Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Installing Gentoo - The Developers Method - Stage1 and NPTL
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 13, 14, 15 ... 23, 24, 25  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Deranger
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 26 Aug 2004
Posts: 1215

PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2004 5:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

YAY! I ran this before bootstrapping and it completed without any errors 8)
Code:
emerge --nodeps --oneshot gcc-config

However, gcc-config bug still exist...

Credits to [Imago] ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MoonWalker
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Jul 2002
Posts: 449

PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2004 8:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hielvc wrote:
MoonWalker wrote
Code:

#echo ">=sys-boot/grub-0.95 > /etc/portage/package.mask


change to
Code:

#echo ">=sys-boot/grub-0.95 >> /etc/portage/package.mask


The chage is ">>" that appends to the file instead of over writing it. Also when you echo "blaa" > or >> to file, this is know as redirect, the file is created for you if it doesnt exist.

Well if you really read my posts you see I also gave the >> alternative and initially excluded > as it overwrite the file. The > was only given later as I expect people to read the previous post first.

I have corrected the typo in my post, sorry for that. BUT ATTENTION, I left them in here or it wont be a quote. Can you correct your post and I will correct this, just in sanity for late commers.
_________________
/Joakim

Living on earth is expensive, but it includes a free trip around the sun
every year.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MoonWalker
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Jul 2002
Posts: 449

PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2004 8:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

slycordinator wrote:
For the C-compiler problems... it could be that you are using CFLAGS extensions for the wrong version of gcc.

Like starting with 3.4 you used -march just to tell the architechure and -mtune to compile optimized for that arch. But with versions before that one, -march alone does the optimization and it doesn't understand -mtune at all.

I have
Code:
CFLAGS="-march=pentium4 -O2 -pipe"
do you mean I instead need
Code:
CFLAGS="-march=pentium4 -mtune=pentium4 -O2 -pipe"
?
gcc = 3.4.3
_________________
/Joakim

Living on earth is expensive, but it includes a free trip around the sun
every year.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MoonWalker
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Jul 2002
Posts: 449

PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2004 8:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oktane wrote:
YAY! I ran this before bootstrapping and it completed without any errors 8)
Code:
emerge --nodeps --oneshot gcc-config

However, gcc-config bug still exist...

Credits to [Imago] ;)
So basicly it doesn't change anything, gcc-config still is the "black cheap" here.
_________________
/Joakim

Living on earth is expensive, but it includes a free trip around the sun
every year.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Deranger
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 26 Aug 2004
Posts: 1215

PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2004 8:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

MoonWalker wrote:
Oktane wrote:
YAY! I ran this before bootstrapping and it completed without any errors 8)
Code:
emerge --nodeps --oneshot gcc-config

However, gcc-config bug still exist...

Credits to [Imago] ;)
So basicly it doesn't change anything, gcc-config still is the "black cheap" here.

Well, at least bootstrap passes fine :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MoonWalker
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Jul 2002
Posts: 449

PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2004 8:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oktane wrote:
MoonWalker wrote:
Oktane wrote:
YAY! I ran this before bootstrapping and it completed without any errors 8)
Code:
emerge --nodeps --oneshot gcc-config

However, gcc-config bug still exist...

Credits to [Imago] ;)
So basicly it doesn't change anything, gcc-config still is the "black cheap" here.

Well, at least bootstrap passes fine :P
Yes, it's cleaner, I agree. But the base of the problem remains and who know when it pops up next time :?
_________________
/Joakim

Living on earth is expensive, but it includes a free trip around the sun
every year.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MoonWalker
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Jul 2002
Posts: 449

PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2004 9:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

slycordinator wrote:
For the C-compiler problems... it could be that you are using CFLAGS extensions for the wrong version of gcc.

Like starting with 3.4 you used -march just to tell the architechure and -mtune to compile optimized for that arch. But with versions before that one, -march alone does the optimization and it doesn't understand -mtune at all.
Well this info isn't correct, reading the gcc manpage it says
Code:
Moreover, specifying -march=cpu-type implies -mtune=cpu-type

-mcpu=cpu-type
 A deprecated synonym for -mtune
and I think one have to belive the man page or?
_________________
/Joakim

Living on earth is expensive, but it includes a free trip around the sun
every year.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Deranger
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 26 Aug 2004
Posts: 1215

PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2004 10:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I might have an workaround for GRUB. I cannot try it out because I'm not at home right now, but how about re-emerging libstdc++-v3?
Code:

emerge libstdc++-v3
emerge grub
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MoonWalker
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Jul 2002
Posts: 449

PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2004 10:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oktane wrote:
I might have an workaround for GRUB. I cannot try it out because I'm not at home right now, but how about re-emerging libstdc++-v3?
Code:

emerge libstdc++-v3
emerge grub
I haven't tested it as I'm compiling kernel right now, but wouldn't libstdc++-v3 have been (re)emerged when I did a #emerge -e system && emerge -e system ?
_________________
/Joakim

Living on earth is expensive, but it includes a free trip around the sun
every year.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nase
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Nov 2004
Posts: 37
Location: california - davis

PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2004 11:52 am    Post subject: this on 64bit Reply with quote

hi dudes,

I currently running this tutorial on X86_64 (xeon!) and at the moment I'm at the bootstrapping and emerge system and I think it should work.

(I'm tryin since 1 week to make gentoo running on this workstation 32bit all fine 64bit a hell of compilling errors. Would be a nice story.)

g.
_________________
ask me what ever you want, I do the same...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MoonWalker
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Jul 2002
Posts: 449

PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2004 3:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

WARNING!
module-init-tools-3.1 have a bug that hang (at least some boxes) on boot. The safe route is
Code:
echo ">=sys-apps/module-init-tools-3.1" >> /etc/portage/package.mask

Keep track of the bug here
_________________
/Joakim

Living on earth is expensive, but it includes a free trip around the sun
every year.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
flens
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Nov 2004
Posts: 29
Location: Trondheim, Norway

PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2004 4:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi everybody.

I am a little confused about all those bugs coming up since the 2004.3 release. I did a GentooHandbookStage3install -2004.2 via knoppix- a couple weeks ago on my notebook and it went beatifully. In about two weeks I will begin to reinstall Gentoo via this guide and gentoo liveCD but with the "stable" x86 arch. As of now, will I have to deal with the same problems or are all these bugs just ~x86 specific?

thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Imago
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Nov 2004
Posts: 157
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2004 4:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MoonWalker wrote:
Oktane wrote:
MoonWalker wrote:
So basicly it doesn't change anything, gcc-config still is the "black cheap" here.

Well, at least bootstrap passes fine :P
Yes, it's cleaner, I agree. But the base of the problem remains and who know when it pops up next time :?


Indeed the problem isnt resolved by the newer gcc-config version.Its still complaining about:
Code:

usr/bin/gcc-config: profile does not exist or invalid setting for /etc/env.d/gcc/i686-pc-linux-gnu-3.4.3


I did some research in gcc-config/bugzilla and the forums and found out that they recently changed the path, where the gcc libs are installed, from /use/lib/gcc-lib to /usr/lib/gcc.
The problem is that gcc-config doesnt seems to know that, so for gcc-3.4.3 (and 3.4.2) gcc-config fails to find the gcc libraries. That results in the error message about the non-existing profile. However gcc-config doesnt really depends on that library check, so it continues it work although the check failed. The problem with the older gcc-config version(1.3.6-r4) is that somehow during bootstrappingthe string that should set the current gcc profile contains the error message. Of course that breaks everything ;).
gcc-config-1.3.7 sets everything correctly so everything runs fine during bootstrap, but still complains about the missing profile.

I filed a bug for this: #72557, and included a small patch.
(Note: patch applies to gcc-config 1.3.6-r3 not to 1.3.7, also it should be easy to make a similiar patch for 1.3.7)
With it gcc-config runs fine and bootstrap seems to be okay. I will start now another bootstrap to test it
(I cant remember how many bootstraps i started the last days *g*)



CU
Imago
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MoonWalker
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Jul 2002
Posts: 449

PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2004 4:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hurrey! yes, that's it. Thanks for your research Imago, now lets hope the devs go to work on this asap. It's almost an :oops: for the devs, well it is.
_________________
/Joakim

Living on earth is expensive, but it includes a free trip around the sun
every year.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MoonWalker
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Jul 2002
Posts: 449

PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2004 5:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well I'm now at the time for reboot, finally. But being new to 2.6 kernel, one thing puzzles me... In the tutorial, I can't find anywere about copying the bzImage over to /boot, isn't this required anymore? I figure the last parameter in the #make oneliner, install, may take care of this, but want to be sure or reboot will be a dissapointment I guess.
_________________
/Joakim

Living on earth is expensive, but it includes a free trip around the sun
every year.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Imago
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Nov 2004
Posts: 157
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2004 5:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes, the make install for the kernel sources copies bzImage to /boot/vmlinuz and IIRC also the System.map.

But imho its always safe to doublecheck and take a look into /boot and look if the kernel image is there and its also the same like the one you entered in grub.conf

CU
Imago
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UncleAelfrich
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Nov 2004
Posts: 6
Location: Los Angeles, CA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2004 6:08 pm    Post subject: Another C Compiler error Reply with quote

I have been trying (unsuccessfully) to get a gentoo box running using this tutorial with the 2004.3 miinimal install. For my current attempt I emerged gcc-config (as suggested here) AND edited CFLAGS to include both -march=athlon-tbird AND -mtune=athlon-tbird.

My install stopped with this error:

Quote:
configure: error: C compiler cannot create executables
configure: error: /bin/sh './configure' failed for autoconf-lib-link

ERROR: sys-devel/gettext-0.14.1 failed
Function econf, Line 449, Exitcode 1
econf failed


I'm confused as to which "fix" should FIX this error ... or should I just wait a few days and hope (pray) this whole 2004.3 mess gets straightened out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MoonWalker
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Jul 2002
Posts: 449

PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2004 6:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

[Imago] wrote:
yes, the make install for the kernel sources copies bzImage to /boot/vmlinuz and IIRC also the System.map.

But imho its always safe to doublecheck and take a look into /boot and look if the kernel image is there and its also the same like the one you entered in grub.conf

CU
Imago
OK - booted ok, almost. A few minor issues which was more or less expected. I tried a nic module which possibly didn't match and it didn't :-) so I will go back to standard. But I have 2 questions:

As this is supposed to be a pure server, is there really any point in having ACPI support setup?

Same thing with sound, there is a sound chip on the mobbo but it will hardly be used, at least not in this setup. It must be ok to exclude all sound support in the kernel or?
_________________
/Joakim

Living on earth is expensive, but it includes a free trip around the sun
every year.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Imago
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Nov 2004
Posts: 157
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2004 7:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@UncleAelfrich
Hmm maybe you can post the config.log? Otherwise its relative hard to understand why the configure script actually failed.
Although there are quite a few threads here with emerge stopping at the gettext package, i think it was a perl issue. Maybe you can also look after that.


@MoonWalker
sound support doesnt really make sense ;)
For ACPI support im not sure. I normally include it in my kernel.

CU
Imago
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MoonWalker
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Jul 2002
Posts: 449

PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2004 7:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

[Imago] wrote:

@MoonWalker
sound support doesnt really make sense ;)
For ACPI support im not sure. I normally include it in my kernel.

CU
Imago
Ok, my "nightmare" is just that the server will go to sleep because noone have been hammering on the keyboard for the last 24 hours...:-) if you see my point. But it maybe is a question of configuration as well.
_________________
/Joakim

Living on earth is expensive, but it includes a free trip around the sun
every year.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
comprookie2000
Developer
Developer


Joined: 25 Jul 2004
Posts: 925
Location: Sun City Center, Florida

PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2004 11:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This;
Selecting fast mirrors
-------------------------
# mirrorselect -a -s4 -o | grep 'GENTOO_MIRRORS=' >> /mnt/gentoo/etc/make.conf
Is a pain in the arce! some mirrors will go off line in the middle of a huge emerge!
_________________
http://dev.gentoo.org/~dabbott/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slycordinator
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 31 Jan 2004
Posts: 3060
Location: Korea

PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2004 12:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

comprookie2000 wrote:
This;
Selecting fast mirrors
-------------------------
# mirrorselect -a -s4 -o | grep 'GENTOO_MIRRORS=' >> /mnt/gentoo/etc/make.conf
Is a pain in the arce! some mirrors will go off line in the middle of a huge emerge!


Then you can make a new GENTOO_MIRRORS= line which doesn't have that mirror in it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
-TooL
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Nov 2004
Posts: 75

PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2004 1:58 am    Post subject: nbench Reply with quote

Thanks Ali3n for the help! Here is my nbench score for my linux box using this guide (and his help):

Quote:
BYTEmark* Native Mode Benchmark ver. 2 (10/95)
Index-split by Andrew D. Balsa (11/97)
Linux/Unix* port by Uwe F. Mayer (12/96,11/97)

TEST : Iterations/sec. : Old Index : New Index
: : Pentium 90* : AMD K6/233*
--------------------:------------------:-------------:------------
NUMERIC SORT : 1438 : 36.88 : 12.11
STRING SORT : 102.52 : 45.81 : 7.09
BITFIELD : 2.3248e+08 : 39.88 : 8.33
FP EMULATION : 87.44 : 41.96 : 9.68
FOURIER : 16343 : 18.59 : 10.44
ASSIGNMENT : 21.027 : 80.01 : 20.75
IDEA : 2181.5 : 33.37 : 9.91
HUFFMAN : 1353 : 37.52 : 11.98
NEURAL NET : 22.604 : 36.31 : 15.27
LU DECOMPOSITION : 905.44 : 46.91 : 33.87
==========================ORIGINAL BYTEMARK RESULTS==========================
INTEGER INDEX : 43.251
FLOATING-POINT INDEX: 31.634
Baseline (MSDOS*) : Pentium* 90, 256 KB L2-cache, Watcom* compiler 10.0
==============================LINUX DATA BELOW===============================
CPU : AuthenticAMD AMD Athlon(tm) XP 2500+ 1830MHz
L2 Cache : 512 KB
OS : Linux 2.6.9-gentoo-r6
C compiler : 3.4.3
libc :
MEMORY INDEX : 10.702
INTEGER INDEX : 10.861
FLOATING-POINT INDEX: 17.545
Baseline (LINUX) : AMD K6/233*, 512 KB L2-cache, gcc 2.7.2.3, libc-5.4.38
* Trademarks are property of their respective holder.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kimchi_sg
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Nov 2004
Posts: 2915
Location: Singapore

PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2004 2:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried to nptl-install using the tuorial, but when I run /lib/libc.so.6 it says:

...
Available extensions:
...
linuxthreads-0.10 by Xavier Leroy
...

which means my system is still not NPTL-enabled, I presume.

How do I enable NPTL now? Should I emerge glibc again? Or re-install?

I'm using ali3nx's make.conf (changed only CHOST and CFLAGS to match my sempron processor), and kernel .config.

P.S. Both the gcc-config bug and the gettext-perl dependency bug showed up during the install. :-(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slycordinator
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 31 Jan 2004
Posts: 3060
Location: Korea

PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2004 8:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

kimchi_sg wrote:
I tried to nptl-install using the tuorial, but when I run /lib/libc.so.6 it says:

...
Available extensions:
...
linuxthreads-0.10 by Xavier Leroy
...

which means my system is still not NPTL-enabled, I presume.

How do I enable NPTL now? Should I emerge glibc again? Or re-install?

I'm using ali3nx's make.conf (changed only CHOST and CFLAGS to match my sempron processor), and kernel .config.

P.S. Both the gcc-config bug and the gettext-perl dependency bug showed up during the install. :-(


Add nptlonly to your USE flag list and then remerge glibc.

edit: What it's doing is when you have USE="nptl" it compiles glibc twice, once with linuxthreads and once with nptl but it defaults to using the old linuxthreads version (this is the standard way that most linuxes do).

When you add nptlonly to the list (USE="nptl nptlonly") it compiles glibc once, and obviously only has the nptl version.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 13, 14, 15 ... 23, 24, 25  Next
Page 14 of 25

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum