Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
2004.1 and OldWorld Macs [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
wrc_fan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jan 2004
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Wed Apr 28, 2004 8:14 pm    Post subject: 2004.1 and OldWorld Macs [SOLVED] Reply with quote

Does anybody know whether the kernel in the 2004.1 LiveCDs will work on OldWorld Macs? Specifically the 1.4 release doesn't support SCSI, and the 2004.0 release only had G3 and G4 kernels.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pvdabeel
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 188
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Wed Apr 28, 2004 11:36 pm    Post subject: Re: 2004.1 and OldWorld Macs Reply with quote

wrc_fan wrote:
Does anybody know whether the kernel in the 2004.1 LiveCDs will work on OldWorld Macs? Specifically the 1.4 release doesn't support SCSI, and the 2004.0 release only had G3 and G4 kernels.


It probably does. G3 = G4 kernel, and that kernel should be at least 604 compatible I think. I have a 8500/120 in the basement, but haven't had time to install it yet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wrc_fan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jan 2004
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Thu Apr 29, 2004 2:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

what options do I need to pass bootx? I've tried putting in "root=/dev/ram0 init=linuxrc" but it says it can't find the init script and to try passing to option init= on bootup, which I did.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GUMfire
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Dec 2003
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu Apr 29, 2004 6:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In my case, the correct boot arguments were init=/linuxrc and nothing more. Worked like a charm... only problems seems to be that the script scrambles the root password, b4 I can login at all.. so I have no idea how to get inside the login =)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
skunkworx
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Feb 2003
Posts: 420
Location: Planet Houston

PostPosted: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Remember, that's init=/linuxrc. Don't forget the slash.
_________________
Proud to be a... eh, forget it.

"Everyday is just one day." -- not the Traveling Wilburys
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wrc_fan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jan 2004
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Thu Apr 29, 2004 8:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I actually did have the slash, I just miss-typed it when posting the message. And if I don't specify "root=/dev/ram0" then I get "unable to mount root". So neither having "init=/linuxrc" nor "root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc" works. While the latter option does work for booting the YDL and Debian CDs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
killfire
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Oct 2003
Posts: 618

PostPosted: Thu Apr 29, 2004 11:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

aa problem that i had booting the old 1.4 cds on an oldworld mac is that, at least for 1.4, you have to remember to change the initrd-szie to 1100, as it starts at 9860 (or something like that)

if you have set that, along with the proper kernel, initrd, and init=/linuxrc, then im not sure what to tell you.


killfire
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wrc_fan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jan 2004
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Fri Apr 30, 2004 7:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I've been trying with the G4 kernel. and I tried with the initrd-size at both the normal, at 11000 and at 1100 and none of them worked. So I tried even bigger 24000, and now I'm getting:

Code:
losetup: /mnt/live/mnt/cdrom/livecd.gcloop: No such file or directory
mount: Mounting /dev/loop/0 on /mnt/live/mnt/live-env failed: No such file or directory
cp: dev: No such file or directory
cp: home: No such file or directory
cp: root: No such file or directory
cp: tmp: No such file or directory
cp: etc: No such file or directory


etc... etc...

Code:
/linuxrc: 244: mount: not found
/linuxrc: 25: cannot open dev/console: No such file
Kernel panic: Attempted to kill init!


maybe I'll try even bigger. Like 32000
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wrc_fan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jan 2004
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Fri Apr 30, 2004 7:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Woohoo! 32000 worked. Perhaps that can be added to the PowerPC faq somewhere, that the BootX "Ramdisk size" should be 32000
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wrc_fan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jan 2004
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Fri Apr 30, 2004 7:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just realized I made a mistake. The kernel I was able to boot from was from the 2004.0 CD, I forgot to copy the one over from the 2004.1 CD. But the kernel from the 2004.1 CD doesn't work with the Ramdisk size at the default, 11000, 24000, or 32000. It just gets to the picture of tux, and then doesn't show any text after that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
skunkworx
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Feb 2003
Posts: 420
Location: Planet Houston

PostPosted: Fri Apr 30, 2004 10:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I sometimes have trouble switching to linux after I've already booted fully into MacOS. This is on a 7300 with a G3/400 upgrade.

If you haven't already, try going into Linux immediately after rebooting the computer. One more thing to check, at least.
_________________
Proud to be a... eh, forget it.

"Everyday is just one day." -- not the Traveling Wilburys
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wrc_fan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jan 2004
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Fri Apr 30, 2004 10:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That was it! Thanks for the tip skunkworx. And thanks to everyone else for the help. Now I'll be able to have a Gentoo PPC system to compliment my Gentoo Athlon XP system.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
STrRedWolf
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Sep 2002
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Sat May 01, 2004 9:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another way is to use the old Slackintosh 8.1 PPC kernel and root image, and BootX into it. From there you can do most of everything, but you'll have to massage the BZ2 archives, convert them into GZ archives.

I'm on day 2 of such an install now. Started late at night.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pvdabeel
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 188
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sun May 02, 2004 12:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

wrc_fan wrote:
I actually did have the slash, I just miss-typed it when posting the message. And if I don't specify "root=/dev/ram0" then I get "unable to mount root". So neither having "init=/linuxrc" nor "root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc" works. While the latter option does work for booting the YDL and Debian CDs.


don't forget cdroot either.

Note that the options can be found in the yaboot.conf on the cd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pvdabeel
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 188
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sun May 02, 2004 12:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

wrc_fan wrote:
Woohoo! 32000 worked. Perhaps that can be added to the PowerPC faq somewhere, that the BootX "Ramdisk size" should be 32000


In the yaboot.conf, the ramdisk size is always specified by the initrd-size=... parameter.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum