Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Automounting in userspace with ivman
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 12, 13, 14 ... 27, 28, 29  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dkure
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Apr 2004
Posts: 51
Location: Sydney, Australia

PostPosted: Mon Nov 15, 2004 1:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Its the "<!" that is used for commenting, but adding the extra dashes allows for easier readibility and is recommended. and for closing all you need is ">" but again "-->" is the recommended.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
get sirius
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Apr 2002
Posts: 316
Location: Madison, WI

PostPosted: Mon Nov 15, 2004 3:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So, to uncomment, I delete the "<!" and can leave the closing ">"? Or do I delete the closing ">" also?

And thanks for responding so quickly! :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
babo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Aug 2004
Posts: 477
Location: Ljubljana

PostPosted: Mon Nov 15, 2004 10:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

leave "<" and ">"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
G2k
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Mar 2004
Posts: 672
Location: Rome, Italy

PostPosted: Mon Nov 15, 2004 6:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thnx, great tool worked great first shot!
_________________
Animula vagula blandula,
Hospes comesque corporis,
Quae nunc abibis in loca
Pallidula rigida nudula,
Nec ut soles dabis iocos...
- Imp. Caesar Hadrianus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
get sirius
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Apr 2002
Posts: 316
Location: Madison, WI

PostPosted: Mon Nov 15, 2004 10:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks. I'll have a go at editing them now. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aries
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 May 2004
Posts: 127
Location: Sliedrecht the Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 8:56 pm    Post subject: emerge ivman fails Reply with quote

it seems i have the same problem as jawest12. But I could not find a solution in this forum.

After emerge -bv ivman the compilation starts and finally fails with:
Code:

/bin/sh ./config.status --recheck
running /bin/sh ./configure  --prefix=/usr --host=i686-pc-linux-gnu --mandir=/usr/share/man --infodir=/usr/share/info --datadir=/usr/share --sysconfdir=/etc --localstatedir=/var/lib --disable-debug CC=gcc CFLAGS=-march=pentium4 -O2 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer  host_alias=i686-pc-linux-gnu  --no-create --no-recursion
configure: warning: CC=gcc: invalid host type
configure: warning: CFLAGS=-march=pentium4 -O2 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer : invalid host type
configure: error: can only configure for one host and one target at a time
make: *** [config.status] Error 1
make: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....

!!! ERROR: sys-apps/ivman-0.3 failed.
!!! Function src_compile, Line 33, Exitcode 2
!!! (no error message)
!!! If you need support, post the topmost build error, NOT this status message.[code][/code][code][/code]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aries
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 May 2004
Posts: 127
Location: Sliedrecht the Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 9:59 pm    Post subject: emerge ivman fails => solved Reply with quote

The problem is solved:
upgrading libtools to version 1.5.2-r7 solved the problem.
I thougth this kind of problem are handled in the ebuilds?
Or is the compiler and tools assumed to be up to date?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
linux_on_the_brain
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Feb 2004
Posts: 136

PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2004 8:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i gave it a shot today on my laptop with udev, and no luck dbus-monitor --system picked up no activity of any kind. So I tried it on my other laptop thats not using udev, and it works perfectly, with cdroms anyways. Just my input on the matter. I would like to get this working on the udev laptop. Any ideas why this is happening.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bero74
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 May 2004
Posts: 7
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Fri Nov 19, 2004 7:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have tried to get ivman to work for some time now, but only with some luck. I have emerged dbus-0.22-r1, hal-0.2 and ivman-0.3. I have also tried hal-0.4.1. After the emerge I start /etc/init.d/hald and /etc/init.d/ivman.
I have one dvd-burner (hdc) and one dvd-reader (hdd). Hald seems to detect my dvd-readers and ivman mounts the media, but some times on some cd’s I get very strange content-listings. Theres no problem mounting the same cd’s manually though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chichibabin
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Jul 2004
Posts: 133

PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2004 12:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
I do have a sour taste from supermount. I have installed all with no problems, but I have no /etc/conf.d/ivman file. Any ideas?


I have just installed upgraded to 2.6.9 only to find supermount has been dropped and there not being an easy to implement alternative :( . I've followed the how to in this thread but I too am missing the /etc/conf.d/ivman file. Was this issue resolved? Everything else compiled and starts fine, just nothing happens when I insert a disc. Any help please?
Cheers,
Sat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
genstef
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 13 Jun 2004
Posts: 668
Location: M/Bay/Germany

PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2004 1:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is no conf.d/ivman because unlocking does not work as user, therefore we did not include the conf.d file in the official package
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chichibabin
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Jul 2004
Posts: 133

PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2004 7:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
There is no conf.d/ivman because unlocking does not work as user, therefore we did not include the conf.d file in the official package


I see, but I still cannot get my cdrom to automatically mount. I have tried editing the /etc/ivman/IvmConfigBase.xml file by enabling debug, disabling fork, stopping ivman and then running it from the console.

Code:
Ikke's Volume Manager, http://ivman.sf.net


If I try and load a CD I get no debug information. Are there any other tests I can do to try and locate the problem?
Cheers
Sat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
babo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Aug 2004
Posts: 477
Location: Ljubljana

PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2004 7:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What do you mean by "everything else works"?
What is your output of
Code:
dbus-monitor --system

when you insert or eject a cd?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
genstef
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 13 Jun 2004
Posts: 668
Location: M/Bay/Germany

PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2004 8:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

chichibabin, do you run udev?
(just checking the prerequired things)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chichibabin
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Jul 2004
Posts: 133

PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2004 8:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have udev and the associated utilities present in /sbin and have udevd running as process in the background. I also executed udevstart. But the drive still won't mount?
Cheers,
Sat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
genstef
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 13 Jun 2004
Posts: 668
Location: M/Bay/Germany

PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2004 9:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could you try the ~x86 of udev,hal,dbus? Which versions do you have?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chichibabin
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Jul 2004
Posts: 133

PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2004 10:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have udev-046, hal-0.4.1,dbus-0.22-r2 and ivman-0.3 all emerged with "ACCEPTED_KEYWORDS="~x86". No files have been edited after emerging. Could it be something to with my fstab file?
Sat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chichibabin
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Jul 2004
Posts: 133

PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2004 11:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
What do you mean by "everything else works"?
What is your output of


It's:

Code:
dbus-monitor --system
Failed to open connection to system message bus: Failed to connect to socket /var/lib/dbus/system_bus_socket: Connection refused


Sat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
genstef
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 13 Jun 2004
Posts: 668
Location: M/Bay/Germany

PostPosted: Sun Nov 28, 2004 7:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you run it as user, or why is permission denied? These apps should be run as root.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chichibabin
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Jul 2004
Posts: 133

PostPosted: Sun Nov 28, 2004 11:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I get the same error as root. Could possibly be a kernel config issue?
Sat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
genstef
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 13 Jun 2004
Posts: 668
Location: M/Bay/Germany

PostPosted: Sun Nov 28, 2004 11:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could be, maybe you have disabled the userspace events although default is yes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chichibabin
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Jul 2004
Posts: 133

PostPosted: Sun Nov 28, 2004 11:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could you tell me exactly what config options need to be enabled?
Cheers,
Sat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
genstef
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 13 Jun 2004
Posts: 668
Location: M/Bay/Germany

PostPosted: Sun Nov 28, 2004 1:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What kernel do you use? I think this option has been introduced after 2.6.9, at least I cant find it in my 2.6.9 config and I removed all >2.6.9 kernels after reinstalling.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chichibabin
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Jul 2004
Posts: 133

PostPosted: Sun Nov 28, 2004 1:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm using 2.6.9-gentoo-r6. I too can't find anything in the config file regarding userspace. Do I need a 2.6.10 kernel then?
Cheers
Sat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
genstef
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 13 Jun 2004
Posts: 668
Location: M/Bay/Germany

PostPosted: Sun Nov 28, 2004 2:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

no, you dont, there is something else wrong, I dont know sorry :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 12, 13, 14 ... 27, 28, 29  Next
Page 13 of 29

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum