Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Automounting in userspace with ivman
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 10, 11, 12 ... 27, 28, 29  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
TheKat
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jan 2004
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Tue Sep 28, 2004 4:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

genstef wrote:
use the hal release that is in portage now.


Just a note for anyone who wants to do this currently:

1) You have to unmask hal and dbus in /etc/portage/package.unmask
2) You have to modify the ivman-cvs ebuild to use hal and dbus instead of hal-cvs and dbus-cvs.

Now the fun part of trying to figure out how this all works. I am, unfortunatly, remote to my system right now. All I have in /media currently is 'floppy', so I hope the 'cdrom' or similar will magically appear when I insert a CD.

I've also got 8 more pages on this thread to read through to see if any useful tidbits were posted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
genstef
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 13 Jun 2004
Posts: 668
Location: M/Bay/Germany

PostPosted: Fri Oct 01, 2004 12:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=66013

Can you please test this ebuild in bugzilla and comment there if it works?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LifesizeKenDoll
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jun 2004
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2004 1:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the ebuild works, it's great
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Twink
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Dec 2002
Posts: 178
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2004 3:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

TheKat wrote:
genstef wrote:
use the hal release that is in portage now.


Just a note for anyone who wants to do this currently:

1) You have to unmask hal and dbus in /etc/portage/package.unmask
2) You have to modify the ivman-cvs ebuild to use hal and dbus instead of hal-cvs and dbus-cvs.

Now the fun part of trying to figure out how this all works. I am, unfortunatly, remote to my system right now. All I have in /media currently is 'floppy', so I hope the 'cdrom' or similar will magically appear when I insert a CD.

I've also got 8 more pages on this thread to read through to see if any useful tidbits were posted.


any advantages to swapping to hal and dbus from hal-cvs and dbus-cvs?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
genstef
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 13 Jun 2004
Posts: 668
Location: M/Bay/Germany

PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2004 12:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hal and dbus ebuilds in portage are taken from releases, so they are more likely to compile and work as their cvs-versions. Please also take the ebuild from bugzilla because it is also taken from a release not from cvs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tkdfighter
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 May 2004
Posts: 271
Location: Bludenz, Austria

PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2004 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have hal and dbus installed now, but how do I use the ivman ebuild?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
genstef
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 13 Jun 2004
Posts: 668
Location: M/Bay/Germany

PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2004 6:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Search for doc on creating an overlay (or look at the first page of this thread).
Then place the ebuild from bugzilla in
Code:
/usr/local/portage/sys-apps/ivman
and the other file in
Code:
/usr/local/portage/sys-apps/ivman/files
and then you should be done with
Code:
emerge -va ivman --digest
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tkdfighter
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 May 2004
Posts: 271
Location: Bludenz, Austria

PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2004 7:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes! It worked!
Thanks for the fast reply, genstef!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
consdel
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Feb 2004
Posts: 197
Location: Modena (Italy)

PostPosted: Fri Oct 08, 2004 7:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have got this error while emerging hal-cvs:

Code:
!!! ERROR: sys-apps/hal-cvs-20040522 failed.
!!! Function autotool_eautogen, Line 82, Exitcode 1
!!! ./autogen.sh failed

_________________
Quello che sognavi ti fa ridere
da quando sai che non lo puoi più avere

- AFTERHOURS Tutto fa un po male -

my blog... http://luci-artificiali.blogspot.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
genstef
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 13 Jun 2004
Posts: 668
Location: M/Bay/Germany

PostPosted: Fri Oct 08, 2004 8:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do not use the cvs ebuild. Read the last few posts if you want to know how to do it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheKat
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jan 2004
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Fri Oct 08, 2004 8:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've been playing with this on and off with mixed results.

The autodetection/mount seems to work fine most of the time, but every now and then either hal or dbus (I'm not sure on the order things are used) just stops noticing if I remove a disc (using the eject button).

lshal still shows a mounted disc.

When this happens, the mount point shows empty all the time, no matter if there is a disk or not.

I can work around it by manually issuing a umount command, which seems to 'unfreeze' whatever got stuck and it begins working again.

I have not yet been able to test with anything except CDs. (i.e.: no USB sticks, etc...)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
genstef
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 13 Jun 2004
Posts: 668
Location: M/Bay/Germany

PostPosted: Fri Oct 08, 2004 8:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This happens with hal and dbus cvs or portage versions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheKat
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jan 2004
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Fri Oct 08, 2004 9:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

genstef wrote:
This happens with hal and dbus cvs or portage versions?

Portage versions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
monkeyBox
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Feb 2003
Posts: 111
Location: Dallas, TX

PostPosted: Sun Oct 10, 2004 3:06 pm    Post subject: Re: Problem merging hal Reply with quote

spider7378 wrote:
Hello!

I've got the following output when trying to emerge hal-cvs:
Code:
linux/block_class_device.c: In function `volume_set_size':
linux/block_class_device.c:610: error: `u64' undeclared (first use in this function)
linux/block_class_device.c:610: error: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once
linux/block_class_device.c:610: error: for each function it appears in.)
make[3]: *** [block_class_device.o] Error 1
make[3]: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....
make[3]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/hal-cvs-20040522/work/hal/hald'
make[2]: *** [all] Error 2
make[2]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/hal-cvs-20040522/work/hal/hald'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/hal-cvs-20040522/work/hal'
make: *** [all] Error 2

!!! ERROR: sys-apps/hal-cvs-20040522 failed.
!!! Function src_compile, Line 44, Exitcode 2
!!! (no error message)


Any suggetions who to solve my problem?


I get this same error when emerging >=hal-0.2.98 ! ... 0.2.98-r1 is a dependancy for gnome-2.8. How can I fix this??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cbr
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jan 2004
Posts: 285
Location: Tallinn/Rakvere, Estonia

PostPosted: Sun Oct 10, 2004 4:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe
Code:
# USE=-hal emerge gnome
??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LifesizeKenDoll
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jun 2004
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Sun Oct 10, 2004 5:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, I have ivman set up and it works great. Does anyone know how to make it do something when I put in a CD? i.e. have it pop up a filebrowser window or whatever. I don't use GNOME anymore and would like this functionality.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Twink
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Dec 2002
Posts: 178
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Mon Oct 11, 2004 3:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

LifesizeKenDoll wrote:
OK, I have ivman set up and it works great. Does anyone know how to make it do something when I put in a CD? i.e. have it pop up a filebrowser window or whatever. I don't use GNOME anymore and would like this functionality.


try edit /etc/ivman/IvmConfigActions.xml

There's an example on how to autoplay audio cds, i presume there's a way to do autoplay for other types of media.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
monkeyBox
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Feb 2003
Posts: 111
Location: Dallas, TX

PostPosted: Mon Oct 11, 2004 12:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cbr wrote:
Maybe
Code:
# USE=-hal emerge gnome
??


Ok, but what if I actually want to use the hardware abstraction layer? It compiled fine for me on my home computer, which doesn't have much of a different setup than my work computer (the one it failed on) Does anyone know any more detail about this error?

Code:

linux/block_class_device.c: In function `volume_set_size':
linux/block_class_device.c:610: error: `u64' undeclared (first use in this function)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
monkeyBox
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Feb 2003
Posts: 111
Location: Dallas, TX

PostPosted: Mon Oct 11, 2004 2:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

installing linux26-headers-2.6.8.1-r1 seemed to fix my problem...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yanos
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Sep 2003
Posts: 149
Location: montreal, canada

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2004 7:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a blocker:

Code:

crappy dc # ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~x86" emerge -pv hal

These are the packages that I would merge, in order:

Calculating dependencies ...done!
[blocks B     ] sys-kernel/linux-headers ("virtual/os-headers" from pkg sys-kernel/linux26-headers-2.6.8.1-r1)
[ebuild  N    ] dev-python/pyrex-0.9.3   171 kB
[ebuild  N    ] sys-apps/dbus-0.22-r1  +X -debug +gtk -mono +python +qt +xml2  1,219 kB
[ebuild  N    ] dev-lang/swig-1.3.21  -debug -guile -java +perl -php +python -ruby -tcltk  1,975 kB
[ebuild  N    ] sys-libs/libcap-1.10-r4  -debug -pic +python -static  38 kB
[ebuild  N    ] sys-kernel/linux26-headers-2.6.8.1-r1  -build  34,793 kB
[ebuild  N    ] sys-apps/hal-0.2.98-r1  -debug  1,193 kB

Total size of downloads: 39,392 kB



and then:

Code:

crappy dc # emerge -pv sys-kernel/linux26-headers

These are the packages that I would merge, in order:

Calculating dependencies ...done!
[blocks B     ] sys-kernel/linux-headers ("virtual/os-headers" from pkg sys-kernel/linux26-headers-2.6.8.1)
[ebuild  N    ] sys-kernel/linux26-headers-2.6.8.1  -build  34,793 kB

Total size of downloads: 34,793 kB


should i remove kernel-headers and then emerge kernel26-headers?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dkure
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Apr 2004
Posts: 51
Location: Sydney, Australia

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2004 12:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

from what i have seen
Code:
sys-kernel/linux-headers

Is for the 2.4 kernel, but if your running 2.6 (which I assume you are) you dont need the 2.4 headers, so u can just un-emerge em.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yanos
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Sep 2003
Posts: 149
Location: montreal, canada

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2004 4:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, I unmerge linux-headers and emerge linux26-headers and now its working.

Slightly off topic, I dont get it. I mean, all the kernel headers are already in /usr/src/linux, so why emerge them again?

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ivanova
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Apr 2004
Posts: 158
Location: South Africa

PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2004 8:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just installed ivman using the ebuild from bugzilla above. Everything seemed ok, but dbus-monitor --system showed nothing when I inserted a cd in my dvd/dvdrw drives.

I changed the drives from using ide_scsi to ide_cd and dbus-monitor --system now picks up the inserted cd.

I compiled both ide_scsi and ide_cd as modules.

Is there a known problem with ide_scsi or is it something else?
_________________
Ladies and Gentlemen... we are floating in space.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dlm1065
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Apr 2004
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2004 8:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I beleive udev/hal/dbus is working correctly. (all are the main portage emerged versions)

my fstab is
Code:

# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
/dev/sda2              /boot              ext2       noatime              1 2
/dev/sda5              none               swap       sw                   0 0
/dev/sda6              /                  reiserfs   noatime              0 1
/dev/sda7              /usr               reiserfs   noatime,notail       1 2
/dev/sda8              /var               reiserfs   noatime,notail       1 2
/dev/sda9              /opt               reiserfs   noatime,notail       1 2
/dev/sda11             /home              reiserfs   noatime,notail       1 2
/dev/fd0               /mnt/floppy        auto       noauto               0 0
none                   /proc              proc       defaults             0 0
none                   /dev/shm           tmpfs      defaults             0 0
/dev/cdroms/cdrom0     /mnt/cdrom         auto       noauto,user,rw       0 0
/dev/cdroms/cdrom1     /mnt/cdrom1        auto       noauto,user,ro       0 0

/dev/sda1              /winxp             ntfs       noauto,user,exec     0 0
/dev/sda10             /bak               reiserfs   noatime,notail       1 2
/dev/hdd               /media/dvdrom1     auto       noauto,user,exec,ro  0 0
/dev/hdc               /media/cdrw_dvdrw1 auto       noauto,user,exec,ro  0 0

Note: the last 4 lines where added automagically I did not add them myself, although after the fact I renamed the mount points for the windows and backup partitions to what is shown

my e/etc/udev/rules.d/10-udev.rulles is
Code:

# Create dvd and cdrw nodes
BUS="ide", KERNEL="hdc", NAME="%k", SYMLINK="dvdr cdroms/cdrom%n"
BUS="ide", KERNEL="hdd", NAME="%k", SYMLINK="dvd cdroms/cdrom%n"


dbus-monitor --system records a dvd going in as
shown by this
Code:

webrepos ~ # dbus-monitor --system
signal interface=org.freedesktop.DBus; member=ServiceAcquired; sender=org.freedesktop.DBus
string::1.16
signal interface=org.freedesktop.Hal.Device; member=PropertyModified; sender=:1.0
int32:1
string:block.have_scanned
boolean:false
boolean:false
signal interface=org.freedesktop.Hal.Device; member=PropertyModified; sender=:1.0
int32:1
string:volume.is_partition
boolean:false
boolean:true
signal interface=org.freedesktop.DBus; member=ServiceCreated; sender=org.freedesktop.DBus
string::1.17
signal interface=org.freedesktop.Hal.Manager; member=DeviceAdded; sender=:1.0
string:/org/freedesktop/Hal/devices/block_LXG_43
signal interface=org.freedesktop.DBus; member=ServiceDeleted; sender=org.freedesktop.DBus
string::1.17


I think I am not understanding how to configure ivman(bugzilla version) correctly. I think it may be in the fact that I have 2 dvd drives /dev/hdc is the burner and /dev/hdd is a reader.


I just tried configuring the ivman files a few times without success. I just wiped wiped them back to the original unaltered files and was about to try again and decided I am missing something. Could someone that has a working dvd and/or multiple drive setup post their ivman config files so I can see a working example as I seem to be either repeatedly not doing all I need to do or doing something wrong repeatedly.

I am new to linux so any dvd player and or music player that works; I am willing to give a try. Anything functional at this point would be a nice.

Thanx all

(Note:running an amd64)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
piquadrat
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Feb 2003
Posts: 301
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Tue Oct 19, 2004 6:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got a little problem with ivman. I tried to reemerge ivman-cvs since I had a little problem ('eject' only workes when called as root) and thought that maybe it was fixed since the last emerge. When I emerged it, portage said that the manager.c patch wouldn't apply anymore. "Cool", I thought, "the patch seems not to be necessary anymore" and took it out of the ebuild. Now the ivman ebuild emerged without a problem, but refused to work afterwards, with the same problems I had a few weeks ago before the patch was mentioned in this thread.

Of course I didn't quickpkg my working ivman compile (hey, this is Gentoo! "Ever change a working system" and stuff) and so I'm standing here without a automounting CD-ROM and my life lost any sense (well, almost). I would be very grateful if somebody with an old ivman compile (two weeks or so) could quickpkg it and send it at [piquadrat at gmail dot com] (if possible, pentium or 386 compatible :) )

Thanks for your time
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 10, 11, 12 ... 27, 28, 29  Next
Page 11 of 29

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum