Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
1GB RAM?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
rburcham
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Mar 2003
Posts: 223

PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2004 3:08 am    Post subject: 1GB RAM? Reply with quote

I have a G4 400 AGP, until recently with 384 MB RAM. I have been running Gentoo on it for a year and a half, using kernels from ppc-sources, so recently 2.4 series. Everything has been groovy.

I just put 1GB of RAM in it. Booting into MacOS shows the full GB. Booting into Linux shows the following:

Code:
# free
             total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
Mem:        772016     660088     111928          0      78456     435540
-/+ buffers/cache:     146092     625924
Swap:       511992          0     511992


I'll worry about upping/adding to the swap later... right now I'd like to make a kernel that sees all the RAM. I know from my experience with building x86 kernels that I need to config the CONFIG_NOHIGHMEM to 4GB to do this.

However I do not see the option in the PPC kernels. Am I missing it somewhere?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
genfoo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Apr 2003
Posts: 192

PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2004 8:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think this might still be a limitation (or at least it was at some point in time). There also used to be highmem problems on ppc at one point which I think are now resolved.

There is definately a HIGHMEM option for PPC, but I think that on 2.4.x you might be hitting the ceiling with 768 megs detected ... you might want to do some googling to verify this however...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rburcham
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Mar 2003
Posts: 223

PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2004 10:14 pm    Post subject: i think you're right... Reply with quote

I think you must be right. While the the kernel config in ppc-sources-2.4.24-r4 does have an option for HIGHMEM, it has greyed out the all the tunable options associated with it. Also, there is no help available on these options.

Booting the kernel built after I enable HIGHMEM locks up the machine during USB device discovery.

So I guess I'll have to wait until this is sorted out on the PPC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
genfoo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Apr 2003
Posts: 192

PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2004 10:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think this has been reworked for the 2.6.x series of kernels (which I've run on PPC for some time) ... I'm currently using the 2.6.5 vanilla from kernel.org which works on every PPC machine I own without large issues ... so you might try that route.

I don't imagine that the highmem issues in 2.4.x will be addressed... IIRC there were some technical reasons why it wasn't fixed up as opposed to someone just not getting around to it...

Hope this helps
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SeJo
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 08 Oct 2002
Posts: 298
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Fri May 21, 2004 9:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

in my kernel (used to have 2.4 and now 2.6)
i set CONFIG_HIGHMEM=y
then it does work...
i have 1Gb also...
_________________
"I am not bound to please thee with my answers."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mand
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jul 2005
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2007 3:12 pm    Post subject: Only 1GB memory available - 2GB installed Reply with quote

Finally i got my G5 to boot into my new installed Gentoo, sweet ;-)

but...

Code:
localhost ~ # free
             total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
Mem:       1007516     111084     896432          0      40616      38876
-/+ buffers/cache:      31592     975924
Swap:      1048568          0    1048568


The question is.

Is there some sort of kernel switch i need to turn on to support more than 1GB?

Or could it be hardware specific? I installed 3x512 of one brand and the last 512 was a another brand. Maybe that causes this?

I would appriciate any help.

Thanks in advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43559
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2007 3:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mand,

You need to set Himem in the kernel then rebuild your kernel
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mand
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jul 2005
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2007 3:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
mand,

You need to set Himem in the kernel then rebuild your kernel


No such option in my kernel: Linux kernel version: 2.6.20-gentoo-r5

I tried to put it in manually in .config file, but it was removed by menuconfig.

Anyone has any idea?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43559
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2007 4:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mand,
Code:
Platform options ->
  High memory support (HIGHMEM)
perhaps?

Thats on ARCH="ppc". I must admit, I missed the forum name when I posted and I'm looking at a ppc kernel setup on a x86.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
randalf
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Jan 2006
Posts: 61
Location: Dresden

PostPosted: Mon May 28, 2007 6:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mand wrote:
NeddySeagoon wrote:
mand,

You need to set Himem in the kernel then rebuild your kernel


No such option in my kernel: Linux kernel version: 2.6.20-gentoo-r5
I tried to put it in manually in .config file, but it was removed by menuconfig.

Anyone has any idea?

There is an option for 2.6.20-gentoo-r5.
Kernel options ---> [*] High memory support.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 3:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PowerPC 64 does not have a HIGHMEM option.

Apple says that the RAM must be installed in matched pairs:
http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=86414

Most likely, your RAM isn't matched properly, so the G5 doesn't use the mismatched pair. You could boot OSX to check and see if it sees the mismatched pair or not.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corsair
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Posts: 451
Location: Aachen, Germany

PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2007 6:29 am    Post subject: Re: Only 1GB memory available - 2GB installed Reply with quote

mand wrote:
Or could it be hardware specific? I installed 3x512 of one brand and the last 512 was a another brand. Maybe that causes this?


yes, like JoseJX said. You have to install ram in pairs. use 2x512 or 4x512! your configuration just does not work! It's not a kernel problem here.

-corsair
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum