Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
How do I get change startup resolution
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
lazloman
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Dec 2003
Posts: 343
Location: Skokie, Il. USA

PostPosted: Sat Jun 19, 2004 2:12 am    Post subject: How do I get change startup resolution Reply with quote

In my beige G3 I have a Radeon 7000 Mac Edition connected to a 17" ColorSync monitor. When booting the computer directly into Linux, I get a 640x480 screen. This gives a very ugly screen when the gui loads. If I start from MacOS where the resolution is set to 1024x768, I get 1024xx768 in Linux also. How can I get 1024 when directly booting into Linux? In my kernel the default resolution is set to 1024.
TIA!
_________________
Gentoo x86
2x Dell Optiplex GX200

"My Break-Dancing days are over, but there's always the Funky Chicken."
--The Full Monty
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mox2k
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Feb 2004
Posts: 119

PostPosted: Sun Jun 20, 2004 8:18 am    Post subject: Re: How do I get change startup resolution Reply with quote

lazloman wrote:
In my beige G3 I have a Radeon 7000 Mac Edition connected to a 17" ColorSync monitor. When booting the computer directly into Linux, I get a 640x480 screen. This gives a very ugly screen when the gui loads. If I start from MacOS where the resolution is set to 1024x768, I get 1024xx768 in Linux also. How can I get 1024 when directly booting into Linux? In my kernel the default resolution is set to 1024.
TIA!


This would be an entry in /etc/yaboot.conf. Something like:
append="video=atyfb:vmode:17,cmode:16"

I don't know for sure if you can use "atyfb". If not, try "ofonly" instead. vmode is the resolution (in this case 1024x768), cmode is bit depth (so it's either 8, [15,] 16, 24 or 32)

Further information:
http://www.sharplabs.com:8668/space/video+boot+arguments
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_savage
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jun 2004
Posts: 308
Location: Redmond, WA

PostPosted: Sun Jun 20, 2004 2:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i am waiting for somebody to allow me background pictures, or a little logo. just to make it look a little better... :D

jens
_________________
Jens Troeger
http://savage.light-speed.de/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lazloman
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Dec 2003
Posts: 343
Location: Skokie, Il. USA

PostPosted: Mon Jun 21, 2004 3:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, I'm using BootX not yaboot, because I hace an Old World box. But BootX can also be passed kernel arguements, so I tried what you suggested using both atyfb and ofonly along with the args. I have been using video=radeon, but no luck with any of those.
_________________
Gentoo x86
2x Dell Optiplex GX200

"My Break-Dancing days are over, but there's always the Funky Chicken."
--The Full Monty
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mox2k
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Feb 2004
Posts: 119

PostPosted: Mon Jun 21, 2004 8:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

lazloman wrote:
Thanks, I'm using BootX not yaboot, because I hace an Old World box. But BootX can also be passed kernel arguements, so I tried what you suggested using both atyfb and ofonly along with the args. I have been using video=radeon, but no luck with any of those.


It's always a matter of

1. what resolution / bit depth can the graphics card do
2. what resolution / bit depth can the monitor do

It might be the case that the graphics card is far more powerful than the monitor - or vice versa. So in the end you'll need to find out by trial and error ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stimuli
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Dec 2002
Posts: 292
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Jun 21, 2004 6:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I thought this was set in the kernel?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_savage
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jun 2004
Posts: 308
Location: Redmond, WA

PostPosted: Mon Jun 21, 2004 9:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

stimuli wrote:
I thought this was set in the kernel?


when yaboot/bootX executes, then the kernel hasn't even been kicked off yet :-)
jens
_________________
Jens Troeger
http://savage.light-speed.de/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum