Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
HOWTO:Download Cache for your LAN-Http-Replicator (ver 3.0)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 11, 12, 13 ... 22, 23, 24  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
flybynite
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Dec 2002
Posts: 620

PostPosted: Fri Feb 11, 2005 5:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

zsoltika wrote:
How to configure to download from the outernet only from the local machine?


You might be able to do what you want, but http-replicator was not designed to work that way.

If you really want to know how I would try it, PM me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
flybynite
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Dec 2002
Posts: 620

PostPosted: Fri Feb 11, 2005 9:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

zsoltika wrote:
Our sysadm and firm uses internet quota which means every single user have a limited amount of download capabilities.

So if we set this replicator thing the question is:
if the package.(tar.(gz|bz2)|tgz|rpm|.*){1} wouldn't be found on any of the mate's cache neither mine -

How to configure to download from the outernet only from the local machine?


NOTE: THIS IS A SPECIAL SETUP AND WON'T WORK FOR NORMAL USE!!!!
NOTE: THIS IS A SPECIAL SETUP AND WON'T WORK FOR NORMAL USE!!!!
NOTE: THIS IS A SPECIAL SETUP AND WON'T WORK FOR NORMAL USE!!!!


At first your request was so special I didn't think anyone else would benefit from it. Then I thought it will show the power and flexibility of http-replicator!!



The best solution would be to have your firm install http-replicator with it's own download limit. You and your friends could donate a portion of your limit to it if necessary.

The next best thing is this....


What you want is for each of the gentoo users to install http-replicator on their box.

In each users /etc/conf.d/http-replicator change this line to add a second --alias like so:
Code:

DAEMON_OPTS="$DAEMON_OPTS --alias /usr/portage/packages/All:All --alias /var/cache/http-replicator:distfiles"


In each users /etc/make.conf set http_proxy="their own http-replicator"
In each users /etc/make.conf set the other users boxes in GENTOO_MIRROR in /etc/make.conf like so:
Code:

GENTOO_MIRRORS="http:otherbox:8080 http://otherbox2:8080 http://rest of your mirrors"



Then it will work as you requested!! Downloads will come from the cache first, your friends cache next, then your box will download the file from the internet. All files you've downloaded will be available to your friends.


Whats the trick you ask? Http-replicator can serve cache content as a normal http server. The alias option allows requests for different dirs to be served from different dirs on disk.

Setup like this, http-replicator acts like a caching proxy for localhost and as a general http-server for your friends.

Sorry I haven't tested this but I believe it should work.... I know of one problem. If your friend sets your box as http_proxy, his downloads will come from your box. I can't think of a way to prevent this right now. You will of course have logs to prove that he is abusing your download limit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zsoltika
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 Nov 2003
Posts: 634
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Fri Feb 11, 2005 7:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

First thank for your answer I think we should implement it from monday, and I will write about the tests, thanks again. I really love this community.
flybynite wrote:

The best solution would be to have your firm install http-replicator with it's own download limit. You and your friends could donate a portion of your limit to it if necessary.

<ot>
This would be really great. I asked him many times, but he is a red hatted guy. Anyway he's really good kind of a man, except switching from red hat/fedora.
</ot>

Zsoltika
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zsoltika
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 Nov 2003
Posts: 634
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Mon Feb 14, 2005 8:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is seems to us that it's working, so thanks again flybynite!

Got only one suggestion: it would be great if http-replicator on browser access should sort the accesible files alphabetically.

As I'm not good at python, neither OOP, I just found that this is the code to patch, but don't know what and how:
Code:
for tail in os.listdir(head or os.curdir): # iterate over directory contents
  if tail.startswith('.'): # don't list hidden files
    continue
  path = os.path.join(head, tail) # create path
  if os.path.isdir(path): # path is a directory; append slash and skip size
    print >> self.counterpart.data, '<a href="%s/%s/">%-63s -' % (self.direct,
tail, tail[:50]+'/</a>'), # ez egy sor a felette levolvel
  else: # path is a file
    print >> self.counterpart.data, '<a href="%s/%s">%-54s %10i' %
(self.direct, tail, tail[:50]+'</a>',  os.path.getsize(path)), # ez is egy sor
    print >> self.counterpart.data, time.ctime(os.path.getmtime(path))


But it's only a feature request...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zsoltika
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 Nov 2003
Posts: 634
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Thu Feb 17, 2005 1:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok I figured it out, but as I mentioned I'm not a python expert, so possibly this isn't the best solution...

Code:

zsoltika = os.listdir(head or os.curdir)
zsoltika.sort()
for tail in zsoltika : # iterate over directory contents
  if tail.startswith('.'): # don't list hidden files
    continue
  path = os.path.join(head, tail) # create path
  if os.path.isdir(path): # path is a directory; append slash and skip size
    print >> self.counterpart.data, '<a href="%s/%s/">%-63s -' % (self.direct,
tail, tail[:50]+'/</a>'), # ez egy sor a felette levolvel
  else: # path is a file
    print >> self.counterpart.data, '<a href="%s/%s">%-54s %10i' %
(self.direct, tail, tail[:50]+'</a>',  os.path.getsize(path)), # ez is egy sor
    print >> self.counterpart.data, time.ctime(os.path.getmtime(path))


After thisediting, the http:// requested page'll be sorted in [0-9A-Za-z] order.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
flybynite
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Dec 2002
Posts: 620

PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2005 7:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That should work alright... Thanks for the suggestion!

The file listing feature is really just a byproduct of making http-replicator compatible as a "PORTAGE_BINHOST". Thus making http-replicator able to serve both as an distfile mirror and also as a binary package mirror.

Although most users probably use it with just a couple of boxes, my goal is to allow hundreds or thousands of users where I must keep the memory and cpu usage low.

Your probably the first user to actually look at the output, portage doesn't care what order the files are in!!

The file listing feature will probably be optional in the next version, maybe sorting will also be an option :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zsoltika
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 Nov 2003
Posts: 634
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2005 7:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

flybynite wrote:

Your probably the first user to actually look at the output, portage doesn't care what order the files are in!!
The file listing feature will probably be optional in the next version, maybe sorting will also be an option :-)


Just did that because of the other (non gentoo, so I'm looking forward to convert them all, Gentoo to rule the world :D ) linux users always downloading some sources (especially the kernel ones), and as I told them to download from me, they had asked for sorting the list. And that "code" is under the same license as yours :D

Zsoltika
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stodas
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 11:10 am    Post subject: Fantastic Solution - Minor Problem Reply with quote

This is a fantastic solution to installing and maintaining Gentoo on multiple machines :)

Sorry if this has been covered before. There are so many posts I probably missed it :oops:

I only have one minor problem. While emerging a large file on a client machine my internet connection dropped out half through the download. After re-establishing the connection and starting emerge again the download just hung while trying to resume. I noticed that http-replicator on the server didn't cache the partly downloaded file. Deleting the partial download on the client has allowed things to get moving again. The problem I have is that my connection is slow and unreliable which makes this situation almost unworkable for large files. Is there any way of getting http-replicator to resume the download of a partially downloaded file?

Thanks for your time :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
flybynite
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Dec 2002
Posts: 620

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 7:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That is in the works, but complicated. Until then, change your mirror. Slow, choked mirrors can give problems even on a fast connection!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xuttuh
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jan 2003
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2005 7:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just want to comment you on this ebuild, this is just a wonderfull program that I couldn't live without for all my boxen. I have just ran into one problem, I updated to sys-apps/baselayout-1.11.9-r1 and it http-replicator stoped working with this error.

Code:

>>> Downloading http://gentoo.osuosl.org/distfiles/eject-2.0.13.tar.gz
--01:24:48--  http://gentoo.osuosl.org/distfiles/eject-2.0.13.tar.gz
           => `/usr/portage/distfiles/eject-2.0.13.tar.gz'
Connecting to 192.168.1.1:8080... failed: Invalid argument.
Retrying.


here are some of the revalent packages I have installed.

Code:

[ebuild   R   ] sys-apps/portage-2.0.51.19  -build -debug (-selinux) 277 kB
[ebuild   R   ] sys-apps/baselayout-1.11.9-r1  -bootstrap -build -debug -livecd -static (-uclibc) 158 kB
[ebuild   R   ] net-misc/http-replicator-3.0  0 kB


Here is my /etc/conf.d/http-replicator

Code:

GENERAL_OPTS="--dir /var/cache/http-replicator"
GENERAL_OPTS="$GENERAL_OPTS --user portage"
DAEMON_OPTS="$GENERAL_OPTS"
DAEMON_OPTS="$DAEMON_OPTS --alias /usr/portage/packages/All:All"
DAEMON_OPTS="$DAEMON_OPTS --log /var/log/http-replicator.log"
DAEMON_OPTS="$DAEMON_OPTS --debug"
DAEMON_OPTS="$DAEMON_OPTS --ip 192.168.1.*"
DAEMON_OPTS="$DAEMON_OPTS --port 8080"


I would post http-replicator's log but there is nothing in there but it starting and stoping since I emerged sys-apps/baselayout-1.11.9-r1.

I would downgrade the baselayout to the "stable" one in portage but I am using the new wireless networking features.

Any help in this would be great.

Timothy
_________________
"Bad spellers of the world untie"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
flybynite
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Dec 2002
Posts: 620

PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2005 9:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

xuttuh wrote:
I just want to comment you on this ebuild, this is just a wonderfull program that I couldn't live without for all my boxen. I have just ran into one problem, I updated to sys-apps/baselayout-1.11.9-r1 and it http-replicator stoped working with this error.



Thanks!

xuttuh wrote:



Code:

>>> Downloading http://gentoo.osuosl.org/distfiles/eject-2.0.13.tar.gz
--01:24:48--  http://gentoo.osuosl.org/distfiles/eject-2.0.13.tar.gz
           => `/usr/portage/distfiles/eject-2.0.13.tar.gz'
Connecting to 192.168.1.1:8080... failed: Invalid argument.
Retrying.





Although it's possible some change did break something, my first guess is that is not the problem.

Code:

root # etcat -v baselayout
[ Results for search key           : baselayout ]
[ Candidate applications found : 8 ]

 Only printing found installed programs.

*  sys-apps/baselayout :
        [  I] 1.9.4-r6 (0)
        [M  ] 1.9.4-r7 (0)
        [M  ] 1.11.8-r3 (0)
        [M~ ] 1.11.9-r1 (0)
        [M~ ] 1.11.10 (0)
        [M~ ] 1.11.10-r1 (0)
        [M~ ] 1.11.10-r2 (0)
        [M~ ] 1.12.0_alpha1-r2 (0)


With all these versions of baselayout it's a little hard to test them all :-) And its possible you updated something else besides baselayout?

Either way we can fix this if you are willing to help!!

1. Did you update the server box and the clients or both?
2. Reboot both client and server boxes if you haven't. Linux usually needs a logout and log back in but some changes like the kernel and baselayout are so deep that a reboot is the best test.
3. What happens when you browse the cache with firefox?
http://192.168.1.1:8080/
http://192.168.1.1:8080/All
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xuttuh
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jan 2003
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2005 11:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

After sitting down and thinking what I changed in the past 3 days, I realized that I removed net.lo from startup. :oops: Once I started it back up, everything worked fine again.

Thanks flybynite for proding me to take to the time to think of the unobvious (or my stupidity whatever we want to call it :D).

EDIT: really bad grammer.

Timothy
_________________
"Bad spellers of the world untie"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
al
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Dec 2002
Posts: 304
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 1:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can i just say thanks for this HowTo.

I have been using Lan-Http-Replicator probably 6 months now on my Gentoo Server and have 4 other Gentoo boxes requesting files from it and everthing works flawlessly.

Its great to emerge something and see it arriving at 7MB/s instead of 56KB/s.

I also have all my boxes requesting web pages through Squid so if you guys noticed the internet has been a bit quicker lately its down to me.

:D :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hielvc
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 2805
Location: Oceanside, Ca

PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2005 2:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another domo arigato :!: and if you dont understand my version of japness, Thanks.
_________________
An A-Z Index of the Linux BASH command line
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
obsidianblackhawk
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Mar 2005
Posts: 237
Location: Sac Town USA

PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2005 1:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

first of all Flybynite, awesome program thanx. My question is this.

Is there any way to make it so that after installing a program on the client box, that the clients disfiles directory is cleaned out as well. You know what i mean?

Emerge a program, http-replicator gets the file, my client gets the file, but i only want the file premanatly stored on the server running http-replicator.i ewant it removed from the client after it is installed.

Is there any way to do this automatically?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zsoltika
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 Nov 2003
Posts: 634
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2005 5:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

obsidianblackhawk wrote:
Emerge a program, http-replicator gets the file, my client gets the file, but i only want the file premanatly stored on the server running http-replicator.i ewant it removed from the client after it is installed.
Is there any way to do this automatically?


Not an elegant solution but why not do this:
Code:
emerge -<flags> <package|world|system> && rm /usr/portage/distfiles/*.*

But should be much more simple way (as far as I see) to mount the server's /var/cache/http-replicator directory via samba or nfs.
So the server will do an
Code:
emerge -DNuf world && repcacheman
then all the files from the servers distfiles dir will be move to the cache and will be available to clients.
Just ignore it if it's dumb.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BolO
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Apr 2005
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2005 11:56 am    Post subject: http-replicator help Reply with quote

Hi there, am busy setting up your system but when I try to start the service I get

Quote:
* Caching service dependencies ...
* Service 'dnsmasq' already provided by 'dns'!;
* Not adding service 'named'... [ ok ]
* Starting Http-Replicator ...
usage: http-replicator [options]

http-replicator: error: port 8080 is not available
* Failed to start Http-Replicator



Can anyone help me on this?>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blotto
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Jul 2003
Posts: 116
Location: Whitehaven UK

PostPosted: Wed Apr 20, 2005 11:18 pm    Post subject: Downloading from proxy stalls! Reply with quote

Hi
Just set up lan http-replicator and rsync mirror which works OK - except for one small prob.

When doing an emerge from another machine the download from the cache stops before completing
On 2 occasions it stalled at 93% and the corresponding log entry for http-replicator was:-

Quote:
20 Apr 2005 23:42:27 INFO: HttpClient 50 proxy request for http://ftp.gentoo.skynet.be/pub/gentoo/distfiles/dialog_1.0-20050206.orig.tar.gz
20 Apr 2005 23:42:27 INFO: HttpServer 50 serving file from cache
20 Apr 2005 23:42:27 STAT: HttpClient 50 received 299742 bytes


It does not seem to be size related since the time before this it was qt which is 14M+

Anyone else seen this ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
flybynite
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Dec 2002
Posts: 620

PostPosted: Sun Apr 24, 2005 4:08 pm    Post subject: Re: Downloading from proxy stalls! Reply with quote

blotto wrote:
Hi
On 2 occasions it stalled at 93% and the corresponding log entry for http-replicator was:-

Quote:

20 Apr 2005 23:42:27 INFO: HttpServer 50 serving file from cache



This is caused by a corrupt file in replicators cache. It's not supposed to happen, but it does happen. I can't duplicate the problem so it must be just a few broken http servers or a bizarre network error that causes this.

The fix will be to have repcacheman check the cache and the distfile dir. This is due in the next version.

In the mean time you can force repcacheman to check all the cache or just delete the offending files from the cache.

If your cache and the distfile dir are on the same partition this is quick, if different then it just takes longer.
Code:

mv /var/cache/http-replicator/* /usr/portage/distfiles/
repcacheman
rm /usr/portage/distfiles/*


Last edited by flybynite on Sun Apr 24, 2005 4:33 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
flybynite
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Dec 2002
Posts: 620

PostPosted: Sun Apr 24, 2005 4:11 pm    Post subject: Re: http-replicator help Reply with quote

BolO wrote:
Hi there, am busy setting up your system but when I try to start the service I get

Quote:

http-replicator: error: port 8080 is not available


Can anyone help me on this?>


You have another program using port 8080. It could be a second copy of http-replicator or another program.

Run this to show port usage:
Code:

netstat -pletu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blotto
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Jul 2003
Posts: 116
Location: Whitehaven UK

PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2005 5:33 pm    Post subject: Re: Downloading from proxy stalls! Reply with quote

flybynite wrote:


This is caused by a corrupt file in replicators cache. It's not supposed to happen, but it does happen. I can't duplicate the problem so it must be just a few broken http servers or a bizarre network error that causes this.

The fix will be to have repcacheman check the cache and the distfile dir. This is due in the next version.

In the mean time you can force repcacheman to check all the cache or just delete the offending files from the cache.

If your cache and the distfile dir are on the same partition this is quick, if different then it just takes longer.
Code:

mv /var/cache/http-replicator/* /usr/portage/distfiles/
repcacheman
rm /usr/portage/distfiles/*


Hi again, tried your recommendations but repcacheman said "no dupes and none corrupt" and it still does it !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
killercow
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Jan 2004
Posts: 86
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2005 10:20 am    Post subject: cluster on internet cafe opertunity's? Reply with quote

Hi,

Im wondering if this program could be used to do the following:

Create a single point for portage to store all of the synced files. Probably mounted trough NFS/SAMBA, or queried by a special portage clone.
Create a single server/machine who would handle compiling programms (possible helped by other machines trough distcc and ccache)

Create a way to handle different arch and make options on one server.

This would be the sweetest option available for things like clusters/schools/internet cafe's.

Since most of these situations can't have:
their nodes compile things for them selves,
And have their nodes configured in a couple of different ways.
And Ususally have a couple of nodes per config/arch set.
And only need one portage cache.

This would imply that any machine in the lan could just do an emerge or emerge world -up, and it would go query the shared portage tree for its packages depening on tis own config set.
It would then ask the http_proxy thingy for the binay packages for its arch and make config.
The proxy would then either give that package, so it can be installed, Or it could start compiling it (maybe with the help of other machines (including the requestor) trought distcc)
Since this would also imply that some packages will be build with different use/make flags but would not be different (eg the make fags don't apply) it would be handled the simpest by using a large +2GB? ccache.

Any other thoughts on this?

I would use it for my cluster consisting of 5 servers all configured the same., 1 other server, which only has two other make flags.
And one completely different server, (different arch, and setup, because its the fileserver)
This would help my cluster to get managed the way a setup like that should, (just call the emerge world -up command on every machine, and im set,)
And if i need a special package on ony of the nodes, it could just emerge it, and it would get recorded in that node's world file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bigmacx
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Nov 2004
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2005 4:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm using the http-replicator for distfile sharing among about 5 pc's. This thread has been very helpful, but I have one question about the usage of http-replicator.

In using the http-replicator service, the source tarballs are still downloaded to the local client, just from a LAN source, not neccessarily the Internet. So there would appear to be a concern about the local client disk filling up. I imagine an easy fix for that would be to run an "rm -r -f /usr/portage/distfiles/*" after an "emerge --update world".

Q1: Is there any emerge or portage command to automaticaly delete the sources after emerge-ing?

In the HOWTO, there is mention of occassional running of the "replcacheman" command. From what I can tell, this reccomendation concerns only the http-replicator server, not the clients. And from what I understand, "replcachman" moves all valid packages from dstfiles to http-replicator-cache.

Q2: Can the http-replicator server use itself also as a proxy for the dstfiles and eliminate the need to run "replcacheman" repeatedly beyond the inital install?

Previously, I used nfs/samba for sharing the dstfiles among these 5 pc's and did not have a local space concern for the dstfiles. The http-replicator, combined with the local rsyncd server described elsewhere, makes for a GREAT automation system for locally administrering Gentoo linux PC's!!!!!!

Now if I could just find something to help with the big-picture administration workflow of testing the updates on an exact clone of the current system BEFORE adding the updates to the production install. I get a feeling that automatically rsync-ing and "emerge --update world" creates production systems that are just a tad bit more reliable than auto-WindowsUpdate.:oops:
_________________
Gentoo forever baby!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zsoltika
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 Nov 2003
Posts: 634
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2005 5:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bigmacx wrote:
Q1: Is there any emerge or portage command to automaticaly delete the sources after emerge-ing?

You can set up a really "complex" shell script like this:
Code:
#!/bin/bash
/usr/bin/emerge $@ && rm /usr/portage/distfiles/*.*

Then save it to somewhere for example Emerge.sh end set up an alias for it:
Code:
alias emerge='/whereyousavedit/Emerge.sh'

AFAIK it's a feature request in the bugzilla if emerge should remove the sources (from the distfiles dir) after a succesful install.
bigmacx wrote:
Q2: Can the http-replicator server use itself also as a proxy for the dstfiles and eliminate the need to run "replcacheman" repeatedly beyond the inital install?

Sorry it should be my english, but I don't understand what you meant.[/code]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bigmacx
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Nov 2004
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2005 6:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

zsoltika wrote:
bigmacx wrote:
Q2: Can the http-replicator server use itself also as a proxy for the dstfiles and eliminate the need to run "replcacheman" repeatedly beyond the inital install?

Sorry it should be my english, but I don't understand what you meant.[/code]
Thanks for script reccomendation.

For Q2, I understand that when the http-replicator gets a request from the client, that it transfers the source file to the client's local dstfile directory from the HR cache directory. And if that file is not in the cache, it downloads the file first.

Now, for the http-replicator server itself, if the HR server is not setup to use it's own proxy (the PROXY= line in the make.conf), then the HR server will download the source files directly from the Internet to the HR server's dstfile directory.

The way I read the HOWTO, the above statement is the entire reason for running the "replcacheman" command at all beyond the initial install.

So my thought was to configure the HR server to use the HR proxy. That way, emerge's on the HR server would populate the HR cache the same way the clients do and I could just delete the HR server's distfiles/* the same way I would on the clients.
_________________
Gentoo forever baby!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 11, 12, 13 ... 22, 23, 24  Next
Page 12 of 24

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum