Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
HOWTO: Alcatel Speedtouch USB with kernel 2.6 Revisited
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
volumen1
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Mar 2003
Posts: 393
Location: Missoula, MT

PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2005 9:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's good news. You did me a favor by testing it . Now I can reboot with confidence :wink:
_________________
I was born with a freakin' dice bag on my belt.
-- www.howsyournetwork.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xming
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Jul 2002
Posts: 441

PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2005 9:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For automatic starting ppp, you can

* use /etc/init.d/net.ppp0
* put pppd call adsl in /etc/conf.d/local.start
* use volumen1's script

xming
_________________
http://wojia.be
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
volumen1
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Mar 2003
Posts: 393
Location: Missoula, MT

PostPosted: Sat Jan 22, 2005 5:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm... which firmware is everybody using? I downloaded SpeedTouch330_firmware_3012-1.zip from speedtouch's site. What are the differences between the two firmware images? (One is named ZZZL_3.012 and the other is KQD6_3.012) I ran the ./firmware on both of them and they both seem to contain a boot.bin and firmware.bin. I have the purple modem and I tried to use ZZZL_3.012. Sadly, I had problems when I tried. It probably doesn't help that I'm wicked hungover. Anyway, it seems like PPPD isn't seeing that there is a usable interface?

Code:
Jan 22 10:27:35 elijah pppd[24997]: Plugin pppoatm.so loaded.
Jan 22 10:27:35 elijah pppd[24997]: PPPoATM plugin_init
Jan 22 10:27:35 elijah pppd[24997]: PPPoATM setdevname_pppoatm - SUCCESS:0.32
Jan 22 10:27:35 elijah pppd[6833]: pppd 2.4.3 started by root, uid 0
Jan 22 10:27:36 elijah usb 1-1: found stage 1 firmware speedtch-1.bin
Jan 22 10:27:37 elijah usb 1-1: found stage 2 firmware speedtch-2.bin
Jan 22 10:27:39 elijah usb 1-1: firmware/speedt timed out on ep5in
Jan 22 10:27:39 elijah pppd[6833]: connect(0.32): Resource temporarily unavailable
Jan 22 10:27:39 elijah pppd[6833]: Exit.


Any ideas?
_________________
I was born with a freakin' dice bag on my belt.
-- www.howsyournetwork.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xming
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Jul 2002
Posts: 441

PostPosted: Sat Jan 22, 2005 5:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just a thought, are you trying to start pppd before the line has finished syncing?

I use the mgmt.o as firmware with the green one, don't know which one do you need for the purple one, but is somewhere on the speedtouch site

xming
_________________
http://wojia.be
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
volumen1
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Mar 2003
Posts: 393
Location: Missoula, MT

PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2005 5:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm... I'm using the Speedtouch 330. I've done a little more work and found out that if I use the ZZZL_3.012 firmware, I get an error the DSL line never comes up. Sadly, I didn't save the error message, and it only shows up in dmesg.

However, if I use the KQD6_3.012 firmware, then the DSL line will come up. After that, I run pppd call adsl (or my modified speedtouch script) and I will get connected. However, the line only stays up for about 1:40 then it drops and I can never get pppd to connect again. I was getting errors like "connect0.32 address already in use".

I'm going to work on it some more and then I'll post the actual errors, but I was wondering if anyone had success with the Speedtouch 330 modems using 2.6.10?
_________________
I was born with a freakin' dice bag on my belt.
-- www.howsyournetwork.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xming
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Jul 2002
Posts: 441

PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2005 7:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you check if you still have modem_run running by some mysterious reasons? I have had a lot of troubles with 2.6.10 with modem_run, the 2 line monitoring systems were conflicting each other and ther was no way to bring atm + pppd back without a reboot.

Now I have finnaly a uptime of more than 2 days.

There are some people with (almost)t the same problems on the speedtouch mailing list, here is a quote
Quote:

It seems that the firmware isn't loading. Which firmware are you using? The silver
revision 4 modem uses the ZZZL_3.012 file from the SpeedTouch330_firmware_3012.zip
Edit the bootscript so that modem run tries with ZZZL_3.012 file.
I'm sorry the SuSE page isn't very clear about which firmware to use. It's on my TODO list



xming
_________________
http://wojia.be
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fluzz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Aug 2004
Posts: 8
Location: uk

PostPosted: Thu Jan 27, 2005 2:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

right getting this modem to run has now become a matter of pride as my house mate have gone and bought a shiny new router and decided not to give the admin password on it


im using the silver version of the modem (revison 4?) so when i got a 404 on the firmware.bin i went and downloaded SpeedTouch330_firmware_3012.zip from linux-usb.sourceforge.com and ZZZL_3.012 instaed of the firmware.bin in etc/conf.d/speedtouch

this is what i get every time i try and start my modem
Code:
 
* Starting Speedtouch ADSL Modem......
 * Loading firmware...
 * Can't load the microcode !!
 * Please detach and attach again your modem to the USB port to unload the microcode.
 * Then run '/etc/init.d/speedtouch start'
 * Speedtouch firmward load failed                                        [ !! ]


and this is my config script
Code:

# $Header: /var/cvsroot/gentoo-x86/net-dialup/speedtouch/files/speedtouch.confd,v 1.6 2004/09/28 01:23:20 swegener Exp $

# Config file for the speedtouch ebuild

# Set the microcode path
#MICROCODE="/usr/share/speedtouch/mgmt.o"
MICROCODE="/usr/local/lib/speedtouch/ZZZL_3.012"
#MICROCODE="/usr/local/lib/speedtouch/KQD6_3.012"

# Set verbose level for modem_run
VERBOSE="0"

# Set the peer filename
# This should be in /etc/ppp/peers/
PEER="adsl"

# Extra options to modem_run
# Some modems will need "-s", if in doubt then leave blank
# add "-k" for use with the kernel mode driver
# add "-a /usr/share/speedtouch/boot.v123.bin" if your modem is green or purple
#MODEM_RUN_EXTRAOPTS="-s"
#MODEM_RUN_EXTRAOPTS="-k -a /usr/share/speedtouch/boot.v123.bin"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
djm
Arch/Herd Tester
Arch/Herd Tester


Joined: 12 Apr 2004
Posts: 690
Location: Wadham College, Oxford

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2005 3:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use this firmware: http://speedtouchconf.sourceforge.net/rev4fw.zip (with the silver version)

Does this work for you: http://speedtouchconf.sourceforge.net/ ?
_________________
the forums.gentoo.org poster formally known as metal leper
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fluzz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Aug 2004
Posts: 8
Location: uk

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2005 2:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nope
but then i did have to hack the script to get it to run with my version of ppp
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
djm
Arch/Herd Tester
Arch/Herd Tester


Joined: 12 Apr 2004
Posts: 690
Location: Wadham College, Oxford

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2005 5:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh yeh, I downgraded to ppp-2.4.2-r10, and it works fine for me, so maybe you should try that?
_________________
the forums.gentoo.org poster formally known as metal leper
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AigleDor
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Jan 2005
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Jan 31, 2005 2:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi
My little brother have the silver modem (rev4) and can't get it to work.
modem_run fails (the LED's do not blink)
He his using the firmware in rev4fw.zip
Any ideas?

Code:
[root@localhost omar]# modprobe pppoatm
[root@localhost omar]# lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
pppoatm                 4512  0
ppp_generic            24468  1 pppoatm
slhc                    6112  1 ppp_generic
r128                   99604  2
agpgart                27752  0
md5                     3584  1
ipv6                  230916  8
rfcomm                 32348  0
l2cap                  19876  5 rfcomm
bluetooth              39076  4 rfcomm,l2cap
af_packet              16072  0
floppy                 55088  0
ide-cd                 37280  0
cdrom                  37724  1 ide-cd
loop                   12520  0
nls_iso8859-15          4224  2
nls_cp850               4480  2
vfat                   11168  2
fat                    39776  1 vfat
supermount             34804  1
speedtch               12144  0
atm                    34168  2 pppoatm,speedtch
ohci-hcd               18468  0
usbcore               103172  4 speedtch,ohci-hcd
ext3                  120680  2
jbd                    49080  1 ext3
[root@localhost omar]# modem_run -k -f /etc/ppp/microcode.dat
[root@localhost omar]# tail /var/log/messages
Jan 30 21:32:06 localhost kernel: cdrom: This disc doesn't have any tracks I recognize!
Jan 30 21:32:06 localhost kernel: cdrom: This disc doesn't have any tracks I recognize!
Jan 30 21:32:49 localhost su(pam_unix)[4105]: session opened for user root by (uid=501)
Jan 30 21:32:49 localhost su(pam_unix)[4115]: session opened for user root by (uid=501)
Jan 30 21:33:11 localhost su(pam_unix)[4115]: session closed for user root
Jan 30 21:33:11 localhost su(pam_unix)[4105]: session closed for user root
Jan 30 21:34:10 localhost su(pam_unix)[4214]: session opened for user root by omar(uid=501)
Jan 30 21:34:18 localhost kernel: CSLIP: code copyright 1989 Regents of the University of California
Jan 30 21:34:18 localhost kernel: PPP generic driver version 2.4.2
Jan 30 21:35:07 localhost modem_run[4297]: modem_run version 1.3 started by omar uid 0
[root@localhost omar]# pppd call ppp0
Plugin pppoatm.so loaded.
PPPoATM plugin_init
PPPoATM setdevname - remove unwanted options
PPPoATM setdevname_pppoatm - SUCCESS:8.35
[root@localhost omar]# tail /var/log/messages
Jan 30 21:34:18 localhost kernel: CSLIP: code copyright 1989 Regents of the University of California
Jan 30 21:34:18 localhost kernel: PPP generic driver version 2.4.2
Jan 30 21:35:07 localhost modem_run[4297]: modem_run version 1.3 started by omar uid 0
Jan 30 21:35:46 localhost pppd[4323]: Plugin pppoatm.so loaded.
Jan 30 21:35:46 localhost pppd[4323]: PPPoATM plugin_init
Jan 30 21:35:46 localhost pppd[4323]: PPPoATM setdevname - remove unwanted options
Jan 30 21:35:46 localhost pppd[4323]: PPPoATM setdevname_pppoatm - SUCCESS:8.35
Jan 30 21:35:46 localhost pppd[4324]: pppd 2.4.2 started by root, uid 0
Jan 30 21:35:46 localhost pppd[4324]: connect(8.35): Resource temporarily unavailable
Jan 30 21:35:46 localhost pppd[4324]: Exit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xming
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Jul 2002
Posts: 441

PostPosted: Mon Jan 31, 2005 3:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you are using kernel > 2.6.10 please use the kernel + hotplug t oload your firmware instead of modem_run

xming
_________________
http://wojia.be
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AigleDor
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Jan 2005
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Jan 31, 2005 5:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am using kernel 2.6.8
how can load the firmware without using modem_run??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sunilgeo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jan 2005
Posts: 74

PostPosted: Tue Feb 01, 2005 9:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had my speedtouch 330 modem working perfectly well for few week until yesterday. KDE crashed and I had to reboot the machine. After this I am getting a segmentation fault if I try to run pppd call adsl. As far as I can see firmware is loading fine. I checked all the relevent config file to see if there is any corruption and also emerged ppp, linux-atm etc again, but still the same problem. Can anybody help me please, and give me some ideas about what could be wrong.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
djm
Arch/Herd Tester
Arch/Herd Tester


Joined: 12 Apr 2004
Posts: 690
Location: Wadham College, Oxford

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 11:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does anyone have this working with 2.6.11?

Works for me with 2.6.10-mm2, but not with 2.6.11-mm{1,4}


The firmware seems to get loaded ok, but then something seems to go wrong when running pppd call adsl

I'm too lazy to try and figure out what the problem is yet, but I'm sure I'll get round to it sometime this week...
_________________
the forums.gentoo.org poster formally known as metal leper
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jeffrey0
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 3:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

2.6.11 + Speedtouch 330 + loading using modem_run works fine here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Narusegawa
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jun 2004
Posts: 210
Location: Bimringham, UK

PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2005 3:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've got a problem with the Thomson one not loading the microcode. I've already got a thread for this in Installing Gentoo forum but am duplicating my latest here incase anyone can help from this one.

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-2306588.html#2306588 <-- Original Thread

I've got zzzl_3.012 and kqd6_3.012 which are correct for my versin of the modem.

I've tried
Code:
 # Copyright 1999-2004 Gentoo Foundation
 # Distributed under the terms of the GNU General Public License v2
 # $Header: /var/cvsroot/gentoo-x86/net-dialup/speedtouch/files/speedtouch.confd,v 1.6 2004/09/28 01:23:20 swegener Exp $
   
 # Config file for the speedtouch ebuild
   
 # Set the microcode path
 MICROCODE="/usr/share/speedtouch/zzzl_3.012"
   
 # Set verbose level for modem_run
 VERBOSE="1"
   
 # Set the peer filename
 # This should be in /etc/ppp/peers/
 PEER="ntl"
   
 # Extra options to modem_run
 # Some modems will need "-s", if in doubt then leave blank
 # add "-k" for use with the kernel mode driver
 # add "-a /usr/share/speedtouch/boot.v123.bin" if your modem is green or purple
 MODEM_RUN_EXTRAOPTS="-k -a /usr/share/speedtouch/kqd6_3.012.eni"



I've tried the above with "-k" on it's own. "-k -s", "-s -a /path/to/etc" and even just "-s" and also "". Each time I plug the modem in and I'm watching /var/log/messages I keep seeing "Can't load MICROCODE!"

The paths to the files are correct. Both are in the correct folder. modem_run is 1.3.1 and ppp is 2.4.3. I'm using the 2.6.11-r5 gentoo-sources kernel. I followed another guide on this site about emerging speedtouch,pp,linux-atm and a few kernel modules. Still I can't get it working.

It works on the kanotix livecd but not in gentoo. I've even copied the ntl adsl peers file over, as I know this one works on the livecd so the options are correct for my ISP. It just won't load the darn microcode to my modem
_________________
WARNING: It is a violation of federal law to use me in a way inconsistent with my labelling. I am dangerous to humans and domestic animals. Please avoid contact with your eyes and clothing. I should be stored out of the reach of children.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RuiDo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jul 2005
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Jul 01, 2005 3:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know what else can I do!!!
I did everithing that is in this topic (and a lot of others HOWTO too) and when I execute the /etc/init.d/speedtouch start,
the firmware loads normally and aftar that it says that the PPP daemon has failed to start...

If someone knows the solution, I would be really great if you could explain it to me clearly and with lots of detais cause
I'm still very noob with linux...

ps: please help or I will have to go back to fedora core, and I don't want to :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blutch
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Nov 2004
Posts: 53
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2005 7:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have an "Alcatel Speed Touch ADSL Modem (ISDN)", so i get my adsl through an isdn line.
I followed all the steps written here, and when i try to run
Code:
/etc/init.d/speedtouch start
i get the following output:
Code:
Sep  1 09:41:53 server modem_run[18277]: modem_run version 1.3.1 started by root uid 0
Sep  1 09:41:53 server modem_run[18277]: Unexpected modem revision 0001, assuming Rev 0200 modem.
Sep  1 09:41:58 server modem_run[18277]: Kernel mode driver not found


I guess i have this problem because it is another version of the modem (made for isdn). What can i do to get my internet connection to work ?

By the way, i'm living in Hungary (ISP Globonet), and i'm not sure my VP/VC is correct: i tried 8.35

Thanks for you help !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MetalGod
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 10 Mar 2003
Posts: 816
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Sat Sep 03, 2005 3:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

looks like you need another version of the firmware for that
_________________
ex: Gentoo Linux Developer: amd64 media-optical sound gnome
ex: Portuguese Moderator
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
God Doesn't Play Dice
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blutch
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Nov 2004
Posts: 53
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sat Sep 03, 2005 8:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I began using an mgmt.o i found on the internet, i suppose it was for the "Alcatel Speedtouch USB".
I also tried using my alcaudsl.sys from windows, which IS different from the first firmware i tried. But i got the same problem.

I don't know what else i could use as firmware.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Enverex
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Jul 2003
Posts: 501
Location: Worcester, UK

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2005 3:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bumping this because I also have the:

Can't load the microcode !!
* Please detach and attach again your modem to the USB port to unload the microcode.
* Then run '/etc/init.d/speedtouch start'
* Speedtouch firmward load failed

Issue. No matter what I try and what files I try, it just wont work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Wed Nov 09, 2005 11:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NightShade737 wrote:
Can't load the microcode !!

I think that can happen if the kernel module ("speedtch") and modem_run are both trying to load the firmware at the same time. I recommend following the howto.
_________________
Improve your font rendering and ALSA sound
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kazik1616
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Mar 2006
Posts: 117
Location: pl

PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 2:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Using guide from http://www.linux-usb.org/SpeedTouch/gentoo/ And I have the problem: after
Code:
dmesg |grep 'speedt\|DSL'
:
Quote:
usbcore: registered new driver speedtch
speedtch 2-1:1.0: found stage 1 firmware speedtch-1.bin
speedtch 2-1:1.0: found stage 2 firmware speedtch-2.bin
speedtch 2-1:1.0: speedtch_upload_firmware: read BLOCK2 from modem failed (-110)!
speedtch 2-1:1.0: speedtch_heavy_init: firmware upload failed (-110)!


What's wrong?
_________________
http://bots.xt.pl


Last edited by kazik1616 on Fri Jul 07, 2006 5:32 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 2:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kazik1616 wrote:
UWhat's wrong?

Dunno. Tell us more. What's the model of the modem. What does emerge --info show?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Page 4 of 5

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum