Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Virtual hosting made easy
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
puke
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Oct 2002
Posts: 128

PostPosted: Mon May 12, 2003 6:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
axfrdns seems to be the program for zone transfers.

dnscache seems to be the program to be a caching name server (for a lan or similar)

The problem: they both run on the same port: 53. Thus: I can't load them both at the same time.


You can run them both at the same time, just bind them to different interfaces. Your dnscache should run on your internal LAN interface, your tinydns should run on your external interface (if you are an internet name server). :wink:

If you are doing a split-horizon setup, check http://www.fefe.de/djbdns/#splithorizon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pastorJ
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Oct 2002
Posts: 7
Location: Annapolis, MD, USA

PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2003 3:01 am    Post subject: virtual user forwarding Reply with quote

Is it possible? I want to be able to give accounts to virtual users, and have those accounts forward to yahho or hotmail etc... How can this be done with the mysql'd virtual users?
_________________
Computers are tools to enable community across distances, while being a subject of community across distance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Crash&Burn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 2
Location: Maryland, USA

PostPosted: Sun May 18, 2003 11:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Three Cheers for the information in this thread I have found it very usefull and will put it to the test next week. I do have a question though concerning Typo3; I do not find a listing for it as an emege and there are no post in this thread indicating that anyone other than delta407 mentioning it so if someone is familiar with it let me know what they think of it and the complications in setting it up. Would be much appreciated.

Once again thanks for all your work delta407 will get back to you with my own trials and tribulations in this set up soon.

Cheers Crash
_________________
Nothingness cannot be defined; the softest thing cannot be snapped.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
delta407
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 23 Apr 2002
Posts: 2876
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Wed May 21, 2003 3:02 pm    Post subject: Re: virtual user forwarding Reply with quote

pastorJ wrote:
Is it possible? I want to be able to give accounts to virtual users, and have those accounts forward to yahho or hotmail etc... How can this be done with the mysql'd virtual users?
This is more for virtual mail hosting, which isn't really addressed by my scripts. I have successfully used the virtual mail howto with my web virtual hosting, which is probably what you're looking for. (Add an entry in the `virtual` table.)
_________________
I don't believe in witty sigs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
delta407
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 23 Apr 2002
Posts: 2876
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Wed May 21, 2003 3:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Crash&Burn wrote:
so if someone is familiar with it let me know what they think of it and the complications in setting it up.
Not easy. It's a very complex system, and as such, is difficult at first.

One of the things you want is ImageMagick 4.2.9. Later versions have bugs that negatively impact Typo3's ability to do cool stuff with images, and earlier versions lack critical features. Thus, I've packed up ImageMagick 4.2.9 with all of the libraries it needs in a nice, handy-dandy source tarball. http://gentoo.swchs.org/typo3/

Another thing Typo3 benefits from is a GIF-enabled libgd. If you're outside the U.S. (or if you don't mind stomping all over the Unisys patent), you can build a GIF-enabled libgd by using modified tarballs from this page. The easiest solution is to edit the libgd ebuild to use the appropriate tarball, do an `emerge -f` on it, then `ebuild digest` to make Portage accept the new hashes. Then, `emerge libgd`, re-emerge mod_php, and you have GIF support.

For Typo3 itself, I unpacked the source tarball inside of /pub/www/ and symlinked /pub/www/typo3_src to typo3_3.5.0 or whatever the current version is. I then made a 'skeleton' tarball (for my scripts) that include symlinks of the appropriate directories (t3lib, typo3, etc.) and appropriate files (clear.gif, index.php, .htaccess) to their /pub/www/typo3_src/ counterparts. So, upon creation of a new site, everything is automagically symlinked to the system-wide copy of Typo3 and Typo3 already has a preliminary configuration (database access).

Easy, isn't it? ;-) (Don't worry, it took me a few weeks of on-and-off tinkering to learn all this.)
_________________
I don't believe in witty sigs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ericdes
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 May 2003
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2003 5:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just came across this module: mod_vdbh, it is supposed to do mass virtual hosting, the virtual host paths being translated from a MySQL database at request time.

I'm wondering if anybody has ever tried that solution?

Eric.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GXTi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 May 2003
Posts: 17
Location: Raleigh, North Carolina

PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2003 11:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i noticed half the people replying here are n00bs...then again so am i :D
_________________
<insert witticism here>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
phattmatt
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jun 2003
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Sun Jun 01, 2003 11:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@WaMan

Hi, I was having the same problem. After a late night and some apache doc reading I changed a setting in '/etc/apache/conf/commonapache.conf'

from:
Code:
UseCanonicalName On

to
Code:
UseCanonicalName Off


I believe this is fairly important in allowing delta407's mod_rewrite stuff do it's thing.

After turning off canonicalname my server started directing the requests to the right places... :D

Matt.

P.S. At the very least this stuff is making me read and learn :wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
phattmatt
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jun 2003
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Sun Jun 01, 2003 12:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@delta407

First of all thanks for your scripts, they are just the kind of thing I was looking for to setup a virtual web host.

Apart from the same problem that WaMan was experiencing (which I think I've solved), I have only had one difficulty.

Pure-FTP doesn't want to setup correctly when going through the './vhost-install FTP' stage.

An error along the lines of " sed unknown command ''' " is displayed with the end result being the config file doesn't get setup properly.

Any help would be appreciated.

Regards,

Matt.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ariejan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Jun 2002
Posts: 100
Location: Eindhoven, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Jun 24, 2003 8:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Delta! My hero!

Well, you've been hearing that quite a lot here. Well, you deserve it.

I'm still installing here, but everything should be okay. I've finished the web part, and that works great!

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
entropicrune
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Aug 2003
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2003 11:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Delta, I am trying to understand your scripts. They appear to call two other scripts which do not seem to be in the downloaded archives, or in a plain vanilla system.

One of these is tinydns-setup, and the other is rotate-logs. Could you elucidate?

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zues
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Nov 2002
Posts: 54
Location: Orange County CA.

PostPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2003 3:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does anyone know how to setup either pure-ftpd or vsftpd to handle virtual domains?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rjreb
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Aug 2003
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2003 11:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Zues wrote:
Does anyone know how to setup either pure-ftpd or vsftpd to handle virtual domains?


We got it set up. Here's a basic breakdown.

vsftpd.conf

anon_world_readable_only=NO
anonymous_enable=NO
anon_upload_enable=YES
anon_mkdir_write_enable=NO
anon_other_write_enable=NO
virtual_use_local_privs=NO
#background=YES
chroot_local_user=YES
##chroot_list_enable=YES
#force_dot_files=YES
#ftpd_banner=some ftp server
guest_enable=YES
guest_username=virtual
#hide_ids=YES
#listen=YES
#listen_address=192.168.0.82
local_enable=YES
#log_ftp_protocol=YES
listen_port=21
#max_client#s=50
#max_per_ip=5
#nopriv_user=ftp
#pasv_address=192.168.0.82
#pasv_enable=YES
#pasv_min_port=30000
#pasv_max_port=30999
#session_support=NO
#use_localtime=YES
userlist_deny=YES
userlist_enable=YES
userlist_file=/etc/vsftpd/denied_users
#virtual_use_local_privs=YES
xferlog_enable=YES
write_enable=NO
user_config_dir=/etc/vsftpd/users
nopriv_user=nobody
#async_abor_enable=YES
##chmod_enable=YES
#cmds_allowed=QUIT,CHMOD
connect_from_port_20=YES
##dirlist_enable=YES
#ascii_upload_enable=YES
download_enable=NO
#local_umask=0027
#pasv_enable=YES
#port_enable=YES

Create a text file (e.g., logins.txt) with

user1
password1
user2
password2
etc

Then run

db3_load -T -t hash -f logins.txt /etc/vsftpd_login.db

Inside /etc/vsftpd/users you can individulize each user.

Hope that helps
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wizy
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 May 2002
Posts: 133

PostPosted: Wed Sep 17, 2003 10:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is just beautiful. I will be setting it up on a server next week. I hope it works as good as it looks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
delta407
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 23 Apr 2002
Posts: 2876
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2003 1:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm getting a new colocated box -- actually, in about six hours now -- that I'll put this on. FYI, everything worked with Apache 2 when I last checked, though I personally would do the installation manually rather than having vhost-install do it for you.

Of course, there have been improvements (like making awstats automagically go through your recently-split log files) since this was created many months ago. Maybe I'll write it up some time. ;-)
_________________
I don't believe in witty sigs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
delta407
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 23 Apr 2002
Posts: 2876
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2003 1:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Zues wrote:
Does anyone know how to setup either pure-ftpd or vsftpd to handle virtual domains?

BTW, in case any one is wondering, FTP doesn't do virtual domains unless you have a different IP for each virtual domain.

Thought I'd add a reminder to prevent anyone from getting confused. :roll:
_________________
I don't believe in witty sigs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wizy
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 May 2002
Posts: 133

PostPosted: Mon Sep 22, 2003 8:40 pm    Post subject: web and other scripts Reply with quote

Has anyone worked on the "Delete" versions of some of these scripts, and also has anyone worked on a web interface to this nice system?

I would like to use this, for myself I would use the shell scripts. But I have a couple others who would need a web interface.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nalin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Sep 2002
Posts: 172
Location: Long Beach

PostPosted: Wed Sep 24, 2003 4:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Delta...awesome

For those who wish to aviod banging their heads against the wall with apache2 perhaps the following will help...

Code:

# get the server name from the Host: header
UseCanonicalName Off

<Directory "/pub/www">
Options Indexes MultiViews
AllowOverride None
Order allow,deny
Allow from all
</Directory>

RewriteEngine On

# a ServerName derived from a Host: header may be any case at all
RewriteMap  lowercase  int:tolower

RewriteCond  %{REQUEST_URI}  !^/icons/
# Duplicate the above for whatever other system-wide aliases you have
RewriteCond  /pub/www/hosts/${lowercase:%{SERVER_NAME}} -d
RewriteRule  ^/(.*)$  /pub/www/hosts/${lowercase:%{SERVER_NAME}}/$1 [L]

RewriteCond  %{REQUEST_URI}  !^/icons/
# Duplicate the above for whatever other system-wide aliases you have
RewriteRule  ^/(.*)$  /pub/www/default/$1

# this log format can be split per-virtual-host based on the first field
LogFormat "%V %h %l %u %t \"%r\" %s %b" vcommon
CustomLog logs/access_log vcommon


The apache2.conf file seems to need the updated directory information in order to allow pages to be served despite the fact that the <rant>PERMISSIONS HAVE BEEN RIGHT FOR THE BETTER PART OF AN F'IN DAY AND THE REWRITE BASED VHOSTS ACCESIBLE FROM APACHE2 DOCS OVERLOOKS THIS STEP</rant>. Sorry, enogh bitching from me.
The rewrite stuff is i think all the same as in the original post, just been added for placement (and probably could go anywhere else in the file).

Regaurding the post asking whether apache2 works with this, with very limited testing it seems to so far...

Anyway hope this helps...
Again, thanks delta
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
delta407
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 23 Apr 2002
Posts: 2876
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Wed Sep 24, 2003 4:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

nalin wrote:
Regaurding the post asking whether apache2 works with this, with very limited testing it seems to so far...
I just rolled out Apache2 with this on my shiny new Gentoo server. Web hosting was working properly (though it took some futzing with the order that config files were included), and then an upstream machine stopped routing packets to that box. :evil: (BTW, the page linked above happens to be hosted on that machine.)

<sigh>

So, in conclusion, Apache2 doesn't seem to be a problem after some initial hiccups which can be solved quickly, even with a crude trial-and-error methodology. :roll:
_________________
I don't believe in witty sigs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wizy
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 May 2002
Posts: 133

PostPosted: Wed Oct 08, 2003 8:51 am    Post subject: progress Reply with quote

Has anything else been done with this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nalin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Sep 2002
Posts: 172
Location: Long Beach

PostPosted: Wed Oct 08, 2003 2:55 pm    Post subject: Re: progress Reply with quote

wizy wrote:
Has anything else been done with this?

Yeah Delta, virtual web mail dns ... ... ..., IS THAT ALL? :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RaymaN
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Posts: 93
Location: Earth, Europe, Germany, Berlin

PostPosted: Sun Oct 19, 2003 2:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi,
nice scripts. Where can i download these?

bye bye
ray
8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sweetest_thing
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Sep 2004
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2004 9:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When I try to write ./vhost-install BUILD WEB MAIL SQL DNS FTP MISC I just get the help provided.. It can't install.. why?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
witalis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Dec 2004
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Dec 10, 2004 11:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have made virtual hosting which stores all data in mysql database. soft used:
apache2 + mod_vdbh
postfix, curus_imap, cyrus_pop3
mydns

Mydns is really grat dns daemon which stores all data in sql table, so administration is really easy (eg. "update mydns.soa set serial=serial+1" - update all zones data).

I also developed python scripts to manage all thiz. If anyone interested - mail me mpulczynski@escom.net.pl - however all is in very beta-stage but working for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wizy
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 May 2002
Posts: 133

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2005 6:14 pm    Post subject: Updates. Reply with quote

Has this been updated at all for apache2? Has anyone changed it to use the default /var/www directory yet?

I know its not complex to do. Just wondering if anyone has kept this system up to date. It would be nice to know that this install script and all its associated scripts still works on a gentoo 2005.0 system with apache2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 3 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum