Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
kernal panic during install on mac
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
roberttran
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Apr 2004
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue Apr 20, 2004 1:54 am    Post subject: kernal panic during install on mac Reply with quote

I get the following output when I try to boot from the live cd for installation

losetup: /mnt/live/mnt/cdrom/livecd.gcloop: no such file or directory
mount: mounting /dev/loop/0 on /mnt/live/mnt/live-env failed: no such file or directory
cp:: dev: no such file or directory
cp: home: no such file or directory
cp: root: no such file or directory
cp: tmp: no such file or directory
cp: etc: no such file or directory
chmod: /mnt/live/tmp: no such file or directory
cp: 233: can't cd to ../mnt/live-env/var
cp: cache: no such file or directory
cp: lib: no such file or directory
cp: lock: no such file or directory
cp: log: no such file or directory
cp: run: no such file or directory
cp: spool: no such file or directory
cp: tmp: no such file or directory
/linuxrc: 244: mount: not found
/linuxrc: 245: cannot open dev/console: no such file
Kernal panic: attempted to kill init!


When I try the -safe boot, I get something like file system corrupt or not found
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rainmaker
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 12 Feb 2004
Posts: 1650
Location: /home/NL/ehv/

PostPosted: Tue Apr 20, 2004 1:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

can you post you /etc/fstab file?

(boot from livecd, mount root partition and chroot)

it looks either like a config error in fstab, or you forgat to compile "loopback fuilesystem support" into your kernel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
roberttran
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Apr 2004
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is during the first install step. The blue screen comes up asking which kernal I want to boot (G4, G5, etc) and what parameters. I go with what the live cd detects (G4) and it starts to load the ramdisk and then it goes to that.
I've tried to boot the live cd without a hard drive thinking maybe it was my hdd but same thing happens.

-Robert
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nixnut
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 10974
Location: the dutch mountains

PostPosted: Tue Apr 20, 2004 7:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?p=1048776#1048776
Looks like the 2004.1 CD has some problems with G4 systems. You might want to try the 1.4 version
ftp://ftp.ucsb.edu/pub/mirrors/linux/gentoo/releases/ppc/1.4/livecd/livecd-g4-grp-1.4-cd1.iso
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
roberttran
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Apr 2004
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue Apr 20, 2004 9:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nixnut wrote:
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?p=1048776#1048776
Looks like the 2004.1 CD has some problems with G4 systems. You might want to try the 1.4 version
ftp://ftp.ucsb.edu/pub/mirrors/linux/gentoo/releases/ppc/1.4/livecd/livecd-g4-grp-1.4-cd1.iso


Link isn't working and I cant seem to find the ppc 1.4 version on that mirror

-Robert
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
roberttran
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Apr 2004
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Apr 21, 2004 3:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anyone have a link to 1.4 that works?

-Robert
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nixnut
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 10974
Location: the dutch mountains

PostPosted: Wed Apr 21, 2004 4:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah, I see they've been moved a bit, to historical:
http://gentoo.tiscali.nl/gentoo/releases/historical/ppc/1.4/livecd/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
roberttran
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Apr 2004
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun Apr 25, 2004 1:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just tried that iso image. It doesn't even get as far as the other ones. It just locks up.

-Robert
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nonhuman
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Sep 2002
Posts: 236
Location: Washington DC

PostPosted: Fri Apr 30, 2004 7:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm having the exact same problem with my G3, so apparently it's not just a G4 problem.
_________________
"Ambition is a poor excuse for not having sense enough to be lazy." -Edgar Bergen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Deathwing00
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 13 Jun 2003
Posts: 4087
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Apr 30, 2004 7:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Installing Gentoo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum