Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Installing Gentoo - The Developers Method - Stage1 and NPTL
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 9, 10, 11 ... 23, 24, 25  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
spidna
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 Feb 2004
Posts: 148

PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2004 6:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i was just wandering if ali3nx could post the link to emerge /etc/conf.d/net from the installation steps following his installation steps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheHermit
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Oct 2004
Posts: 19
Location: Springfield, MA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2004 6:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Silly me forgot to add ACCEPT_KEYWORDS to ~x86 (You have a kind of misleading excerpt from make.conf in the use flag section). Can I leave the system with the stable packages, which I rather would? I don't really care about GCC 3.4. One thing I have noticed is /etc/conf.d/rc does not have a RC_DEVICES option. Is that something I can just add?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Deranger
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 26 Aug 2004
Posts: 1215

PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2004 6:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TheHermit wrote:
Silly me forgot to add ACCEPT_KEYWORDS to ~x86 (You have a kind of misleading excerpt from make.conf in the use flag section). Can I leave the system with the stable packages, which I rather would? I don't really care about GCC 3.4. One thing I have noticed is /etc/conf.d/rc does not have a RC_DEVICES option. Is that something I can just add?

Sure you can keep using x86.

I think RC_DEVICES came with ~x86 baselayout, so you don't have it. There's an alternative option for it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
busfahrer
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Sep 2004
Posts: 57
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2004 9:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I yesterday installed my system with a method that is very similar to this guide (I didn't know about this guide then). It's an ~amd64 system.
In the guide it says to unmerge the 24 headers first and then emerge the 26 headers. I didn't do this at all. However, when trying to "emerge linux-headers" (i.e. 2.4 ones) it says that they are blocked by the 2.6 headers.

So, am I right with guessing that the step I mentioned above isn't necessary anymore?

Greetings, Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Deranger
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 26 Aug 2004
Posts: 1215

PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2004 9:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need to unmerge 2.4 headers before installing 2.6. In this tutorial, you need to use 2.6 headers and 2.6 kernel (SMP from official LiveCD) or it will break toolchain.

I don't know what tutorial you did use, but NPTL bootstraps fails with 2.4 headers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
busfahrer
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Sep 2004
Posts: 57
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2004 10:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oktane wrote:
You need to unmerge 2.4 headers before installing 2.6. In this tutorial, you need to use 2.6 headers and 2.6 kernel (SMP from official LiveCD) or it will break toolchain.


Do you mean "subtle" breakage or serious one? Because my system is up and running (X11 etc) and I haven't noticed anything. Is it possible that on the new livecd (or generally with recent installs), 26-headers are the default? Because, as I mentioned, I seem to have only 26-headers installed (without changing anything myself).

Greetings, Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Deranger
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 26 Aug 2004
Posts: 1215

PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2004 10:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

busfahrer wrote:
Oktane wrote:
You need to unmerge 2.4 headers before installing 2.6. In this tutorial, you need to use 2.6 headers and 2.6 kernel (SMP from official LiveCD) or it will break toolchain.


Do you mean "subtle" breakage or serious one? Because my system is up and running (X11 etc) and I haven't noticed anything. Is it possible that on the new livecd (or generally with recent installs), 26-headers are the default? Because, as I mentioned, I seem to have only 26-headers installed (without changing anything myself).

Greetings, Chris

With 2.4 headers NPTL bootstrap doesn't even finish, so that kind of breakage ;)

I don't know about new LiveCD but it's okay if you have only 2.6 headers installed and bootstrap went fine ;)

Did you use USE="nptl"?


Last edited by Deranger on Wed Nov 17, 2004 10:13 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
busfahrer
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Sep 2004
Posts: 57
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2004 10:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oktane wrote:
With 2.4 headers NPTL bootstrap doesn't even finish, so that kind of breakage ;)

I don't know about new LiveCD but it's okay if you have only 2.6 headers installed and bootstrap went fine ;)

Did you use USE="nptl"?


Yup, i put that in make.conf before bootstrapping. I'm fine, then? :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Deranger
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 26 Aug 2004
Posts: 1215

PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2004 10:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, you're fine ;) If you really didn't unmerge linux-headers and emerge linux26-headers, it seems that it did that automatically (or they are default on 2004.3) 8O
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
busfahrer
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Sep 2004
Posts: 57
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2004 10:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oktane wrote:
Yeah, you're fine ;) If you really didn't unmerge linux-headers and emerge linux26-headers, it seems that it did that automatically. 8O


Something just popped in my mind that might explain it. Before 2004.2, the default kernel was a 2.4 one AFAIR and with 2004.3, "gentoo" and "gentoo-smp" have been replaced by a single, SMP-enabled 2.6 kernel for the boot-cd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Deranger
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 26 Aug 2004
Posts: 1215

PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2004 10:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You're right, I just check 2004.3's ChangeLog and it seems that 2.6 is default kernel now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bob P
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 20 Oct 2004
Posts: 3355
Location: Jackass! Development Labs

PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2004 11:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

busfahrer wrote:
I yesterday installed my system with a method that is very similar to this guide (I didn't know about this guide then). It's an ~amd64 system.
In the guide it says to unmerge the 24 headers first and then emerge the 26 headers. I didn't do this at all. However, when trying to "emerge linux-headers" (i.e. 2.4 ones) it says that they are blocked by the 2.6 headers.

So, am I right with guessing that the step I mentioned above isn't necessary anymore?

i get the impression that if you're installing from 2004.2 or an earlier install where the tarball included the 2.4 headers, you need to unmerge them before emerging the 2.6 headers. otoh, if you are installing from the 2004.3 Stage 1 tarball, the 2.4 headers aren't there, and you can skip the unmerging step. if there's any confusion, just perform the unmerge step, and you'll be notified that there are no headers to unmerge if they aren't there. one of my recent posts covered this in more detail.
_________________
.
Stage 1/3 | Jackass! | Rockhopper! | Thanks | Google Sucks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Soul_rebel
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Nov 2004
Posts: 88

PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2004 8:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I will try this lately today. I'm new to gentoo and this is my first installation, so i have a few doubts:

i don't need to unmerge the 2.4 headers, so i don't need to emerge the 2.6, because they are used by default and i don't need any special keyword at all...Just use="nptl" ?

A bit OT but i need to know:
Is there a way to compile from stage 1 with the new gcc 3.4?
bye
_________________
LinuX @ the Speed of Thought
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Deranger
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 26 Aug 2004
Posts: 1215

PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2004 8:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Soul_rebel wrote:
I will try this lately today. I'm new to gentoo and this is my first installation, so i have a few doubts:

i don't need to unmerge the 2.4 headers, so i don't need to emerge the 2.6, because they are used by default and i don't need any special keyword at all...Just use="nptl" ?

A bit OT but i need to know:
Is there a way to compile from stage 1 with the new gcc 3.4?
bye

Check before proceeding, which headers you have installed by typing "emerge info" or if it doesn't show it, use "emerge -s linux-headers" and "emerge -s linux26-headers" and see which ones is installed. I guess it'll have 2.6 headers by default, because 2.6 is now default kernel.

ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~x86" is also "part" of this guide, if you have ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~x86" in /etc/make.conf, you'll get automatically latest software. It's called "unstable tree" but it's not that unstable, it's not well tested.

If you want only GCC 3.4 and all another software from "stable tree", run this command before bootstrapping:
Code:

echo "sys-devel/gcc ~x86" >> /etc/portage/package.keywords

You might need to create /etc/portage directory if it doesn't exist.


Last edited by Deranger on Thu Nov 18, 2004 8:18 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Soul_rebel
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Nov 2004
Posts: 88

PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2004 8:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

whoa what a quick reply!
thanks!

So it's quite easy to get the latest stuff with gentoo... I can't wait to have it installed :D
_________________
LinuX @ the Speed of Thought
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Deranger
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 26 Aug 2004
Posts: 1215

PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2004 8:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep, just add ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~x86" in your /etc/make.conf

Note: If you are running another arch than x86, you have to use replace "~x86" with your own architechture, in example if you're running AMD64, it would be "~amd64"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerry
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Sep 2002
Posts: 249
Location: Bodensee

PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2004 7:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Perhaps you should use ntponly as USE flag to prevent Gentoo from compiling glibc twice (once with NPTL and once with linuxthreads) as it told me while setting up my laptop.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Deranger
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 26 Aug 2004
Posts: 1215

PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2004 7:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gerry wrote:
Perhaps you should use ntponly as USE flag to prevent Gentoo from compiling glibc twice (once with NPTL and once with linuxthreads) as it told me while setting up my laptop.

Read my post from page 3 and ali3nx's reply...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vangelis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jan 2004
Posts: 15
Location: St. Louis, USA

PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2004 7:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Perhaps you should use ntponly as USE flag to prevent Gentoo from compiling glibc twice (once with NPTL and once with linuxthreads) as it told me while setting up my laptop.


I thought about that, but again, is there a chance to break the system?(because some processes cannot use posix threads, so they need the linuxthreads?).

Why does the system decide to keep both versions of glibc around, if you have already indicated that you want the posix threads by putting nptl in the USE command?

Can anyone elaborate on this issue?

Thanks
Vangelis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerry
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Sep 2002
Posts: 249
Location: Bodensee

PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2004 8:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oktane wrote:
gerry wrote:
Perhaps you should use ntponly as USE flag to prevent Gentoo from compiling glibc twice (once with NPTL and once with linuxthreads) as it told me while setting up my laptop.

Read my post from page 3 and ali3nx's reply...


I almost expected something like that.
Now if I only had a faster machine, I would give it a try and test a lot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Deranger
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 26 Aug 2004
Posts: 1215

PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2004 8:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gerry wrote:
Oktane wrote:
gerry wrote:
Perhaps you should use ntponly as USE flag to prevent Gentoo from compiling glibc twice (once with NPTL and once with linuxthreads) as it told me while setting up my laptop.

Read my post from page 3 and ali3nx's reply...


I almost expected something like that.
Now if I only had a faster machine, I would give it a try and test a lot.

I've been using pure NPTL system since that my post. No problems at all, so I think it's pretty safe to use.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
linux_on_the_brain
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Feb 2004
Posts: 136

PostPosted: Fri Nov 19, 2004 5:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've been following this thread since mid-october, and since then installed my new laptop using the directions here. And all seems well. I also used a knoppix cd to boot from. But I did have troubles with system lock-ups and failures during bootstrap. I finally booted knoppix using text only mode.

I also have read comments about using this process on amd64. I did that too.
I have an AMD64-fx51 socket940. I followed this procedure and it worked. I'm using reiserfs on both. I am in the process of building a new workstation with an amd64-fx53 socket 939, and will use these procedures again for that machine. Any word on reiser4 working with amd64 platform. THis machine is going to have a raid 5 array more than likely.

When I get my new hd's for my laptop, I will be setting up raid and performing this install again. I've read that reiser4 doesnt play with HT. Can anybody confirm this? Otherwise I will probably go xfs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
linux_on_the_brain
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Feb 2004
Posts: 136

PostPosted: Fri Nov 19, 2004 5:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Soul_rebel wrote:
I will try this lately today. I'm new to gentoo and this is my first installation, so i have a few doubts:

i don't need to unmerge the 2.4 headers, so i don't need to emerge the 2.6, because they are used by default and i don't need any special keyword at all...Just use="nptl" ?

A bit OT but i need to know:
Is there a way to compile from stage 1 with the new gcc 3.4?
bye

Check before proceeding, which headers you have installed by typing "emerge info" or if it doesn't show it, use "emerge -s linux-headers" and "emerge -s linux26-headers" and see which ones is installed. I guess it'll have 2.6 headers by default, because 2.6 is now default kernel.


Code:
 emerge -s linux-headers
Searching...
[ Results for search key : linux-headers ]
[ Applications found : 1 ]

*  sys-kernel/linux-headers
      Latest version available: 2.4.21-r1
      Latest version installed: [ Not Installed ]
      Size of downloaded files: 27,864 kB
      Homepage:    http://www.kernel.org/ http://www.gentoo.org/
      Description: Linux 2.4.21 headers from kernel.org
      License:     GPL-2


localhost profiles # emerge -s linux26-headers
Searching...
[ Results for search key : linux26-headers ]
[ Applications found : 1 ]

*  sys-kernel/linux26-headers
      Latest version available: 2.6.8.1
      Latest version installed: [ Not Installed ]
      Size of downloaded files: 34,793 kB
      Homepage:    http://www.kernel.org/ http://www.gentoo.org/
      Description: Linux 2.6.8.1 headers from kernel.org
      License:     GPL-2


localhost profiles #


Not sure why this is like that, but I thought I would post it. I am not booted from a cd, I suppose that could have something to do with it. But thought I would post it anyways.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nick_ellsworth
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Nov 2004
Posts: 16
Location: Victorville, CA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 19, 2004 10:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm having problems getting my network up from the 2004.3 LiveCD and have posted elsewhere, but since I'm following this guide (or trying to!) I thought maybe someone here could lend me a hand.

Here's the post.

Thanks in advance!
_________________
Registered Linux User #333985
"You don't give blood then take it back again." - Pearl Jam
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
linux_on_the_brain
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Feb 2004
Posts: 136

PostPosted: Fri Nov 19, 2004 10:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

nick_ellsworth, I posted a little something about your situation on your other thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 9, 10, 11 ... 23, 24, 25  Next
Page 10 of 25

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum