Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Using GRUB to Dual-Boot Windows on a Second Hard Drive
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Camulus
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Jan 2003
Posts: 223
Location: Cornellà - Bcn

PostPosted: Thu Nov 13, 2003 10:30 pm    Post subject: About dual boot... arrgh! Reply with quote

This will be for long ;-)
I have a problem triing to install winXP in my box (for whom ask why i want WinXP having linux, the answer is so simple: to play!).
My HDs are the next ones:
hda1 - Gentoo boot
hda2 - swap
hda3 - root
hda4 - mldonkey (reiserfs)
hdb1 - FAT32 (full of data - warehouse)
hdb2 - FAT32 - blank - where i want to put WinXP ;-)
How it comes?
1.- Boot from XP cdrom. It crashes 5 of 6 times when it checks the hardware. One time it boots say me that it needs a free partition in first HD.
2.- Power-off all linux HDs. Set hdb as master in ide0 and boot again
3.- After 6 or 7 faliure boots (crash on hardare detect again) it starts to install in D: (horay! horay!)
4.- Copy all the files and reboot itself (all semms oks)

After this, 2 things:
a) If i left to reboot as it, it boots the CDROM again and thinks it's a new install. From the start point!!
b) If i put off the cdrom, it boots from HD, but say me "bad disk" and no boot.

I think it can be because C: (hdb1) is a FAT32 partition with data stored in it and winXP NEEDS to be in the first partition of HD. Could someone confirm my suspect?

Thanks (and yes! yes! yes! I hate M$)
_________________
If you wanna run cool, you got ro run on heavy, heavy fuel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
velociphile
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 43
Location: Sydney, Australia

PostPosted: Fri Nov 14, 2003 10:24 pm    Post subject: Windows could not start because of a computer disk hardware. Reply with quote

Firstly, thank you very, very much Darth, this was just exactly what I needed.

Secondly, to help anyone else having the same problem I did:

"Windows 2000 could not start because of a computer disk hardware configuration problem"

This turned out to be because Windows installation had [mis]configured the entry in c:\boot.ini as signature() rather than multi().

My old c:\boot.ini:
--------------------
[boot loader]
timeout=30
default=signature(e38d91e4)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINNT
[operating systems]
signature(e38d91e4)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINNT="Windows 2000 (signature bootline)" /fastdetect


My new (working) c:\boot.ini
---------------------------------
[boot loader]
timeout=30
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINNT
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINNT="Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional" /fastdetect

As a useful by-product, it made Windows boot quicker too.

Hope this helps
_________________
"1830: Press Return."

Vista will solve all your problems. People keep telling me so it must be true.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
firebob57
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Nov 2003
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Nov 30, 2003 10:02 pm    Post subject: more grub/windows problems Reply with quote

ok i dont really understand whats going on here, but here's what i have:
master = gentoo (hd0)
slave = winxp (hd1)

gentoo boots fine, but when i try to boot winxp,
i get 'grub commands:' and it lists the commands from
the grub.conf, and after the root (hd1,0) it says
'filesystem ext2fs, partition-type 0x83' which makes no
sense because it should be a vfat or whatever windows
filesystem it has on here. heres my grub.conf:

Code:

default 0
timeout 10

title=gentoo
  root (hd0,0)
  kernel (hd0,0)/boot/kernel-2.4.20-gentoo-r8 root=/dev/hdb3
  initrd (hd0,0)/boot/initrd-2.4.20-gentoo-r8

title=windowsxp
  map (hd0) (hd1)
  map (hd1) (hd0)
  root (hd1,0)
  rootnoverify (hd1,0)
  makeactive
  chainloader +1


i just dont understand how it can think both hd0 and hd1 are
ext2fs, when thats not completely impossible. something may
have happened because i changed the boot order of the hard-
drives from the windows drive being first to the gentoo
drive being first after the initial install/building, but all of the grub
stuff was done after that. another possible place was i may have
run setup (hd1) thinking it was the gentoo drive but they had been
flipped after switching the boot order. i tried re-emerging grub
and starting everything over, same problem. any ideas?

-andy[/code]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dapoppa1
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Dec 2003
Posts: 4
Location: Rhode Island

PostPosted: Fri Dec 12, 2003 7:53 am    Post subject: Other Way Around Reply with quote

Will this work if my drives are they other way around (Windows = hda, Linux = hdb) if I just adjust the terms in menu.lst?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
plate
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Jul 2002
Posts: 1663
Location: Berlin

PostPosted: Fri Dec 12, 2003 10:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now, if Windows is already on your first drive, what would you want to remap the drives for? Linux certainly doesn't need you to trick it into believing that it's residing on the first disk... No, this Howto only applies to Windows on the second disk.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dapoppa1
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Dec 2003
Posts: 4
Location: Rhode Island

PostPosted: Sat Dec 13, 2003 2:36 am    Post subject: Re: Reply with quote

Alright, so in this particular case (windows is hda and linux hdb), what would i have to do in order for linux to boot up automatically?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
miha
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 Nov 2003
Posts: 78

PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2003 10:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This works except that once windows is halfway through boot it give me the blue screen(boy did I miss those) with UNMOUNTABLE_BOOT_VOLUME error...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
juri
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Dec 2003
Posts: 88
Location: Pistoia - Italy

PostPosted: Fri Dec 19, 2003 6:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A question related to the master/slave configuration for dualbooting with win89:
I'm going to add a CDWriter to my PC, actually I have the win98 hard drive on primary master, linux on the secondary master (I'm booting with the floppy!!) and the CD-ROM om the secondary slave. Should I install the CDRW on the secondary master, that is free, or should I change the whole configuration, consider that I want to install gentoo using the script posted here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
olias2
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Aug 2003
Posts: 234
Location: CANADA

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2003 11:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

juri wrote:
Should I install the CDRW on the secondary master, that is free, or should I change the whole configuration, consider that I want to install gentoo using the script posted here.
Secondary master for the CD-RW is good as well as the rest of your drives. Also, because your Windows drive is the primary-master (hd0,0) you only need the following for Grub to boot that partition...(see the install guide)
Code:
title=Windows
root (hd0,0)
chainloader +1


BTW, thanks Darth
_________________
A wise man realizes that he too is a fool and then humbles himself to learn that which is greater than he.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WebsterRF
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sun Dec 28, 2003 11:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Let me add my thanks...this works like a charm. I know it can be done, but I don't believe in putting linux and windows on the same hard drive. I like the seperation. While I've been in process of swapping between the two, I was literally just plugging and unplugging hard drives in.

Now that I finally purchased the hard drive I planned on having the gentoo system on, I put that as the master, and of course couldn't boot into windows because it was the slave drive. This tip of course fixed that problem.

So, now all is well. I have a mountable NTFS read only system in gentoo, and if I want I can boot into the ol' win2k to get at or edit something. Once I have a window manager installed I don't expect to do it very often, but Microsoft did just send me a complimentary version of small business server 2003 I may want to play with and this trick will make it easier to do so. I don't have any spare machines at work to play with that sort of thing (which is a predominantly microsoft shop with one FreeBSD server)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bidders
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Apr 2003
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun Jan 04, 2004 12:50 am    Post subject: Cheers, cracking bit of info. Reply with quote

Like almost everyone else who's replied here, this was just the bit of info I needed. Ta very much. I messed up when I did the mappings. or rather, after I did them... I didn't realise I had to refer to the original name of the drive, rather than the one you just mapped it to. Thanks again.

This is why I love the gentoo way... the people in the forums are genuinely helpful and give good advice, the way the Linux community used to be.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
soma1992
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Dec 2002
Posts: 121
Location: CT, USA

PostPosted: Sun Jan 04, 2004 2:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know I'm regurgitating everyone else but this is exactly what I needed!

THANKS FOR THE HARD WORK :D
_________________
...or el duderino if you're not into the whole brevity thing...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oniony
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Feb 2003
Posts: 31
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Feb 29, 2004 2:15 am    Post subject: Re: Using GRUB to Dual-Boot Windows on a Second Hard Drive Reply with quote

Darth_Daver wrote:

title=Windows 2000 Pro
map (hd0) (hd1) # Tell the first hard drive to pretend to be the second
map (hd1) (hd0) # Tell the second hard drive to pretend to be the first

root (hd1,0) # Tell GRUB Windows is on /dev/hdb1 (No pretending here)
rootnoverify (hd1,0) # GRUB won't attempt to mount the Windows drive
makeactive # Sets the partition to active
chainloader +1 # Tells GRUB to load the Windows bootloader when done


Is it necessary to have both root and rootnoverfiy? I thought rootnoverify had the same function as root but without the mounting?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
S. Traaken
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Nov 2003
Posts: 135

PostPosted: Thu Mar 04, 2004 3:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another thanks. This was spot on :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
transsib
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Jul 2003
Posts: 872

PostPosted: Sat Mar 06, 2004 4:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh thank You, thank You and another thanks :lol:

This is a dream come true.

I've ditched LVM, bought a new, fast 120 GB harddisc and copied my gentoo as is but without lvm onto the new drive, which is master of course.

I gave the old ibm hdd to win, which is now slave.
Worked for me with rootnoverify without (hd1,0) behind it.

I've added win to /etc/fstab

Code:
/dev/hdb1      /mnt/Windows   vfat      noauto,user,gid=users,umask=0002.iocharset=iso8859-1,code=437      0 0


Noauto, because Linux won't mount it. I can mount it manually though. But fdisk tells me this here:
Code:
# fdisk /dev/hdb1

The number of cylinders for this disk is set to 79767.
There is nothing wrong with that, but this is larger than 1024,
and could in certain setups cause problems with:
1) software that runs at boot time (e.g., old versions of LILO)
2) booting and partitioning software from other OSs
   (e.g., DOS FDISK, OS/2 FDISK)

Command (m for help): p

Disk /dev/hdb1: 41.1 GB, 41167494144 bytes
16 heads, 63 sectors/track, 79767 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 1008 * 512 = 516096 bytes

     Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/hdb1p1   ?     1688622     3643415   985215504   6e  Unknown
Partition 1 does not end on cylinder boundary.
/dev/hdb1p2   ?     1319628     1854326   269488144   6e  Unknown
Partition 2 does not end on cylinder boundary.
/dev/hdb1p3   ?      534712     1921977   699181456   53  OnTrack DM6 Aux3
Partition 3 does not end on cylinder boundary.
/dev/hdb1p4   ?     1383560     1383581       10668+  49  Unknown
Partition 4 does not end on cylinder boundary.

Partition table entries are not in disk order


Code:
# fdisk /dev/hdb

The number of cylinders for this disk is set to 5005.
There is nothing wrong with that, but this is larger than 1024,
and could in certain setups cause problems with:
1) software that runs at boot time (e.g., old versions of LILO)
2) booting and partitioning software from other OSs
   (e.g., DOS FDISK, OS/2 FDISK)

Command (m for help): p

Disk /dev/hdb: 41.1 GB, 41174138880 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 5005 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/hdb1   *           1        5005    40202631    c  W95 FAT32 (LBA)



When I try to have Linux mount it on boot it complains of bad blocks or too many filesystems mounted.
Does anyone have an idea what it is that my gentoo-system doesn't like about it?

greetings

transsib

edit: kernel 2.6.3-gentoo-r2, udev, vfat support in the kernel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
isolder
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Dec 2003
Posts: 58

PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had a problem here, but solved it. Now I have another one.

Last edited by isolder on Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:49 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
isolder
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Dec 2003
Posts: 58

PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Incidentally I solved my problem just now. Thanks for any help and great tutorial!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
isolder
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Dec 2003
Posts: 58

PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2004 1:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What do we need to do if windows is on the second partition of hdb ?
I have a dell, which partitions drives with its little "dell utility" thing in partition 1, and then windows in partition 2..


I've tried root (1,1) but it no worky..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Xer0
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Mar 2004
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2004 5:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

shouldn't it be root (hd1,1)?

Thanks a lot darth, this really helped me out.

- Xavier
http://www.noreality.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
isolder
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Dec 2003
Posts: 58

PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2004 12:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, I found out I had to take out the root line and leave the rootnoverify
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Serpiz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Aug 2004
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Aug 13, 2004 11:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This howto rocks! Great job, now I can take the weekend off without worrying about dual booing :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cuardin
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 713
Location: vasastaden.stockholm.se

PostPosted: Fri Aug 13, 2004 1:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cool
_________________
Part of "The adopt an unanswered post initiative"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
darkangael
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Jul 2003
Posts: 132

PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2004 9:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Excellent. This is exactly what i needed (pending testing). If you haven't already, please submit it to http://gentoo-wiki.com/ as I am sure it can help a lot of people out!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ludemonkey
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Sep 2004
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2004 12:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

worked for me too... THANKS!

windows had been a secondary drive previously and wouldnt boot so i had to reinstall windows on the second drive

hda - linux
hdb - XP
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nuzzy
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 Jul 2003
Posts: 106
Location: NH, USA

PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2004 10:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My Gento is on /dev/hda and my XP is on /dev/hde... would I still be using the same mapping, i.e.:

map (hd0) (hd1)
map (hd1) (hd0)

or would it be:

map (hd0) (hd2)
map (hd2) (hd0)

/dev/hda is the only IDE disk and by itself on IDE controller1. The CD-ROM is by itself on ide controller2. My Windows (/dev/hde) is on a SATA controller. Any ideas??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 3 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum