Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Automounting in userspace with ivman
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 11, 12, 13 ... 27, 28, 29  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
genstef
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 13 Jun 2004
Posts: 668
Location: M/Bay/Germany

PostPosted: Tue Oct 19, 2004 7:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

what about doing an "emerge sync" and "ACCEPT_KEYWORDS=~x86 emerge -va ivman"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
piquadrat
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Feb 2003
Posts: 301
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Tue Oct 19, 2004 8:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I synced about two or three hours ago, but I've got no ivman ebuil in the portage tree. The only ivman ebuild I've got ist the CVS ebuild from redeemans overlay, which is missing the manager.c patch (because it doesn't apply to the cvs tree anymore I assume).

If an ivman ebuild (including manager.c-patch) has been comitted to the portage tree in the last few hours, my problem will solve itself after the next sync, of course.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charliecompany
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 10 Apr 2004
Posts: 106

PostPosted: Wed Oct 20, 2004 2:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ivman is in portage now as of October 19th.
_________________
The only difference between genious and stupidity is that stupidity has no limits.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
piquadrat
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Feb 2003
Posts: 301
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Wed Oct 20, 2004 5:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is what happens when I try to emerge ivman-0.3 from the portage tree:

Code:
>>> Unpacking ivman-0.3.tar.gz to /var/tmp/portage/ivman-0.3/work
 * Applying ivman-0.3-cvs.update ...

 * Failed Patch: ivman-0.3-cvs.update!
 *
 * Include in your bugreport the contents of:
 *
 *   /var/tmp/portage/ivman-0.3/temp/ivman-0.3-cvs.update-19537.out


!!! ERROR: sys-apps/ivman-0.3 failed.
!!! Function epatch, Line 402, Exitcode 0
!!! Failed Patch: ivman-0.3-cvs.update!


Here's the patch log.

I'll open a bug in a few hours, but I have to go to lectures now
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
genstef
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 13 Jun 2004
Posts: 668
Location: M/Bay/Germany

PostPosted: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please try it again, as it works here, i do not really see why it should not for you, please delete every overlay ebuild for ivman and such.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LifesizeKenDoll
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jun 2004
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Wed Oct 20, 2004 5:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ivman gives the same error on both of my gentoo boxes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
piquadrat
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Feb 2003
Posts: 301
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Wed Oct 20, 2004 6:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yay, it works. I synced a few minutes ago and now ivman compiles flawlessy and even 'eject' works as normal user. Very cool!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ruomad
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 Apr 2003
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Wed Oct 20, 2004 6:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hello
I don't know why _my_ ivman doesn't mount cdroms?
I hav hal 4.0 and ivman 0.3 from portage
When i insert cd nothing happens
I disabled fstab-sync and enabled the mapping in ivman.Mappings
Any ideas ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
genstef
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 13 Jun 2004
Posts: 668
Location: M/Bay/Germany

PostPosted: Thu Oct 21, 2004 11:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think you configured too much, its just emerging and inserting a cd :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Raku
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 28 Feb 2004
Posts: 2374
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2004 8:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've got problem with ivman. In logs I can read:
Code:

Oct 28 22:36:12 demon ivman: New Device: /org/freedesktop/Hal/devices/block_MY_DISC
Oct 28 22:36:13 demon ivman: Changed: /dev/hde
Oct 28 22:36:13 demon ivman: Forcing media type
Oct 28 22:36:13 demon ivman: In cdrom_policy
Oct 28 22:36:13 demon ivman: Device: /dev/hde
Oct 28 22:36:13 demon ivman: Its data
Oct 28 22:36:13 demon ivman: Mounting /dev/hde
Oct 28 22:36:13 demon ivman: Mapped to /dev/cdroms/cdrom0


but this cd isn't mounted at all.
I use dbus, hal and ivman from official portage
_________________
raku

Powered by Archlinux ;-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rainmaker
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 12 Feb 2004
Posts: 1650
Location: /home/NL/ehv/

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 1:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, this stuff works great for cdroms... I can automount both cdrom drives without changing anything in the config...

Problem is, I have the following line:

Code:
/dev/uba1               /mnt/floppy     auto umask=000,noauto,user  0 0


For my USB stick.

When I plug my USB stick in, my /var/log/messages log gets FLOODED with the message

Code:
Oct 29 03:41:04 Medusa uba: was not changed


This message gets repeated every second...

Is there a way to let ivman NOT check this drive, other then telling my syslog to log these messages into /dev/null ?

Edit: never mind:

Code:

        <ivm:Device key="block.device" value="/dev/uba">
                <ivm:Action>dontmount</ivm:Action>
        </ivm:Device>


in /etc/ivman/IvmConfigActions.xml

Edit2: hmmm, this SHOULD work, but it doesn't... Tried both /dev/uba as /dev/uba1, but ivman still tries to mount it (or does it? Or is it HAL giving that message?)
_________________
If you can't dazzle them with brilliance, baffle them with bullshit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eikketk
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Jun 2003
Posts: 270
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 8:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Should be HAL. Ivman doesnt care about USB sticks, normally
_________________
Working day and night to enhance the Linux Desktop Experience :)

Homepage
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rainmaker
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 12 Feb 2004
Posts: 1650
Location: /home/NL/ehv/

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 2:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, so according to /etc/hal/hald.conf, I need an fdi file to tell HAL I don't want to use uba.

Any idea of the format of this file? Google came up empty...
_________________
If you can't dazzle them with brilliance, baffle them with bullshit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Raku
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 28 Feb 2004
Posts: 2374
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Sat Oct 30, 2004 9:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I found out how to fix my ivman... (didn't want to mount my CDs). It was because of wrong fstab. I delete my old entries, and let ivman/hal to add theirs (via fstab-sync). And it added:
Code:

/dev/hdg                /media/cdrecorder       iso9660,udf exec,user,noauto,ro 0 0
/dev/hde                /media/cdrom1           iso9660,udf exec,user,noauto,ro 0 0


but this entries sucks !!!

instead of /dev/hdg there should be /dev/cdroms/cdrom1 (this is link to /dev/hdg).

so my entries looks now like that:
Code:

/dev/cdroms/cdrom1               /media/cdrw       iso9660,udf exec,user,noauto,ro 0 0
/dev/cdroms/cdrom0                /media/cdrom           iso9660,udf exec,user,noauto,ro 0 0


but ivman/hal start to annoying me: although everything works on my entries in fstab, they added theirs, so no it looks like:
Code:

/dev/cdroms/cdrom1      /media/cdrw     iso9660,udf     exec,user,noauto,ro     0 0
/dev/cdroms/cdrom0      /media/cdrom    iso9660,udf     exec,user,noauto,ro     0 0
/dev/hdg                /media/cdrecorder       iso9660,udf exec,user,noauto,ro 0 0
/dev/hde                /media/cdrom1           iso9660,udf exec,user,noauto,ro 0 0


why I know, that ivman/hal is wrong?
Code:

raku@demon:~$ mount |grep cdrom
/dev/cdroms/cdrom0 on /media/cdrom type iso9660 (ro,noexec,nosuid,nodev)


And it took me about a week to solve this problem - it's because of mappings which I made about couple months ago. After commenting it out, it works like a charm


:D
_________________
raku

Powered by Archlinux ;-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
teutzz
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Apr 2004
Posts: 333
Location: .ro

PostPosted: Sat Oct 30, 2004 12:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

switching from ivman+hal+dbus all cvs versions to ivman+hal+dbus from portage raised some problems.. lolz :((

--> when i insert a cd by pushing the cdrom eject/insert button it gets mounted but doesn't get unmounted when pressing the same button, but when i mount a cd (not yet inserted in the cdrom, but present in the cdrom tray) using the mount comand the cd (first gets sucked in and) gets mounted and i can unmount it by just pressing the cdroms eject button

and it's kinda frustating...
_________________
Cand nu stii ce sa raspunzi sau ce sa spui un simplu BLA ajunge... lolz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rainmaker
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 12 Feb 2004
Posts: 1650
Location: /home/NL/ehv/

PostPosted: Sat Oct 30, 2004 1:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

are you using any file manager which mounts cd's automaticlly? I have the same problem if rox is open on my /mnt/ and I click on cdrom...

Guess you'll have to wait to let ivman mount it, then refresh, then click the cdrom dir.
_________________
If you can't dazzle them with brilliance, baffle them with bullshit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
babo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Aug 2004
Posts: 477
Location: Ljubljana

PostPosted: Sat Nov 06, 2004 9:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, my gag is:
I'we managed to get it working, through portage. ivman still doesn't umount cd, but ejects them. And when I aded ivman to default in rc-update I couldn't start the system. It got to a starting automounter, than automounter couldn't find some devices, well I remember seing something with hal and usb in that lines. /hal/ in every line as I remember.
But acording to udev guide I have everything set up right. And have gentoo=nodevfs in grub.conf.
The system boots ok, if ivman is not in rc-update as default and I run it later.
OOOOOO, now I remembered, when this failed the fork was set to "false" and debug to "true"
I'm going to reboot now and see what happens.
# a lot of monolog for nothing a?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
babo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Aug 2004
Posts: 477
Location: Ljubljana

PostPosted: Sat Nov 06, 2004 9:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, it reboots ok now.
But it's still not umounting
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tanisete
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Mar 2004
Posts: 312

PostPosted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 1:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi to all:

I'm now a bit desperate about ivman... so many tries, reading the hole thread... without success. It tries to mount the cd's, but it doesn't umount them... with or without the patch, from the portage tree or cvs... there's no eject event in my machine...
Is there a solution to this?

Thanks a lot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tkdfighter
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 May 2004
Posts: 271
Location: Bludenz, Austria

PostPosted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 1:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
dbus-monitor --system
is not giving me any messages. From what I've read, it seems that udev isn't working. It's supposed to show the device if a cd is inserted, otherwise it shouldn't show the device, right? Well the node is always there. Could somebody post their udev rules? And did I get this right?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
babo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Aug 2004
Posts: 477
Location: Ljubljana

PostPosted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 3:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As I know, I didn't touch the udev rules. Just followed the udev guide in docs section on gentoo page. And it worked. Did you do everything acording to the guide?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tkdfighter
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 May 2004
Posts: 271
Location: Bludenz, Austria

PostPosted: Mon Nov 08, 2004 2:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did. But no matter what I did, it would not produce any device nodes for my cdrw and dvdrom drives. So I started playing around with the rules. In the end, I discovered that the module ide-cd was not being loaded. I added that to /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6 and it worked.

But now you have me thinking. I'll try and see what happens when I comment out those rules, now that the module is being loaded.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tkdfighter
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 May 2004
Posts: 271
Location: Bludenz, Austria

PostPosted: Mon Nov 08, 2004 2:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I tried. Now it's making the devices, but still no messages from dbus thus far.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tallest
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 145
Location: Socorro, NM, USA

PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2004 10:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I seem to have ivman working properly as it automounts cds when I put them in, but it won't eject them when I press the eject button. I ran dbus-monitor --system and saw output when I put the cd in, but nothing when I pressed the eject button. Might dbus not support my drives?

Thanks,
Aaron
_________________
Those who can make you believe in absurdities can make you commit atrocities. --Voltaire
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
get sirius
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Apr 2002
Posts: 316
Location: Madison, WI

PostPosted: Mon Nov 15, 2004 1:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Forgive my newbie-ish question, but I'm accustomed to "#" being used to comment out a line; is "<!--" that I've been seeing recently in other config files as well as the ivman config files a new way to comment out a line? Is it just the "<", or the "<!", or what?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 11, 12, 13 ... 27, 28, 29  Next
Page 12 of 29

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum