,387"
DISTDIR="/var/portage/distfiles"
FEATURES="autoaddcvs buildpkg ccache notitles sandbox"
GENTOO_MIRRORS="ftp://mirrors.tds.net/gentoo http://mirrors.tds.net/gentoo http://gentoo.netnitco.net ftp://gentoo.netnitco.net/pub/mirrors/gentoo/source/ ftp://ftp.gtlib.cc.gatech.edu/pub/gentoo"
MAKEOPTS="-j3"
PKGDIR="/var/portage/packages"
PORTAGE_TMPDIR="/var/tmp"
PORTDIR="/var/portage"
PORTDIR_OVERLAY=""
SYNC="rsync://rsync.namerica.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage"
USE="X apache2 apm avi berkdb cdr crypt cups encode esd foomaticdb gdbm gif gnome gpm gtk gtk2 imlib java jpeg kde kerberos ldap libg++ libwww mad mikmod mmx motif mozilla mpeg mysql ncurses nls oggvorbis opengl oss pam pdflib perl png python qt quicktime readline sdl slang snmp spell sse ssl svga tcpd tiff truetype x86 xml2 xmms xv zlib"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
georgie
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Jan 2003
Posts: 42
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Fri Apr 09, 2004 7:33 pm    Post subject: these instructions worked fine for me, thanks Reply with quote

Hi there

I used these instructions and they worked juast fine, even allowing for an (unrelated) crash during emerging

Xinerama works - I had to copy over the mga drivers for my MGA400, which I have to do every time I update XFree (or, from now, x.org :)

It's really smooth, feels crisp, fast and the fonts look great.

Can't get XRandR swithcing in gnome working, but I could only get that working sporadically before.

Thanks, I've been thinking about doing this for a while and your how-to was easy to follow and worked perfectly

George
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Qweasda
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 152

PostPosted: Fri Apr 09, 2004 8:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can an Xorg server connect to a remote Xfree client? What about the other way around?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Red Sparrow
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Feb 2004
Posts: 128
Location: Greeley, CO

PostPosted: Fri Apr 09, 2004 9:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes! Success at last! I was able to get it by emerging xorg-x11 with the "--nodeps" option and then manually emerging it's other dependencies. After that, I followed the instructions from the first post in this thread and then I symlinked the libraries and header files as detailed in IWBCMAN's post in this thread.* Then I had to manually edit my /etc/xorg.conf file because X didn't start up correctly unless my DefaultDepth setting in the Screen setting was set to 16.

(- Steve -)

* This step probably wasn't necessary, but it didn't hurt anything.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
patroclo7
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Feb 2004
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Fri Apr 09, 2004 9:50 pm    Post subject: -X in USE Reply with quote

Well, I have not tried, insofar I am waiting for novelties about radeon mobility IGP 320, but the dependency problem with xfree seems easy. You have to keep X away from use flags. Edit /etc/make.conf and put "-X" in the USE line. I hope it helps :-)
Help me about radeon mobility. Could people reporting successes or unsuccesses report their video card?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MooktaKiNG
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Nov 2002
Posts: 326
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Fri Apr 09, 2004 11:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK its weird.

I installed xorg last night. it was fine.

Today i read this thread and then do "emerge sync" then do "emerge -uUDp world". And see that it wants to install xfree.

Therefore something happened between yesterday and tonight.

So, all those problems up there ^^^ is all related and somehow needs to be solved. I have no idea how to :P:P:P

So, someone with a bit more knowledge please go right ahead :)

Its not really a problem for me. I just upgraded each programs, except xfree, individually.
_________________
http://www.mooktakim.com
Athlon XP 2001, Giga-Byte GA-7VRXP MB, 640Mb DDR RAM 333MHz, MSI Geforce 4800SE 128Mb DDR, 40x12x48 Liteon CDRW drive, Flower Cooler, ADSL Router
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MooktaKiNG
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Nov 2002
Posts: 326
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Fri Apr 09, 2004 11:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PS: i have a Radeon IGP card on my laptop. It works fine. Framebuffer and bootsplash works fine.

PSS: if anyone got hardware acceleration working with IGP's please let me know!!
_________________
http://www.mooktakim.com
Athlon XP 2001, Giga-Byte GA-7VRXP MB, 640Mb DDR RAM 333MHz, MSI Geforce 4800SE 128Mb DDR, 40x12x48 Liteon CDRW drive, Flower Cooler, ADSL Router
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aroben
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Oct 2003
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Fri Apr 09, 2004 11:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's the deal with the xfree dependency (at least this is how I understand it):

x11-base/xorg-x11 wants to emerge x11-terms/xterm
x11-terms/xterm depends on virtual/x11 (basically, there needs to be some kind of X server installed for xterm to build)
x11-base/xfree is what fulfills this virtual/x11 dependency for most people (other things like x11-base/kdrive would also work)

When you emerge -C xfree, this line is removed from /var/cache/edb/virtuals:
Code:
virtual/x11 x11-base/xfree

So now the virtual/x11 dependency reverts to the default (which happens to be x11-base/xfree). This is why you see xfree listed when you do emerge -p.

To get around it, add this line to /var/cache/edb/virtuals:
Code:
virtual/x11 x11-base/xorg-x11

This will make xterm use xorg-x11 as it's dependency instead of xfree.

I think this is a bug in portage, because the xorg-x11 ebuild specifies that it provides a virtual/x11 equivalent, but portage doesn't realize this when calculating xterm's dependencies (even though it will be emerged after xorg-x11). Does anyone know if this is a legitimate bug?

-Adam
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charlieg
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 30 Jul 2002
Posts: 2149
Location: Manchester UK

PostPosted: Sat Apr 10, 2004 12:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

aroben wrote:
I think this is a bug in portage, because the xorg-x11 ebuild specifies that it provides a virtual/x11 equivalent, but portage doesn't realize this when calculating xterm's dependencies (even though it will be emerged after xorg-x11). Does anyone know if this is a legitimate bug?

-Adam


You should post it to bugzilla and find out.

The devs pay much more attention to bugzilla. ;)
_________________
Want Free games?
Free Gamer - open source games list & commentary

Open source web-enabled rich UI platform: Vexi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
irf2003
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Sep 2003
Posts: 1078

PostPosted: Sat Apr 10, 2004 1:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jigglypuff, don't inject xfree
that's why you getting "[blocks B ]"
hth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MooktaKiNG
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Nov 2002
Posts: 326
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Sat Apr 10, 2004 4:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

aroben wrote:
Here's the deal with the xfree dependency (at least this is how I understand it):

x11-base/xorg-x11 wants to emerge x11-terms/xterm
x11-terms/xterm depends on virtual/x11 (basically, there needs to be some kind of X server installed for xterm to build)
x11-base/xfree is what fulfills this virtual/x11 dependency for most people (other things like x11-base/kdrive would also work)

When you emerge -C xfree, this line is removed from /var/cache/edb/virtuals:
Code:
virtual/x11 x11-base/xfree

So now the virtual/x11 dependency reverts to the default (which happens to be x11-base/xfree). This is why you see xfree listed when you do emerge -p.

To get around it, add this line to /var/cache/edb/virtuals:
Code:
virtual/x11 x11-base/xorg-x11

This will make xterm use xorg-x11 as it's dependency instead of xfree.

I think this is a bug in portage, because the xorg-x11 ebuild specifies that it provides a virtual/x11 equivalent, but portage doesn't realize this when calculating xterm's dependencies (even though it will be emerged after xorg-x11). Does anyone know if this is a legitimate bug?

-Adam


I do have virtual/x11 x11-base/xorg-x11 in virtual. It still wants to install xfree, when i do emerge uUp world
_________________
http://www.mooktakim.com
Athlon XP 2001, Giga-Byte GA-7VRXP MB, 640Mb DDR RAM 333MHz, MSI Geforce 4800SE 128Mb DDR, 40x12x48 Liteon CDRW drive, Flower Cooler, ADSL Router
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aroben
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Oct 2003
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Sat Apr 10, 2004 6:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MooktaKiNG wrote:

I do have virtual/x11 x11-base/xorg-x11 in virtual. It still wants to install xfree, when i do emerge uUp world


Try just emerging xorg-x11 first, then doing emerge -Up world

-Adam
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
javock
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Jan 2004
Posts: 106
Location: Babeland... yeah! I wish!

PostPosted: Sat Apr 10, 2004 7:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

credmp wrote:
The Block means that the package (xorg-x11) can not be installed with XFree and that you have to remove it first.... it does not mean that it will install XFree.


Hey there, I figure this has been answered before, but today I have a headache and don't want to read anymore... but my enthusiasm hasn't left me :lol:
So here it goes. From what you said, and I even haven't tried but blindly trust, X11 and xorg block each other... So if I want to test xorg, but dont want to spend the ours of reverting to X11, is there a SAFE way to test xorg and, if anything goes wrong return to my previous config?

Thanks!
_________________
The heart has reasons that the reason will never understand.

-- La Renga. El final es donde partí
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MooktaKiNG
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Nov 2002
Posts: 326
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Sat Apr 10, 2004 10:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

aroben wrote:
MooktaKiNG wrote:

I do have virtual/x11 x11-base/xorg-x11 in virtual. It still wants to install xfree, when i do emerge uUp world


Try just emerging xorg-x11 first, then doing emerge -Up world

-Adam


i did emerge xorg-x11 couple of days ago and worked fine. Now when i do emerge -uU world it wants to install xfree, this is after an emerge sync.
_________________
http://www.mooktakim.com
Athlon XP 2001, Giga-Byte GA-7VRXP MB, 640Mb DDR RAM 333MHz, MSI Geforce 4800SE 128Mb DDR, 40x12x48 Liteon CDRW drive, Flower Cooler, ADSL Router
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
newbie_100
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Jan 2004
Posts: 335
Location: Ashdod, IsraHell

PostPosted: Sat Apr 10, 2004 10:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well i had the same problem but i think that if you dont use the -D option with emerge its fine...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
raylpc
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Aug 2003
Posts: 310
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Apr 10, 2004 11:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

javock wrote:
credmp wrote:
The Block means that the package (xorg-x11) can not be installed with XFree and that you have to remove it first.... it does not mean that it will install XFree.


Hey there, I figure this has been answered before, but today I have a headache and don't want to read anymore... but my enthusiasm hasn't left me :lol:
So here it goes. From what you said, and I even haven't tried but blindly trust, X11 and xorg block each other... So if I want to test xorg, but dont want to spend the ours of reverting to X11, is there a SAFE way to test xorg and, if anything goes wrong return to my previous config?

Thanks!


There's a safe way:
1. cp -a /etc ~/etc
2. quickpkg xfree

Now, you will have both the /etc and xfree binary package backed up. Ready... GO!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
javock
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Jan 2004
Posts: 106
Location: Babeland... yeah! I wish!

PostPosted: Sun Apr 11, 2004 12:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

raylpc wrote:

There's a safe way:
1. cp -a /etc ~/etc
2. quickpkg xfree

Now, you will have both the /etc and xfree binary package backed up. Ready... GO!


Thanks...

Gonna try that!
_________________
The heart has reasons that the reason will never understand.

-- La Renga. El final es donde partí
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Page 2 of 7

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum