Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Do the new 2004.2 ppc64 stages from tgall work?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
xyz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 67

PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2004 12:42 pm    Post subject: Do the new 2004.2 ppc64 stages from tgall work? Reply with quote

I'v installed Yellowdog 3.01(ppc64 kernel) on my G5 for 2 months, and it works just well. Now I'd like to try the new 2004.2 Gentoo ppc64 stages from tgall, but don't know if they work or not. Has anyone tried those 2004.2 ppc64 stuff?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mox2k
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Feb 2004
Posts: 119

PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2004 2:21 pm    Post subject: Re: Do the new 2004.2 ppc64 stages from tgall work? Reply with quote

xyz wrote:
I'v installed Yellowdog 3.01(ppc64 kernel) on my G5 for 2 months, and it works just well. Now I'd like to try the new 2004.2 Gentoo ppc64 stages from tgall, but don't know if they work or not. Has anyone tried those 2004.2 ppc64 stuff?


Yes - I've installed stage3* and it works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jaspal kallar
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Feb 2004
Posts: 194
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2004 2:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mox2k: was this your first and only G5 install or did you install first G5 (32bit)?

I ask since I was curious about performance gains from 32bit to pure 64 bit?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sly514
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Sep 2003
Posts: 54
Location: mtl

PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2004 3:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi

I started from ppc64 stage3 also, but cant get past the booting stage.

I emerged ppc64-sources.

I am confused about what kernel I should use for a 64-bit OS.
I also Imagine there is a a proper way to configure the kernel.
How does one load the proper config file?

S
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mox2k
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Feb 2004
Posts: 119

PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2004 3:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jaspal kallar wrote:
mox2k: was this your first and only G5 install or did you install first G5 (32bit)?

I ask since I was curious about performance gains from 32bit to pure 64 bit?


I installed 32 and 64 Bit. Well, performance gains ... So far not really which has to do with not being able to use jfs as my filesystem and ppc64 not really being optimized. Anyway, the only way you notice ppc64 at thew moment is the RAM > 2 GB - and quite q few applications which are not available ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mox2k
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Feb 2004
Posts: 119

PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2004 3:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sly514 wrote:
Hi

I started from ppc64 stage3 also, but cant get past the booting stage.

I emerged ppc64-sources.

I am confused about what kernel I should use for a 64-bit OS.
I also Imagine there is a a proper way to configure the kernel.
How does one load the proper config file?

S


In the first place you can just copy the kernel from the CD as well as the /lib/modules/....

After haviong booted for a couple of times you'll want to build your own kernel. You can find a valid config for the G5 under /usre/src/linux/arch/ppc64/configs. There is one thing I changed: I added support for dev filesystem _and_ added two devices - null and console (mknod ... --> somewhere in the devfs docs) - that have to be present at boot time. After that things are working out just fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sly514
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Sep 2003
Posts: 54
Location: mtl

PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2004 4:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, but which cd are you referring to here?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
simon_b
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Jun 2004
Posts: 46
Location: Hamilton, NZ

PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2004 11:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

how do you setup the network on the ppc64 livecd? net-setup isnt there!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sly514
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Sep 2003
Posts: 54
Location: mtl

PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2004 1:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey,

looks like I have to reinstall everything,

many of you are going to laugh but I kept on getting errors right at the start of my kernel compilation so I decided to unmerge gcc.

Everything is fucked up now.

This is how you set up your network from the ppc64 cd:

if x's are your personal settings

1. ifconfig eth0 192.168.1.xxx broadcast 255.255.255.0 netmask 255.255.255.0 up

2.route add default gw 192.168.xxx.xxx

3. edit nano -w /etc/resolv.conf to say only

nameserver xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx

Later...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
simon_b
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Jun 2004
Posts: 46
Location: Hamilton, NZ

PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2004 5:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

awesome thanks for that....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mox2k
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Feb 2004
Posts: 119

PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2004 6:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sly514 wrote:
Sorry, but which cd are you referring to here?


sorry - the minimal boot cd ppc64. Everything ppc64.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xyz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 67

PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2004 12:31 pm    Post subject: Re: Do the new 2004.2 ppc64 stages from tgall work? Reply with quote

[quote="mox2k"][quote="xyz"]I'v installed Yellowdog 3.01(ppc64 kernel) on my G5 for 2 months, and it works just well. Now I'd like to try the new 2004.2 Gentoo ppc64 stages from tgall, but don't know if they work or not. Has anyone tried those 2004.2 ppc64 stuff?[/quote]

Yes - I've installed stage3* and it works.[/quote]

Does sound also work?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sly514
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Sep 2003
Posts: 54
Location: mtl

PostPosted: Thu Jun 17, 2004 5:23 pm    Post subject: Sound? how about windows Reply with quote

hi

I haven't got to sound just yet but it seems logical alsa should work.
(fingers crossed)
I saw a 32-bit emulation for programs using alsa option in the kernel.
My 32 bit sound card, which fits in the new slots, but leaves room for a different type of card, actually compiles into the kernel with no errors.

What I really wonder is how to get a windowing system up now.
All the e-builds for Xfree are masked and don't have the ~ppc64 ACCEPT_KEYWORDS.
Is modifying the ACCEPT_KEYWORDS in the ebuild ok?
I emerged the latest xfree from yesterday's sync, editing out the source of compiling errors in the e-build just to see.
One was a bug in system vulnerability, and one was concerning gcc and mmx.
Editing them out brings me too having xterm-901 and libperl not to compile.

Is there a windowing system availiable at this time
for ppc64 radeon graphics?
I installed 2.6.6-r0 Kernel
with gcc 3.3.3

thanks

S
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jaspal kallar
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Feb 2004
Posts: 194
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Thu Jun 17, 2004 9:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
I haven't got to sound just yet but it seems logical alsa should work.
(fingers crossed)
I saw a 32-bit emulation for programs using alsa option in the kernel.
My 32 bit sound card, which fits in the new slots, but leaves room for a different type of card, actually compiles into the kernel with no errors.


I tried quite alot to get the on-board sound to work on my G5 (32/64 bit kernel with 32 bit userland). No success. Given up for now. As was wondering what 32bit card have you btw since I really only have to boot in 0S X just for sound. Frustrating.
What about xorg-x11 instead xfree?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sly514
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Sep 2003
Posts: 54
Location: mtl

PostPosted: Thu Jun 17, 2004 9:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a hammerfall
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sly514
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Sep 2003
Posts: 54
Location: mtl

PostPosted: Sun Jun 20, 2004 9:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey,

neither xfree or xorg are emergeing for me.
Emerging stops with an error in xterm-901.
Something concerning Athena libraries not being able to link to....

I do not quite understand the making of null and console devices.
Are these mandatory for X11 to compile?

S
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum