Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Yabootconfig Problem
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
simon_b
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Jun 2004
Posts: 46
Location: Hamilton, NZ

PostPosted: Fri Jun 04, 2004 11:49 pm    Post subject: Yabootconfig Problem Reply with quote

when i run yabootconfig i get past the first question which is where it installs the bootstrap, also the one where i specify my kernel but then i get this error message:-

ofpath: /dev/ROOT not such file or directory
yabootconfig: Unable to determine OpenFirmware device name to /dev/ROOT, aborting...

I have Dual 2GHZ G5 if that helps at all!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stimuli
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Dec 2002
Posts: 292
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Jun 05, 2004 12:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

you have to set /dev/ROOT to /devhdax, where x is a number that corresponds to your root partition.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
simon_b
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Jun 2004
Posts: 46
Location: Hamilton, NZ

PostPosted: Sat Jun 05, 2004 12:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

stimuli wrote:
you have to set /dev/ROOT to /devhdax, where x is a number that corresponds to your root partition.


my root partition is /dev/sda4 so what should it type?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
simon_b
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Jun 2004
Posts: 46
Location: Hamilton, NZ

PostPosted: Sat Jun 05, 2004 2:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

also when i type ofpath /dev/sda i geth this:-

/ht@0,f2000000/pci@7/k2-sata-root@c/k2-sata@0/disk@0:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruda
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 May 2004
Posts: 376
Location: Sherbrooke, QC, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Jun 05, 2004 2:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

simon_b wrote:
stimuli wrote:
you have to set /dev/ROOT to /devhdax, where x is a number that corresponds to your root partition.


my root partition is /dev/sda4 so what should it type?


Well, replace /dev/ROOT with /dev/sda4 then (that's in /etc/fstab, you did change it as per instructions, right?).

Quote:
also when i type ofpath /dev/sda i geth this:-

/ht@0,f2000000/pci@7/k2-sata-root@c/k2-sata@0/disk@0:


This goes into the device= line in /etc/yaboot.conf. It may not be needed, depending on the Yaboot version and who knows what else (but it does not hurt to have it). You seem to have a G5, here is how a minimal /etc/yaboot.conf would look like on such a machine:

Code:
boot=/dev/sda2
device=/ht@0,f2000000/pci@7/k2-sata-root@c/k2-sata@0/disk@0:
init-message="Welcome to Turing.\n\n"
partition=4
timeout=30
install=/usr/lib/yaboot/yaboot
magicboot=/usr/lib/yaboot/ofboot
default=linux

image=/boot/vmlinux-2.6.4-1.1321-smp32
        label=linux
        root=/dev/sda4
        read-only
        append="hda=ide-cd"

delay=10
enablecdboot


(of course, this is on my system, change things such as /dev/sda2 and /boot/vmlinux-... as appropriate)
_________________
Quid latine dictum sit altum videtur
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pindar
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Apr 2004
Posts: 220

PostPosted: Sat Jun 05, 2004 3:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don't know if this is relevant, but on my G5, the of way of addressing sda is just hd: You just have to try and see what works, the worst that can happen is your box not booting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BON
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jun 2004
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sat Jun 05, 2004 11:48 pm    Post subject: Hope you dont mind...I would like to add my problem too. Reply with quote

First off I have a ibook firewire 466mghz 256meg ram 10 gig hardrive...

Now.. I have installed gentoo just fine... but yaboot will install just not boot for anything. Boot to the cd fine.. but no hd:3 partitions are as follows.... /dev/hda1 apple map part, /dev/hda2/ boot strap, /dev/hda3 root, and /dev/hda4 is swap, kernel sets in /dev/hda3/boot part of a ext3 file system. one thing that seems strange is the mac-fdisk never matches the fdisk /dev structure. unless i do some strange moving around. but.... like i say .. yaboot installs fine.. just dont work.... let me know if someone has some insight.....I would be greatly appreciative..... ahsta....
bonzai
_________________
ahhh man...... not again..... stupid new kernel..... quit chang n the chicken...!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
simon_b
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Jun 2004
Posts: 46
Location: Hamilton, NZ

PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2004 3:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

bruda wrote:
simon_b wrote:
stimuli wrote:
you have to set /dev/ROOT to /devhdax, where x is a number that corresponds to your root partition.


my root partition is /dev/sda4 so what should it type?


Well, replace /dev/ROOT with /dev/sda4 then (that's in /etc/fstab, you did change it as per instructions, right?).



Here is my fstab

Code:

/dev/sda3              none           swap    noauto,noatime  0 0
/dev/sda4              /              etx3    noatime         0 1
none                   /proc          proc    defaults        0 0
none                   /dev/shm       tmpfs   defaults        0 0
/dev/cdroms/cdrom0     /mnt/cdrom     auto    noauto,user     0 0
none                   /proc/bus/usb  usbfs   defaults        0 0


does that look right?


Last edited by simon_b on Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:35 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
simon_b
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Jun 2004
Posts: 46
Location: Hamilton, NZ

PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

here's a dump of my partitions are they setup correctly?

Code:

/dev/sda
        #     type name                             length   base      ( size )  system
dump:name     /dev/sda len 8
/dev/sda1     Apple_partition_map Apple                 63 @ 1         ( 31.5k)  Partition map
/dev/sda2     Apple_Bootstrap bootstrap               1600 @ 64        (800.0k)  NewWorld bootblock
/dev/sda3     Apple_UNIX_SVR2 swap                 1048576 @ 1664      (512.0M)  Linux swap
/dev/sda4     Apple_UNIX_SVR2 root                42152192 @ 1050240   ( 20.1G)  Linux native
/dev/sda5     Apple_HFS Apple_HFS_Untitled_6     215487552 @ 43202432  (102.8G)  HFS
/dev/sda6     Apple_Free Extra                      262144 @ 258689984 (128.0M)  Free space
/dev/sda7     Apple_HFS Apple_HFS_Untitled_7      53629664 @ 258952128 ( 25.6G)  HFS
/dev/sda8     Apple_Free                                16 @ 312581792 (  8.0k)  Free space

Block size=512, Number of Blocks=312581808
DeviceType=0x0, DeviceId=0x0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
simon_b
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Jun 2004
Posts: 46
Location: Hamilton, NZ

PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2004 12:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok i started again from stage 1 and emerged the gentoo-dev-sources kernel which is 2.6.5 installed yaboot and this is what happens:-

Code:

livecd / # yabootconfig
yaboot is the Linux Loader for PowerPC.  yabootconfig sets up your system to boo
t directly
from your hard disk, without the need for a boot CD, floppy or a network boot.
Install yaboot bootstrap on /dev/sda2 to boot Linux from /dev/sda4? [Yes] y
Creating a simple /etc/yaboot.conf...
yabootconfig: Could not determine necessary information, aborting...
yabootconfig: Are you using chroot yabootconfig instead of yabootconfig --chroot
 ?
livecd / #


and if i exit the chroot environment and run it again this is what happens!

Code:

livecd root # yabootconfig -t /mnt/gentoo
yaboot is the Linux Loader for PowerPC.  yabootconfig sets up your system to boo
t directly
from your hard disk, without the need for a boot CD, floppy or a network boot.
Install yaboot bootstrap on /dev/sda2 to boot Linux from /dev/sda4? [Yes] y
Creating a simple /mnt/gentoo/etc/yaboot.conf...
ofpath: Driver: sata_svw is not supported
yabootconfig: Unable to determine OpenFirmware device name to /dev/sda, aborting
...
livecd root #


please help! :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BON
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jun 2004
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2004 1:01 am    Post subject: see if you can boot to root Reply with quote

I can boot from the cd to root=/dev/hda3 and seems to work fine. I cannot seem to get the yaboot to do right thought... I did find out that the ultra0 is the same as the hd and that the boot strap partition is the only partition that says bad partition can't open all teh others say not valid.... just dont get it... might just go back to a x86 machine.. just wanted the apple hardware cause seems more durable of a laptop than my 10lb p25 toshiba.... Thanks in advance...

bon
_________________
ahhh man...... not again..... stupid new kernel..... quit chang n the chicken...!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
simon_b
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Jun 2004
Posts: 46
Location: Hamilton, NZ

PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2004 2:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

well i tried booting the machine with the alt key pressed and i can choose my linux disk and boot off it! i get to the stage1 bootstrap where i press l for linux then it comes up with and error in line blah blah in yaboot.conf and it leaves me at the yaboot promt. I then type hd:4,/boot/vmlinux and i can boot into gentoo and its all working fine! where do i go from here??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
porodzila
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 May 2004
Posts: 307
Location: Terrapin Station

PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2004 3:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

do you mean that you have a working, installed system? if you do you should start emerging stuff. there is a section in the online version of the handbook about where to go next. I usually start with
Code:

emerge naim

so that I can talk to people while I'm emerging X or other things I want.
_________________
ubi primum potero, me hinc subduco.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mox2k
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Feb 2004
Posts: 119

PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2004 8:10 am    Post subject: Re: Yabootconfig Problem Reply with quote

simon_b wrote:
when i run yabootconfig i get past the first question which is where it installs the bootstrap, also the one where i specify my kernel but then i get this error message:-

ofpath: /dev/ROOT not such file or directory
yabootconfig: Unable to determine OpenFirmware device name to /dev/ROOT, aborting...

I have Dual 2GHZ G5 if that helps at all!


I have experienced with yabootconfig and think it is not usable (at least not on the G5). Instead I am using mkofboot and /etc/yaboot.conf.
When configuring /etc/yaboot.conf mind the following:

/dev/hda must be replaced with /dev/sda.
The "device" option must be set to: "device=hd:".

If you want to have Mac OS X in your bootloader use
hd:<#>
(where # is your Mac OS X root partition) directive instead of "/dev/sda<#>".

To create the bootstrap file system run:

mkofboot -v -b dev/sda<#> -o hd:<#>
(where # is the number of your bootstrap partition).

If, in the future you change your yaboot configuration you can run:

ybin -v -b dev/sda<#> -o hd:<#> to update your bootstrap partition.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
simon_b
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Jun 2004
Posts: 46
Location: Hamilton, NZ

PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2004 9:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

awesome!! thanks a lot it works fine now :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BON
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jun 2004
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Wed Jun 09, 2004 3:33 pm    Post subject: Yaaaaaabooooooottttttt crap... HELP please... Reply with quote

Wish all my problems werwe soved with the yaboot config file... but.. Mine keeps saying that the partition is invalid while trying to boot it.. I go the right partition.. but no matter if i write 0's to it and reinstall yaboot partition or cleans with holy penguin pee... I still cant get the sorry worm infested apple crud to boot...... errrrr....... but boots cd fine... I tried to check the partition once long ago .. and of coarse the kernel on the doesnt support hfs.... !!

Thanks in advance.....
Bonzai...... on the way to doing the kamakazi banzai whatoo on this apple worminfested stinking rotten dog smellin junk........lol! :twisted:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pindar
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Apr 2004
Posts: 220

PostPosted: Wed Jun 09, 2004 3:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have no idea if this will work for you, but I had similar problems which went away when I simply put a symlink to vmlinux on the root layer of my gentoo partition:
Code:
cd /
ln -s /boot/vmlinux vmlinux

YMMV!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BON
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jun 2004
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Wed Jun 09, 2004 4:12 pm    Post subject: ok..so didnt work again... with penguin pee included... Reply with quote

Man.... this stinks.... any other suggestions.. would greatly be appreciative....



Bon
_________________
ahhh man...... not again..... stupid new kernel..... quit chang n the chicken...!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mox2k
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Feb 2004
Posts: 119

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2004 10:59 am    Post subject: Re: ok..so didnt work again... with penguin pee included... Reply with quote

BON wrote:
Man.... this stinks.... any other suggestions.. would greatly be appreciative....



Bon


What _exactly_ does the error message say? Have you tried mkofboot with the parameters described? What does mkofboot say?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BON
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jun 2004
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sat Jun 12, 2004 5:11 am    Post subject: well think i got part of it... Reply with quote

I think i found part of the problem.. I saw in another post ..... something about sending a hd=1,1,1 at the open firmware prompt.. only problem is .. at this point... I cant get there from here.. since I flushed the whole thing and started over.. now having problem with boot strapping.. so i havent actually had a chance to see if the hd=thing will work.. check here for the rest of the story... https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=184717 .

bon

this penguin pee is drawing flies.. .... shouldnt i put it in the fridge or something??????
_________________
ahhh man...... not again..... stupid new kernel..... quit chang n the chicken...!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BON
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jun 2004
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun Jun 13, 2004 7:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So I am back to the drawing board Guess I am going to have to make a boot cd....



bon
_________________
ahhh man...... not again..... stupid new kernel..... quit chang n the chicken...!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
simon_b
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Jun 2004
Posts: 46
Location: Hamilton, NZ

PostPosted: Sun Jun 13, 2004 9:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BON wrote:
So I am back to the drawing board Guess I am going to have to make a boot cd....



bon


post your fstab here for us to look at....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BON
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jun 2004
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2004 2:06 am    Post subject: configs... below.. thanks.. for looking.. Reply with quote

-------------------------------------------fstab as follows...
#/dev/BOOT /boot ext2 noauto,noatime $
/dev/hda3 / ext2 noatime $
/dev/hda2 none swap sw $
/dev/cdroms/cdrom0 /mnt/cdrom iso9660 noauto,ro $
#/dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy auto noauto $

# NOTE: The next line is critical for boot!
none /proc proc defaults $


-----------------------------------------mac-fdisk
dump: name /dev/hda len 8
/dev/hda1 Apple_partition_map Apple 63 @ 1 ( 31.5k) Partition map
/dev/hda2 Apple_Bootstrap bootstrap 1600 @ 64 (800.0k) NewWorld bootblock
/dev/hda3 Apple_UNIX_SVR2 swap 1048576 @ 1664 (512.0M) Linux swap
/dev/hda4 Apple_UNIX_SVR2 root 18590640 @ 1050240 ( 8.9G) Linux native


---------------------------------------------------------yaboot. config.......


boot=/dev/hda2
device=hd:
partition=3
#root=/dev/hda3
timeout=30
install=/usr/lib/yaboot/yaboot
magicboot=/usr/lib/yaboot/ofboot

image=/boot/vmlinux-2.6.5-b1
label=Linux
root=/dev/hda3
read-only
partition=10
append = "video-aty128fb:vmode:10:depth:8:"

Now.... you know what i know.. well i am sure you know more.. lol... any help would be greatly appreciative....


bon
_________________
ahhh man...... not again..... stupid new kernel..... quit chang n the chicken...!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrdavedog
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Feb 2004
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2004 4:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well right now your yaboot.config is telling yaboot that your root partition is your swap.

From mac-fdisk:
Code:

/dev/hda3 Apple_UNIX_SVR2 swap 1048576 @ 1664 (512.0M) Linux swap

From your yaboot.config:
Code:

root=/dev/hda3

and both your fstab and yaboot.config don't match your partitioning scheme.

Given this is your disk layout:

Code:

-----------------------------------------mac-fdisk
dump: name /dev/hda len 8
/dev/hda1 Apple_partition_map Apple 63 @ 1 ( 31.5k) Partition map
/dev/hda2 Apple_Bootstrap bootstrap 1600 @ 64 (800.0k) NewWorld bootblock
/dev/hda3 Apple_UNIX_SVR2 swap 1048576 @ 1664 (512.0M) Linux swap
/dev/hda4 Apple_UNIX_SVR2 root 18590640 @ 1050240 ( 8.9G) Linux native


This should be in your fstab:
Code:

/dev/hda4 / ext2 noatime $
/dev/hda3 none swap sw $


and your yaboot.conf file should have:
Code:

root=/dev/hda4


Then reinstall yaboot:
Code:

ybin -v /dev/hda2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BON
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jun 2004
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2004 5:01 am    Post subject: ok... i would agree with that.. Reply with quote

but.. when i boot the cd..... i can do a root=/dev/hda3 and it boots to the root system.. anything else and it wont..... now... i went ahead and changed everything to what you stated would be correct.. and what i thought would be too..... here is what i get..
no hd shows up.... when holding down the alt keys.. only cd...
then if i goto the firmware prompt and type in simply boot...i get
bad partition table cant open: /pci@f20000000/mac-io@17/ata-4@1f000/disk:2,\\:tbxi

now.. i do a devalias and it shows the device string above being

ultra0 and hd
also if i try to do a root=/dev/hda4 kernel option at the cd yabot prompt it kernel panix because of not finding the file system..
so....looks like its hitting it right but no yaboot ....

bon
_________________
ahhh man...... not again..... stupid new kernel..... quit chang n the chicken...!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum