Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
HOWTO: qmail vpopmail courier-imap qmail-scanner etc (NEW)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 23, 24, 25  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
sabrex
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Nov 2003
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Mon May 17, 2004 7:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

darkweaseljedi wrote:
You're probably right. Do newly created accounts have the Maildir -> .maildir symlink created or do you have to do that manually?


No, they have to be created manually for each new account. The easiest way is definitely to modify qmailadmin to use .maildir as the mail folder instead of Maildir. As of 1.2.1 compiled from source, it still is using Maildir instead of .maildir. What is the procedure for modifying qmailadmin's source or ebuilds to use .maildir?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
darkweaseljedi
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Jan 2003
Posts: 101
Location: Minneapolis, MN

PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2004 2:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did it the hard way:

grep Maildir *
then manually changed file by file.
there were about 6 .c files that needed to be changed.

If I had time I was going to and make it a define or a ./configurable (though I don't have much experience with that, most of my C/C++ is windows based)

darkweasel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Crymson
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Mar 2004
Posts: 200
Location: Flagstaff, AZ

PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2004 5:55 am    Post subject: Helpful, but not quite Reply with quote

Well, the post you gave me said to modify a source code file.. which I can't find. Where is the source for this? I used the ebuild, so I'm not even sure what steps I need to take to recomplie it. (Thoughts of totally screwing this up are floating through my head)

I kept searching the archives, there was stuff about vlimits.default not existing, and all this other stuff. Well, it exists, but I still can't get it to work.

So I'm back to square one, and seriously considering starting 100% over. What's the best method to remove all the stuff, and start over completely, making certain there aren't any conf files or some such left over? I really want to run my own email server, but this is just *NOT* worth it. Otherwise, the tutorial works great.

Is it possible my version of mysql is f*cked up?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
_________________
Knowledge is Power // Power Corrupts // Study Hard // Be Evil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
darkweaseljedi
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Jan 2003
Posts: 101
Location: Minneapolis, MN

PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2004 1:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Crymson: Can you log in to mysql as vpopmail on the command line?

ie : mysql -u vpopmail -p vpopmailspassword

as for the frustration factor: I know what you're feeling. I actually redid my setup as well. unix mail seems to be this giant clusterf of different programs that all work together *sometimes* if you ask them right. It would be nice to have one program that did everything you needed, and had a plugin feature that allowed growth.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Crymson
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Mar 2004
Posts: 200
Location: Flagstaff, AZ

PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2004 8:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

darkweaseljedi wrote:
Crymson: Can you log in to mysql as vpopmail on the command line?

ie : mysql -u vpopmail -p vpopmailspassword


Yes. See following:

Code:

mysql -u vpopmail -p vpopmail
Enter password:
Welcome to the MySQL monitor... etc etc


So, I log in as user vpopmail to the database vpopmail. Everything works most excellently.
_________________
Knowledge is Power // Power Corrupts // Study Hard // Be Evil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
larry
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jan 2004
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri May 21, 2004 11:31 pm    Post subject: Access denied when I change password in /etc/vpopmail.com Reply with quote

Hi guys,
I am installing qmail, mysql, vpopmail, courier-imap... I was following the guide on ths website:
http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/qmail-howto.xml

When I change the password in /etc/vpopmail.conf, and add the database vpopmail as per the instructions, I get this error with vpopmail cmmands like vadddomain my.domain.com:

Quote:
could not connect to mysql update server Access denied for user: 'vpopmail@localhost' (Using password: YES)


but when I switch back to the default password "secret" and remake the vpopmail database, everything works fine. Can somebody give me a clue on how to fix this? Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Crymson
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Mar 2004
Posts: 200
Location: Flagstaff, AZ

PostPosted: Fri May 21, 2004 11:46 pm    Post subject: Re: Access denied when I change password in /etc/vpopmail.c Reply with quote

larry wrote:
Hi guys,
I am installing qmail, mysql, vpopmail, courier-imap... I was following the guide on ths website:
http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/qmail-howto.xml

When I change the password in /etc/vpopmail.conf, and add the database vpopmail as per the instructions, I get this error with vpopmail cmmands like vadddomain my.domain.com:

Quote:
could not connect to mysql update server Access denied for user: 'vpopmail@localhost' (Using password: YES)


but when I switch back to the default password "secret" and remake the vpopmail database, everything works fine. Can somebody give me a clue on how to fix this? Thanks.


My guess is, you didn't set a password for the vpopmail user in MySQL when you created the vpopmail database. In the tutorial, it talks about setting the privileges for the user using 'Your Password' or whatever. Whatever you type in there, must match what is in the /etc/vpopmail.conf file. I believe it is case sensitive. Try that, and you should be ok.
_________________
Knowledge is Power // Power Corrupts // Study Hard // Be Evil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ryker
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 May 2003
Posts: 412
Location: Portage, IN

PostPosted: Sat May 22, 2004 12:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
Please log into the "qmaild" account  and run
/var/qmail/bin/qmail-scanner-queue.pl -g

How do I log into qmaild account? I've tried and I'm asked for a password. Nothing I enter will work for the password, plus I never set one. Can I reset the password for qmaild somehow?
_________________
Athlon 64 3200+, 80G WD sata hd + 200G IDE, 1G Geil DDR400, MSI K8T Neo
IntelCore2Duo 2.0Ghz MSI laptop,100G SATA hd, 2G RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
darkweaseljedi
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Jan 2003
Posts: 101
Location: Minneapolis, MN

PostPosted: Sat May 22, 2004 1:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ryker: su qmaild
will make you qmaild

darkweasel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ryker
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 May 2003
Posts: 412
Location: Portage, IN

PostPosted: Sat May 22, 2004 1:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

darkweaseljedi wrote:
ryker: su qmaild
will make you qmaild

darkweasel


Thanks. I guess I should have known that by now. :oops:

I ran
Code:
/var/qmail/bin/qmail-scanner-queue.pl -g

no prob.

I followed everything in the install, but I can't get it working. I really wanted to use horde-imp so I followed the instructions for installing it from the official doc here. Per the instructions I can ssh username@mybox.org and run mutt. It shows my mail sent by the system daemons. When I try to login to horde-imp it won't let me. I can't log into horde-imp at all. I also can't log into qmail.
Since I have succesfully used squirrelmail before, I decided to install that and see if that would work. I couldn't log into that either. I'm stumped.
I can log into mysql with username vpopmail no prob.

I set up the following from the howto
apache2
mysql
qmail
mutt
vpopmail
courier-imap
horde-imp

spam database clients
    /usr/portage/dev-python/pyzor/pyzor-0.4.0-r1.ebuild
    /usr/portage/net-mail/razor/razor-2.40.ebuild
    /usr/portage/net-mail/dcc/dcc-1.2.28.ebuild
f-prot
mail-spamassassin
qmail-scanner
qmailadmin
squirrelmail

Anyone have any ideas?
_________________
Athlon 64 3200+, 80G WD sata hd + 200G IDE, 1G Geil DDR400, MSI K8T Neo
IntelCore2Duo 2.0Ghz MSI laptop,100G SATA hd, 2G RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ryker
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 May 2003
Posts: 412
Location: Portage, IN

PostPosted: Sat May 22, 2004 4:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

bump
_________________
Athlon 64 3200+, 80G WD sata hd + 200G IDE, 1G Geil DDR400, MSI K8T Neo
IntelCore2Duo 2.0Ghz MSI laptop,100G SATA hd, 2G RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Crymson
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Mar 2004
Posts: 200
Location: Flagstaff, AZ

PostPosted: Sat May 22, 2004 5:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Crymson wrote:
darkweaseljedi wrote:
Crymson: Can you log in to mysql as vpopmail on the command line?

ie : mysql -u vpopmail -p vpopmailspassword


Yes. See following:

Code:

mysql -u vpopmail -p vpopmail
Enter password:
Welcome to the MySQL monitor... etc etc


So, I log in as user vpopmail to the database vpopmail. Everything works most excellently.


Ok, I didn't mean to throw everyone off the scent. In reply to your post darkweaseljedi, I can log in via the command line using the vpopmail user. The "everything works" line was stating that as the vpopmail user, mysql works as it should, when logged in from the command line. I still can't use vadddomain, or vadduser without the aforementioned errors.

Is there anywhere else I can look for the solution to this problem? This is really getting annoying. As before, if I need to start over, do I just start from the very beginning, and overwrite the config files? Is there a better way to "uninstall" everything before starting again??

About ready to put a bullet through the screen...
_________________
Knowledge is Power // Power Corrupts // Study Hard // Be Evil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
darkweaseljedi
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Jan 2003
Posts: 101
Location: Minneapolis, MN

PostPosted: Sat May 22, 2004 1:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ryker: I'd fix 1 thing at a time. Before you worry about the spam addins, make sure you can log in via imap/pop3. I have no expirence with horde-imp: what is it?

Crymson:
What does your /etc/vpopmail.conf look like?
here's mine:
Code:

# Note:
#   The value of host may be either a hostname or an IP address.
#   If host is 'localhost', then sockets (Unix) or named pipes (Windows)
#   will be used instead of TCP/IP to connect to the server.
# Read-only DB
localhost|0|vpopmail|secret|vpopmail
# Write DB
localhost|0|vpopmail|secret|vpopmail


Where secret has replaced my password.

Under /var/vpopmail/etc I have modified 2 files.
1: defaultdomain, which only contains the default mail domain.
2: ln -s /etc/vpopmail.conf vpopmail.mysql

And the last thing I can think of:
Is mysql in your USE flags?

Code:

# emerge vpopmail -pv

These are the packages that I would merge, in order:

Calculating dependencies ...done!
[ebuild     UD] net-mail/vpopmail-5.2.2-r1 [5.4.0] -clearpasswd -ipalias +mysql


(i have 5.4.0 installed, not 5.2.2)

darkweasel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ryker
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 May 2003
Posts: 412
Location: Portage, IN

PostPosted: Sat May 22, 2004 2:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

darkweaseljedi wrote:
ryker: I'd fix 1 thing at a time. Before you worry about the spam addins, make sure you can log in via imap/pop3. I have no expirence with horde-imp: what is it?

Horde-imp is a web based email program. My school (Purdue) uses it and it's very nice.
I usually do one thing at a time and check everything as I am going along; however, this time I just followed the guide from top to bottom.

I checked if IMAP is working by using Evolution. I set up the imap account in evolution using ssl and it connects to the imap account and asks me for the password for my account, but it won't accept the password. I know absolutely for sure that I am using the correct password, because it works fine in mutt locally.

Just to clarify:
The mailserver etc that I just set up that isn't working properly is on another box. I am using ssh to log in and install everything remotely. If I ssh into my box with 'ssh username@mybox.org' I can log in fine. SSH asks for my password and accepts it. I can then type 'mutt' and see that I have messages. If I am at another machine and try to use evolution to access my IMAP account it doesn't accept my password. I also tried pop in evolution and it didn't like my password as well. Both were using ssl, I set it up to require ssl. I also can't log in using squirrelmail or horde-imp from any box. I can't check if it works using squirrelmail or horde-imp locally because I don't have/want X on that box.


Thanks for your help so far darkweaseljedi.
_________________
Athlon 64 3200+, 80G WD sata hd + 200G IDE, 1G Geil DDR400, MSI K8T Neo
IntelCore2Duo 2.0Ghz MSI laptop,100G SATA hd, 2G RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
darkweaseljedi
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Jan 2003
Posts: 101
Location: Minneapolis, MN

PostPosted: Sat May 22, 2004 3:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So horde-imp is much like squirrelmail.

It doesn't matter if you run either locally or remotely, they use local-imap to access your mail. (as it's actually running on the mail server box I assume).

First try to get either horde or squrrielmail working. Once either/both are working, then you know for sure that local imap is working. (I'm not familiar with mutt either, it's possible it uses local imap.)

I'll talk about squrrielmail cause that's what I know.
Did you run the ./configure in the squirrelmail directory?
If you do, under option 2 check that the domain is set correctly, and that A) is set to localhost:143 (unless you're running squrrielmail on a different box)

In /etc/smtp.tcp look for
Code:

127.0.0.1:allow,RELAYCLIENT="",RBLSMTPD=""

and make sure it's not commented out.
(if you have qmailscanner going like I do, it looks like this)
Code:

127.0.0.1:allow,RELAYCLIENT="",RBLSMTPD="",QMAILQUEUE="/var/qmail/bin/qmail-queue"


The other piece is courier-imap
You mentioned you're using SSL? Have you tried non-ssl or is that not an option?

(in order to use ssl you need to get a signed cert, which was more work than I cared to do)

In /etc/courier-imap
authdaemonrc should have the line
Code:

authmodulelist="authvchkpw"


And that's it. That's all I changed in that file.

In the imapd file, make sure IMAPDSTART=YES. (also, make sure the MAILDIRPATH= whatever you are calling Maildir/.maildir)

I assume it's very similar for imapd-ssl

Obviously if you change any of these files, make sure to do a /etc/init.d/servicename restart.

Hope this helps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ryker
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 May 2003
Posts: 412
Location: Portage, IN

PostPosted: Sat May 22, 2004 5:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

darkweaseljedi

Thanks for all of your suggestions. Unfortunately, none of them worked. The only thing is, you said to check /etc/smtp.tcp and I only have /etc/tcp.smtp. I assume that was just a typo. My tcp.smtp does have the lines you suggested, which is also what the howto said to put in their. I found another thread with someone with similiar problems. He reemerged vpopmail and courier-imap and said it worked. I tried the same but no dice. :(
I also can't login to qmailadmin.
You asked if I really need ssl. I don't, but why not use it? I successfully setup another mail server with ssl using postfix instead of qmail and qmail-scanner and I didn't have any problem. I suppose I could just remove everything and use postfix, but I want to try out qmail. Just a learning experience.
I also restarted the computer as a last resort to see if that made any difference, it didn't. I thought maybe I might have made some config changes and didn't restart the right services.
Thank you again for your time and help so far. If you or anyone else has any further suggestions I would appreciate it.
_________________
Athlon 64 3200+, 80G WD sata hd + 200G IDE, 1G Geil DDR400, MSI K8T Neo
IntelCore2Duo 2.0Ghz MSI laptop,100G SATA hd, 2G RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Crymson
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Mar 2004
Posts: 200
Location: Flagstaff, AZ

PostPosted: Sat May 22, 2004 9:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

darkweaseljedi wrote:

Crymson:
What does your /etc/vpopmail.conf look like?
here's mine:
Code:

# Note:
#   The value of host may be either a hostname or an IP address.
#   If host is 'localhost', then sockets (Unix) or named pipes (Windows)
#   will be used instead of TCP/IP to connect to the server.
# Read-only DB
localhost|0|vpopmail|secret|vpopmail
# Write DB
localhost|0|vpopmail|secret|vpopmail


Where secret has replaced my password.

Under /var/vpopmail/etc I have modified 2 files.
1: defaultdomain, which only contains the default mail domain.
2: ln -s /etc/vpopmail.conf vpopmail.mysql

And the last thing I can think of:
Is mysql in your USE flags?

Code:

# emerge vpopmail -pv

These are the packages that I would merge, in order:

Calculating dependencies ...done!
[ebuild     UD] net-mail/vpopmail-5.2.2-r1 [5.4.0] -clearpasswd -ipalias +mysql


(i have 5.4.0 installed, not 5.2.2)

darkweasel


Ok, first off, using 5.4.0 as well.
Code:

/etc/vpopmail.conf
# Spaces and tabs are fine.  Just don't use them
# In the password or usernames

MYSQL_UPDATE_SERVER   localhost
MYSQL_UPDATE_USER   vpopmail
MYSQL_UPDATE_PASSWD   secret #secret replaces my password

MYSQL_READ_SERVER   localhost
MYSQL_READ_USER      vpopmail
MYSQL_READ_PASSWD   secret #secret replaces my password


I have seen that type of file before, as you posted, but that is not what my install had me change. Should I comment out the stuff I have, and go with what you use?

Under /var/vpopmail/etc, I don't have a defaultdomain file. The symlink for the vpopmail.conf file is there, however. The contents of my directory look like this:

Code:

/var/vpopmail/etc
-rw-r--r--   1 root      root     inc_deps
-rw-r--r--   1 root      root     lib_deps
-rwxrwxrwx   1 vpopmail   vpopmail  vlimits.default
lrwxrwxrwx   1 vpopmail   vpopmail  vpopmail.mysql -> /etc/vpopmail.conf


Yes, mysql is in my USE flags. If I run what you showed, the emerge vpopmail -pv I get the exact same output.
_________________
Knowledge is Power // Power Corrupts // Study Hard // Be Evil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ryker
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 May 2003
Posts: 412
Location: Portage, IN

PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2004 1:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK. I went through the whole guide again and double checked everything again. It seems I have a vpopmail/mysql problem. There is a step in this guide that says to do the following:
Code:
# source /etc/profile
(You only have to do this if the vadddomain step below results in "command not found")
# vadddomain wh0rd.org postpass
(Now quickly verify the domain is setup properly)
# printf "postmaster@wh0rd.org\0postpass\0blah\0" | vchkpw `which id` 3<&0
uid=89(vpopmail) gid=89(vpopmail) groups=0(root)
(If you don't see something similar to above, then permissions somewhere are incorrect)
# vadduser vapier@wh0rd.org vappw

When I do the printf ... step I get the following error:
Code:
albertsrouter etc # printf "postmaster@albertsrouter.dyndns.org\0secret\0blah\0" | vchkpw `which id` 3<&0
could not create vlog table CREATE TABLE vlog ( id BIGINT PRIMARY KEY AUTO_INCREMENT,       user char(32), passwd CHAR(32),       domain CHAR(64), logon VARCHAR(200),       remoteip char(18), message VARCHAR(255),       timestamp bigint default 0 NOT NULL, error INT,       INDEX user_idx (user),       INDEX domain_idx (domain), INDEX remoteip_idx (remoteip),       INDEX error_idx (error), INDEX message_idx (message) )
error inserting into vlog table

Of course I get an error on the vadduser step as well. I have tried dropping the vpopmail database and recreating it and get the same error.
:?
_________________
Athlon 64 3200+, 80G WD sata hd + 200G IDE, 1G Geil DDR400, MSI K8T Neo
IntelCore2Duo 2.0Ghz MSI laptop,100G SATA hd, 2G RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
darkweaseljedi
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Jan 2003
Posts: 101
Location: Minneapolis, MN

PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2004 1:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Crymson: Try commenting it out and trying it my way. Can't hurt anything.

Ryker: did you do in mysql:
Code:

GRANT ALL on vpopmail.* to vpopmail identified by "password"


where password is the same password as the password you chose in your "/etc/vpopmail.conf" file.

darkweasel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ryker
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 May 2003
Posts: 412
Location: Portage, IN

PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2004 2:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Actually I originally did
Code:
grant select, insert, update, delete, create, drop on vpopmail.* to vpopmail@localhost identified by 'your password';
but I just tried this
Code:
drop database vpopmail;
create database vpopmail;
use mysql;
grant all on vpopmail.* to vpopmail@localhost identified by 'your password';
flush privileges;
quit;

I then tried
Code:
printf "postmaster@albertsrouter.dyndns.org\0gotohell2\0blah\0" | vchkpw `which id` 3<&0
and got the same error.
_________________
Athlon 64 3200+, 80G WD sata hd + 200G IDE, 1G Geil DDR400, MSI K8T Neo
IntelCore2Duo 2.0Ghz MSI laptop,100G SATA hd, 2G RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
darkweaseljedi
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Jan 2003
Posts: 101
Location: Minneapolis, MN

PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2004 2:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No easy answers. :)

If you log in to mysql as vpopmail (mysql -u vpopmail -p ) and use the vpopmail database, can you create tables?

darkweasel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ryker
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 May 2003
Posts: 412
Location: Portage, IN

PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2004 2:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

darkweaseljedi wrote:
No easy answers. :)

If you log in to mysql as vpopmail (mysql -u vpopmail -p ) and use the vpopmail database, can you create tables?

darkweasel

yep
I just tried the following
Code:
mysql -u vpopmail -p
Enter password:
Welcome to the MySQL monitor.  Commands end with ; or \g.
Your MySQL connection id is 3 to server version: 4.0.18
 
Type 'help;' or '\h' for help. Type '\c' to clear the buffer.
 
mysql> use vpopmail;
Database changed
mysql> show tables;
Empty set (0.00 sec)
 
mysql> CREATE TABLE employee_data
    -> (
    -> emp_id int unsigned not null auto_increment primary key,
    -> f_name varchar(20),
    -> l_name varchar(20),
    -> title varchar(30),
    -> age int,
    -> yos int,
    -> salary int,
    -> perks int,
    -> email varchar(60)
    -> );
Query OK, 0 rows affected (0.01 sec)
 
mysql> show tables;
+--------------------+
| Tables_in_vpopmail |
+--------------------+
| employee_data      |
+--------------------+
1 row in set (0.00 sec)
 
mysql>

should there already be some tables in vpopmail or should it just initially be an empty database?
_________________
Athlon 64 3200+, 80G WD sata hd + 200G IDE, 1G Geil DDR400, MSI K8T Neo
IntelCore2Duo 2.0Ghz MSI laptop,100G SATA hd, 2G RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
darkweaseljedi
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Jan 2003
Posts: 101
Location: Minneapolis, MN

PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2004 4:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

From the howto:

Code:
> emerge /usr/portage/net-mail/vpopmail/vpopmail-5.4.0.ebuild
First log into mysql as your mysql root user and pass. Then:
> create database vpopmail;
> use mysql;
> grant select, insert, update, delete, create, drop on vpopmail.* to vpopmail@localhost identified by 'your password';
> flush privileges;
 
If you have problems with vpopmail not accepting mail properly,
please ensure that /etc/vpopmail.conf is chmod 600 and
owned by vpopmail:vpopmail


I'd assume that the vpopmail database starts empty and the vpopmail program creates the tables it needs.

I'm out of ideas. :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ryker
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 May 2003
Posts: 412
Location: Portage, IN

PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2004 4:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks darkweaseljedi for all of your help. Right now I am starting from scratch at the beginning of the howto. Maybe I will have better luck this time. :)
_________________
Athlon 64 3200+, 80G WD sata hd + 200G IDE, 1G Geil DDR400, MSI K8T Neo
IntelCore2Duo 2.0Ghz MSI laptop,100G SATA hd, 2G RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Crymson
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Mar 2004
Posts: 200
Location: Flagstaff, AZ

PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2004 6:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Still no luck. I did the following:

Code:

mysql -u root -p

mysql> drop database vpopmail;
Query OK, 0 rows affected (0.00 sec)

mysql> create database vpopmail;
Query OK, 1 row affected (0.00 sec)

mysql> use mysql;
Database changed

mysql> GRANT select, insert, update, delete, create, drop on vpopmail.* to vpopmail@localhost identified by 'password';
Query OK, 0 rows affected (0.00 sec)

mysql> flush privileges;
Query OK, 0 rows affected (0.00 sec)

mysql> quit
Bye


Now, I'm fairly certain the single quotes when defining the password up above are *NOT* part of the actual password. Needless to say, I then went in to the /etc/vpopmail.conf file, and changed the password to password.

Now that that is finished, I once again tried to insert a record in to the vpopmail database, by using the command "vadddomain mydomain.org"
Here's a transcript of the full error:

Code:

enterprise etc # vadddomain crymson.org
Please enter password for postmaster:
enter password again:
enterprise etc #


And now it works??? Wow. I dunno what the hell I did, but now it works. Thanks so much jedi!!!!

I can't quite figure out WHAT was not properly working... but at least I can add users now. Now to go back in there, and change the password ... :)
_________________
Knowledge is Power // Power Corrupts // Study Hard // Be Evil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 23, 24, 25  Next
Page 2 of 25

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum