Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Tips on installing Lotus Domino server on Gentoo !
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Nar
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 May 2002
Posts: 49
Location: Sandton, South Africa

PostPosted: Mon Oct 07, 2002 9:20 am    Post subject: Tips on installing Lotus Domino server on Gentoo ! Reply with quote

Hi Gentoores

I have installed Domino on our server and I got some tips on getting it to work as you want to.

1. Install Gentoo. You dont have to install X at all. We don't need it. Just the bare system.

2. Update Gentoo.
emerge -u system
emerge -p world

3. Add the user "notes" and also the group "notes".

4. emege IBM JDK 1.3.1
This is for the calander and resource database to work. If you dont install this version of java your resource database won't work :(

5. Untar the domino server file to a temporary directory.

6. cd to this dir: /where_you_untated_it _to/linux/tools/lib

7. Edit the following file : MiscUtil.pl
Change this line(line 244): "$cmd = "/bin/df -k $existPath";" to: "$cmd = "/bin/df -Pk $existPath";"
Other wise domino installation is going to complain about space on your server.

8. Complete the install of Domino.

The hostname of the server must be the same as the name that you give your domino server. Expl: If your servers name is "foo". Then you domino servers name must also be "foo". In domino it might look something like this "foo/DOMAIN". If you dont do it like this domino will struggel to open ports for http,smtp and pop3.

Feel free to ask me questions ?

Hope it helps

By the way. Notes rock on 1.4r1 :)

Thanks

Nar
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
joncellini
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Sep 2002
Posts: 7
Location: Beaverton, OR

PostPosted: Mon Oct 07, 2002 5:12 pm    Post subject: R5 or R6 Reply with quote

Cool. Did you try this with Domino R5 or R6?
_________________
--
You've glimpsed the fist within the Bene Gesserit glove. Few glimpse it and live.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
X-SoCiaL
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Jul 2002
Posts: 160
Location: Filipstad/Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Oct 07, 2002 8:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Very interesting ...

At work Im running Domino R5 on SuSE Linux 8.0 ... works great. Problem with SuSE is that its hell to customize it. No matter what file ya open in /etc it's a shellscript a 100.000+ lines long :?

Well, nice to know that their is always a Gentoo installation to fall back on in case ...

/Roger
_________________
~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~
: Would I do it if I couldnt do it with a computer?
~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nar
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 May 2002
Posts: 49
Location: Sandton, South Africa

PostPosted: Tue Oct 08, 2002 6:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi

This is why we switched from SuSE to Gentoo. I don't say SuSE is bad or anything. Gentoo is just more easy to manage. Gentoo seems to be alot more stable and faster with domino.

We use R5. For now :)

Nar
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
joncellini
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Sep 2002
Posts: 7
Location: Beaverton, OR

PostPosted: Wed Oct 09, 2002 3:38 am    Post subject: R5 or R6 Reply with quote

Ok, was curious. I have a buddy that just setup R6 on Redhat. I am trying to convince him to make the switch over to Gentoo :)
_________________
--
You've glimpsed the fist within the Bene Gesserit glove. Few glimpse it and live.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nar
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 May 2002
Posts: 49
Location: Sandton, South Africa

PostPosted: Fri Nov 01, 2002 1:30 pm    Post subject: Domino 6 on Gentoo Reply with quote

Hi People

I have installed Domino 6 on one of our servers and I got some tips on getting it to work as you want to.

1. Install Gentoo. You do need to install X if you want to make use of the new Domino Java install tool. I did try to install it without the Java installer but it didn't work.

2. Update Gentoo.
emerge -u system
emerge -p world

3. Add the user "notes" and also the group "notes".

4. emege sun-jdk
This is to finish the install of Domino. In Domino 6 they use there own java programs, but this crashed the install on my system.

5. Untar the domino server file to a temporary directory.

6. Run the "install" script in the temoparay directory. And finish the install script.

7. "cd" to "/opt/lotus/notes/60000/linux".

8. Remove the link to there java program "rm java".

9. Make a link to the sun-jdk java program. "ln -s /opt/sun-jdk-x.x.x.x/bin/java".

10. Log in as the user notes and start X. If you use xdm you dont have to startx ;}

11. Open a shell. "cd" to where you installed the data part of domino. The defaults is "/local/notesdata".

12. Run the following command: "/opt/lotus/bin/server". This will start the Domino Java Installer.

13. Finish the install of Domino.

14. Change to user "root".

15. "cd" to "/opt/lotus/notes/60000/linux".

16. Remove the link to the sun-jdk java program "rm java".

17. Make a link to the Domino's java program. "ln -s /opt/lotus/notes/60000/linux/jvm/bin/java".

18. Change user back to notes and start the Domino server as usual :)

The hostname of the server don't have to be the same as the name that you give your domino server. If you do struggel to open ports for http,smtp and pop3 do the following. "cd" to "/opt/lotus/notes/your_version_of_notes/linux/". "chmod +s bindsock". If that doesn't do the trick, look for any other instanses of "bindsock".

Please note that this how-to don't come wiht a garuntee or warentee. I am also sure the IBM guys don't support the way I have installed it. But it works and that's all what counts. If it doesn't work post a messages and I will try to help :)

Nar
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jsw
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Nov 2002
Posts: 47
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Dec 14, 2002 6:03 pm    Post subject: Problem with installing Lotus Domino 6 server on Gentoo Reply with quote

Hi,
I've tried to install domino on gentoo with all tips of this thread.

Installation is successfully done, but I can't start the server (in notesdata directory):

"/opt/lotus/notes/latest/linux/server" couldn't find libstdc++-libc6.1-1.so.2 and libnotes.so
Solved: I've made such a symlink to gentoo's libstdc++
and an new entry with the path to /opt/lotus/... in /etc/ld.so.conf and start "ldconfig"

After restart the server I get the error:
/opt/lotus/notes/latest/linux/server: relocation error: /opt/lotus/notes/latest/linux/libnotes.so: undefined symbol: cerr

My installation: gentoo 1.4, "emerge -u system" was in last week so I think the system is relative up to date.

Any idea?

Joerg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
X-SoCiaL
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Jul 2002
Posts: 160
Location: Filipstad/Sweden

PostPosted: Sun Dec 15, 2002 2:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

emerge lib-compat
_________________
~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~
: Would I do it if I couldnt do it with a computer?
~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jsw
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Nov 2002
Posts: 47
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Dec 17, 2002 7:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanx,
problems solved after emerging lib-compat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kaihansen
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jul 2002
Posts: 37
Location: Italy / Torino

PostPosted: Mon Jan 13, 2003 3:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi all.

I've installed Domino R6 on Gentoo.

I couldn't install sun-jdk (emerge fails ... j2se-....bin it seems to be corrupted), so I used blackdown-jdk.

I hope this can be useful.

Bye, D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ClaesBas
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jul 2002
Posts: 38
Location: Stockholm

PostPosted: Mon Jan 13, 2003 10:44 pm    Post subject: I had to do some symbolic links when I installed R5... Reply with quote

I had to do some symbolic links with some librarys when I installed R5 on Gentoo!
Found that information in the Domino Release Notes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gianbeos
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Jun 2002
Posts: 7
Location: Turin

PostPosted: Sat Jan 18, 2003 12:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kaihansen wrote:
Hi all.

I couldn't install sun-jdk (emerge fails ... j2se-....bin it seems to be corrupted), so I used blackdown-jdk.

I hope this can be useful.

Bye, D


You don't need the jdk tool; it's sufficient install only the jre stuff, so you can save some time. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ClaesBas
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jul 2002
Posts: 38
Location: Stockholm

PostPosted: Sun Jan 26, 2003 11:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Reading "Linux patch requirements" in the release notes for R5.0.11:

Quote:
By supporting specific distributions, a certain set of patches is guaranteed. At the lowest level, Linux kernel 2.2.5 or greater is required, along with glibc 2.1.1 or greater, and libstdc++ 2.9.0 or greater. Each of the supported/certified distributions contains these levels or higher. There is one exception to this rule: the version of glibc/libstdc++ installed must contain the libstdc++-libc6 naming convention. If it does not, you must make the appropriate link yourself (for example, on Red Hat 6.0, the file is /usr/lib/libstdc++-libc6.1-1.so.2. on Caldera 2.2, this naming convention is not used and therefore you must link /usr/lib/libstdc++-libc6.1-1.so.2 to the file /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.2.9.0 , which is the appropriate library). A distribution that meets these requirements should be able to accommodate the Domino server


I found out that I had to make some symbolic links In /usr/lib:
Code:

libstdc++.so.2.9 -> libstdc++-libc6.1-1.so.2
libstdc++.so.2.9.0 -> libstdc++-libc6.1-1.so.2


Maybe someone should try to make an "ebuild" for R6.0.1 (-bin) when it comes out after Lotuspere...

Which Java (-JRE) should it depend on :?:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ricy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 18
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Fri Apr 23, 2004 6:55 pm    Post subject: problems installing notes 6.5 Reply with quote

hello together,

i have got a problem when installing notes 6.5.

what i emerged:
Code:

ibm-jre
lib-compat
x11

then i installed notes. here the output of notes:

    Fatal Error extracting filegroup.
    cd /local/notesdata; /usr/bin/cat /tmp/lotus_notes/linux/linux/sets/fgroups/fg49.taz | gunzip -c | /bin/tar xvf -
    ./
    ./afrikaan.dic
    ./aus.dic
    ./brasil.dic
    ./canadien.dic
    ./catala.dic
    ./czech.dic
    ./dansk.dic
    ./deutsch2.dic
    ./deutsch.dic
    ./dschweiz.dic
    ./espana.dic
    ./francais.dic
    ./hellas.dic
    /bin/tar: Skipping to next header
    /bin/tar: Archive contains obsolescent base-64 headers
    /bin/tar: Error exit delayed from previous errors

thanks for every help!
_________________
Microsoft is not the answer - Microsoft is the question. The answer is NO!

http://schweizer.selfip.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ricy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 18
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Wed Apr 28, 2004 7:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

update:

my tar-file was corrupt.:evil:

using the original cd solved my problem.
_________________
Microsoft is not the answer - Microsoft is the question. The answer is NO!

http://schweizer.selfip.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ashleydrees
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jul 2004
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Jul 05, 2004 5:53 pm    Post subject: AMD 64 / domino / gentoo / gotchas Reply with quote

hi all - lots of great stuff about domino and gentoo, i agree with the thoughts about suse.

my question is has anyone installed on an amd opteron based system - i intend to run several partitioned domino servers on the box.

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ricy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 18
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2004 6:59 am    Post subject: AMD 64 / domino / gentoo Reply with quote

I think there is no difference if you use a amd - opteron system or an other system.

The only thing is that java runs (it is installed during the installation). The domino-server uses java.
_________________
Microsoft is not the answer - Microsoft is the question. The answer is NO!

http://schweizer.selfip.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Boworr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jul 2004
Posts: 45
Location: England. Where the history comes from.

PostPosted: Tue Aug 03, 2004 9:16 pm    Post subject: Running Domino 7 Beta 2 :-) Reply with quote

I just installed the beta 2 of Domino 7 on a 2.4 kernel :-)

Tips
Install worked fine without having to switch JDK's! (I already had Sun 1.4 installed)
Remember to xhost+ before running the 2nd part of the install so it can talk to your X server
I do get warning messages "This linux kernel does not have the required epoll I/O readiness notification facility."" which I think is only in United Linux at the moment (maybe in the 2.6 kernels?). I'm assuming scalability will be unchanged from 6.5 because of this
I get NSDs as soon as I start the LDAP tasks... so don't :-)

So far so good.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ricy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 18
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2004 4:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

somebody here who wants to start notes with an init-script:

Code:

#!/sbin/runscript
# domino Start/stop the Lotus Domino server
#
# chkconfig: 345 95 95
# description: This script is used to start and stop the domino
# server as a background process.
# It is only for gentoo linux!
# It will send
# the serverID password from a file to the server.
# Communication with the server has to be done through
# console, Notes Administrator or webadmin.
#
# Usage: /etc/rc.d/init.d/domino start|stop
#
# process name: server, ...
# opts="${opts} reload"



# Change the USER, GROUP, DATA_DIR and BIN_DIR for your server
DOMINO_USER="notes"
DOMINO_GROUP="notes"
DOMINO_DATA_DIR="/local/notesdata"
DOMINO_BIN_DIR="/opt/lotus/bin"

# We need a file to put the serverID password in.
# Make sure the owner is the Domino owner and the file
# permissions are set to 400

SERVER_PASSWD_FILE="/home/notes/.notespwd"

# See if the user that runs this script is root

if [ `id -u` != 0 ]; then
echo "This script must be run by root only"
exit 1
fi



# dependencies
depend() {
        need net
}



# start domino-server
start() {
# First, check if the password file exists,
# and if not, exit with an errorcode
if [ ! -f $SERVER_PASSWD_FILE ] ; then
echo "Error: no password file."
exit 1
fi

# Set permission to 400 (read-only-owner)
# and ownership to $DOMINO_USER. These next lines are
# not necessary if the ownership was set correctly the first time.

chmod 400 $SERVER_PASSWD_FILE
chown $DOMINO_USER.$DOMINO_GROUP $SERVER_PASSWD_FILE

# Two ways to run the server (comment one of them out)
# 2. With the output of the console redirected to /dev/null

echo -n "Starting domino server..."

# Version with logfile
su - ${DOMINO_USER} -c "cd ${DOMINO_DATA_DIR};\
cat ${SERVER_PASSWD_FILE} | ${DOMINO_BIN_DIR}/server" \
>> /var/log/domino 2>&1 &

# Version without logfile
# su - ${DOMINO_USER} -c "cd ${DOMINO_DATA_DIR};\
# cat ${SERVER_PASSWD_FILE} |\
# ${DOMINO_BIN_DIR}/server" > /dev/null 2>&1 &

echo "done."

}


stop() {

# See if the user that runs this script is root

if [ `id -u` != 0 ]; then
echo "This script must be run by root only"
exit 1
fi

echo -n "Stopping Domino server. "
su - ${DOMINO_USER} -c "cd ${DOMINO_DATA_DIR}; ${DOMINO_BIN_DIR}/server -q"

echo "Domino Server stopped"
}

_________________
Microsoft is not the answer - Microsoft is the question. The answer is NO!

http://schweizer.selfip.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum