Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Installing Gentoo - The Developers Method - Stage1 and NPTL
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 7, 8, 9 ... 23, 24, 25  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
syncops
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Oct 2004
Posts: 7
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Nov 06, 2004 3:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've used you're make.conf as a starting point for mine, very nice comments. I have a new EMT64 P4 Xeon proc. In trying to find the optimal cflags I found these in the few posts about gentoo & EMT64.

Acovea was interesting read, found and removed some redundant flags but kept the extra funroll-loops, -msse3 & -mfpmath=sse flags. msse3 sounds better than msse2 :)

Creating the bootstrap now with the following CFLAGS:
-march=pentium4 -O3 –pipe -funroll-loops -msse3 -mfpmath=sse

Thanks for putting up this great topic !

P.S. noticed a typo in http://www.ali3nx.info/make.conf
#CFLAGS="=march=pentium4 -O3 -pipe"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ali3nx
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Sep 2003
Posts: 621
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Nov 06, 2004 5:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

syncops wrote:
I've used you're make.conf as a starting point for mine, very nice comments. I have a new EMT64 P4 Xeon proc. In trying to find the optimal cflags I found these in the few posts about gentoo & EMT64.

Acovea was interesting read, found and removed some redundant flags but kept the extra funroll-loops, -msse3 & -mfpmath=sse flags. msse3 sounds better than msse2 :)

Creating the bootstrap now with the following CFLAGS:
-march=pentium4 -O3 –pipe -funroll-loops -msse3 -mfpmath=sse

Thanks for putting up this great topic !

P.S. noticed a typo in http://www.ali3nx.info/make.conf
#CFLAGS="=march=pentium4 -O3 -pipe"


I recall that emt64's need to be installed very similar to an amd64. I would highly advise consulting the members in #gentoo-amd64 before proceeding any further. They have one guy that has one running allready. His nick is unsolo
_________________
Compiling Gentoo since version 1.4
Thousands of Gentoo Installs Completed
Emerged on every continent but Antarctica
Compile long and Prosper!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bob P
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 20 Oct 2004
Posts: 3355
Location: Jackass! Development Labs

PostPosted: Sat Nov 06, 2004 5:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oktane wrote:
Bob P wrote:
D'OH!! It took me a long time to realize that I had mistakenly set the date to OCT 5 instead of Nov 5!

so now I'm trying this:
Code:
emerge shadow && emerge shadow && emerge system


and i hope to be back into action shortly. :wink:

assuming that this works, what's next? do I just resume the one-liner instructions starting after "emerge system"?

Yep.


thanks. that's what i had done, and i'm glad that i made the right assumption... :wink:
_________________
.
Stage 1/3 | Jackass! | Rockhopper! | Thanks | Google Sucks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spidna
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 Feb 2004
Posts: 148

PostPosted: Sat Nov 06, 2004 9:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ali3nx if you have a minute can you post the reiserf4 instructions, would like to try that on my new AMD+3000 machine. also i got a toshiba laptop i might need help, how can i contact you to help me with installation, actually install it for me, especially X windows part of it. email me spidnaatgmaildotcom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bob P
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 20 Oct 2004
Posts: 3355
Location: Jackass! Development Labs

PostPosted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 12:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ali3nx wrote:
Bob P wrote:
i'm back at the PC to check on the progress of the "sooper dooper spectacular bootstrap-bugfixed oneliner magic", which took just a tad over 6 hours to complete. it looks like i ran into a problem:

Code:
20:50:23 (45.58 KB/s) - '/usr/portage/distfiles/gettext-1.03.tar.gz' saved [4064/4064]

>>> md5 src_uri ;-) gettext-1.03.tar.gz
/usr/portage/eclass/perl-module.eclass: line 168: perl: command not found
/usr/portage/eclass/perl-module.eclass: line 171: perl: command not found
/usr/portage/eclass/perl-module.eclass: line 174: perl: command not found
/usr/portage/eclass/perl-module.eclass: line 177: perl: command not found
/usr/portage/eclass/perl-module.eclass: line 180: perl: command not found
/usr/portage/eclass/perl-module.eclass: line 183: perl: command not found
>>> Unpacking source...
>>> Unpacking gettext-1.03.tar.gz to /var/tmp/portage/Locale-gettext-1.03/work
>>> Source unpacked.
/usr/portage/eclass/perl-module.eclass: line 168: perl: command not found
/usr/portage/eclass/perl-module.eclass: line 171: perl: command not found
/usr/portage/eclass/perl-module.eclass: line 174: perl: command not found
/usr/portage/eclass/perl-module.eclass: line 177: perl: command not found
/usr/portage/eclass/perl-module.eclass: line 180: perl: command not found
/usr/portage/eclass/perl-module.eclass: line 183: perl: command not found
/usr/portage/eclass/perl-module.eclass: line 56: perl: command not found

make: *** No targets specified and no makefile found.  Stop.

!!! ERROR: dev-perl-molule_src_compile, Line 65, Exitcode 2
!!! Function perl-module_src_compile, Line 65, Exitcode 2
!!! compilation failed
!!! If you need support, post the tompost build error, NOT this status message


It would appear you have found a dependancy bug in portage related to perl not compiling as a dependancy of emerge system. I'll bring this to vapier's attention. For now run the following command.
Code:
emerge libperl && emerge libperl && emerge system


unfortunately, i resumed with these commands as recommended, but ran into fatal errors in building the system. i am not sure whehter those occurred as a result of my own stupidity in setting the date to the wrong month, so i decided to start over with a clean slate.

it may sound superfluous, but i've tried doing the complete installation over again, parsing out the individual commands in the "one-liner" to see exactly where the problems are occurring. the failure in compilation of the perl module is indeed occuring as a result of the command:
Code:
scripts/bootstrap.sh


i have a question in regard to your recommendation to resume operations with:
Code:
emerge libperl && emerge libperl && emerge system


the fatal error in the bootstrap script was caused by the failure to compile the perl module. although "emerge libperl" will solve the problem related to the absense of perl, i'm unclear as to whether there may be any subsequent operations in the bootstrap script that are being left unperformed.

are there any other steps in the "scripts/bootstrap.sh" script that remain unperformed/incomplete as a result of the perl compilation fatal error? that is to say, if compiling perl is the last step in bootstrapping, its simple enough to resume with the aforementioned commands. but if other bootstrap operations were supposed follow perl compilation but remain unexecuted as a result of the fatal error, is it necessary to re-enter the bootstrap operation at its actual termination point, rather than resuming with the following step, building the system with "emerge system"?

the reason i ask is because i have already tried your recommendation to "emerge libperl && emerge libperl && emerge system", but this alternative method resulted in a later failure during "emerge system". i am wondering if this has occurred as a result of the libperl fatal error bringing the "scripts/bootstrap.sh" operation to a premature halt. recommendations?
_________________
.
Stage 1/3 | Jackass! | Rockhopper! | Thanks | Google Sucks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Deranger
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 26 Aug 2004
Posts: 1215

PostPosted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 2:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

spidna wrote:
ali3nx if you have a minute can you post the reiserf4 instructions, would like to try that on my new AMD+3000 machine. also i got a toshiba laptop i might need help, how can i contact you to help me with installation, actually install it for me, especially X windows part of it. email me spidnaatgmaildotcom

Using Reiser4 is easy as walking. Just get Reiser4 LiveCD instead of official LiveCD. During installation, you can make Reiser4 partition by typing "mkfs.reiser4 <device here>".

Just remember, there's no support in main-kernel tree for Reiser4. You have to use some experimental patchsets like nitro- or mm-sources. I personally use nitro-sources, it's stable as rock and fast as ali3nx catching sight of and chaseing after his server ;)


Last edited by Deranger on Sun Nov 07, 2004 5:39 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hielvc
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 2805
Location: Oceanside, Ca

PostPosted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 5:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fast as a rock :?: Err thats stable as rock and as fast as ali3nx catching sight of and chaseing after his server :lol:
_________________
An A-Z Index of the Linux BASH command line
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Deranger
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 26 Aug 2004
Posts: 1215

PostPosted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 5:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Haha :lol: I just put that in the same sentence because I'm too lazy to write any essays.

Edited ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ali3nx
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Sep 2003
Posts: 621
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 11:25 pm    Post subject: Re: Installing Gentoo - The Developers Method - Stage1 and N Reply with quote

slycordinator wrote:
ali3nx wrote:
The dev mount into chroot example is in the official Gentoo Linux x86 handbook and considering that allot of gentoo's developers have either directly or indirectly contributed to this tutorial and some have advised me it is best to include it is here aswell.


It's not in the current official x86 handbook.


I'll rectify that one adding it as optional asap.
_________________
Compiling Gentoo since version 1.4
Thousands of Gentoo Installs Completed
Emerged on every continent but Antarctica
Compile long and Prosper!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thecrazyperson_ws
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Apr 2004
Posts: 89

PostPosted: Mon Nov 08, 2004 8:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Installing Gentoo using a Knoppix CD is also possible, so those of you who would prefer to have KDE up and running (as well as the games it comes with) to pass the time while bootstrapping, Knoppix 3.4 and higher include a 2.6 kernel on the CD. I'm currently testing this method on my laptop and I'll post results pertaining to how well that works. The only things that you'll have to do different:

At the knoppix boot screen, instead of just pushing enter, type "knoppix26" then push enter.

**After KDE is booted but before you do anything else***
Open a konsole and type these commands:

Code:
knoppix@ttyp0[knoppix]$ sudo passwd root
***set password***
knoppix@ttyp0[knoppix]$ su
root@ttyp0[knoppix]# usermod -d /root -m root
#This changes root's home directory to /root from /home/root
#Exit out of su and su back to root.
root@ttyp0[knoppix]# mkdir /mnt/gentoo


Pick up this guide from the partitioning steps, but when asked to mount /proc, issue this command instead:

Code:
root@ttyp0[gentoo]# mount -o bind /proc /mnt/gentoo/proc


As I said, having those games really makes the time go by a lot faster. This is just a little hint I picked up on Gentoo's alternate installation methods site (http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/altinstall.xml).
_________________
Bevelle: Dual Athlon MP 2000+, 1.25G ram, 120G HD, Gentoo 2005.1-r1, Kernel 2.6.15-gentoo-r5

Gagazet: Pentium 2-266, 288M ram, 240G HD, currently installing gentoo

Besaid: p-150, 80M ram, win2k pro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Deranger
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 26 Aug 2004
Posts: 1215

PostPosted: Mon Nov 08, 2004 10:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you prefer Gnome over KDE, use Gentoo RR4 LiveCD ;) It has Reiser4 support and other goodies. 8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thecrazyperson_ws
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Apr 2004
Posts: 89

PostPosted: Mon Nov 08, 2004 8:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You know, it's funny how many window managers there are out there. Fluxbox, BlackBox (Also ported to Windows 2000/98/NT), IceWM, KDE, GNOME, OpenBox, WindowMaker, (the ugly) TWM, BlueBox, Enlightenment, XFCE, and XFWM just to name a few. The knoppix CD has every one of those listed on the CD, selectable at boot time. Now keep in mind that I'm only using knoppix because I *accidentally* broke my 2004.2 livecd :oops: . Since I'm on dialup, I don't have the time to re-download it, so a 2.6 booted knoppix seems to be doing the job just fine under the circumstances. Any of those windowmanagers are selectable at boot by adding the option "desktop=<yourchosenwindowmanager>" on the boot screen.
_________________
Bevelle: Dual Athlon MP 2000+, 1.25G ram, 120G HD, Gentoo 2005.1-r1, Kernel 2.6.15-gentoo-r5

Gagazet: Pentium 2-266, 288M ram, 240G HD, currently installing gentoo

Besaid: p-150, 80M ram, win2k pro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thecrazyperson_ws
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Apr 2004
Posts: 89

PostPosted: Mon Nov 08, 2004 9:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

FSCK! Knoppix 3.4 will fark up ncurses using these methods. I'm gonna have to find my Gentoo 2004.1 livecd. I guess this is what happens when I try to use Debian to build Gentoo.
_________________
Bevelle: Dual Athlon MP 2000+, 1.25G ram, 120G HD, Gentoo 2005.1-r1, Kernel 2.6.15-gentoo-r5

Gagazet: Pentium 2-266, 288M ram, 240G HD, currently installing gentoo

Besaid: p-150, 80M ram, win2k pro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bob P
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 20 Oct 2004
Posts: 3355
Location: Jackass! Development Labs

PostPosted: Mon Nov 08, 2004 10:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ali3nx, I have a question about your sample make.conf file.

i've asked for help on my bootstrapping problem on another thread,

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=248229

and i'm getting lots of anecdotal suggestions that my USE statement is too long. most people are suggesting trimming out about 95% of the USE statements, which I find confusing.

i just thought i'd ask -- in your typical installation, how many of those USE statements are YOU actually using? i have the impression that you're using ALOT of them, otherwise your make.conf sample file wouldn't be so heavily populated with USE statements.

i get the impression that i would be losing quite a bit if i eliminated 95% of the USE statements, but that's what everyone seems to be suggesting. i just thought i'd ask your opinion on this, since you wrote the sample make.conf file.

any information you could offer would be greatly appreciated!
_________________
.
Stage 1/3 | Jackass! | Rockhopper! | Thanks | Google Sucks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Deranger
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 26 Aug 2004
Posts: 1215

PostPosted: Mon Nov 08, 2004 10:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is only my opinion, but I've never understood why to use tons of USE-flags. I'm trying to keep my USE-flags minimal as possible, here's my:
Code:

USE="-* 3dnow X aalib alsa audiofile avi bitmap-fonts bzlib cdr divx4linux dvdr encode fortran f77 gif gtk2 imlib jpeg mad mikmod mmx mpeg ncurses nls nptl nptlonly oggvorbis opengl pam png python readline sdl slang sse ssl tcpd truetype xml xml2 xmms xv xvid zlib"

I'm not sure if fortran has replaced f77 flag, but it seems so.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bob P
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 20 Oct 2004
Posts: 3355
Location: Jackass! Development Labs

PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2004 1:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oktane wrote:
This is only my opinion, but I've never understood why to use tons of USE-flags. I'm trying to keep my USE-flags minimal as possible, here's my:
Code:

USE="-* 3dnow X aalib alsa audiofile avi bitmap-fonts bzlib cdr divx4linux dvdr encode fortran f77 gif gtk2 imlib jpeg mad mikmod mmx mpeg ncurses nls nptl nptlonly oggvorbis opengl pam png python readline sdl slang sse ssl tcpd truetype xml xml2 xmms xv xvid zlib"

I'm not sure if fortran has replaced f77 flag, but it seems so.


thanks for posting your code!

fwiw, manually emerging libperl does seem to have solved the dependency problem. i did run into a small problem though, in following the recommendation to "emerge libperl && emerge libperl && emerge system" -- during emerge libperl i received an error message that prompted for a customized USE statement during the emerge libperl to fully support threading! if I had stacked the commands and walked away from the PC, i never would have realized that this was necessary to achieve a fully optimized perl that supports threading! the details are in that thread if anyone is interested.

fwiw, on cursory examination it appears that the presence of the "~x86" keyword and the liberal use of USE statements are not in any way related to the fatal error. i think that this is good news. :wink:
_________________
.
Stage 1/3 | Jackass! | Rockhopper! | Thanks | Google Sucks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hielvc
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 2805
Location: Oceanside, Ca

PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2004 6:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is probably off topic but how do you now if your useing udev :?: I think I am
Code:
mount
/dev/hda3 on / type ext3 (rw)
none on /proc type proc (rw)
none on /sys type sysfs (rw)
none on /dev type tmpfs (rw)
none on /dev/pts type devpts (rw)
/dev/hda5 on /usr type ext3 (rw)
/dev/hda6 on /home type ext3 (rw)
/dev/hda7 on /opt type ext3 (rw)
/dev/hda8 on /home/cifs type reiserfs (rw,notail)
none on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw)
but other than a bunch of nones being mounted, I still have a /dev. So how do you tell or know ?
_________________
An A-Z Index of the Linux BASH command line
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RadionX
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Oct 2004
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2004 11:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hello, i have need some help i plan on redoin my install this weekend, ok i wrote all this down now i need you to tell me if this is correct:
i plan on formating using mkreiserfs /dev/hda3 --format 3.6 (write or wrong)
my make.conf shall contain
CFLAGS="-march=athlon-xp -pipe -frame-fomit-pointer -msse -mmmx -m3dnow" (these are the instructions my athlon xp 1800 supports should i also add sse mmx 3dnow to my USE variable???)
CHOST="1686-pc-linux-gnu"
USE="-qt -kde gnome gtk NPTL sse mmx 3dnow" (is this correct for using NPTL and should i us the sse mmx and 3dnow because i put them in cflags??)
Lastly when it comes to bootstrap i should type:
emerge -C linux-headers && emerge --oneshot --nodeps linux26-headers && cd /usr/portage &&
scripts/bootstrap.sh (is this correct?)
lastly i have a question what should i emerge for rieserfs progs, should it be emerge reiser3.6progs or something...? thank you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bob P
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 20 Oct 2004
Posts: 3355
Location: Jackass! Development Labs

PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 5:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

RadionX wrote:

CHOST="1686-pc-linux-gnu"
that looks like it could be a typo, with a "1" in place of the "i".

i used "emerge reiserfs progs" as suggested and formatted my drives using 3.6. you should not have any problem there.
_________________
.
Stage 1/3 | Jackass! | Rockhopper! | Thanks | Google Sucks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Deranger
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 26 Aug 2004
Posts: 1215

PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 7:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

RadionX wrote:
hello, i have need some help i plan on redoin my install this weekend, ok i wrote all this down now i need you to tell me if this is correct:
i plan on formating using mkreiserfs /dev/hda3 --format 3.6 (write or wrong)
my make.conf shall contain
CFLAGS="-march=athlon-xp -pipe -frame-fomit-pointer -msse -mmmx -m3dnow" (these are the instructions my athlon xp 1800 supports should i also add sse mmx 3dnow to my USE variable???)
CHOST="1686-pc-linux-gnu"
USE="-qt -kde gnome gtk NPTL sse mmx 3dnow" (is this correct for using NPTL and should i us the sse mmx and 3dnow because i put them in cflags??)
Lastly when it comes to bootstrap i should type:
emerge -C linux-headers && emerge --oneshot --nodeps linux26-headers && cd /usr/portage &&
scripts/bootstrap.sh (is this correct?)
lastly i have a question what should i emerge for rieserfs progs, should it be emerge reiser3.6progs or something...? thank you

You have small typos in it, but anyway, I would suggest these flags:
Code:

CFLAGS="-O2 -march=athlon-xp -fomit-frame-pointer -ftracer -fprefetch-loop-arrays -pipe"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS} -fvisibility-inlines-hidden"

Those are well tested and safe flags for GCC 3.4, posted by GCC-porting developer (robmoss).

I am using those flags and works very well (Athlon XP 2600+).

Code:

CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"

It's now correct.

Code:

mkreiserfs /dev/hda3 --format 3.6

Format partition to use ReiserFS (3.6), it's ok.

Code:

emerge -C linux-headers && emerge --oneshot --nodeps linux26-headers && cd /usr/portage && scripts/bootstrap.sh

I've always used this, not the one from the guide, works very well.

reiserfsprogs is what you need, reiser4progs are for Reiser4.

Hope this helps :P

EDIT: Regarding USE-flags, all flags are case-sensitive and should be typed in lowercase (nptl not NPTL). As far as I know, sse, mmx and 3dnow are now USE-flags, not compiler-flags (so putting them under USE is ok).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arkaine
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jun 2004
Posts: 62
Location: Ohio

PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 8:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
rc-update add ntp-client default && ntpdate -Q -b pool.ntp.org


this command doesn't quite work the way it's supposed to. It always ends up setting the hardware clock off by like 5 hours (booting off a knoppix cd after that command shows a messed up time), and the -Q option doesn't exist. Maybe you could explain what you're trying get it to do? Or...maybe help me out with what I'm doing wrong
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thecrazyperson_ws
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Apr 2004
Posts: 89

PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 8:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I need help. I actually ran into a legitimate problem. I'm using a Gentoo 2004.2 livecd and i ran into this while emerging binutils:

Code:

* Applying various patches (bugfixes/updates) ...
*   01_all_binutils-2.15.91.0.1-no_rel_ro.patch.bz2 ...

* Failed Patch: 01_all_binutils-2.15.91.0.1-no_rel_ro.patch.bz2!


it fails in Function epatch, Line 402, Exitcode 0. If anybody could help, this is halting my bootstrap and I'm booted into the 2.6.7-gentoo-r11 kernel.

EDIT: Nevermind. "emerge sync" fixed the problem.
_________________
Bevelle: Dual Athlon MP 2000+, 1.25G ram, 120G HD, Gentoo 2005.1-r1, Kernel 2.6.15-gentoo-r5

Gagazet: Pentium 2-266, 288M ram, 240G HD, currently installing gentoo

Besaid: p-150, 80M ram, win2k pro


Last edited by thecrazyperson_ws on Thu Nov 11, 2004 8:49 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dreambox
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Mar 2003
Posts: 137

PostPosted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 12:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Waw guys, i just bootstrap my gentoo with ~x86, optimized CFLAGS, CXXFLAGS and LDFLAGS. Thanks ali3nx, snooper and mvila, and all contributors...

:lol:
_________________
Toshiba Tecra 8200
PIII 750Mhz 512Mb 20Gb Hdd
Trident CyberBladeXP 16Mb

Windows Where do you want to go today? MacOS Where do you want to be tomorrow? Linux Are you coming...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmusits
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 Jan 2004
Posts: 117
Location: New York

PostPosted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 2:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

arkaine wrote:
Code:
rc-update add ntp-client default && ntpdate -Q -b pool.ntp.org


this command doesn't quite work the way it's supposed to. It always ends up setting the hardware clock off by like 5 hours (booting off a knoppix cd after that command shows a messed up time), and the -Q option doesn't exist. Maybe you could explain what you're trying get it to do? Or...maybe help me out with what I'm doing wrong


ntp sets your clock to GMT, you will need to set your timezone for the time to show up correctly

Code:
# rm /etc/localtime
# ln -sf /usr/share/zoneinfo/(your time zone here) /etc/localtime


Jason
_________________
If you got the DO RE I got MI.

--Jerry Garcia "Run For The Roses"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thecrazyperson_ws
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Apr 2004
Posts: 89

PostPosted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 11:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I jumped the gun a bit. I don't know which $CC it's using, so ... deleted post.
_________________
Bevelle: Dual Athlon MP 2000+, 1.25G ram, 120G HD, Gentoo 2005.1-r1, Kernel 2.6.15-gentoo-r5

Gagazet: Pentium 2-266, 288M ram, 240G HD, currently installing gentoo

Besaid: p-150, 80M ram, win2k pro


Last edited by thecrazyperson_ws on Fri Nov 12, 2004 11:40 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 7, 8, 9 ... 23, 24, 25  Next
Page 8 of 25

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum